DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on January 9, 2025 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of U.S. Patent No. 12,228,707 (herein US 707). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 1, US 707 claims
Instant Application Claim 1 Limitation
Corresponding US 707 Claim
an optical system comprising a first lens having positive refractive power and a convex object side surface in a paraxial region
Claim 1
a second lens having negative refractive power, a concave object side surface in a paraxial region and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region
Claim 1, Claim 3
a third lens having positive refractive power and a convex object side surface in a paraxial region
Claim 1
a fourth lens having refractive power and a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region
Claim 1
a fifth lens having a refractive power and a concave object side surface in a paraxial region
Claim 1, Claim 4
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side; the optical system has a total of five lenses
Claim 1
satisfying 0.7 < TTL/F < 1.0
Claim 1
satisfying 20o < FOV < 35o
Claim 1
As to claims 2-11, US 707 claims 2-10 recite substantially similar subject matter.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,773 (herein US 773). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 1, US 773 claims
Instant Application Claim 1 Limitation
Corresponding US 773 Claim
an optical system comprising a first lens having positive refractive power and a convex object side surface in a paraxial region
Claim 1
a second lens having negative refractive power, a concave object side surface in a paraxial region and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region
Claim 1, Claim 4
a third lens having positive refractive power and a convex object side surface in a paraxial region
Claim 1, Claim 5
a fourth lens having refractive power and a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region
Claim 1, Claim 6
a fifth lens having a refractive power and a concave object side surface in a paraxial region
Claim 1, Claim 9
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side; the optical system has a total of five lenses
Claim 1
satisfying 0.7 < TTL/F < 1.0
Claim 1
satisfying 20o < FOV < 35o
Claim 1
As to claims 2-11, US 773 claims 2-14 recite substantially similar subject matter.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,099,362 (herein US 362). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application (claims 1-11) and the claims of US 362 each cover in scope the specific optical systems of embodiments 1 and 2. The scope and content of the claims of US 362 render anticipated and/or obvious the scope and content of the claims of the instant application (MPEP 804.II.B.1; 804.II.B.2; 804.II.B.3).
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,473,895 (herein US 895). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application (claims 1-11) and the claims of US 895 each cover in scope the specific optical system of embodiments 1 and 2. The scope and content of the claims of US 895 render anticipated and/or obvious the scope and content of the claims of the instant application (MPEP 804.II.B.1; 804.II.B.2; 804.II.B.3).
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,310,224 (herein US 224). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application (claims 1-11) and the claims of US 224 each cover in scope the specific optical system of embodiments 1 and 2. The scope and content of the claims of US 224 render anticipated and/or obvious the scope and content of the claims of the instant application (MPEP 804.II.B.1; 804.II.B.2; 804.II.B.3).
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,191,249 (herein US 249). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application (claims 1-11) and the claims of US 249 each cover in scope the specific optical system of embodiments 1 and 2. The scope and content of the claims of US 249 render anticipated and/or obvious the scope and content of the claims of the instant application (MPEP 804.II.B.1; 804.II.B.2; 804.II.B.3).
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 9,846,296 (herein US 296). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application (claims 1-11) and the claims of US 296 each cover in scope the specific optical system of embodiments 1 and 2. The scope and content of the claims of US 296 render anticipated and/or obvious the scope and content of the claims of the instant application (MPEP 804.II.B.1; 804.II.B.2; 804.II.B.3).
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,405,099 (herein US 099). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application (claims 1-11) and the claims of US 099 each cover in scope the specific optical system of embodiments 1 and 2. The scope and content of the claims of US 099 render anticipated and/or obvious the scope and content of the claims of the instant application (MPEP 804.II.B.1; 804.II.B.2; 804.II.B.3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Ueda (US 5,134,522).
As to claim 1, Ueda teaches an optical system (Ueda Fig. 1) comprising
a first lens having positive refractive power (Ueda Fig. 1 - lens of r1, r2) and a convex object side surface in a paraxial region (Ueda Fig. 1 - r1);
a second lens having negative refractive power (Ueda Fig. 1 - lens of r3, r4), a concave object side surface in a paraxial region (Ueda Fig. 1 - r3) and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region (Ueda Fig. 1 - r4);
a third lens having positive refractive power (Ueda Fig. 1 - lens of r5, r6) and a convex object side surface in a paraxial region (Ueda Fig. 1 - r5);
a fourth lens having refractive power (Ueda Fig. 1 - lens of r7, r8) and a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region (Ueda Fig. 1 - r7);
a fifth lens having a refractive power (Ueda Fig. 1 - lens of r9, r10) and a concave object side surface in a paraxial region (Ueda Fig. 1 - r9);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side (Ueda Fig. 1)
the optical system has a total of five lenses (Ueda Fig. 1)
satisfying 0.7 < TTL/F < 1.0 (Ueda Table 1 - F = 42.9; TTL = εd = 37.035);
satisfying 20o < FOV < 35o (Ueda Table 5 - FOV = 29.6o).
As to claim 6, Ueda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ueda further teaches the fifth lens has a convex image side surface in a paraxial region (Ueda Fig. 1 - r10).
As to claim 7, Ueda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ueda further teaches the fifth lens has negative refractive power (Ueda Table 1 - as calculated f5 < 0).
Claims 1-3, 6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Iwasaki (JP 63-063012; cited by Applicant; text references made to the associated human translation provided with this Action).
