Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 , 8-13, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (Patent No. US 20200234499 A1) in further view of GSM DIY (YouTube, “🎨 How to Enable and Adjust Color Filters on Windows 11 🎨 - YouTube”, 11/21/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches an apparatus for color compensation, comprising: (Hwang, “[0010] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, there is provided a media data processing method performed by a media processing apparatus.”)
at least one memory; and (Hwang, “[0169] The metadata processor 1010 according to an embodiment may collect information on reproduction environment of the media reproducing device 1000. For example, the metadata processor 1010 may collect the information on reproduction environment of the media reproducing device 1000, stored in a memory (or a storage unit, not shown in FIG. 1) of the media reproducing device 1000.”)
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: (Hwang, “[0169] The metadata processor 1010 according to an embodiment may collect information on reproduction environment of the media reproducing device 1000. For example, the metadata processor 1010 may collect the information on reproduction environment of the media reproducing device 1000, stored in a memory (or a storage unit, not shown in FIG. 1) of the media reproducing device 1000.”)
However, Hwang is silent about display a visual representation of a color spectrum; receive an indication of boundaries of a sector within a color band, wherein the color band represents an extent of a color for normal vision; map a first color outside of the boundaries of the sector and within the color band to a second color within the sector; and render an image using the second color based on the mapping.
GSM DIY teaches display a visual representation of a color spectrum; (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows color filters setting and the color spectrum is in the preview")
receive an indication of boundaries of a sector within a color band, wherein the color band represents an extent of a color for normal vision; (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows different color boundaries and shows the color preview for normal vision.")
map a first color outside of the boundaries of the sector and within the color band to a second color within the sector; and (GSM DIY, 0:30, "When color filters are on, the color preview assign different color to the color sector")
render an image using the second color based on the mapping. (GSM DIY, 0:30, "When color filters are on, the preview picture next to the color wheel change color accordingly")
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang art by including display a visual representation of a color spectrum; receive an indication of boundaries of a sector within a color band, wherein the color band represents an extent of a color for normal vision; map a first color outside of the boundaries of the sector and within the color band to a second color within the sector; and render an image using the second color based on the mapping as taught by GSM DIY and use that with Hwang’s Method for transmitting/Receiving Media Data and Device Therefor.
The motivation for the combination is to improvise color blind setting to VR headset display.
Regarding claim 2, Hwang is silent about The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the boundaries of the sector represent the extent of the color for a user of the apparatus.
GSM DIY teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the boundaries of the sector represent the extent of the color for a user of the apparatus. (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows color filters setting and the color spectrum is in the preview")
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang art by including The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the boundaries of the sector represent the extent of the color for a user of the apparatus as taught by GSM DIY and use that with Hwang’s Method for transmitting/Receiving Media Data and Device Therefor.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang is silent about The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive an indication of a type of color vision deficiency (CVD); and display the visual representation of the color spectrum, wherein the visual representation includes a boundary marker, and wherein the boundary marker is displayed based on the type of CVD.
GSM DIY teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive an indication of a type of color vision deficiency (CVD); and (GSM DIY, 0:32 - 0:34, "User can choose a type of color blind filter like deuteranopia, protanopia, tritanopia")
display the visual representation of the color spectrum, wherein the visual representation includes a boundary marker, and wherein the boundary marker is displayed based on the type of CVD. (GSM DIY, 0:32 - 0:34, "User can choose a type of color-blind filter like deuteranopia, protanopia, tritanopia. When a type of color-blind setting is selected, the color within boundary markers would change accordingly")
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang art by including The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive an indication of a type of color vision deficiency (CVD); and display the visual representation of the color spectrum, wherein the visual representation includes a boundary marker, and wherein the boundary marker is displayed based on the type of CVD as taught by GSM DIY and use that with Hwang’s Method for transmitting/Receiving Media Data and Device Therefor.
Regarding claim 4, Hwang is silent about The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the visual representation of the color spectrum comprises a color wheel.
GSM DIY teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the visual representation of the color spectrum comprises a color wheel. (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows color filters setting and the color wheel is in the preview")
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang art by including The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the visual representation of the color spectrum comprises a color wheel as taught by GSM DIY and use that with Hwang’s Method for transmitting/Receiving Media Data and Device Therefor.
Regarding claim 8, Hwang teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to output the image for display. (Hwang, “[0122] The sub-figure FIG. 7a may illustrate a cubic projection format. For example, stitched 360 video data may be represented on a spherical surface. A projection processor may divide the 360 video data into a cube shape and then may project it on a 2D image. The 360 video data on the spherical surface may correspond to each face of the cube, and thus may be projected on the 2D image as shown in the left side in the sub-figure (b) of FIG. 7a or in the right side in the sub-figure (b).”)
Regarding claim 9, Hwang teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus comprises a head-mounted display. (Hwang, “[0055] An apparatus, such as a VR display, may extract a viewport area based on the position/orientation of the head of the user, a vertical or horizontal FOV that is supported by the apparatus, etc.”)
Regarding claim 10, Hwang teaches A method for color compensation, comprising: (Hwang, “[0010] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, there is provided a media data processing method performed by a media processing apparatus.”)
However, Hwang is silent about display a visual representation of a color spectrum; receive an indication of boundaries of a sector within a color band, wherein the color band represents an extent of a color for normal vision; map a first color outside of the boundaries of the sector and within the color band to a second color within the sector; and render an image using the second color based on the mapping.
