DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimori et al. (US PG Pub. 20150042963).
Regarding claim 1, Nishimori discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising:
a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light); and
a cooling apparatus (heat sink 22 and planar element shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4) that includes a planar heat receiver (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4 below) at which the phosphor (23) is disposed, and is configured to dissipate heat of the phosphor received by the heat receiver (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Nishimori discloses a light source (laser diode 1a of fig. 4) configured to output light that enters the phosphor (illustrated in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Nishimori discloses a projector (para. 0054; FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example of the projector using the light source device) comprising: the light source (1a) apparatus according to claim 13; a light modulator (image forming panel 13 of fig. 7) configured to modulate light from the light source apparatus; and a projection optical apparatus (projecting lens unit 28 of fig. 7) configured to project the light modulated by the light modulator (illustrated in fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (US PG Pub. 20150042963) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagata (JP 2005202195 A).
Regarding claim 2, Nishimori discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising: a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light).
Nishimori fails to teach wherein the cooling apparatus includes a heat dissipating part configured to dissipate transferred heat, and a heat transporting part configured to evaporate a working fluid in a liquid phase by using the heat received by the heat receiver to change the working fluid in the liquid phase to the working fluid in a gaseous phase, and dissipate heat of the working fluid in the gaseous phase to the heat dissipating part to change the working fluid in the gaseous phase to the working fluid in the liquid phase, and the heat receiver is provided at the heat transporting part.
Nagata discloses wherein the cooling apparatus (apparatus of fig. 3) includes a heat dissipating part ((Heat dissipation means) 40 of fig. 3) configured to dissipate transferred heat (pg. 4 9th para., radiator 40 includes, for example, heat radiation fins 41 formed of a metal such as Fe, Cu, Al, Mg, or a material having excellent thermal conductivity, and the surface area is increased by the fins. Increases heat dissipation capability), and a heat transporting part (heat absorber 60 of fig. 3) configured to evaporate a working fluid in a liquid phase by using the heat received by the heat receiver to change the working fluid in the liquid phase to the working fluid in a gaseous phase (pg. 5 5th para., heat transferred to the heat absorber 60 is absorbed by the low-temperature and low-pressure liquid refrigerant flowing through the heat absorber 60. The liquid refrigerant that has absorbed the heat evaporates and vaporizes, becomes a gaseous refrigerant), and dissipate heat of the working fluid in the gaseous phase to the heat dissipating part to change the working fluid in the gaseous phase to the working fluid in the liquid phase, and the heat receiver is provided at the heat transporting part (pg. 5 5th para., The gaseous refrigerant is compressed by the compressor 30, becomes a high-temperature and high-pressure gaseous refrigerant, and flows into the radiator 40. The high temperature and high-pressure refrigerant releases its heat (including heat taken from the LED chip 21) to the outside in the radiator 40 and condenses to become a liquid refrigerant. The refrigerant that has become liquid is decompressed and expanded by flowing through the expansion valve 50, becomes a low temperature and low-pressure refrigerant, flows again into the heat absorber 60, and absorbs the heat of the LED chip 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the wavelength converting apparatus of Nishimori with the liquid cooling device of Nagata in order to forcibly cool an element; thereby increasing the working life of said element (Nagata; pg. 1 3rd para.).
Regarding claim 11, Nishimori discloses further comprising: a duct (air-exhaustion passage members 20a, 20b, and 20c of fig. 4) in which the heat dissipating part (heat sink 22 of fig. 4) is disposed and through which a cooling gas (“air” from axial flow fan 19 of fig. 4) is allowed to flow (illustrated in fig. 4); and a fan configured to cause the cooling gas to flow through the duct (illustrated in fig. 4).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (US PG Pub. 20150042963) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yanagisawa et al. (US PG Pub. 20090237619).
Regarding claim 3, Nishimori discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising: a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light); wherein the cooling apparatus (apparatus of fig. 3) includes a heat dissipating part ((Heat dissipation means) 40 of fig. 3) configured to dissipate transferred heat (pg. 4 9th para., radiator 40 includes, for example, heat radiation fins 41 formed of a metal such as Fe, Cu, Al, Mg, or a material having excellent thermal conductivity, and the surface area is increased by the fins.
Nishimori fails to teach a support part having a groove in which the heat transporting part is disposed, wherein the heat transporting part is a heat pipe.
Yanagisawa discloses a support part (element supporting frame 612 of fig. 9) having a groove (recess 6112B of fig. 11) in which the heat transporting part (liquid flowing tube 6111 of fig. 11) is disposed, wherein the heat transporting part is a heat pipe (illustrated in fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the phosphor element of Nishimori with the liquid flowing tube of Yanagisawa in order to effectively cool an optical element (Yanagisawa; para. 0006).
Regarding claim 4, Nishimori discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising: a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light); wherein the cooling apparatus (apparatus of fig. 3) includes a heat dissipating part ((Heat dissipation means) 40 of fig. 3) configured to dissipate transferred heat (pg. 4 9th para., radiator 40 includes, for example, heat radiation fins 41 formed of a metal such as Fe, Cu, Al, Mg, or a material having excellent thermal conductivity, and the surface area is increased by the fins.
