DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species B encompassed by claims 1-9 and 13 in the reply filed on 12/01/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden on the examiner to examine all claims including the withdrawn claims 10-12 that are directed to species of different figures than elected figure. This is not found persuasive because Applicant has not presented persuasive arguments that there is not a serious burden on the examiner to examine all the instant claims including the withdrawn claims 10-12. Clearly, considering additional claims directed to one or more distinct species mandates different fields of search with many additional patents and time consuming examination and consideration of those patents which indeed result in a substantial burden on the examiner. Furthermore, claim 9 which depends from claim 1 recites that the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller is electrically driven which appears to be readable on nonelected claim 10 which recites an electric conveyor roller. As such, claim 9 in addition to claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 220b. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: at least one locking means and at least one pin in claim 1, at least one resilient push-on means in claim 5, at least one pin-like fixing element in claim 6, a torque transmitter in claim 7, and at least one locking means, at least one pin and a torque transmitter in claim 13.
A review of the specification discloses the following support for the aforementioned claim limitations:
The locking means 150aa, 150b are shaped like a bracket and have a latching means 153 for latching into an opening or groove 157 of the roller, in particular in the form of a hook (Figure 3, paragraph [0044]).
The ring 130 comprises one or more pins 160a, 160b, 160c, and 160d (or 160a-160h which resemble slender tabs as in Figure 5a) for transmitting a radial force between the roller 200 and the roller flange 110 (paragraphs [0040] and [0047]).
The at least one resilient push-on means appears to have support in paragraph [0042] of the specification that discloses for example, the metallic ring 130 is pushed onto the bearing 120 by one or more elastic attachment means 170. This allows the ring 130 to be attached to the bearing 120 before overmolding with plastic. For example, the attachment means can be shaped as legs that hold the ring centered on the outer ring of the bearing.
The at least one pin-like fixing element 180 for fixing a second roller 250 is disclosed in Figures 3-4 and paragraph [0054] with the element 180 resembling a tab or a pin extended along the central axis of the plastic body of the roller flange).
The torque transmitter 230 could be a pulley or a toothed wheel (paragraph [0021], Figures 5b and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially annular” in claim 1 and 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially annular” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what degree of the roundness is being contemplated by the Applicant to designate the plastic body to be substantially annular. The specification is silent regarding the requisite degree and only discloses the same term as “substantially annular plastic body 110” in paragraph [0038] with no further guidance. Therefore, the limitation “substantially” needs to be deleted throughout the claim set in order to overcome this rejection.
Claim 1, lines 2, 13-14 and 16 and claim 13, lines 2, 13-14 and 16 recite the limitation “drum-shaped roller” which is unclear as to what exactly a drum-shaped is referring to. It is unclear if the drum-shaped intends to refer to a hollow roller or not. If so, the limitation of drum-shaped does not necessarily convene such meaning since a drum could be both solid and hollow. The specification does not provide any more explanation as to what a shape of a drum is. However, paragraph [0005] under the “Background” of the invention discloses “Rollers of this type generally consists of a tubular shell and two roller bases fixed in the two ends of this tubular roller shell” and in paragraph [0008] under the “Summary” of invention discloses “. . . to create a roller in which the roller bases are absolutely and permanently firmly anchored in the roller shell . . .“ As such, to overcome this rejection, the examiner suggest amending the limitation “drum-shaped” to - - tubular shell - - throughout the claims set (i.e., claims 1-3, 9 and 13).
Claim 6, line 2, the limitation “at least one pin-like fixing element” which is unclear how a pin looks like and how could feature 180 be considered as a pin considering a conventional meaning of a pin to be a slender elongated form.
Claim 13, appears to claim a combination of a roller and a roller flange. However, it is unclear if the roller is positively recited in the body of the claim or is only further recited in a wherein clause as an intended use limitation wherein the roller flange is configured to be coupled to a roller having certain claimed limitations. Applicant is required to positively recite the conveyor roller in order to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watt (US, 3,075,632).
