DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Amendments filed on 05/18/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mozak et al. (US 20140095947 A1)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Mozak) further in view of Kanteti (US 20220244869 A1)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Kanteti) and De Silveira Juior et al. (US 20220237339 A1)(hereafter referred to as Juior).
Regarding Claim 1,
Mozak discloses the following limitations:
A system (Fig. 1) comprising:
memory(¶0121); and a processing device (¶0122), operatively coupled with the memory, to perform operations comprising (¶¶0121-122):
generating (Fig. 6, steps 606 - 616) a simulated workload for a memory sub-system (Memory Device 110, Fig. 1), the simulated workload comprising a series of input/output (I/O) commands (“memory access transactions” [0089]) directed to respective logical block addresses (“an address range” [0089] // ¶0046) associated with the memory sub-system (“The test source generates a test software command … The test engine selects an address range … being provided the address range by the test source. The test engine iterates through the test for each of the addresses. For each iteration, the test engine generates one or more memory access transactions to pass to the memory controller” [0087-89] // ¶¶0045-46; 0086) – As taught in Fig. 6, a test engine generates memory access transactions associated with an address range (i.e., “logical block addresses”; see ¶¶0045-46) received from a test source. As clarified in ¶0086, the address range received from the test source enables a memory test to be performed on the memory device (i.e., “a simulated workload”).--;
associating the respective logical block addresses (“The memory access transactions can include memory command identifiers to carry out the test software command, as well as a specific address location” [0089]) – As taught in ¶0089, for each address in received address range, the test engine generates associated memory access transactions including both “memory command identifiers” and specific memory address locations.-- …; and
issuing (Fig. 6, step 618) the series of input/output commands to the memory sub-system to cause the memory sub-system to perform corresponding memory access operations on data (“The test engine passes the transaction or sequence of transactions to the memory controller to cause the memory controller to schedule the transactions … the memory device executes the memory device commands to carry out the transaction(s)” [0090])
Mozak is silent regarding memory device 110 storing files associated with a file system. Specifically, Mozak is silent regarding the following limitations:
associating the respective logical block addresses with files in a file system
memory access operations on data representing the files in the file system
However, Kanteti discloses the following limitations:
associating the respective logical block addresses with files in a file system (“the kernel of the host can directly cause the file system data to be written to physical addresses of individual zones and thus map logical addresses to physical addresses of sequentially-written zones” [0018] // ¶¶0033; 0039-40; 0044 // Fig. 1) – As shown in Kanteti Fig. 1, a memory sub-system 110 receives commands from a host 120 to perform operations on memory device 130, similar to how the system 100 of Mozak Fig. 1 receives commands from a test source 160 to perform operations on a memory device 110. Examiner accordingly considers the storage systems depicted in Kanteti and Mozak Figs. 1 as analogous. As taught in Kanteti, each logical address in a memory system is associated with a file system object--,
memory access operations on data (“file system data” [0040]) representing the files in the file system (¶¶0039-40) – As taught in Kanteti, memory access operations such as reads and writes are performed on file system data.
Mozak and Kanteti are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of logical address mapping management in storage environments receiving memory access commands from external sources. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak with the teachings of Kanteti and realize memory system whereby a processor associates logical block addresses with files of a file system. Mapping logical addresses to files of a file system improves performance by enabling a host device to perform address translation for memory access operations prior to sending the memory access operation to the memory device, reducing a processing load of the memory device, as disclosed in Kanteti ¶0018: “Further, in some embodiments, the kernel of the host operating system includes device mapping logic that can directly cause the file system data to be written to physical addresses of individual zones and thus map logical addresses to physical addresses of sequentially-written zones, by-passing the need for the memory sub-system controller to handle this mapping.” [0018]
The combined teachings of Mozak and Kanteti are silent regarding creating a file as part of performing the simulated workload on the memory sub-system and thus are silent regarding the following limitations:
wherein associating the respective logical block addresses with files in the file system comprises organizing, by a file interface, the respective logical block addresses into one or more files in the file system, including creating the one or more files and generating metadata associated with the one or more files
However, Juior discloses the following limitations:
wherein associating the respective logical block addresses with files in the file system comprises organizing, by a file interface (Trace File Generator 106, Fig. 1), the respective logical block addresses into one or more files (“a trace file” [0024] // Fig. 6) in the file system, including creating the one or more files and generating metadata associated with the one or more files (“the workload generator (102) … functionally equipped to receive and process a trace file received from the trace file generator (106), and, based on the trace file, generate a set of expected results and a workload for input to the simulator (104) // “The trace file 600 includes … the solid state drive (SSD) logical block address (LBA) … the type of request, “opcode”” [0111] // ¶0093 // Fig. 6) – Examiner considers the system 100 depicted in Juior Fig. 1 as analogous to System 100 of Mozak Fig. 1 because both generate and simulate workloads for a memory device. As taught in Juior, a trace file generator 106 (i.e., “a file interface”) generates a trace file 600 (see Fig. 6) which includes logical addresses and request opcodes (i.e., “metadata”) associated with a workload which tests a memory system (see ¶0093).
Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of generating a workload to test memory sub-systems storing file system data. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak and Kanteti with the teachings of Juior and realize a system whereby a file system generates a trace file in order to simulate a workload for a memory system. Doing so enables improved workloads for testing emulated memory devices, improving the reliability of a memory system, as disclosed in Juior ¶¶0002 // 0083: “Current cache memory simulators use random read and write requests to cache memory whose behavior they seek to emulate. Random requests fail to emulate a real-world environment typically experienced by a cache memory and, therefore, are not an accurate emulation of the in-field environment to which the cache memory is often exposed. Imprecise emulation of a target device, such as cache memory, is a reflection of a simulator’s unreliability leading to potentially costly redesigns.” [0002] // “a workload generator … generates a workload based on the trace file for gauging the performance of the cache memory simulator emulating the behavior of the cache memory” [0083]
Regarding Claim 2,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 2. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 1 (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above), wherein the series of input/output commands comprises at least one program command (Mozak, ¶0020; Kanteti, ¶0060) to program data associated with a file to the memory sub-system (Mozak, “The test engine as described can inject transactions (e.g., read, write, maintenance command) directly into the memory controller” [0020]) – As taught in Mozak ¶0020, memory transactions which are sent to the memory controller include write transactions (i.e., “at least one program command”). See also Kanteti ¶0060.-- and
at least one erase command (Kanteti, ¶0060) to erase at least a portion of the data associated with the file from the memory sub-system. (Kanteti, “Each of the write requests 342 can correspond to one or more commands … and the commands can be for a write … erase … or a combination thereof” [0060]) – As clarified in Kanteti ¶0060, several transactions including a write and an erase can be performed in combination on a memory device.
Regarding Claim 7,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 7. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 1, wherein the file system comprises an open source, log-structured file system (Kanteti, “applications … can include a log structure merge (LSM)- based architecture” [0058] // ¶¶0018; 0061) – As taught in Kanteti, varieties of file system formats, including an “LSM-based” architecture (¶0058); formats where data are stored in “logs” (¶0061); and formats where data are written sequentially (¶0018) can be employed by the storage system. Examiner considers such an architecture of file system data organization as reading on the claimed concept of “an open source, log-structured file system” under the BRI of the claimed language.
Regarding Claim 8,
Mozak discloses the following limitations:
A method comprising:
generating (Fig. 6, steps 606 - 616) a simulated workload for a memory sub-system (Memory Device 110, Fig. 1), the simulated workload comprising a series of input/output (I/O) commands (“memory access transactions” [0089]) directed to respective logical block addresses (“an address range” [0089] // ¶0046) associated with the memory sub-system (“The test source generates a test software command … The test engine selects an address range … being provided the address range by the test source. The test engine iterates through the test for each of the addresses. For each iteration, the test engine generates one or more memory access transactions to pass to the memory controller” [0087-89] // ¶¶0045-46; 0086) – As taught in Fig. 6, a test engine generates memory access transactions associated with an address range (i.e., “logical block addresses”; see ¶¶0045-46) received from a test source. As clarified in ¶0086, the address range received from the test source enables a memory test to be performed on the memory device (i.e., “a simulated workload”).--;
associating the respective logical block addresses (“The memory access transactions can include memory command identifiers to carry out the test software command, as well as a specific address location” [0089]) – As taught in ¶0089, for each address in received address range, the test engine generates associated memory access transactions including both “memory command identifiers” and specific memory address locations.-- …; and
issuing (Fig. 6, step 618) the series of input/output commands to the memory sub-system to cause the memory sub-system to perform corresponding memory access operations on data (“The test engine passes the transaction or sequence of transactions to the memory controller to cause the memory controller to schedule the transactions … the memory device executes the memory device commands to carry out the transaction(s)” [0090])
Mozak is silent regarding memory device 110 storing files associated with a file system. Specifically, Mozak is silent regarding the following limitations:
associating the respective logical block addresses with files in a file system
memory access operations on data representing the files in the file system
However, Kanteti discloses the following limitations:
associating the respective logical block addresses with files in a file system (“the kernel of the host can directly cause the file system data to be written to physical addresses of individual zones and thus map logical addresses to physical addresses of sequentially-written zones” [0018] // ¶¶0033; 0039-40; 0044 // Fig. 1) – As shown in Kanteti Fig. 1, a memory sub-system 110 receives commands from a host 120 to perform operations on memory device 130, similar to how the system 100 of Mozak Fig. 1 receives commands from a test source 160 to perform operations on a memory device 110. Examiner accordingly considers the storage systems depicted in Kanteti and Mozak Figs. 1 as analogous. As taught in Kanteti, each logical address in a memory system is associated with a file system object--,
memory access operations on data (“file system data” [0040]) representing the files in the file system (¶¶0039-40) – As taught in Kanteti, memory access operations such as reads and writes are performed on file system data.