Nishimori fails to teach the support part is configured to receive the heat from the heat transporting part, and the heat dissipating part is coupled to the support part.
Yanagisawa discloses the support part (612) is configured to receive the heat from the heat transporting part (para. 0082; the liquid flowing tube 6111 is fitted to the recess 6121 in a state in which the mounting member 6112 is heat-transferably connected to the end surface of the optical element supporting frame 612 on the side where the luminous flux enters, and is heat-transferably connected to the optical element supporting frame 612), and the heat dissipating part (73) is coupled to the support part (illustrated in fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the phosphor element of the Nishimori with the Peltier elements of Yanagisawa in order to effectively cool an optical element (Yanagisawa; para. 0006).
Regarding claim 5, Nishimori discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising: a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light); wherein the cooling apparatus (apparatus of fig. 3) includes a heat dissipating part ((Heat dissipation means) 40 of fig. 3) configured to dissipate transferred heat (pg. 4 9th para., radiator 40 includes, for example, heat radiation fins 41 formed of a metal such as Fe, Cu, Al, Mg, or a material having excellent thermal conductivity, and the surface area is increased by the fins.
Nishimori fails to teach wherein the heat dissipating part is provided at each of opposite ends of the heat pipe.
Yanagisawa discloses wherein the heat dissipating part (73) is provided at each of opposite ends of the heat pipe (the liquid flowing tube is a closed loop therefore, it is at each opposing ends; shown in fig. 7 or 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the phosphor element of the Nishimori with the liquid flowing tubes of Yanagisawa in order to effectively cool an optical element (Yanagisawa; para. 0006).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (US PG Pub. 20150042963) and Nagata (JP 2005202195 A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yanagisawa et al. (US PG Pub. 20090237619).
Regarding claim 6, Nishimori discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising: a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light); wherein the cooling apparatus (apparatus of fig. 3) includes a heat dissipating part ((Heat dissipation means) 40 of fig. 3) configured to dissipate transferred heat (pg. 4 9th para., radiator 40 includes, for example, heat radiation fins 41 formed of a metal such as Fe, Cu, Al, Mg, or a material having excellent thermal conductivity, and the surface area is increased by the fins.
Nishimori fails to teach wherein the heat transporting part is a vapor chamber, the vapor chamber has a planar first surface at which the heat receiver is located, and a second surface opposite the first surface, and the heat dissipating part is coupled to the second surface.
Nagata discloses wherein the heat transporting part (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 3) is a vapor chamber (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 3), the vapor chamber has a planar first surface at which the heat receiver (heat absorber 60 of fig. 3) is located.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the wavelength converting apparatus of Nishimori with the liquid cooling device of Nagata in order to forcibly cool an element; thereby increasing the working life of said element (Nagata; pg. 1 3rd para.).
Nishimori as modified by Nagata fails to teach wherein a second surface opposite the first surface, and the heat dissipating part is coupled to the second surface.
Yanagisawa discloses wherein a second surface of the heat dissipating part opposite the first surface (illustrated in the examiners illustration of fig. 14), and the heat dissipating part (73) is coupled to the second surface (shown below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the phosphor element of the Nishimori and Nagata with the cold plate of Yanagisawa in order to effectively cool an optical element (Yanagisawa; para. 0006).
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (US PG Pub. 20150042963) and Nagata (JP 2005202195 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yanagisawa et al. (US PG Pub. 20090237619).
Regarding claim 7, Nishimori as modified by Nagata discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising: a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light); wherein the cooling apparatus (apparatus of fig. 3) includes a heat dissipating part ((Heat dissipation means) 40 of fig. 3) configured to dissipate transferred heat (pg. 4 9th para., radiator 40 includes, for example, heat radiation fins 41 formed of a metal such as Fe, Cu, Al, Mg, or a material having excellent thermal conductivity, and the surface area is increased by the fins.
Nishimori as modified by Nagata fails to teach wherein the cooling apparatus includes a Peltier device having a planar first surface that is the heat receiver, and a second surface opposite the first surface, and a heat dissipating part coupled to the second surface.
Yanagisawa discloses wherein the cooling apparatus includes a Peltier device (para. 0099; Pertier elements 72 (FIG. 13) as thermoelectric conversion elements) having a planar first surface that is the heat receiver (illustrated in fig. 13), and a second surface opposite the first surface (illustrated in fig. 13), and a heat dissipating part (heat-radiating heat transfer members 73 ) coupled to the second surface (illustrated in fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the phosphor element of the Nishimori and Nagata with the Peltier elements of Yanagisawa in order to effectively cool an optical element (Yanagisawa; para. 0006).
Regarding claim 8, Nishimori as modified by Nagata discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising: a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light); wherein the cooling apparatus (apparatus of fig. 3) includes a heat dissipating part ((Heat dissipation means) 40 of fig. 3) configured to dissipate transferred heat (pg. 4 9th para., radiator 40 includes, for example, heat radiation fins 41 formed of a metal such as Fe, Cu, Al, Mg, or a material having excellent thermal conductivity, and the surface area is increased by the fins.
