DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 1/8/2025.
Claims 1-8 & 11-19 have been examined and are rejected. Claims 9-10 & 20 have been examined and are objected to.
Priority
This application is a continuation of application 17/630,888 now patent 12,245,220, which is a 371 of PCT/CN2020/105384 and claims priority to provisional application 62/883,422 filed 8/6/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/8/2025, 3/6/2025, and 10/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 12-13, 15, 17, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deng et al. (US 2022/0159674 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Deng teaches:
A method for transmission of scheduling and control information for sidelink communications, the method comprising steps performed at a mobile device of:
transmitting a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) carrying scheduling information, and transmitting a second stage SCI indicated by the first stage SCI; (in a two-stage SCI transmission, A WTRU may transmit an SCI containing WTRU-common information and intended for all SL WTRUs in PSCCH_1, and transmit an SCI containing WTRU-specific information in PSCCH_2 [Deng: 0124; 0166], wherein the first SCI may include a first part of the PSSCH scheduling information and may may indicate the presence of the second SCI [Deng: 0114]).
With regard to Claim 2, Deng teaches:
A method according to claim 1, wherein an indication of a coding rate of the second stage SCI is transmitted as part of the first stage SCI; (the MCS or coding rate of PSCCH_2 SCI may be explicitly indicated in PSCCH_1 SCI [Deng: 0154]).
With regard to Claim 4, Deng teaches:
A method according to claim 3, wherein the first stage SCI indicates which format a sidelink receiver user equipment (UE) expects in the second stage SCI; (a WTRU may be configured or preconfigured with a set of SCI formats, types, or sizes for PSCCH_2 [Deng: 0130], wherein the WTRU may select and decode a PSCCH_2 SCI format, type, or size from the configured or preconfigured set based on the information decoded from the PSCCH_1 SCI [Deng: 0137]).
With regard to Claim 6, Deng teaches:
A method according to claim 1, wherein the second stage SCI comprises at least one of the following: modulation and coding scheme (MCS), hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) identifier (ID), redundancy version (RV), new data indicator (NDI), and/or channel state information (CSI) indication or request; (A PSCCH_2 SCI format, type, or size may be configured or preconfigured to apply for one or multiple characteristics, and may include a bit field in the SCI that may be used to convey an MCS value, may include bit fields for HARQ process ID, RV or NDI, and may include a new bit field to indicate the presence of coded CSI bits in the PSSCH resource [Deng: 0130-32]).
With regard to Claim 8, Deng teaches:
A method according to claim 1,wherein the first stage SCI indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of the second stage SCI; (a WTRU may determine the MCS or coding rate of PSCCH_2 SCI based on a DMRS configuration indicated in PSCCH_1 SCI [Deng: 0152]).
With regard to Claims 12-13, 15, 17, & 19, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 1-2, 4, 6, & 8 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 12-13, 15, 17, & 19 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-2, 4, 6, & 8.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (US 2022/0159674 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0061041 A1).
With regard to Claim 3, Deng teaches:
A method according to claim 1, wherein sizes of the second stage SCI are predetermined by configuration; (a WTRU may be configured or preconfigured with a PSCCH_2 SCI format, type, or size [Deng: 0130; 0135; 0151]).
However, Deng does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
wherein sizes of first stage SCI are predetermined by configuration.
In a similar field of endeavor involving two-stage sidelink control information (SCI), Chen discloses:
wherein sizes of first stage SCI and the second stage SCI are predetermined by configuration; (the 1st-stage SCI can have a fixed size (fixed number of bits) for unicast, groupcast, or broadcast, and the 2nd-stage SCI can similarly have a fixed size [Chen: 0044-45]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deng in view of Chen in order to utilize a first stage SCI with a predetermined size in the system of Deng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Deng with Chen as doing so would allow a sensing UE or a receiving UE to decode the 1st-stage SCI without blind detection for the decoding [Chen: 0044].
With regard to Claim 14, it appears substantially similar to the limitations recited by claim 3 and consequently does not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claim. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Claims 5 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (US 2022/0159674 A1) in view of InterDigital et al. "On Physical Layer Structure for NR V2X Sidelink", 3GPP Draft R1-1905400.