Mozak and Kanteti are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of logical address mapping management in storage environments receiving memory access commands from external sources. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak with the teachings of Kanteti and realize memory system whereby a processor associates logical block addresses with files of a file system. Mapping logical addresses to files of a file system improves performance by enabling a host device to perform address translation for memory access operations prior to sending the memory access operation to the memory device, reducing a processing load of the memory device, as disclosed in Kanteti ¶0018: “Further, in some embodiments, the kernel of the host operating system includes device mapping logic that can directly cause the file system data to be written to physical addresses of individual zones and thus map logical addresses to physical addresses of sequentially-written zones, by-passing the need for the memory sub-system controller to handle this mapping.” [0018]
The combined teachings of Mozak and Kanteti are silent regarding creating a file as part of performing the simulated workload on the memory sub-system and thus are silent regarding the following limitations:
wherein associating the respective logical block addresses with files in the file system comprises organizing, by a file interface, the respective logical block addresses into one or more files in the file system, including creating the one or more files and generating metadata associated with the one or more files
However, Juior discloses the following limitations:
wherein associating the respective logical block addresses with files in the file system comprises organizing, by a file interface (Trace File Generator 106, Fig. 1), the respective logical block addresses into one or more files (“a trace file” [0024] // Fig. 6) in the file system, including creating the one or more files and generating metadata associated with the one or more files (“the workload generator (102) … functionally equipped to receive and process a trace file received from the trace file generator (106), and, based on the trace file, generate a set of expected results and a workload for input to the simulator (104) // “The trace file 600 includes … the solid state drive (SSD) logical block address (LBA) … the type of request, “opcode”” [0111] // ¶0093 // Fig. 6) – Examiner considers the system 100 depicted in Juior Fig. 1 as analogous to System 100 of Mozak Fig. 1 because both generate and simulate workloads for a memory device. As taught in Juior, a trace file generator 106 (i.e., “a file interface”) generates a trace file 600 (see Fig. 6) which includes logical addresses and request opcodes (i.e., “metadata”) associated with a workload which tests a memory system (see ¶0093).
Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of generating a workload to test memory sub-systems storing file system data. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak and Kanteti with the teachings of Juior and realize a system whereby a file system generates a trace file in order to simulate a workload for a memory system. Doing so enables improved workloads for testing emulated memory devices, improving the reliability of a memory system, as disclosed in Juior ¶¶0002 // 0083: “Current cache memory simulators use random read and write requests to cache memory whose behavior they seek to emulate. Random requests fail to emulate a real-world environment typically experienced by a cache memory and, therefore, are not an accurate emulation of the in-field environment to which the cache memory is often exposed. Imprecise emulation of a target device, such as cache memory, is a reflection of a simulator’s unreliability leading to potentially costly redesigns.” [0002] // “a workload generator … generates a workload based on the trace file for gauging the performance of the cache memory simulator emulating the behavior of the cache memory” [0083]
Regarding Claim 9,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 8 is equally applicable to Claim 9. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 8 (see Claim 8 limitation mappings above), wherein the series of input/output commands comprises at least one program command (Mozak, ¶0020; Kanteti, ¶0060) to program data associated with a file to the memory sub-system (Mozak, “The test engine as described can inject transactions (e.g., read, write, maintenance command) directly into the memory controller” [0020]) – As taught in Mozak ¶0020, memory transactions which are sent to the memory controller include write transactions (i.e., “at least one program command”). See also Kanteti ¶0060.-- and
at least one erase command (Kanteti, ¶0060) to erase at least a portion of the data associated with the file from the memory sub-system. (Kanteti, “Each of the write requests 342 can correspond to one or more commands … and the commands can be for a write … erase … or a combination thereof” [0060]) – As clarified in Kanteti ¶0060, several transactions including a write and an erase can be performed in combination on a memory device.
