DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 2013/0050981; hereinafter referred to as Yang) in view of Akiyama (US 2012/0133904).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a projection device (Figure 6) comprising:
a circuit board (see Figure 6; wherein the LED sources and laser sources 60 and 63 are inherently incorporated on a circuit board);
a light source module (Figure 6; LED Sources 60 and Laser Source 63) disposed on the circuit board (see Figure 6) and adapted to emit an illumination beam (see Figure 6; Paragraphs [0040]-[0041]), the light source module (Figure 6; LED Sources 60 and Laser Source 63) comprising at least one light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and at least one laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) arranged adjacent to each other (see Figure 6), and
a wavelength conversion component (Figure 6; Wavelength Conversion Material 68) disposed on the light source module (see Figure 6);
wherein a laser illumination range of the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) is partly overlapped with a light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) illumination range of the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) for increasing an illumination intensity of a central area of the illumination beam (see Figure 6 and Paragraph [0040]), and an illumination intensity of a peripheral area of the illumination beam around the central area is lower than the illumination intensity of the central area (see Figure 6; Paragraph [0040]; wherein the blue laser source located in the center portion of the array inherently has a higher illumination intensity than the blue-violet LED sources 60).
Yang does not expressly disclose that the total luminous area of the light source module is ranged between 0.5 square millimeters and 10 square millimeters.
Akiyama discloses a projection device (Figure 1; Light Source Device 100) comprising:
a circuit board (Figure 2; Substrate 11);
a light source module (Figure 2; Laser Sources 12) disposed on the circuit board (Figure 2; Substrate 11) and comprising at least one laser unit (Figure 2; Laser Sources 12) arranged adjacent to each other (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0060]), a total luminous area of the light source module (Figure 2; Laser Sources 12) being ranged between 0.5 square millimeters and 10 square millimeters (see Paragraph [0088]; wherein it is disclosed that the excitation light is formed to have an approximately square shape of 1 mm x 1 mm), an illumination beam emitted by the light source module (Figure 2; Laser Sources 12) passing the optical element assembly (Figure 1; Color Separation Optical System 200), the light valve (Figure 1; Light Valve 400R, 400G and 400B) and the imaging element (Figure 1; Projection Optical System 600) in sequence (see Figure 1); and
a wavelength conversion component (Figure 1; Light Emitting Element 60) disposed on the light source module (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection device of Yang such that the total luminous area of the light source module is ranged between 0.5 square millimeters and 10 square millimeters, as taught by Akiyama, because doing so would predictably improve light use efficiency.
Regarding Claim 2, Yang as modified by Akiyama discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) respectively are rectangular units (see Figure 6), an outer contour of adjacent arrangement of the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) is a rectangle (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang as modified by Akiyama discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) are disposed on the circuit board in a co-planar manner (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang as modified by Akiyama discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses a luminous area of the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) is smaller than fifty percent of the total luminous area (see Figure 6; Paragraph [0040]; wherein there exists a single laser source 63 between two blue-violet LED sources 60), a luminous area of the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) is greater than or equal to fifty percent of the total luminous area (see Figure 6; Paragraph [0040]; wherein there exists a single laser source 63 between two blue-violet LED sources 60).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang as modified by Akiyama discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses the light source module (Figure 6; LED Sources 60 and Laser Source 63) further comprises the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) and two light emitting diodes (Figure 6; LED Sources 60), the two light emitting diodes (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) are respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the laser unit (see Figure 6; wherein there exists a single laser source 63 between two blue-violet LED sources 60).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang as modified by Akiyama discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses at least one of the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) is covered by the wavelength conversion component (see Figure 6; wherein the wavelength conversion material 68 covers the LED sources 60 and laser source 63).
Regarding Claim 7, Yang as modified by Akiyama discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses the wavelength conversion component (Figure 6; Wavelength Conversion Material 68) allows penetration of some part of the illumination beam (see Figure 6), and is excited by other part of the illumination beam to generate an excitation beam (see Paragraph [0043]).
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama (US 2012/0133904) in view of Yang et al (US 2013/0050981; hereinafter referred to as Yang).
