Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the set of circuitry and equipment in the storage shell must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: element 4 in Fig. 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: lacking percentage symbol “20[%] to 100% of the height”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: lacking percentage symbol “over 60[%] to 100% of the height”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim ending punctuation includes an un-opened parenthesis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “homogenization device for homogenizing the temperature of the fluid vertically in the tank” in claim 1, the sufficient structure being “the homogenization device comprising at least one heat-transfer wall comprising a material with a coefficient of thermal conductivity of greater than 30 W-m-1-K-1, said transfer wall being arranged parallel to the longitudinal direction of the tank and extending vertically over 20 to 100% of the height of the storage shell and extending longitudinally over at least 50% of the length of the storage shell”.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the use configuration". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the height of the storage shell” and “the length of the storage shell". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 recite the limitation "the transfer wall". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (i.e. claim 1 recites “a heat-transfer wall”, and claim 7 recites “the wall”, and it is therefore unclear whether these three recitations reference the same “heat-transfer wall” of claim 1).
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the transfer wall has one or more fins extending transversely relative to the wall". It is unclear whether these “one or more fins” refer to “at least one fin” of claim 6 from which claim 7 depends, or are to recite new and additional fins to those of claim 6. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as referring to the fins of claim 6.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the wall" and “the diameter”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 6,742,554 (Immel hereinafter) in view of US PG Pub No. 2012/0312500 (Jorgenson hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference to Fig. 5, Immel discloses: A tank (70) for storing fluid (“hydrogen”, column 5, lines 9-11) comprising a storage shell (12) with a cylindrical overall shape extending in a longitudinal direction that is horizontal when the tank is in the use configuration (column 5, lines 12-18), the storage shell comprising, within it, a homogenization device (72) for homogenizing the temperature of the fluid vertically in the tank (column 5, lines 43-45), the homogenization device comprising at least one [AltContent: ]heat-transfer wall (72) comprising a material with a coefficient of thermal conductivity [AltContent: ](“aluminum”, column 5, lines 23-26), said transfer wall being arranged parallel to the longitudinal direction of the tank and extending vertically.
[AltContent: textbox (Shell Length)][AltContent: textbox (Transfer Wall Length)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fin)][AltContent: textbox (Transfer Wall Height)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Shell Height)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (“for cryogenic fluid”) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114, II.
Immel fails to disclose wherein the aluminum heat-transfer wall has a specific range of coefficient of thermal conductivity of greater than 30 W /(mꞏK).
However, Jorgenson discloses a fuel cooler assembly wherein aluminum is taught to have a thermal conductivity of 255 W/(mꞏC) [255 W/(mꞏK]) (see paragraph 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized an aluminum with a high coefficient of thermal conductivity for the thermal-conducting aluminum wall of Immel as taught by Jorgenson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07. Please note that in the instant application, page 4, lines 15-17, and page 5, lines 7-9, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
While Immel does not state the said transfer wall being arranged parallel to the longitudinal direction of the tank and extending vertically over 20[%] to 100% of the height, Immel does state “Further, the width of the gap 78 is small enough so that the majority of the volume of the container 70 is within the vessel 72.” (column 5, lines 52-55). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have designated said transfer wall extending vertically over 20 to 100% and over at least 50% since values in these range would be required for a majority of the volume to be filled as taught by Immel. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 4, lines 13-27, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 2, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Immel in view of Jorgenson disclose the claimed invention including wherein the transfer wall extends vertically over 60 to 100% of the height of the storage shell (see Fig. 5 above, as in re claim 1 above).
Again, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 4, lines 13-27, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 3, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Immel in view of Jorgenson disclose the claimed invention including wherein the transfer wall extends longitudinally over at least 80% of the length of the storage shell[)] (as in re claim 1 above, see Fig. 5 above).
Again, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 4 lines 13-27, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 4, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Immel in view of Jorgenson disclose the claimed invention including wherein the transfer wall is comprised of aluminium (“aluminum”, column 5, lines 23-26).
In re claim 5, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Immel in view of Jorgenson disclose the claimed invention except wherein the transfer wall has a thickness of between 1 mm and 8 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected a desired range of thickness of the wall capable of transferring heat of Immel in view of Jorgenson since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 2, line 20, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 6, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Immel in view of Jorgenson disclose the claimed invention including wherein the transfer wall has at least one fin extending transversely relative to the transfer wall (see fig. 5 above).
In re claim 7, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Immel in view of Jorgenson disclose the claimed invention including wherein the transfer wall has one fin extending transversely relative to the wall over a distance transverse to the transfer wall that is ~52% of the diameter of the storage shell (see Fig. 5 above), but not less than half of[,] the diameter of the storage shell with a cylindrical overall shape.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have slightly decreased the extending distance of the fin from ~52% to 49% of the diameter of the storage shell, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 5, lines 23-27, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 8, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Immel in view of Jorgenson disclose the claimed invention including wherein the transfer wall is fastened to the storage shell by welding (column 5, lines 26-30).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Immel in view of Jorgenson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Us Patent No. 10,859,208 (Tamburello et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 9, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Immel in view of Jorgenson disclose the claimed invention except a set of circuitry and equipment in the storage shell, the transfer wall forming a support for at least some of the circuitry and/or equipment.
However, Tamburello et al. discloses a heat transfer unit for a vessel, wherein a heat transfer element (14/50) can have thereon attached an auxiliary device (“an auxiliary device 60 may be a sensor, such as a chemical sensor; a sampling device, such as a pitot tube; a thermocouple; or a pressure transducer”) within the storage shell (20) (see Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated “circuitry and equipment” as would be expected to be found in the auxiliary device (sensor, thermocouple, etc.) on the heat-transfer element of Tamburello et al. on the heat-transfer wall of Immel in view of Jorgensen for the purposes of utilizing the equipment to monitor and measure various characteristics of the fluid within the vessel, take samples of the fluid, etc. (see Tamburello et al. column 5, lines 55-62).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Immel in view of Jorgenson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US PG Pub no. 2017/0159883 (Lapena Rey et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 10, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Immel in view of Jorgenson disclose the claimed invention except a double-walled configuration with a space comprising thermal insulation.
However, a cryogenic tank for storing liquid hydrogen is formed as a double-walled tank including a space for an insulation barrier between the first wall 104 and second wall 106 (paragraphs 0048 and 0051, see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the tank of Immel in view of Jorgenson to have included a double walled configuration with a space for thermal insulation as taught by Lapena Rey et al. for the predictable purposes of preventing external heat from further heating the stored liquid of Immel in view of Jorgenson in order to prevent the liner from excess heating (“so as to not significantly increase the temperature of the liner 14” Immel column 4,lines 34-45).
Conclusion
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733