Regarding Claim 14,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 8 is equally applicable to Claim 14. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 8, wherein the file system comprises an open source, log-structured file system (Kanteti, “applications … can include a log structure merge (LSM)- based architecture” [0058] // ¶¶0018; 0061) – As taught in Kanteti, varieties of file system formats, including an “LSM-based” architecture (¶0058); formats where data are stored in “logs” (¶0061); and formats where data are written sequentially (¶0018) can be employed by the storage system. Examiner considers such an architecture of file system data organization as reading on the claimed concept of “an open source, log-structured file system” under the BRI of the claimed language.
Regarding Claim 15,
Mozak discloses the following limitations:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising (¶0092):
generating (Fig. 6, steps 606 - 616) a simulated workload for a memory sub-system (Memory Device 110, Fig. 1), the simulated workload comprising a series of input/output (I/O) commands (“memory access transactions” [0089]) directed to respective logical block addresses (“an address range” [0089] // ¶0046) associated with the memory sub-system (“The test source generates a test software command … The test engine selects an address range … being provided the address range by the test source. The test engine iterates through the test for each of the addresses. For each iteration, the test engine generates one or more memory access transactions to pass to the memory controller” [0087-89] // ¶¶0045-46; 0086) – As taught in Fig. 6, a test engine generates memory access transactions associated with an address range (i.e., “logical block addresses”; see ¶¶0045-46) received from a test source. As clarified in ¶0086, the address range received from the test source enables a memory test to be performed on the memory device (i.e., “a simulated workload”).--;
associating the respective logical block addresses (“The memory access transactions can include memory command identifiers to carry out the test software command, as well as a specific address location” [0089]) – As taught in ¶0089, for each address in received address range, the test engine generates associated memory access transactions including both “memory command identifiers” and specific memory address locations.-- …; and
issuing (Fig. 6, step 618) the series of input/output commands to the memory sub-system to cause the memory sub-system to perform corresponding memory access operations on data (“The test engine passes the transaction or sequence of transactions to the memory controller to cause the memory controller to schedule the transactions … the memory device executes the memory device commands to carry out the transaction(s)” [0090])
Mozak is silent regarding memory device 110 storing files associated with a file system. Specifically, Mozak is silent regarding the following limitations:
associating the respective logical block addresses with files in a file system
memory access operations on data representing the files in the file system
However, Kanteti discloses the following limitations:
associating the respective logical block addresses with files in a file system (“the kernel of the host can directly cause the file system data to be written to physical addresses of individual zones and thus map logical addresses to physical addresses of sequentially-written zones” [0018] // ¶¶0033; 0039-40; 0044 // Fig. 1) – As shown in Kanteti Fig. 1, a memory sub-system 110 receives commands from a host 120 to perform operations on memory device 130, similar to how the system 100 of Mozak Fig. 1 receives commands from a test source 160 to perform operations on a memory device 110. Examiner accordingly considers the storage systems depicted in Kanteti and Mozak Figs. 1 as analogous. As taught in Kanteti, each logical address in a memory system is associated with a file system object--,
memory access operations on data (“file system data” [0040]) representing the files in the file system (¶¶0039-40) – As taught in Kanteti, memory access operations such as reads and writes are performed on file system data.
Mozak and Kanteti are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of logical address mapping management in storage environments receiving memory access commands from external sources. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak with the teachings of Kanteti and realize memory system whereby a processor associates logical block addresses with files of a file system. Mapping logical addresses to files of a file system improves performance by enabling a host device to perform address translation for memory access operations prior to sending the memory access operation to the memory device, reducing a processing load of the memory device, as disclosed in Kanteti ¶0018: “Further, in some embodiments, the kernel of the host operating system includes device mapping logic that can directly cause the file system data to be written to physical addresses of individual zones and thus map logical addresses to physical addresses of sequentially-written zones, by-passing the need for the memory sub-system controller to handle this mapping.” [0018]
The combined teachings of Mozak and Kanteti are silent regarding creating a file as part of performing the simulated workload on the memory sub-system and thus are silent regarding the following limitations:
wherein associating the respective logical block addresses with files in the file system comprises organizing, by a file interface, the respective logical block addresses into one or more files in the file system, including creating the one or more files and generating metadata associated with the one or more files
However, Juior discloses the following limitations:
wherein associating the respective logical block addresses with files in the file system comprises organizing, by a file interface (Trace File Generator 106, Fig. 1), the respective logical block addresses into one or more files (“a trace file” [0024] // Fig. 6) in the file system, including creating the one or more files and generating metadata associated with the one or more files (“the workload generator (102) … functionally equipped to receive and process a trace file received from the trace file generator (106), and, based on the trace file, generate a set of expected results and a workload for input to the simulator (104) // “The trace file 600 includes … the solid state drive (SSD) logical block address (LBA) … the type of request, “opcode”” [0111] // ¶0093 // Fig. 6) – Examiner considers the system 100 depicted in Juior Fig. 1 as analogous to System 100 of Mozak Fig. 1 because both generate and simulate workloads for a memory device. As taught in Juior, a trace file generator 106 (i.e., “a file interface”) generates a trace file 600 (see Fig. 6) which includes logical addresses and request opcodes (i.e., “metadata”) associated with a workload which tests a memory system (see ¶0093).
Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of generating a workload to test memory sub-systems storing file system data. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak and Kanteti with the teachings of Juior and realize a system whereby a file system generates a trace file in order to simulate a workload for a memory system. Doing so enables improved workloads for testing emulated memory devices, improving the reliability of a memory system, as disclosed in Juior ¶¶0002 // 0083: “Current cache memory simulators use random read and write requests to cache memory whose behavior they seek to emulate. Random requests fail to emulate a real-world environment typically experienced by a cache memory and, therefore, are not an accurate emulation of the in-field environment to which the cache memory is often exposed. Imprecise emulation of a target device, such as cache memory, is a reflection of a simulator’s unreliability leading to potentially costly redesigns.” [0002] // “a workload generator … generates a workload based on the trace file for gauging the performance of the cache memory simulator emulating the behavior of the cache memory” [0083]
Regarding Claim 16,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 15 is equally applicable to Claim 16. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15 (see Claim 15 limitation mappings above), wherein the series of input/output commands comprises at least one program command (Mozak, ¶0020; Kanteti, ¶0060) to program data associated with a file to the memory sub-system (Mozak, “The test engine as described can inject transactions (e.g., read, write, maintenance command) directly into the memory controller” [0020]) – As taught in Mozak ¶0020, memory transactions which are sent to the memory controller include write transactions (i.e., “at least one program command”). See also Kanteti ¶0060.-- and
at least one erase command (Kanteti, ¶0060) to erase at least a portion of the data associated with the file from the memory sub-system. (Kanteti, “Each of the write requests 342 can correspond to one or more commands … and the commands can be for a write … erase … or a combination thereof” [0060]) – As clarified in Kanteti ¶0060, several transactions including a write and an erase can be performed in combination on a memory device.
Regarding Claim 20,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 15 is equally applicable to Claim 20. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the file system comprises an open source, log-structured file system (Kanteti, “applications … can include a log structure merge (LSM)- based architecture” [0058] // ¶¶0018; 0061) – As taught in Kanteti, varieties of file system formats, including an “LSM-based” architecture (¶0058); formats where data are stored in “logs” (¶0061); and formats where data are written sequentially (¶0018) can be employed by the storage system. Examiner considers such an architecture of file system data organization as reading on the claimed concept of “an open source, log-structured file system” under the BRI of the claimed language.
Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mozak further in view of Kanteti, Juior, and Jin et al. (US 20220229772 A1)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Jin).
Regarding Claim 3,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 3. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 2 (see Claim 2 limitation mappings above),
Although Mozak ¶0046 and Kanteti ¶0047 generally disclose instances of logical-to-physical address mapping management, the combined teaching of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior do not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
wherein responsive to receiving the program command, the memory sub-system is to generate a plurality of entries in an address mapping table to map the respective logical block addresses associated with the file to physical addresses where the data is stored on the memory sub-system.
However, Jin discloses the following limitations:
wherein responsive to receiving the program command, the memory sub-system is to generate a plurality of entries in an address mapping table (“L2P map table” + “P2L map table” [0065]) to map the respective logical block addresses associated with the file to physical addresses where the data is stored on the memory sub-system. (“after the controller 130 programs new user data to the memory device 150, the controller 130 may generate a P2L map entry for linking a physical address, which indicates the location where the new user data is programmed in the memory device 150, to a logical address input from the host 102 … After that, the controller 130 may update the L2P map table stored in the memory device 150 based on the P2L map entry.” [0066-68] // ¶0065) – As taught in Jin, a memory controller 130 updates entries in both a P2L map table and an L2P map table in response to a program operation to write new user data into memory.
Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Jin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of address mapping table management responsive to external host memory transactions. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior with the teachings of Jin and realize a system whereby address mapping table entries are generated in response to program operations performed on a memory. Doing so enables efficient control map data in environments where large numbers of L2P entries accrue over time, as disclosed in Jin ¶0070: “When the memory system 100 performs a data input/output operation, a new map entry may be generated and stored in the memory device 150 … As L2P map entries are sequentially added to the L2P map table, the size of the L2P map table can increase, and a plurality of L2P map entries may be mixed up. In order for the memory system 110 to efficiently control the map data, the map data controller 196 may re-configure the L2P map table stored in the memory device 150 after data input/output operations, the garbage collection or the like.” [0070]
Regarding Claim 4,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 3 is equally applicable to Claim 4. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Jin disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 3, wherein responsive to receiving the erase command, the memory sub-system is to delete at least a subset of the plurality of entries in the address mapping table. (Jin, “When the host transmits an erase command to erase a data item … a map entry (e.g., a first map entry), which is met data associated with the data item, can be erased … the memory system 110 deletes the map entry” [0072]) – As taught in Jin, map entries are deleted in response to host erase commands.