Regarding Claim 8, Akiyama discloses an illumination system (Figure 1; Projector PJ), comprising:
an imaging element (Figure 1; Projection Optical System 600);
an optical element assembly (Figure 1; Color Separation Optical System 200);
a light valve (Figure 1; Light Valve 400R, 400G and 400B) disposed between the imaging element (Figure 1; Projection Optical System 600) and the optical element assembly (see Figure 1); and
a projection device (Figure 1; Light Source Device 100) disposed on a side of the optical element assembly (Figure 1; Color Separation Optical System 200) opposite to the light valve (see Figure 1), the projection device (Figure 1; Light Source Device 100) comprising:
a circuit board (Figure 2; Substrate 11);
a light source module (Figure 2; Laser Sources 12) disposed on the circuit board (Figure 2; Substrate 11) and comprising at least one laser unit (Figure 2; Laser Sources 12) arranged adjacent to each other (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0060]), a total luminous area of the light source module (Figure 2; Laser Sources 12) being ranged between 0.5 square millimeters and 10 square millimeters (see Paragraph [0088]; wherein it is disclosed that the excitation light is formed to have an approximately square shape of 1 mm x 1 mm), an illumination beam emitted by the light source module (Figure 2; Laser Sources 12) passing the optical element assembly (Figure 1; Color Separation Optical System 200), the light valve (Figure 1; Light Valve 400R, 400G and 400B) and the imaging element (Figure 1; Projection Optical System 600) in sequence (see Figure 1); and
a wavelength conversion component (Figure 1; Light Emitting Element 60) disposed on the light source module (see Figure 1).
Akiyama does not expressly disclose a light source module disposed on the circuit board and comprising at least one light emitting diode and at least one laser unit arranged adjacent to each other, wherein a laser illumination range of the laser unit is partly overlapped with a light emitting diode illumination range of the light emitting diode for increasing an illumination intensity of a central area of the illumination beam, and an illumination intensity of a peripheral area of the illumination beam around the central area is lower than the illumination intensity of the central area.
Yang discloses a projection device (Figure 6) comprising:
a circuit board (see Figure 6; wherein the LED sources and laser sources 60 and 63 are inherently incorporated on a circuit board);
a light source module (Figure 6; LED Sources 60 and Laser Source 63) disposed on the circuit board (see Figure 6) and adapted to emit an illumination beam (see Figure 6; Paragraphs [0040]-[0041]), the light source module (Figure 6; LED Sources 60 and Laser Source 63) comprising at least one light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and at least one laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) arranged adjacent to each other (see Figure 6), and
a wavelength conversion component (Figure 6; Wavelength Conversion Material 68) disposed on the light source module (see Figure 6);
wherein a laser illumination range of the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) is partly overlapped with a light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) illumination range of the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) for increasing an illumination intensity of a central area of the illumination beam (see Figure 6 and Paragraph [0040]), and an illumination intensity of a peripheral area of the illumination beam around the central area is lower than the illumination intensity of the central area (see Figure 6; Paragraph [0040]; wherein the blue laser source located in the center portion of the array inherently has a higher illumination intensity than the blue-violet LED sources 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection device of Akiyama such that the light source module is disposed on the circuit board and comprises at least one light emitting diode and at least one laser unit arranged adjacent to each other, wherein a laser illumination range of the laser unit is partly overlapped with a light emitting diode illumination range of the light emitting diode for increasing an illumination intensity of a central area of the illumination beam, and an illumination intensity of a peripheral area of the illumination beam around the central area is lower than the illumination intensity of the central area, as taught by Yang, because doing so would allow for the projector system to incorporate the high luminescence efficiency for the narrow beam excitation light and combine the wide beam excitation light as additional excitation at the same time (see Yang Paragraph [0009]).
Regarding Claim 9, Akiyama as modified by Yang discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) respectively are rectangular units (see Figure 6), an outer contour of adjacent arrangement of the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) is a rectangle (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Akiyama as modified by Yang discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) are disposed on the circuit board in a co-planar manner (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Akiyama as modified by Yang discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses a luminous area of the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) is smaller than fifty percent of the total luminous area (see Figure 6; Paragraph [0040]; wherein there exists a single laser source 63 between two blue-violet LED sources 60), a luminous area of the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) is greater than or equal to fifty percent of the total luminous area (see Figure 6; Paragraph [0040]; wherein there exists a single laser source 63 between two blue-violet LED sources 60).
Regarding Claim 12, Akiyama as modified by Yang discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses the light source module (Figure 6; LED Sources 60 and Laser Source 63) further comprises the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) and two light emitting diodes (Figure 6; LED Sources 60), the two light emitting diodes (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) are respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the laser unit (see Figure 6; wherein there exists a single laser source 63 between two blue-violet LED sources 60).
Regarding Claim 13, Akiyama as modified by Yang discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses at least one of the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) is covered by the wavelength conversion component (see Figure 6; wherein the wavelength conversion material 68 covers the LED sources 60 and laser source 63).
Regarding Claim 14, Akiyama as modified by Yang discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses the wavelength conversion component (Figure 6; Wavelength Conversion Material 68) allows penetration of some part of the illumination beam (see Figure 6), and is excited by other part of the illumination beam to generate an excitation beam (see Paragraph [0043]).
Regarding Claim 15, Akiyama as modified by Yang discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Yang further discloses the light emitting diode (Figure 6; LED Sources 60) and the laser unit (Figure 6; Laser Source 63) are activated simultaneously or alternately so that the light source module (Figure 6; LED Sources 60 and Laser Source 63) emits the illumination beam (see Paragraph [0040]).
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882