As to claim 1, Iwasaki teaches an optical system (Iwasaki Fig. 1) comprising
a first lens having positive refractive power (Iwasaki Fig. 1 - I) and a convex object side surface in a paraxial region (Iwasaki Table 1 - r2);
a second lens having negative refractive power (Iwasaki Fig. 1 - II), a concave object side surface in a paraxial region (Iwasaki Table 1 - r4) and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region (Iwasaki Table - r5);
a third lens having positive refractive power (Iwasaki Fig. 1 - III) and a convex object side surface in a paraxial region (Iwasaki Table 1 - r6);
a fourth lens having refractive power (Iwasaki Fig. 1 - IV) and a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region (Iwasaki Table 1 - r8);
a fifth lens having a refractive power (Iwasaki Fig. 1 - IV) and a concave object side surface in a paraxial region (Iwasaki Table 1 - r10);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side (Iwasaki Fig. 1)
the optical system has a total of five lenses (Iwasaki Fig. 1)
satisfying 0.7 < TTL/F < 1.0 (Iwasaki Table 1 - TL/f = 0.927);
satisfying 20o < FOV < 35o (Iwasaki Fig. 1B - FOV = 2*11.5 = 23o).
As to claim 2, Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Iwasaki further teaches satisfying 0.16 < rdys1/F < 2 (Iwasaki Table 1 - rdys1 = 0.235; F = 1.0; Examiner’s note: as discussed by Iwasaki the table values have been normalized for a focal length of 1.0).
As to claim 3, Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Iwasaki further teaches the first lens has a concave image side surface in a paraxial region (Iwasaki Table 1 - r3).
As to claim 6, Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Iwasaki further teaches the fifth lens has a convex image side surface in a paraxial region (Iwasaki Table 1 - r11).
As to claim 9, Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Iwasaki further teaches a distance on an optical axis between an image side surface of the third lens and the object side surface of the fourth lens is a greatest distance on the optical axis between the lenses (Iwasaki Table 1 - d34 = 0.137 > 0.030, 0.068, 0.013).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (cited above).
As to claim 2, Ueda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ueda further teaches rdys1 = 6.43, F = 42.9 (Ueda Table 1) for a ratio of 6.43/42.9 ≈ 0.15 which is just outside the range of 0.16 < s1/F < 2. Ueda additionally teaches the overall focal length having a range of values (Ueda col. 3:15-30) to satisfy various design requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to satisfy 0.16 < s1/F < 2 since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art, but are merely close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05. As discussed by Ueda, adjusting the focal lengths within the requirements of equations 1), 2) and 3) allow for controlling the compactness of the lens system and correcting for aberrations (Ueda col. 3:48-62).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Otomo (US 2010/0328730).
As to claim 8, Ueda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ueda further teaches the fifth lens has an aspheric surface (Ueda col. 2:30-35), but doesn’t specify the first, second, third, fourth lenses having aspheric surfaces.
In the same field of endeavor Otomo teaches a 5-lens optical system with first, second, third, fourth, fifth lenses having aspheric surfaces (Otomo Fig. 1; para. [0049]). It would have been obvious since such aspheric surfaces are well known in the art for the purpose of controlling aberration correction (Otomo para. [0049]).
Claims 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2012/0327520 - Tsai).
As to claim 10, Ueda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify the first, second, third, fourth, fifth lenses are plastic.
In the same field of endeavor Tsai teaches 5-lens systems with the lenses made of plastic (Tsai para. [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide plastic lenses since, as taught by Tsai, plastic allows for reducing cost and easing surface shape manufacturing (Tsai para. [0048]).
As to claim 11, Ueda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify the fifth lens has at least one inflection point formed in a location thereof other than a location corresponding to an optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor Tsai teaches 5-lens systems with a fifth lens having an off-optical axis inflection point (Tsai Fig. 1; para. [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such inflection point since, as taught by Tsai, this allows control of the off-axis field light and reduces aberrations (Tsai para. [0029]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (cited above).
As to claim 4, Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Iwasaki teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface in a paraxial region (Iwasaki Fig. 12 - III; Table 12 - r7), however the combination of convexity/concavities of the claimed invention of claims 1 and 4 is not taught in a single embodiment of Iwasaki. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the third lens concave on the image side since, as taught by Iwasaki, providing a third positive lens with convex object side and concave/convex image side is well known in the art for the purpose of an imaging objective to provide a compact size and bright imaging and aberration correction (Iwasaki page 4 - page 5; see below)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Otomo (cited above).
As to claim 8, Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify the first, second, third, fourth, fifth lenses having aspheric surfaces.
In the same field of endeavor Otomo teaches a 5-lens optical system with first, second, third, fourth, fifth lenses having aspheric surfaces (Otomo Fig. 1; para. [0049]). It would have been obvious since such aspheric surfaces are well known in the art for the purpose of controlling aberration correction (Otomo para. [0049]).
Claims 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsai (cited above).
As to claim 10, Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify the first, second, third, fourth, fifth lenses are plastic.
In the same field of endeavor Tsai teaches 5-lens systems with the lenses made of plastic (Tsai para. [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide plastic lenses since, as taught by Tsai, plastic allows for reducing cost and easing surface shape manufacturing (Tsai para. [0048]).
As to claim 11, Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify the fifth lens has at least one inflection point formed in a location thereof other than a location corresponding to an optical axis.
In the same field of endeavor Tsai teaches 5-lens systems with a fifth lens having an off-optical axis inflection point (Tsai Fig. 1; para. [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such inflection point since, as taught by Tsai, this allows control of the off-axis field light and reduces aberrations (Tsai para. [0029]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcoming the Double Patenting rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 5, although the prior art of Iwasaki, Ueda teaches the optical systems of the claims as detailed above, such references require the fourth lens to be convex in the paraxial region in combination with all the numerical and structural limitations recited together in combination with the totality of particular features/limitations recited therein.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Patent Documents - the following patent documents are cited for showing similar structure and/or numerical conditions to the claimed and disclosed invention:
Sato (JP H05-93857); Kudou (JP S59-44016).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 September 4, 2026