Regarding Claim 10,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 8 is equally applicable to Claim 10. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 9 (see Claim 9 limitation mappings above),
Although Mozak ¶0046 and Kanteti ¶0047 generally disclose instances of logical-to-physical address mapping management, the combined teaching of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior do not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
wherein responsive to receiving the program command, the memory sub-system is to generate a plurality of entries in an address mapping table to map the respective logical block addresses associated with the file to physical addresses where the data is stored on the memory sub-system.
However, Jin discloses the following limitations:
wherein responsive to receiving the program command, the memory sub-system is to generate a plurality of entries in an address mapping table (“L2P map table” + “P2L map table” [0065]) to map the respective logical block addresses associated with the file to physical addresses where the data is stored on the memory sub-system. (“after the controller 130 programs new user data to the memory device 150, the controller 130 may generate a P2L map entry for linking a physical address, which indicates the location where the new user data is programmed in the memory device 150, to a logical address input from the host 102 … After that, the controller 130 may update the L2P map table stored in the memory device 150 based on the P2L map entry.” [0066-68] // ¶0065) – As taught in Jin, a memory controller 130 updates entries in both a P2L map table and an L2P map table in response to a program operation to write new user data into memory.
Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Jin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of address mapping table management responsive to external host memory transactions. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior with the teachings of Jin and realize a system whereby address mapping table entries are generated in response to program operations performed on a memory. Doing so enables efficient control map data in environments where large numbers of L2P entries accrue over time, as disclosed in Jin ¶0070: “When the memory system 100 performs a data input/output operation, a new map entry may be generated and stored in the memory device 150 … As L2P map entries are sequentially added to the L2P map table, the size of the L2P map table can increase, and a plurality of L2P map entries may be mixed up. In order for the memory system 110 to efficiently control the map data, the map data controller 196 may re-configure the L2P map table stored in the memory device 150 after data input/output operations, the garbage collection or the like.” [0070]
Regarding Claim 11,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 10 is equally applicable to Claim 11. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Jin disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 10, wherein responsive to receiving the erase command, the memory sub-system is to delete at least a subset of the plurality of entries in the address mapping table. (Jin, “When the host transmits an erase command to erase a data item … a map entry (e.g., a first map entry), which is met data associated with the data item, can be erased … the memory system 110 deletes the map entry” [0072]) – As taught in Jin, map entries are deleted in response to host erase commands.
Regarding Claim 17,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 15 is equally applicable to Claim 17. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16 (see Claim 16 limitation mappings above),
Although Mozak ¶0046 and Kanteti ¶0047 generally disclose instances of logical-to-physical address mapping management, the combined teaching of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior do not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
wherein responsive to receiving the program command, the memory sub-system is to generate a plurality of entries in an address mapping table to map the respective logical block addresses associated with the file to physical addresses where the data is stored on the memory sub-system.
However, Jin discloses the following limitations:
wherein responsive to receiving the program command, the memory sub-system is to generate a plurality of entries in an address mapping table (“L2P map table” + “P2L map table” [0065]) to map the respective logical block addresses associated with the file to physical addresses where the data is stored on the memory sub-system. (“after the controller 130 programs new user data to the memory device 150, the controller 130 may generate a P2L map entry for linking a physical address, which indicates the location where the new user data is programmed in the memory device 150, to a logical address input from the host 102 … After that, the controller 130 may update the L2P map table stored in the memory device 150 based on the P2L map entry.” [0066-68] // ¶0065) – As taught in Jin, a memory controller 130 updates entries in both a P2L map table and an L2P map table in response to a program operation to write new user data into memory.
Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Jin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of address mapping table management responsive to external host memory transactions. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior with the teachings of Jin and realize a system whereby address mapping table entries are generated in response to program operations performed on a memory. Doing so enables efficient control map data in environments where large numbers of L2P entries accrue over time, as disclosed in Jin ¶0070: “When the memory system 100 performs a data input/output operation, a new map entry may be generated and stored in the memory device 150 … As L2P map entries are sequentially added to the L2P map table, the size of the L2P map table can increase, and a plurality of L2P map entries may be mixed up. In order for the memory system 110 to efficiently control the map data, the map data controller 196 may re-configure the L2P map table stored in the memory device 150 after data input/output operations, the garbage collection or the like.” [0070]
Regarding Claim 18,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 17 is equally applicable to Claim 18. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Jin disclose the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein responsive to receiving the erase command, the memory sub-system is to delete at least a subset of the plurality of entries in the address mapping table. (Jin, “When the host transmits an erase command to erase a data item … a map entry (e.g., a first map entry), which is met data associated with the data item, can be erased … the memory system 110 deletes the map entry” [0072]) – As taught in Jin, map entries are deleted in response to host erase commands.