As applied to claim 1, Watt teaches (col. 2, lines 14-26, Fig. 1) a roller flange for mounting on an end face of a cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (40), the roller flange comprising a substantially annular plastic body (rubber 42, col. 2, lines 17-18); a bearing (34); and a metallic ring (38) surrounding the bearing; wherein the metallic ring and the bearing are at least partially embedded in the substantially annular plastic body (see left side of Fig. 1 showing portions of 34 and 38 inside left end of 40); the metallic ring (38 on the left in Fig. 1) has elements (bent ends of 38) for force transmission which are positioned distributed at or on a circumferential surface of the plastic body (inner circumferential surface of the opening in 42 on the left side, Fig. 1); and the elements for force transmission comprise at least one locking means (circlips 46) for transmitting an axial force between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller and the roller flange, and axially locking the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller to the roller flange (circlips 46, Fig. 1); and at least one pin (lower left hand bolt 44, Fig. 1) configured to transmit a radial force or a torque, between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (40) and the roller flange (42).
As applied to claim 2, Watt teaches the invention cited including wherein the at least one pin (lower left hand bolt 44, Fig. 1) of the roller flange (42) arranged to form a positive connection with at least one corresponding recess (the hole receiving 44) of the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (40, Fig. 1).
As applied to claim 3, Watt teaches the invention cited including wherein the ring (38), the bearing (34) and the plastic body (42) are arranged coaxially to an axis of rotation of the cylindrical or drum- shaped roller (axles 20 of roller 40, see Fig. 1).
As applied to claim 4, Watt teaches the invention cited including wherein the ring (38) is slipped (wrapped around) onto the bearing (34, Fig. 1).
As applied to claim 5, Watt teaches the invention cited including wherein the ring comprises at least one resilient push-on means (bent portion of thin sheet metal 38 is resilient), which is in contact with the bearing (see Fig. 1).
As applied to claim 13, Watt teaches (col. 2, lines 14-26, Fig. 1) a non-electric conveyor roller with a roller flange for mounting on an end face of a cylindrical or drum-shaped roller, the roller flange comprising a substantially annular plastic body (rubber 42, col. 2, lines 17-18); a bearing (34); and a metallic ring (38) surrounding the bearing; wherein the metallic ring and the bearing are at least partially embedded in the substantially annular plastic body (see left side of Fig. 1 showing portions of 34 and 38 inside left end of 40); the metallic ring (38 on the left in Fig. 1) has elements (bent ends of 38) for force transmission which are positioned distributed at or on a circumferential surface of the plastic body (inner circumferential surface of the opening in 42 on the left side, Fig. 1); and the elements for force transmission comprise at least one locking means (circlips 46) for transmitting an axial force between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller and the roller flange, and axially locking the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller to the roller flange (circlips 46, Fig. 1); and at least one pin (lower left hand bolt 44, Fig. 1) configured to transmit a radial force or a torque between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller and the roller flange; wherein the roller flange comprises a torque transmitter (upper left hand bolt 44, Fig. 1) which is configured to transmit a torque, wherein the conveyor roller comprises a roller (40, Fig. 1), wherein the roller flange (42) is mounted on the end face of the roller (left end face of 40, Fig. 1); the roller flange is arranged to be driven by an external drive via the torque transmitter (by running a load on the outer surface of roller 40 a rotational force is generated and transmitted to roller flange 42 by upper left hand bolt 44, col. 1, lines 14-17); and the at least one pin (lower left hand bolt 44) of the roller flange transmits a torque from the roller flange to the roller.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horling et al. (EP 2114801 B1, hereinafter “Horling”).
As applied to claim 1, Horling teaches a roller flange (Fig. 7) for mounting on an end face of a cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (2), the roller flange comprising a substantially annular plastic body (5); a bearing (ball bearing but not labeled); and a metallic ring (6) surrounding the bearing; wherein the metallic ring and the bearing are at least partially embedded in the substantially annular plastic body (see Fig. 7); the metallic ring (6) has elements (7 and 13”) for force transmission which are positioned distributed at or on a circumferential surface of the plastic body (see Fig. 7); and the elements for force transmission comprise at least one locking means (7) for transmitting an axial force between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller and the roller flange, and axially locking the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller to the roller flange; and at least one pin (13”) configured to transmit a radial force or a torque (13” is capable of transmitting a radial force or a torque) between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (2) and the roller flange (5).