GSM DIY teaches display a visual representation of a color spectrum; (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows color filters setting and the color spectrum is in the preview")
receive an indication of boundaries of a sector within a color band, wherein the color band represents an extent of a color for normal vision; (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows different color boundaries and shows the color preview for normal vision.")
map a first color outside of the boundaries of the sector and within the color band to a second color within the sector; and (GSM DIY, 0:30, "When color filters are on, the color preview assign different color to the color sector")
render an image using the second color based on the mapping. (GSM DIY, 0:30, "When color filters are on, the preview picture next to the color wheel change color accordingly")
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang art by including display a visual representation of a color spectrum; receive an indication of boundaries of a sector within a color band, wherein the color band represents an extent of a color for normal vision; map a first color outside of the boundaries of the sector and within the color band to a second color within the sector; and render an image using the second color based on the mapping as taught by GSM DIY and use that with Hwang’s Method for transmitting/Receiving Media Data and Device Therefor.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang is silent about The method of claim 10, wherein the boundaries of the sector represent the extent of the color for a user.
GSM DIY teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the boundaries of the sector represent the extent of the color for a user. (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows color filters setting and the color spectrum is in the preview")
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang art by including The method of claim 10, wherein the boundaries of the sector represent the extent of the color for a user as taught by GSM DIY and use that with Hwang’s Method for transmitting/Receiving Media Data and Device Therefor.
Regarding claim 12, Hwang is silent about The method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving an indication of a type of color vision deficiency (CVD); and displaying the visual representation of the color spectrum, wherein the visual representation includes a boundary marker, and wherein the boundary marker is displayed based on the type of CVD.
GSM DIY teaches The method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving an indication of a type of color vision deficiency (CVD); and (GSM DIY, 0:32 - 0:34, "User can choose a type of color blind filter like deuteranopia, protanopia, tritanopia")
display the visual representation of the color spectrum, wherein the visual representation includes a boundary marker, and wherein the boundary marker is displayed based on the type of CVD. (GSM DIY, 0:32 - 0:34, "User can choose a type of color-blind filter like deuteranopia, protanopia, tritanopia. When a type of color-blind setting is selected, the color within boundary markers would change accordingly")
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang art by including The method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving an indication of a type of color vision deficiency (CVD); and displaying the visual representation of the color spectrum, wherein the visual representation includes a boundary marker, and wherein the boundary marker is displayed based on the type of CVD. as taught by GSM DIY and use that with Hwang’s Method for transmitting/Receiving Media Data and Device Therefor.
Regarding claim 13, Hwang is silent about The method of claim 10, wherein the visual representation of the color spectrum comprises a color wheel.
GSM DIY teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the visual representation of the color spectrum comprises a color wheel. (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows color filters setting and the color wheel is in the preview")
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang art by including The method of claim 10, wherein the visual representation of the color spectrum comprises a color wheel as taught by GSM DIY and use that with Hwang’s Method for transmitting/Receiving Media Data and Device Therefor.
Regarding claim 17, Hwang teaches The method of claim 10, further comprising outputting the image for display. (Hwang, “[0122] The sub-figure FIG. 7a may illustrate a cubic projection format. For example, stitched 360 video data may be represented on a spherical surface. A projection processor may divide the 360 video data into a cube shape and then may project it on a 2D image. The 360 video data on the spherical surface may correspond to each face of the cube, and thus may be projected on the 2D image as shown in the left side in the sub-figure (b) of FIG. 7a or in the right side in the sub-figure (b).”)
Regarding claim 18, Hwang teaches The method of claim 17, wherein the display comprises a head-mounted display. (Hwang, “[0055] An apparatus, such as a VR display, may extract a viewport area based on the position/orientation of the head of the user, a vertical or horizontal FOV that is supported by the apparatus, etc.”)
Regarding claim 19, Hwang teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: (Hwang, “[0169] The metadata processor 1010 according to an embodiment may collect information on reproduction environment of the media reproducing device 1000. For example, the metadata processor 1010 may collect the information on reproduction environment of the media reproducing device 1000, stored in a memory (or a storage unit, not shown in FIG. 1) of the media reproducing device 1000.)
However, Hwang is silent about display a visual representation of a color spectrum; receive an indication of boundaries of a sector within a color band, wherein the color band represents an extent of a color for normal vision; map a first color outside of the boundaries of the sector and within the color band to a second color within the sector; and render an image using the second color based on the mapping.
GSM DIY teaches display a visual representation of a color spectrum; (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows color filters setting and the color spectrum is in the preview")
receive an indication of boundaries of a sector within a color band, wherein the color band represents an extent of a color for normal vision; (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows different color boundaries and shows the color preview for normal vision.")
map a first color outside of the boundaries of the sector and within the color band to a second color within the sector; and (GSM DIY, 0:30, "When color filters are on, the color preview assign different color to the color sector")
render an image using the second color based on the mapping. (GSM DIY, 0:30, "When color filters are on, the preview picture next to the color wheel change color accordingly")
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang art by including display a visual representation of a color spectrum; receive an indication of boundaries of a sector within a color band, wherein the color band represents an extent of a color for normal vision; map a first color outside of the boundaries of the sector and within the color band to a second color within the sector; and render an image using the second color based on the mapping as taught by GSM DIY and use that with Hwang’s Method for transmitting/Receiving Media Data and Device Therefor.
Regarding claim 20, Hwang is silent The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the boundaries of the sector represent the extent of the color for a user.
GSM DIY teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the boundaries of the sector represent the extent of the color for a user. (GSM DIY, 0:24, "The timestamp shows color filters setting and the color spectrum is in the preview")
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang art by including The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the boundaries of the sector represent the extent of the color for a user as taught by GSM DIY and use that with Hwang’s Method for transmitting/Receiving Media Data and Device Therefor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-7, and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
should be directed to CHAK FUNG A LAM whose telephone number is (571)272-9823. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday-Friday 8am-5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Said Broome can be reached at 5712722931. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or
571-272-1000.
/C.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612