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mozak further in view of Kanteti, Juior, and Bhimani et al. (US 20190087300 A1)(cited by examiner in previous action)(hereafter referred to as Bhimani).
Regarding Claim 5,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 1 is equally applicable to Claim 5. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 1 (see Claim 1 limitation mappings above),
The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior are silent regarding the following limitations:
wherein the processing device is to perform operations further comprising: receiving data representing write statistics of the memory sub-system in response to performance of the corresponding memory access operations.
However, Bhimani discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processing device is to perform operations further comprising: receiving (Fig. 6, step S650) data representing write statistics (“measurements” [0053]) of the memory sub-system in response to performance of the corresponding memory access operations (“When a representative workload is free of conflicts, the representative I/O generator … issues the I/Os to the SSDs (S640). The storage system and SSD performance may then be benchmarked (S650). The measurements may be displayed live as the representative I/O is being executed and may also be logged for later review. The measurements may include … endurance attributes (e.g., write amplification factor etc.).” [0053] // ¶0048 // Fig. 6) – As shown in Bhimani Fig. 6, a “representative workload” comprising a plurality of I/O commands are passed to an SSD in order to benchmark performance of the SSD (see ¶0048), similar to how the Memory Device 110 of Mozak Fig. 1 is tested using a plurality of memory access transactions. Examiner accordingly considers the SSD of Bhimani as analogous to memory device 110 of Mozak Fig. 1. As taught in Bhimani Fig. 6, after the plurality of I/O commands are issued to the SSD, corresponding “measurements” including “write amplification factor” (i.e., “write statistics”) are displayed and are logged for review.
Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Bhimani are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of testing memory devices using plural memory access commands received from an external host. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior with the teachings of Bhimani and realize a system whereby write statics are received after performance of a series of corresponding memory access operations. Doing enables improved memory device benchmarking to be performed using real-world I/O patterns with a traditional benchmarking tool, as disclosed in Bhimani ¶0054: “Accordingly, the above described embodiments of the present disclosure provide for systems and methods for testing storage devices using a representative I/O generator. Unlike previous systems for performing storage device benchmarking, the system is able to simulate real-world application I/O instead of the overly simplistic I/O of current benchmarking tools. Representative I/O allows for performing benchmarking that has the ease-of-use of using a traditional benchmarking tool while still providing the performance of an actual application workload. Additionally, the storage requirements are minimal when compared to using application traces.” [0054]
Regarding Claim 6,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 5 is equally applicable to Claim 6. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Bhimani disclose the following limitations:
The system of claim 5 (see Claim 5 limitation mappings above), wherein the processing device is to perform operations further comprising: analyzing the data representing the write statistics to evaluate an endurance of the memory sub-system. (Bhimani, “The measurements may be displayed live … The measurements may include … endurance attributes (e.g. write amplification factor etc.)” [0053]) – As taught in Bhimani, write amplification factor enables the endurance of the SSD to be benchmarked.
Regarding Claim 12,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 8 is equally applicable to Claim 12. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 8 (see Claim 8 limitation mappings above),
The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior are silent regarding the following limitations:
further comprising: receiving data representing write statistics of the memory sub-system in response to performance of the corresponding memory access operations.
However, Bhimani discloses the following limitations:
further comprising: receiving (Fig. 6, step S650) data representing write statistics (“measurements” [0053]) of the memory sub-system in response to performance of the corresponding memory access operations (“When a representative workload is free of conflicts, the representative I/O generator … issues the I/Os to the SSDs (S640). The storage system and SSD performance may then be benchmarked (S650). The measurements may be displayed live as the representative I/O is being executed and may also be logged for later review. The measurements may include … endurance attributes (e.g., write amplification factor etc.).” [0053] // ¶0048 // Fig. 6) – As shown in Bhimani Fig. 6, a “representative workload” comprising a plurality of I/O commands are passed to an SSD in order to benchmark performance of the SSD (see ¶0048), similar to how the Memory Device 110 of Mozak Fig. 1 is tested using a plurality of memory access transactions. Examiner accordingly considers the SSD of Bhimani as analogous to memory device 110 of Mozak Fig. 1. As taught in Bhimani Fig. 6, after the plurality of I/O commands are issued to the SSD, corresponding “measurements” including “write amplification factor” (i.e., “write statistics”) are displayed and are logged for review.
Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Bhimani are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of testing memory devices using plural memory access commands received from an external host. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior with the teachings of Bhimani and realize a system whereby write statics are received after performance of a series of corresponding memory access operations. Doing enables improved memory device benchmarking to be performed using real-world I/O patterns with a traditional benchmarking tool, as disclosed in Bhimani ¶0054: “Accordingly, the above described embodiments of the present disclosure provide for systems and methods for testing storage devices using a representative I/O generator. Unlike previous systems for performing storage device benchmarking, the system is able to simulate real-world application I/O instead of the overly simplistic I/O of current benchmarking tools. Representative I/O allows for performing benchmarking that has the ease-of-use of using a traditional benchmarking tool while still providing the performance of an actual application workload. Additionally, the storage requirements are minimal when compared to using application traces.” [0054]
Regarding Claim 13,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 12 is equally applicable to Claim 13. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Bhimani disclose the following limitations:
The method of claim 12 (see Claim 12 limitation mappings above), further comprising: analyzing the data representing the write statistics to evaluate an endurance of the memory sub-system. (Bhimani, “The measurements may be displayed live … The measurements may include … endurance attributes (e.g. write amplification factor etc.)” [0053]) – As taught in Bhimani, write amplification factor enables the endurance of the SSD to be benchmarked.
Regarding Claim 19,
The same motivation to combine provided in Claim 15 is equally applicable to Claim 19. The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior disclose the following limitations:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15 (see Claim 15 limitation mappings above),
The combined teachings of Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior are silent regarding the following limitations:
further comprising: receiving data representing write statistics of the memory sub-system in response to performance of the corresponding memory access operations .
analyzing the data representing the write statistics to evaluate an endurance of the memory sub-system
However, Bhimani discloses the following limitations:
further comprising: receiving (Fig. 6, step S650) data representing write statistics (“measurements” [0053]) of the memory sub-system in response to performance of the corresponding memory access operations (“When a representative workload is free of conflicts, the representative I/O generator … issues the I/Os to the SSDs (S640). The storage system and SSD performance may then be benchmarked (S650). The measurements may be displayed live as the representative I/O is being executed and may also be logged for later review. The measurements may include … endurance attributes (e.g., write amplification factor etc.).” [0053] // ¶0048 // Fig. 6) – As shown in Bhimani Fig. 6, a “representative workload” comprising a plurality of I/O commands are passed to an SSD in order to benchmark performance of the SSD (see ¶0048), similar to how the Memory Device 110 of Mozak Fig. 1 is tested using a plurality of memory access transactions. Examiner accordingly considers the SSD of Bhimani as analogous to memory device 110 of Mozak Fig. 1. As taught in Bhimani Fig. 6, after the plurality of I/O commands are issued to the SSD, corresponding “measurements” including “write amplification factor” (i.e., “write statistics”) are displayed and are logged for review.
analyzing the data representing the write statistics to evaluate an endurance of the memory sub-system. (Bhimani, “The measurements may be displayed live … The measurements may include … endurance attributes (e.g. write amplification factor etc.)” [0053]) – As taught in Bhimani, write amplification factor enables the endurance of the SSD to be benchmarked
Mozak, Kanteti, Juior, and Bhimani are all considered analogous to the claimed invention because they all relate to the same field of testing memory devices using plural memory access commands received from an external host. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mozak, Kanteti, and Juior with the teachings of Bhimani and realize a system whereby write statics are received after performance of a series of corresponding memory access operations. Doing enables improved memory device benchmarking to be performed using real-world I/O patterns with a traditional benchmarking tool, as disclosed in Bhimani ¶0054: “Accordingly, the above described embodiments of the present disclosure provide for systems and methods for testing storage devices using a representative I/O generator. Unlike previous systems for performing storage device benchmarking, the system is able to simulate real-world application I/O instead of the overly simplistic I/O of current benchmarking tools. Representative I/O allows for performing benchmarking that has the ease-of-use of using a traditional benchmarking tool while still providing the performance of an actual application workload. Additionally, the storage requirements are minimal when compared to using application traces.” [0054]
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the newly-identified Juior reference because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Liu et al. (US 20190130990 A1) – Discloses a method of fetching a testing sequence including a plurality of logical addresses from a trace file in order to emulate SSD I/O requests (see Fig. 3 // ¶0046)
Martin et al. (US 20220229768 A1) – Discloses a method of performing simulated IO operations on memory devices based on model checkpoints obtained from a reference workload repository (see Fig. 10)
/J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2133
/ROCIO DEL MAR PEREZ-VELEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2133