Double Patenting
Claim 1-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-11,13,14 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 is obvious over Claims 1,2, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 2 is obvious over Claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 3 is obvious over Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 4 is obvious over Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 5 is obvious over Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 6 is obvious over Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 7 is obvious over Claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 8 is obvious over Claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 9 is obvious over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 10 is obvious over Claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 11 is obvious over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 12 is obvious over Claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 13 is obvious over Claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim 14 is obvious over Claims 13 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12216337.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10,12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 109358416 A) in view of Tsai et al (US 20160341937)
Regarding Claim 1,
Wang et al discloses (Fig. 1) an optical imaging system (ABSTRACT) comprising: a first lens having a positive refractive power, a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof, and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof E1); a second lens having a negative refractive power (E2), a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof, and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof; a third lens having a positive refractive power (E3); a fourth lens having a negative refractive power and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (E4); a fifth lens having a refractive power and a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (E5); a sixth lens having a refractive power (E6); and a seventh lens having a negative refractive power (E7), wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis of the optical imaging system from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging surface of an image sensor (ABSTRACT and Figure 1), the optical imaging system has a total of seven lenses having a refractive power, and IMG HT is one half of a diagonal length of the imaging surface of the image sensor, and a conditional expression n2+n3+n4 > 4.85 is satisfied, where n2 is a refractive index of the second lens, n3 a refractive index of the third lens, and n4 is a refractive index of the fourth lens (see table value equal to 2.325 and see table 3 example value = 4.86). Also, the conditional expression TTL/(2xIMG HT) < 0.69 is satisfied (TTL/ImgH-1.35)(Example 1, Tables 1 and 3), where TTL is a distance along the optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens to the imaging surface of the image sensor.
Wang et al does not disclose the fifth lens has a concave object side surface.
Tsai et al discloses the fifth lens has a concave object side surface (Claim 9, embodiment 3, fifth lens 350 and surface 351)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang et al to include Tsai et al’s fifth lens having a concave object side surface motivated by the desire to improve image quality.
Regarding Claim 2,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Tsai et al discloses wherein a conditional expression v1-v2 > 30 is satisfied, where v1 is an Abbe number of the first lens, and v2 is an Abbe number of the second lens (claims 12 and 26 overlap the ranges)
Regarding Claim 3,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Wang et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a conditional expression n2+n3 > 3.15 is satisfied (see TABLE 1).
Regarding Claim 4,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Wang et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a conditional expression 0.15 < BFL/f < 0.25 is satisfied, where BFL is a distance along the optical axis from an image-side surface of the seventh lens to the imaging surface of the image sensor, and f is a focal length of the optical imaging system (see TABLE 1).
Regarding Claim 5,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Wang et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a conditional expression 0.005 < D1/f < 0.04 is satisfied, where D1 is a distance along the optical axis between the image-side surface of the first lens and the object-side surface of the second lens, and f is a focal length of the optical imaging system (see TABLE 1).
Regarding Claim 6,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Wang et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a conditional expression Fno < 2.3 is satisfied, where Fno is a F-number of the optical imaging system (Example 1).
Regarding Claim 7,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Wang et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a conditional expression f/f2+f/f3 < -0.4 is satisfied, where f is a focal length of the optical imaging system, f2 is a focal length of the second lens, and f3 is a focal length of the third lens (f=5.39 mm, f2=-5.74 mm, f3=14.29)(Example 1, Table 3).
Regarding Claim 8,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Wang et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a conditional expression 0.30 < R1/f < 0.40 is satisfied, where R1 is a radius of curvature of the object-side surface of the first lens, and f is a focal length of the optical imaging system.(Example 1 and Tables 1 and 3)
Regarding Claim 9,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Wang et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a conditional expression 1.4 < |f23|/f1< 2.8 is satisfied, where f23 is a composite focal length of the second lens and the third lens, and f1 is a focal length of the first lens (example 1).
Regarding Claim 10,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Wang et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Example 1, third lens E3 and surface S5).
Regarding Claim 12,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Wang et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the seventh lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Regarding Claim 13,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Tsai et al discloses wherein each of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of each of the first lens to the seventh lens is aspherical (Example 1, Table 1 and Table 2).
Regarding Claim 14,
In addition to Wang et al and Tsai et al, Tsai et al discloses (Embodiment 3)wherein at least one inflection point is formed on either one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface (372) of the seventh lens (370)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 109358416 A) and of Tsai et al (US 20160341937) in view of Dai et al (WO 2016109938)
Regarding Claim 11,
Wang et al and Tsai et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Wang et al and Tsai et al do not disclose wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Dai et al discloses the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (First embodiment, sixth lens 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang et al and Tsai et al to include Dai et al’s sixth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof motivated by the desire to improve aberration correction and image quality.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871