With regard to Claim 5, Deng teaches a method according to claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein a mapping of the second stage SCI is started from a front-loaded demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) over the unused resource elements.
In a similar field of endeavor involving 2-stage SCIs, InterDigital discloses:
wherein a mapping of the second stage SCI is started from a front-loaded demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) over the unused resource elements; (SCI part 2 is delivered on the first symbol after PSCCH, wherein the symbol has PSSCH DM-RS, following type-1 DM-RS configuration [InterDigital: p7]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deng in view of InterDigital in order to start the mapping of the second stage SCI from a front-loaded DMRS symbol in the system of Deng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Deng with InterDigital as doing so would allow blind detection of the 2nd-stage SCI to be avoided.
With regard to Claim 16, it appears substantially similar to the limitations recited by claim 5 and consequently does not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claim. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Claims 7 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (US 2022/0159674 A1) in view of Huawei et al. "Design and contents of PSCCH and PSFCH", 3GPP Draft R1-1906596.
With regard to Claim 7, Deng teaches:
A method according to claim 1,
wherein coded bits of the second stage SCI are mapped from a lowest physical resource block (PRB) locations; (a set of PRBs with the lowest indices in the resource pool may be configured or preconfigured for low-latency transport block (TB) transmission that may require a WTRU to detect such transmission as early as possible [Deng: 0205]).
However, Deng does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
wherein the second stage SCI uses lower order modulation including Quadrature Phase Shift Keying (QPSK);
wherein coded bits of the second stage SCI are mapped from a lowest physical resource block (PRB) locations in the scheduled resource for Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH).
In a similar field of endeavor involving 2-stage SCIs, Huawei discloses:
wherein the second stage SCI uses lower order modulation including Quadrature Phase Shift Keying (QPSK); (the 2nd stage SCI contains information dedicated to the UEs it targets (i.e. specific recipient UEs) [Huawei: p4 §2.2.2], wherein QPSK is utilized for PSCCH which carries the 2-stage SCI [Huawei: p2 §2]);
wherein coded bits of the second stage SCI are mapped from a lowest physical resource block (PRB) locations in the scheduled resource for Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH); (in frequency domain, PSCCH should be located at the edge of the sub-channel and started from the lowest RB index of the sub-channel [Huawei: p2 §2.1]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deng in view of Huawei in order to decode the QPSK encoded second stage at an intended receiver, and map the coded bits from the lowest PRB in the PSSCH in the system of Deng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Deng with Huawei as doing so would increase spectral efficiency while improving decoding performance, and would enable the PSSCH allocation to be indicated by the SCI through the frequency resource assignment and time resource assignment fields.
With regard to Claim 18, it appears substantially similar to the limitations recited by claim 7 and consequently does not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claim. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (US 2022/0159674 A1) in view of Nokia et al. "Discussion of physical layer structure for sidelink" 3GPP Draft R1-1906074.
With regard to Claim 11, Deng teaches a method according to claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein the scheduling information in the first stage SCI identifies an intended receiver of the second stage SCI.
In a similar field of endeavor involving 2-stage SCIs, Nokia discloses:
wherein the scheduling information in the first stage SCI identifies an intended receiver of the second stage SCI; (UEs generally only need to decode the 1st-stage PSCCH to get the information for sidelink channel sensing and resource selection and the 2nd-stage SCI/PSCCH shall be decoded only if they are identified as the target receivers from the 1st-stage SCI/PSCCH [Nokia: p6 §2.2]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Deng in view of Nokia in order to utilize scheduling information in the first stage SCI to identify if the mobile device is the intended receiver of the second stage SCI in the system of Deng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Deng with Nokia as doing so would reduce the overall amount of necessary network decoding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hwang et al. (US 2020/0351136 A1) which teaches in a resource pool, a payload size of the first SCI may be identical for unicast, groupcast, and broadcast, wherein after decoding the first SCI, the receiving UE does not have to perform blind decoding of the second SCI [Hwang: 0153].
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417