As applied to claim 2, Horling teaches the invention cited including wherein the at least one pin (at least one 13”, Fig. 7) of the roller flange (5) arranged to form a positive connection with at least one corresponding recess of the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (intended use limitation as at least one 13” is capable of this function).
As applied to claim 3, Horling teaches the invention cited including wherein the ring, the bearing and the plastic body are arranged coaxially to an axis of rotation of the cylindrical or drum- shaped roller (see Fig. 7).
As applied to claim 4, Horling teaches the invention cited including wherein the ring (6) is slipped (wrapped around) onto the bearing (see Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horling et al. (DE 102008034939 A1, hereinafter “Horling ‘939”).
As applied to claim 1, Horling ‘939 teaches a roller flange (Fig. 4) for mounting on an end face of a cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (2), the roller flange comprising a substantially annular plastic body (5); a bearing (3); and a metallic ring (7) surrounding the bearing; wherein the metallic ring and the bearing are at least partially embedded in the substantially annular plastic body (see Fig. 4); the metallic ring (7) has elements (10”, Fig. 6) for force transmission which are positioned distributed at or on a circumferential surface of the plastic body (see Figs. 5 and 6); and the elements for force transmission comprise at least one locking means (10”) for transmitting an axial force between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller and the roller flange, and axially locking the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller to the roller flange; and at least one pin (10”) configured to transmit a radial force or a torque (10” is capable of transmitting a radial force or a torque) between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (2) and the roller flange (5).
As applied to claim 2, Horling ‘939 teaches the invention cited including wherein the at least one pin (at least one 10”, Fig. 6) of the roller flange (5) arranged to form a positive connection with at least one corresponding recess of the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (intended use limitation as at least one 10” is capable of this function).
As applied to claim 3, Horling ‘939 teaches the invention cited including wherein the ring, the bearing and the plastic body are arranged coaxially to an axis of rotation of the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (see Fig. 2).
As applied to claim 4, Horling ‘939 teaches the invention cited including wherein the ring (7) is slipped (wrapped around) onto the bearing (3, see Fig. 4).
As applied to claim 5, Horling ‘939 teaches the invention cited including wherein the ring comprises at least one resilient push-on means (slot 9), which is in contact with the bearing (see Fig. 4).
As applied to claim 6, Horling ‘939 teaches the invention cited including wherein
the roller flange comprises at least one pin-like fixing element (at least one 10”) for fixing a further roller and a shoulder for preventing axial displacement of the further roller (intended use limitation as at least a portion of at least one 10” is capable of the above function).
As applied to claim 7, Horling ‘939 teaches the invention cited including wherein the roller flange comprises a torque transmitter, which is configured to transmit a torque (intended use limitation as at least a portion of at least one 10” is capable of transmitting a torque as engages a roller).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginter (DE 102013110998 A1) in view of Buccola, Jr. et al. (US 20200399959A1, hereinafter “Buccola”).
As applied to claim 1, Ginter teaches (abstract, specification, paragraphs [0046], [0065]-[0067], Figs. 2, 12, 13, 17 of English Machine Translation) a roller flange (4) for mounting on an end face of a cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (2/3), the roller flange comprising a substantially annular plastic body (5, paragraph [0067]); a bearing (32); and a ring (40) surrounding the bearing (32); wherein the ring and the bearing are at least partially embedded in the substantially annular plastic body (see Fig. 12); the ring (40) has elements (12/15/17, Figs. 12 and 17) for force transmission which are positioned distributed at or on a circumferential surface of the plastic body; and the elements for force transmission comprise at least one locking means (15/17) for transmitting an axial force between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller and the roller flange, and axially locking the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller to the roller flange; and at least one pin (12) configured to transmit a radial force or a torque between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (2/3) and the roller flange (4).
Ginter implies that metal can also be used instead of plastic for material of different elements of roller flange 4 (paragraph [0067]) but does not explicitly teach the material of the ring including being a metallic ring.
Buccola teaches a motor assembly attached at one end to a stationary structure such as an end cap and includes drive structure at an opposite end for rotating a roller tube (paragraph [0003]) wherein the motor assembly 102 and the end cap 104 may be constructed of any type natural and/or synthetics materials including metals and plastics (paragraph [0071]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have fabricated the ring of the roller flange of Ginter from a metal, as taught by Buccola, depending on the specific design requirement and considering the strength and wide availability and ease of fabricating a metal element.
