DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, Sub-Species A [figures 3 & 6-7, corresponding to claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-13, & 17-19] in the reply filed on 6/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-6, 9, 14-16, & 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10-13, & 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20100085387).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a driving method of a liquid crystal display [abstract & figs. 1-2 & para. 48] comprising:
generating an output grayscale value of a pixel of an output frame (calibrated grayscale data of Nth frame) [figs. 3 & 10 & para. 52-58] according to N input grayscale values of the pixels of Y input frames (nth frame, n-1th frame, & n-2th frame, each with corresponding grayscale data) [figs. 3 & 10 & para. 52-58 & 108]; and
displaying the pixel of the output frame according to at least the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame (calibrated grayscale data of Nth frame) [figs. 1-3 & para. 52-58];
wherein N and Y are positive integers, and N is greater than or equal to Y [figs. 3 & 5-10].
As to claim 2, Kim discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein generating the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame according to the N input grayscale values of the pixels of the Y input frames is accessing a lookup table according to the N input grayscale values of the pixels of the Y input frames to obtain the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame (first storage unit 240 with first look-up table, second look-up table, & third look-up table) [fig. 3 & para. 73, 102-105, & 113].
As to claim 3, Kim discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein generating the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame according to the N input grayscale values of the pixels of the Y input frames (see claim 1) comprises, when Y=N (nth frame, n-1th frame, & n-2th frame, each with corresponding grayscale data) [figs. 3 & 10 & para. 52-58 & 108]:
generating the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame according to the N input grayscale values of the pixels from a current input frame and previous Y-1 input frames (nth frame & n1-th frame utilized for overdrive) [figs. 3, & 5-6 & para. 60-62];
wherein the Y input frames are consecutive frames (nth frame, n-1th frame, & n-2th frame) [fig. 3 & para. 108]; and Y>2 [figs. 3, & 5-6].
As to claim 7, Kim discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein generating the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame according to the N input grayscale values of the pixels of the Y input frames (see claim 1 above) comprises:
accessing an end grayscale overdrive lookup table to generate the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame according to an actual output end grayscale value of a pixel of a previous output frame and a current input grayscale value (target grayscale level of nth frame & grayscale level at end of n1-th frame utilized for overdrive) [figs. 3, & 5-6 & para. 60-62].
As to claim 8, Kim discloses the method of Claim 7, wherein displaying the pixel of the output frame according to at least the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame comprises:
accessing an end grayscale input lookup table to generate an actual output end grayscale value of the output frame according to the actual output end grayscale value of the pixel of the previous output frame and the current input grayscale value (target grayscale level of nth frame & grayscale level at end of n1-th frame utilized for overdrive utilized to determine calibrated grayscale for nth frame) [figs. 3, & 5-6 & para. 60-62]; and
storing the actual output end grayscale value of the output frame in a memory (nth frame becomes n-1th frame) [para. 108].
As to claim 10, Kim discloses a liquid crystal display [abstract & figs. 1-2 & para. 48] comprising:
a processor (timing controller 200) [figs. 1 & 3] configured to generate an output grayscale value of a pixel of an output frame (calibrated grayscale data of Nth frame) [figs. 3 & 10 & para. 52-58] according to N input grayscale values of the pixels of Y input frames (nth frame, n-1th frame, & n-2th frame, each with corresponding grayscale data) [figs. 3 & 10 & para. 52-58 & 108]; and
a display unit (panel unit 100) [figs. 1-2 & para. 43] coupled to the processor, and is configured to display the pixel of the output frame according to at least the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame (calibrated grayscale data of Nth frame) [figs. 1-3 & para. 52-58];
wherein N and Y are positive integers, and N is greater than or equal to Y [figs. 3 & 5-10].
As to claim 11, Kim discloses the liquid crystal display of Claim 10, wherein the processor accesses a lookup table according to the N input grayscale values of the Y input frames to obtain the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame (first storage unit 240 with first look-up table, second look-up table, & third look-up table) [fig. 3 & para. 73, 102-105, & 113].
As to claim 12, Kim discloses the liquid crystal display of Claim 10, further comprising a memory coupled to the processor, and is configured to store the lookup table (first storage unit 240 with first look-up table, second look-up table, & third look-up table) [fig. 3 & para. 73, 102-105, & 113].
As to claim 13, Kim discloses the liquid crystal display of Claim 10, wherein when Y=N (nth frame, n-1th frame, & n-2th frame, each with corresponding grayscale data) [figs. 3 & 10 & para. 52-58 & 108]:
the processor generates the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame according to the N input grayscale values of the pixels of a current input frame and previous Y-1 input frames (nth frame & n1-th frame utilized for overdrive) [figs. 3, & 5-6 & para. 60-62];
wherein the Y input frames are consecutive frames (nth frame, n-1th frame, & n-2th frame) [fig. 3 & para. 108]; and Y>2 [figs. 3, & 5-6].
As to claim 17, Kim discloses the liquid crystal display of Claim 10, wherein:
the processor accesses an end grayscale overdrive lookup table to generate the output grayscale value of the pixel of the output frame according to an actual output end grayscale value of a pixel of a previous output frame and a current input grayscale value (target grayscale level of nth frame & grayscale level at end of n1-th frame utilized for overdrive) [figs. 3, & 5-6 & para. 60-62].
As to claim 18, Kim discloses the liquid crystal display of Claim 17, further comprising:
a memory [fig. 3 & para. 59] coupled to the processor, and is configured to store the actual output end grayscale value of the pixel of the previous output frame [para. 108].
As to claim 19, Kim discloses the liquid crystal display of Claim 17, wherein:
the processor further accesses an end grayscale input lookup table to generate an actual output end grayscale value of the output frame according to the actual output end grayscale value of the pixel of the previous output frame and the current input grayscale value (target grayscale level of nth frame & grayscale level at end of n1-th frame utilized for overdrive utilized to determine calibrated grayscale for nth frame) [figs. 3, & 5-6 & para. 60-62]; and
the liquid crystal display further comprises a memory coupled to the processor, and is configured to store the actual output end grayscale value of the output frame (nth frame becomes n-1th frame) [para. 108].
Conclusion
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622