DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 01/08/2025, wherein:
Claim 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20230354078 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: a processor; and a transceiver operatively coupled to the processor (Fig. 6 – UE which would comprise processor and transceiver component for performing its function), the transceiver configured to:
receive, from a base station (BS) (Fig. 6 – gNB), a first message including a request for cell (re) selection measurements (Fig. 6 step 604 and ¶0175-0181 disclose UE receiving, from base station, a request for logged measurement data; ¶0178 – “In a case that the network device needs measurement results for other cell reselection, cell switching and other parameters, measurement may also be performed for cell reselection, cell switching and other parameters and recorded in the measurement report”); and
in response to receipt of the first message, transmit to the BS, a second message including the cell (re) selection measurements (Fig. 6 step 605 and ¶0182 – “[0182] At block 605: sending, by the UE, a UE information response to the gNB, where the UE information response includes the measurement result measured based on the idle mode measurement configuration”).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the BS, a third message indicating an availability of cell (re) selection measurements (Fig. 6 step 603 and ¶0180); and in response to transmission of the third message, receive from the BS, the first message (Fig. 6 step 604 and ¶0181).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: while the UE is in one of a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state, cause the UE to perform at least one cell (re) selection measurement; and store at least one result of the at least one cell (re) selection measurement in a memory of the UE (Fig. 6 step 601-602 and ¶0175-0180).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses a base station (BS) comprising: a processor; and a transceiver operatively coupled to the processor, the transceiver (Fig. 6 – gNB which is known to comprise processor and transceiver for performing its function) configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first message including a request for cell (re) selection measurements (Fig. 6 step 604 and ¶0175-0181 disclose base station transmitting a request for logged measurement data; ¶0178 – “[0178] In a case that the network device needs measurement results for other cell reselection, cell switching and other parameters, measurement may also be performed for cell reselection, cell switching and other parameters and recorded in the measurement report”); and receive, from the UE, a second message including the cell (re) selection measurements (Fig. 6 step 605 and ¶0182 – “[0182] At block 605: sending, by the UE, a UE information response to the gNB, where the UE information response includes the measurement result measured based on the idle mode measurement configuration”).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses the BS of claim 8, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receiving, from the UE, a third message indicating an availability of cell (re) selection measurements (Fig. 6 step 603 and ¶0180); and in response to receipt of the third message, transmit, to the UE, the first message (Fig. 6 step 604 and ¶0181).
Regarding claim 14, the scope and content of the claim recties a method of operating a user equipment (UE) of claim 1, therefore, being addressed as presented in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the scope and content of the claim recties a method of operating a user equipment (UE) of claim 3, therefore, being addressed as presented in claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the scope and content of the claim recties a method of operating a user equipment (UE) of claim 6, therefore, being addressed as presented in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 4, 9, 11, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20230354078 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 20200029239 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the UE of claim 1, however, silent on further details of claim 2
Chen discloses wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive the first message while the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; the first message is an RRC resume message; and the second message is an RRC resume complete message (Fig. 2 and Abstract – “The method receives, at the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) release message to transition to an RRC Inactive state. The method of some of the present implementations performs measurements while in the RRC Inactive state. The method then receives an RRC resume message from a base station, the RRC resume message comprising a request for the measurement results. After receiving the RRC resume message, the method transmits the measurement results to the base station in an RRC resume complete message”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Liu to incorporate RRC signalling for obtaining measurement result from Chen because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known protocol for obtaining measurement information.
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the UE of claim 3, and further discloses wherein: the first message is a UE information request message; and the second message is a UE information response message (Fig. 6 step 603-604 and ¶0180-0181 disclose information request and response messages). However, the reference is silent on details about wherein: the third message is a radio resource control (RRC) resume complete message.
Chen discloses wherein: the third message is a radio resource control (RRC) resume complete message (¶0057 – “as described below with reference to FIG. 4, the indicator for early measurement results availability may be carried by a particular RRC message (e.g., by RRC Resume Complete message)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Liu to incorporate RRC signalling for indicating measurement result from Chen because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known protocol for obtaining measurement information.
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses the BS of claim 8, however, silent on further details of claim 9.