As applied to claim 13, Ginter teaches (abstract, specification, paragraphs [0046], [0065]-[0067], Figs. 2, 12, 13, 17 of English Machine Translation) a roller flange (4) for mounting on an end face of a cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (2/3), the roller flange comprising a substantially annular plastic body (5, paragraph [0067]); a bearing (32); and a ring (40) surrounding the bearing (32); wherein the ring and the bearing are at least partially embedded in the substantially annular plastic body (see Fig. 12); the ring (40) has elements (12/15/17, Figs. 12 and 17) for force transmission which are positioned distributed at or on a circumferential surface of the plastic body; and the elements for force transmission comprise at least one locking means (15/17) for transmitting an axial force between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller and the roller flange, and axially locking the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller to the roller flange; and at least one pin (12) configured to transmit a radial force or a torque between the cylindrical or drum-shaped roller (2/3) and the roller flange (4), wherein the roller flange comprises a torque transmitter (15/17, paragraph [0046]) which is configured to transmit a torque, wherein the conveyor roller comprises a roller (2/3, Figs. 2 and 12), wherein the roller flange (4) is mounted on the end face of the roller (see Fig. 12); the roller flange is arranged to be driven by an external drive via the torque transmitter (intended use limitation and roller flange 4 is capable of being driven by an external drive using 15/17); and the at least one pin (12) of the roller flange transmits a torque from the roller flange to the roller (Figs. 12 and 17, paragraph [0046]).
Ginter implies that metal can also be used instead of plastic for material of different elements of roller flange 4 (paragraph [0067]) but does not explicitly teach the material of the ring including being a metallic ring.
Buccola teaches a motor assembly attached at one end to a stationary structure such as an end cap and includes drive structure at an opposite end for rotating a roller tube (paragraph [0003]) wherein the motor assembly 102 and the end cap 104 may be constructed of any type natural and/or synthetics materials including metals and plastics (paragraph [0071]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have fabricated the ring of the roller flange of Ginter from a metal, as taught by Buccola, depending on the specific design requirement and considering the strength and wide availability and ease of fabricating a metal element.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginter (DE 102013110998 A1) in view of Buccola, Jr. et al. (US 20200399959A1, hereinafter “Buccola”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Interior Holding AG (DE 202009005878 U1, hereinafter “Interior Holding”).
As applied to claims 7-8, the combination of Ginter and Buccola teaches the invention cited including the roller flange (4) but does not explicitly teach the roller flange comprises a torque transmitter configured to transmit a torque wherein the torque transmitter is a pulley or a gear wheel.
Interior Holding teaches a conveyor roller comprising an end roller flange wherein the roller can be modified to include a power transmission element in form of a sprocket, V-belt pulley or to the end flange installed on at least one side of the round tube of the conveyor roller (3rd Full paragraph on page 3 of English Machine Translation). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the roller flange of Ginter/Buccola to include a power/torque transmission element including a pulley or gear, as taught by Interior Holding, as an effective means of transmitting a rotational movement to the conveyor roller from a driven conveyor roller or an external motor drive, in order to actively convey workpieces (see Interior Holding, 3rd Full paragraph on page 3 of English Machine Translation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pickel et al. (US 9,121,441) teaches a bearing assembly comprises at least one bearing for rotatably supporting a support roller having at least one hollow cylindrical portion. A support element is disposed directly or indirectly between a ring of the at least one bearing and the support roller. The support element comprises first and second hollow-cylindrical segments extending in the axial direction of the support roller. The first and second hollow-cylindrical segments are connected by a ring-shaped segment extending either in the radial direction of the support roller or at an angle to the radial direction (abstract, Fig. 1).
Weichbrodt et al. (US 9,493,305) teaches a conveyor roller for conveyor installations for the purpose of conveying containers, pallets and the like, comprising a roller body with a roller axis, the outer peripheral area of which represents a bearing surface for items to be conveyed, and a head element that is inserted with an insertion section having a cylindrical outer surface into a hollow end of the roller body, whereby the insertion section of the head element has a reinforcement element (abstract, Fig. 1-3).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 01/20/2026