Nishimori as modified by Nagata fails to teach wherein the cooling apparatus includes a cold plate which has a planar first surface at which the heat receiver is located, and through which a cooling medium flows.
Yanagisawa discloses wherein the cooling apparatus includes a cold plate (heat-receiving jacket 64 of fig. 14) which has a planar first surface at which the heat receiver is located, and through which a cooling medium flows (para. 0119; liquid circulation member 66F is connected to the respective heat-receiving jacket 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the phosphor element of the Nishimori and Nagata with the cold plate of Yanagisawa in order to effectively cool an optical element (Yanagisawa; para. 0006).
Regarding claim 9, Nishimori as modified by Nagata discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising: a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light); wherein the cooling apparatus (apparatus of fig. 3) includes a heat dissipating part ((Heat dissipation means) 40 of fig. 3) configured to dissipate transferred heat (pg. 4 9th para., radiator 40 includes, for example, heat radiation fins 41 formed of a metal such as Fe, Cu, Al, Mg, or a material having excellent thermal conductivity, and the surface area is increased by the fins).
Nishimori as modified by Nagata fails to teach further comprising a heat dissipating part fixed to a surface of the cold plate that differs from the first surface.
Yanagisawa discloses further comprising a heat dissipating part (heat-radiating heat transfer members 73 of fig. 14) fixed to a surface of the cold plate (64) that differs from the first surface (shown in fig. 14).
wherein the cooling apparatus includes a Peltier device (para. 0099; Pertier elements 72 (FIG. 13) as thermoelectric conversion elements) having a planar first surface that is the heat receiver (illustrated in fig. 13), and a second surface opposite the first surface (illustrated in fig. 13), and a heat dissipating part (heat-radiating heat transfer members 73 ) coupled to the second surface (illustrated in fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the phosphor element of the Nishimori and Nagata with the cold plate of Yanagisawa in order to effectively cool an optical element (Yanagisawa; para. 0006).
Regarding claim 10, Nishimori as modified by Nagata discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising: a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light); wherein the cooling apparatus (apparatus of fig. 3) includes a heat dissipating part ((Heat dissipation means) 40 of fig. 3) configured to dissipate transferred heat (pg. 4 9th para., radiator 40 includes, for example, heat radiation fins 41 formed of a metal such as Fe, Cu, Al, Mg, or a material having excellent thermal conductivity, and the surface area is increased by the fins).
Nishimori as modified by Nagata fails to teach wherein the cooling apparatus includes a heat dissipating part configured to dissipate transferred heat, and the heat dissipating part includes a base having a planar first surface at which the heat receiver is located, and a second surface opposite the first surface, and a heat dissipating fin provided at the second surface.
Yanagisawa discloses wherein the cooling apparatus (liquid-cooling device 6 of fig. 14) includes a heat dissipating part (73) configured to dissipate transferred heat, and the heat dissipating part includes a base having a planar first surface (heat-radiating surface 722 of fig. 14) at which the heat receiver is located (rectangular panel member 731 of fig. 14), and a second surface opposite the first surface (illustrated in fig. 14), and a heat dissipating fin (plurality of fin members 732 of fig. 14) provided at the second surface (illustrated in fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the phosphor element of the Nishimori and Nagata with the plurality of heat dissipating fins of Yanagisawa in order to effectively cool an optical element (Yanagisawa; para. 0006).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimori et al. (US PG Pub. 20150042963) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Masuda (US PG Pub. 20180231880).
Regarding claim 12, Nishimori discloses a wavelength converting apparatus (fixed phosphor 23 of fig. 4) comprising: a phosphor (fluorescent film 23a of fig. 4) that is a heat source and is configured to emit light having a specific wavelength band (para. 0042; fixed phosphor 23 is applied with a fluorescent film 23a which is irradiated with the blue-component laser light emitted from the light source unit 1 to generate fluorescent light including the green-component fluorescent light and the red-component fluorescent light); wherein the cooling apparatus (apparatus of fig. 3) includes a heat dissipating part ((Heat dissipation means) 40 of fig. 3) configured to dissipate transferred heat (pg. 4 9th para., radiator 40 includes, for example, heat radiation fins 41 formed of a metal such as Fe, Cu, Al, Mg, or a material having excellent thermal conductivity, and the surface area is increased by the fins).
Nishimori fails to teach wherein the phosphor is fixed to the heat receiver through either solder-based metal joining or metal-based firing fixation.
Masuda discloses wherein the phosphor is fixed to the heat receiver through either solder-based metal joining or metal-based firing fixation (para. 0078; bonding (metal bonding) with metal brazing such as silver solder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the phosphor of Nishimori fixing it to the substrate/heat radiating surface with a solder as shown in Masuda in order to improve the thermal conductivity between the reflecting layer and the base member (Masuda; para. 0078).
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 23 September 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882