Chen discloses wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit the first message while the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; the first message is an RRC resume message; and the second message is an RRC resume complete message (Fig. 2 and Abstract – “The method receives, at the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) release message to transition to an RRC Inactive state. The method of some of the present implementations performs measurements while in the RRC Inactive state. The method then receives an RRC resume message from a base station, the RRC resume message comprising a request for the measurement results. After receiving the RRC resume message, the method transmits the measurement results to the base station in an RRC resume complete message”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Liu to incorporate RRC signalling for obtaining measurement result from Chen because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known protocol for obtaining measurement information.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses the BS of claim 10, and further discloses wherein: the first message is a UE information request message; and the second message is a UE information response message (Fig. 6 step 603-604 and ¶0180-0181 disclose information request and response messages). However, the reference is silent on details about wherein: the third message is a radio resource control (RRC) resume complete message.
Chen discloses wherein: the third message is a radio resource control (RRC) resume complete message (¶0057 – “as described below with reference to FIG. 4, the indicator for early measurement results availability may be carried by a particular RRC message (e.g., by RRC Resume Complete message).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Liu to incorporate RRC signalling for indicating measurement result from Chen because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known protocol for obtaining measurement information.
Regarding claim 15, the scope and content of the claim recties a method of operating a user equipment (UE) of claim 2, therefore, being addressed as presented in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the scope and content of the claim recties a method of operating a user equipment (UE) of claim 4, therefore, being addressed as presented in claim 4.
Claim 5, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20230354078 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200252823 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses the UE of claim 3, and further discloses wherein: the first message is a UE information request message; and the second message is a UE information response message (Fig. 6 step 603-604 and ¶0180-0181 disclose information request and response messages). However, the reference is silent on details about wherein: the third message is a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message.
Kim discloses wherein: the third message is a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message (¶0392 – “Message 5 may include a new indicator defined to indicate that there is a result of early frequency measurement, and may reuse an indicator indicating that there is UE information already defined in the RRC message (RRC Setup Complete or RRC Resume Complete)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Liu to incorporate RRC signalling for indicating availability of measurement result from Kim because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known protocol for providing indication of measurement result.
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses the BS of claim 10, and further discloses wherein: the first message is a UE information request message; and the second message is a UE information response message (Fig. 6 step 603-604 and ¶0180-0181 disclose information request and response messages). However, the reference is silent on details about wherein: the third message is a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message.
Kim discloses wherein: the third message is a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message (¶0392 – “Message 5 may include a new indicator defined to indicate that there is a result of early frequency measurement, and may reuse an indicator indicating that there is UE information already defined in the RRC message (RRC Setup Complete or RRC Resume Complete)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Liu to incorporate RRC signalling for indicating availability of measurement result from Kim because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known protocol for providing indication of measurement result.
Regarding claim 18, the scope and content of the claim recties a method of operating a user equipment (UE) of claim 5, therefore, being addressed as presented in claim 5.
Claim 7, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20230354078 A1) in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 20230057408 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses the UE of claim 6, however, silent on further details of claim 7
Ramachandra discloses wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive a third message including a validity time for the at least one result (Fig. 10 step 2401 and ¶0135 – “The UE logs one or more of the cells/frequencies configured for early measurements as well as additional early measurement configurations such as quantityThreshold, validity area, the duration for which this configuration is applicable (i.e. measIdleDuration)”); and the processor is further configured to include the at least one result in the second message based on the validity time (Fig. 10 step 2429 and ¶0189).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Liu to incorporate time validity in measurement configuration from Ramachandra because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to provide ability to customize measurement configuration.
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses the BS of claim 10, however, silent on further details of claim 13.
Ramachandra discloses wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the UE, a third message including a validity time for at least one cell (re) selection measurement result (Fig. 10 step 2401 and ¶0135 – “The UE logs one or more of the cells/frequencies configured for early measurements as well as additional early measurement configurations such as quantityThreshold, validity area, the duration for which this configuration is applicable (i.e. measIdleDuration)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Liu to incorporate time validity in measurement configuration from Ramachandra because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to provide ability to customize measurement configuration.
Regarding claim 20, the scope and content of the claim recties a method of operating a user equipment (UE) of claim 7, therefore, being addressed as presented in claim 7.
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643