Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 12/10/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 have been amended. Claim 10 has been added. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application. Double patenting rejections of claims 1-9 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon (US 20160315284 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon (e.g., Figs. 1-11; take Figs. 2 and 4 as examples, which are reproduced for references) discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a substrate, comprising a first edge (substrate 110 comprising an edge denoted as E1);
a driving structure layer (driving structure layer comprising driving transistors TFL), disposed on the substrate (substrate 110) and comprising an insulating structure and a second edge (insulating structure comprising recesses CR/Cre and an edge denoted as E2; [0030], [0093]-[0094]), wherein the second edge is adjacent to the first edge (the edge E2 is adjacent to the edge E1), the first edge (edge E1) of the substrate is outside the driving structure layer (edge E2), and the insulating structure comprises a plurality of recesses (insulating structure comprising recesses CR/Cre); and
a touch sensor layer (touch sensor layer 400), disposed on the driving structure layer and comprising a third edge (touch sensor layer 400 comprising an edge denoted as E3) adjacent to the second edge (edge E2), wherein the second edge (edge E2) of the driving structure layer is outside the touch sensor layer (touch sensor layer 400),
wherein the second edge (edge E2) is disposed between the first edge (edge E1) and the third edge (edge E3),
wherein the insulating structure comprises a first insulating layer (insulating layer 111; [0069]) and a second insulating layer (insulating structure comprising recesses CR/Cre), the plurality of recesses comprise a first recess disposed in the second insulating layer and exposing the first insulating layer (e.g., Figs. 2-5 and 8-11).
Regarding claim 2, Jeon (e.g., Figs. 1-11) discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a part of the plurality of recesses (recesses CR/Cre) is disposed between the second edge (second edge E2) and the third edge (third edge E3).
Regarding claim 3, Jeon (e.g., Figs. 1-11) discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of recesses further comprising a second recess (Fig. 1; recess CR1 or CR2) and a third recess (Fig. 1; recess CR3 or CR4), the second recess is extending along a first direction (Fig. 1; recess CR1 or CR2 extending along a first direction), the third recess is extending along a second direction (Fig. 1; recess CR3 or CR4 extending along a second direction), and the first direction is different from the second direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon (e.g., Figs. 1-11) discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first edge, the second edge and the third edge do not overlap each other (e.g., Figs. 2-5 and 8-10; the first edge E1, the second edge E2, and the third edge E3).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon (e.g., Figs. 1-11) discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of recesses further comprise a second recess, a minimum width of the first recess is different from a minimum width the second recess (e.g., Figs. 11; recess with different width).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Kwon (US 20160181346 A1) in view of Jeon (US 20160315284 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon (e.g., Figs. 1-16, Fig. 4 and Fig. 14A are reproduced for references) discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a substrate, comprising a first edge (e.g., Figs. 4 and 14A; base layer 106 comprising an edge E1);
a driving structure layer (e.g., Figs. 10-16; driving structure layer D comprising driving circuits, insulating structure, and conductive connection lines), disposed on the substrate (base layer 106) and comprising an insulating structure and a second edge (e.g., Figs. 4 and 14A; insulating structure 126 comprises a plurality of recesses and a second edge E2), wherein the second edge is adjacent to the first edge (e.g., Fig. 14A; the edge E2 adjacent to the edge E1), the first edge (edge E1) of the substrate is outside the driving structure layer (driving structure layer D), and the insulating structure comprises a plurality of recesses; and
a touch sensor layer (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4; touch sensor layer 112), disposed on the driving structure layer (driving structure layer D) and comprising a third edge (e.g., Fig. 4A; touch sensor layer 112 comprising an edge E3) adjacent to the second edge (edge E2), wherein the second edge (edge E2) of the driving structure layer is outside the touch sensor layer (touch sensor layer 112),
wherein the second edge (edge E2) is disposed between the first edge (edge E1) and the third edge (edge E3).
Kwon discloses wherein the insulating structure comprises a second insulating layer, and the plurality of recesses comprise a first recess disposed in the second insulating layer (e.g., Fig. 14A; insulating structure 126 comprises a plurality of recesses), but does not disclose the first recess exposing the first insulating layer. However, Jeon (e.g., Figs. 1-11; take Figs. 2 and 4 as examples, which are reproduced above for references) discloses an electronic device similar to that disclosed by Kwon, wherein the insulating structure comprises a first insulating layer (insulating layer 111; [0069]) and a second insulating layer (insulating structure comprising recesses CR/Cre), the plurality of recesses comprise a first recess disposed in the second insulating layer and exposing the first insulating layer (e.g., Figs. 2-5 and 8-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the insulating structure as taught by Jeon to the flexible display of Kwon. The recess structures would suppress the cracks due to bending of flexible display panels.
