DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Koo US 20220132134.
Regarding claim 1, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A method of video decoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors, the method comprising:
receiving a video bitstream comprising a current block and a syntax element (i.e. bitstream contains blocks and syntax) [78; fig. 3];
identifying an intra prediction mode for the current block (i.e. may determine intra/inter prediction mode.) [82-84];
parsing the syntax element to determine whether to change the intra prediction mode when deriving a transform set index (i.e. the total number of the intra prediction modes for a specific block (e.g. a non-square block of a specific size) are remapped and may not change.) [102,236,386-387];
deriving the transform set index for the current block based on the intra prediction mode and the parsed syntax element (i.e. the transform set is determined based on the value of the intra prediction mode extended by considering the Wide Angle Intra Prediction (WAIP)) [205-206];
selecting a first transform set from a plurality of transform sets according to the transform set index (i.e. transform set selected using index signaling) [205]; and
reconstructing the current block using the first transform set (i.e. reconstruction performed using the LFNST which is a transform type discussed above) [78,86,87,251].
Regarding claim 2, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein syntax element indicates an intra mode offset, and wherein the transform set index is derived by adding the intra mode offset to the intra prediction mode (i.e. numerals represent an offset for a mode index value) [98].
Regarding claim 3, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the syntax element indicates what change to make to the intra prediction mode, and wherein a number of allowed changes is restricted to a particular value (i.e. 0,1,2 are possible transmit index values where 0 may indicate that the LFNST is not applied.) [205-206,236,298].
Regarding claim 4, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 3, wherein the particular value is 2 (i.e. 2 is a possible value.) [205-206,236,298].
Regarding claim 5, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 3, wherein the particular value adaptively determined based on coding information (i.e. 0,1,2 are possible transmit index values where 0 may indicate that the LFNST is not applied.) [205-206,236,298].
Regarding claim 6, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the syntax element indicates a first change for the intra prediction mode from a predefined set of changes (i.e. 0,1,2 are possible transmit index values where 0 may indicate that the LFNST is not applied.) [205-206,236,298].
Regarding claim 7, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 6, wherein the predefined set of changes is based on coding information (i.e. 0,1,2 are possible transmit index values where 0 may indicate that the LFNST is not applied.) [205-206,236,298].
Regarding claim 8, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the intra prediction mode is in a range of [-15, 81] inclusive (i.e. an intra prediction could be in that range) [100].
Regarding claim 9, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, further comprising, after applying a change to the intra prediction mode indicated by the syntax element and prior to deriving the transform set index, mapping the intra prediction mode to a final intra prediction mode, wherein the transform set index is derived using the final intra prediction mode (i.e. intra prediction mode is divided based on certain criteria) [105-106,374,390].
Regarding claim 10, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 9, wherein the intra prediction mode is mapped to the final intra prediction mode when the intra prediction mode has a value in a range of [-15, -1] or in a range of [66, 81] (i.e. an intra prediction could be in that range) [100].
Regarding claim 11, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 9, wherein the intra prediction mode is selectively mapped to the final intra prediction mode when applying the change to the intra prediction mode indicated by the syntax element causes the intra prediction mode to switch between a non-directional intra mode and a directional intra prediction mode (i.e. an intra prediction could be in that range. Intra prediction mode values indicate directional and non-directional intra prediction.) [98,100].
Regarding claim 12, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein reconstructing the current block using the first transform set comprises applying a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) or a non-separable primary transform (NSPT) [146].
Regarding claim 13, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the syntax element is entropy coded (i.e. entropy decoder decodes bitstream with syntax) [73,79,377].
Regarding claim 14, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the syntax element is signaled for one or more luma blocks and is not signaled for one or more chroma blocks (i.e. CCLM syntax element is not signaled for the chroma block) [223,286-289].
Regarding claim 15, Koo meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the syntax element is signaled for the current block only when a non-separable transform is applied for the current block (i.e. the secondary inverse transform may be an NSST, an RST, or an LFNST and the secondary inverse transform application determinator may determine whether to apply the secondary inverse transform based on a secondary transform flag obtained by parsing the bitstream.) [134,154,181].
Claim 18 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1. This is the encoder of claim 1. Encoder shown in Koo [62,75; fig. 2]
Claim 19 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1 and 18.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2021/0227222) (hereinafter Lee).
In regard to claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored therein a bitstream generated by acts. Significantly, the claimed non-transitory computer readable medium is NOT implementing any actual method; no instructions/steps are being executed. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data output from and/or generated by a series of acts. In other words, these claims are directed to a mere machine-readable medium storing data content (a bitstream generated by a method).
Applicant therefore seeks to patent the storage of a bitstream in the abstract. In other words, the claim seeks to patent the content of the information (bitstream comprising video information) and not the process itself. Moreover, this stored bitstream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data as there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and the storage medium. In conclusion, claim 20 and any claims depending therefrom are directed to mere data content (bitstream generated by a series of acts) stored as a bitstream on a computer-readable storage medium. Under MPEP 2111.05(III), such claims are merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, the Examiner found and continues to find that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, this claim is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application. Therefore, claim 20 is anticipated by Lee, as Lee discloses a computer readable medium storing a coded bitstream. Lee discloses:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a bitstream comprising video information generated by acts [¶0024; computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream generated by a video coding method] comprising:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Deshpande US 20240048770.
Regarding claim 16, Koo do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the syntax element is signaled for the current block only when a temporal layer identifier for the current block meets one or more criteria
However, in the same field of endeavor Deshpande discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the syntax element is signaled for the current block only when a temporal layer identifier for the current block meets one or more criteria (i.e. syntax element indicates whether a parameter for a temporal layer id with a certain number of temporal layers is included.) [5].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Koo with Deshpande to have wherein the syntax element is signaled for the current block only when a temporal layer identifier for the current block meets one or more criteria.
It would be advantageous because this provides simplification of syntax and improves coding efficiency [442].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Koo with Deshpande to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of Park US 20240179303.
Regarding claim 17, Koo do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the syntax element is signaled for the current block only when the intra prediction mode is a directional intra prediction mode
However, in the same field of endeavor Park discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the syntax element is signaled for the current block only when the intra prediction mode is a directional intra prediction mode (i.e. If intra_timd_flag is the second value (e.g., 1) and the derived intra prediction mode is a directional mode, index information (e.g., intra_mode_idex) may be signaled.) [161].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Koo with Park to have the syntax element is signaled for the current block only when the intra prediction mode is a directional intra prediction mode.
It would be advantageous because "However, the video size, resolution, and frame rate are gradually increasing, and thus the amount of data to be encoded is also increasing. Accordingly, a new compression technique having better encoding efficiency and higher image quality than the existing compression technique is required.” [6].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Koo with Park to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
Contact Information
/Jared Walker/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426