Regarding claim 2, Kwon in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Kwon (e.g., Figs. 1-16, Fig. 4 and Fig. 14A are reproduced for references) discloses wherein a part of the plurality of recesses (e.g., Fig. 14A; insulating structure 126 comprises a plurality of recesses) is disposed between the second edge (e.g., Figs. 4 and 14A; edge E2) and the third edge (e.g., Figs. 4 and 14A; edge E3).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Kwon (e.g., Figs. 1-16) discloses wherein the plurality of recesses comprises a second recess (e.g., Figs. 15; 2nd recess on right) and a third recess (e.g., Figs. 15; 1st recess on right), the second recess has a first angle defined by a first sidewall and a first bottom (e.g., Figs. 15; 2nd recess on right has a angle), the third recess has a second angle defined by a second sidewall and a second bottom (e.g., Figs. 15; 1st recess on right has a angle), and the first angle is different from the second angle (e.g., Figs. 15).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 6, Kwon (e.g., Figs. 1-16) discloses wherein a ratio of the first angle and the second angle is between 0.8 and 1.5 except 1.0 (e.g., Figs. 15).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 6, Kwon (e.g., Figs. 1-16) discloses wherein when the first angle (e.g., Figs. 15; 2nd recess on right has an angle of 90°) is larger than the second angle (e.g., Figs. 15; 1st recess on right has an angle smaller than 90°), a first width of the first recess (e.g., Figs. 15; 2nd recess on right has a width) is smaller than a second width of the second recess (e.g., Figs. 15; 1st recess on right has a width).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Kwon (e.g., Figs. 1-16) discloses wherein the first edge, the second edge and the third edge do not overlap each other (e.g., Figs. 4 and 14A; the first edge E1, the second edge E2, and the third edge E3).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Kwon (e.g., Figs. 1-16) discloses wherein the plurality of recesses further comprise a second recess (e.g., Figs. 15; 1st recess on right), a minimum width of the first recess is different from a minimum width the second recess (e.g., Figs. 15; recess with different width).
7. Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Kwon (US 20160181346 A1) in view of Jeon (US 20160315284 A1) and further in view of Han (US 20130148312 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon in view of Jeon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Kwon (e.g., Figs. 1-16, Fig. 4 and Fig. 14A are reproduced for references) discloses wherein the plurality of recesses (recesses as shown in Figs. 13-15), the plurality of recesses comprising a second recess and a third recess (e.g., Fig. 13-15; first recess and second recess), Since the plurality of recesses are arranged at the bending portion, when the display is bent, the second recess and the third recess each extends along a different direction. The examiner further cites Han as a reference, Han (Figs. 1-9) discloses a curved display, wherein the plurality of recesses comprises a second recess and a third recess, the second recess is extending along a first direction, the third recess is extending along a second direction, and the first direction is different from the second direction (e.g., Figs. 3 and 7-9, a first recess and a second recess each extends along a different direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate to incorporate the teaching from Han to the flexible display of Kwon. The recess structures would suppress the cracks due to bending of flexible display panels.
Regarding claim 4, Kwon in view of Jeon and further in view of Han discloses the electronic device of claim 3, Han (e.g., Fig. 9) discloses wherein the second recess has a first depth ([0064]; depth D3a), the third recess has a second depth ([0064]; depth D3b), and the first depth is different from the second depth ([0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate to incorporate the teaching from Han to the flexible display of Kwon. The recess structures would suppress the cracks due to bending of flexible display panels.
Regarding claim 5, Kwon in view of Han discloses the electronic device of claim 3, Han (e.g., Fig. 7) discloses wherein a minimum width of the second recess is a first width ([0060]; width W3a), a minimum width of the third recess is a second width ([0060]; width W3b), and the first width is different from the second width ([0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate to incorporate the teaching from Han to the flexible display of Kwon. The recess structures would suppress the cracks due to bending of flexible display panels.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
10. Applicant has amended claim 1. Applicant further argues that the cited references do not disclose the new limitations “wherein the insulating structure comprises a first insulating layer and a second insulating layer, the plurality of recesses comprise a first recess disposed in the second insulating layer and exposing the first insulating layer” recited in claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. Jeon (e.g., Figs. 2-5 and 8-11) discloses an electronic device, wherein a insulating structure comprises a first insulating layer (insulating layer 111; [0069]) and a second insulating layer (insulating structure comprising recesses CR/Cre), the plurality of recesses comprise a first recess disposed in the second insulating layer (recesses CR/Cre) and exposing the first insulating layer (insulating layer 111).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623