DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claims recite “processing the image of the drug product to acquire a plurality of characteristics associated with the drug product” which falls under the grouping of Mental Processes because the plain meaning of processing the OCT image encompasses mental observations or evaluation of the image to acquire characteristics or features of the image. The claims further recite “acquiring an identity of a drug product from a drug product information repository; receiving information associated with the drug product from a drug product package validation system, the information comprising an image of the drug product and the identity of the drug product” which are data gathering steps which are insignificant extra solution activities. Similarly, the limitation “configuring a non-transitory computer readable medium with a data structure that associates the identity of the drug product with the plurality of characteristics” is essentially a data output step, i.e., outputting the data to a storage device, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity. The claim does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it does not recite any additional elements.
Dependent claims 2 and 16 recite “wherein the plurality of characteristics comprises size, shape, color, imprint code, weight, or scoring” which is basically describing the characteristics or features of the drug product image.
Dependent claims 3 and 17 recite “wherein the imprint code comprises an indicium of medicinal strength, an indicium of an active ingredient, and an indicium of an inactive ingredient” which is basically describing the characteristics or features of the drug product image.
Dependent claims 4 and 18 recite “wherein the shape comprises round, elliptical, capsule,
triangular, oblong, oval, square, diamond, hexagon, octagon, pentagon, gelcap, non-uniform, and other” which is basically describing the characteristics of the drug that is imaged.
Dependent claims 5 and 18 recite “wherein the color comprises transparent and a plurality of colors” which is basically describing the characteristics of the drug product image.
Dependent claims 6 and 19 recite “wherein the identity comprises a National Drug Code (NDC), a Drug Identification Number (DIN) identifier, or a Universal Product Code (UPC) identifier” which is basically describing the drug code information on the drug product image.
Dependent claim 7 recites “wherein the drug product information repository comprises one or more commercially available databases or proprietary databases” which basically describes a database from which the information is received.
Dependent claim 8 recites “determining, using an Artificial Intelligence (Al) model, the identity of the drug product based on one or more of the plurality of characteristics” but does not recite any details on how the model operates and the plain meaning of determining the identity of the drug product encompasses mental observations or evaluation of image to identify the drug. The machine learning model is recited at a high level of generality and merely confines the use of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment (machine learning model) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. Claim 8 further recites “wherein receiving the information associated with the drug product from the drug product package validation system comprises receiving the information associated with the drug product from the Al model” which is merely a data gathering step which is an insignificant extra-solution activity.
Dependent claim 9 recites “filtering the information based on at least one of the plurality of characteristics to identify one of the plurality of Al models” which falls under the grouping of Mental Processes because a person can mentally identify or select an AI model from a plurality of models based mentally evaluating the characteristics of the image. Claim 9 further recites “and wherein determining, using the Al model, comprises: determining, using one of the plurality of Al models, the identity of the first drug product based on the one or more of the plurality of characteristics” but does not recite any details on how the model operates and the plain meaning of determining the identity of the drug product encompasses mental observations or evaluation of image to identify the drug. The machine learning model is recited at a high level of generality and merely confines the use of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment (machine learning model) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Dependent claim 12 recite “filtering the information based on all of the plurality of characteristics to identify the one of the plurality of Al models” which falls under the grouping of Mental Processes because a person can mentally identify or select an AI model from a plurality of models based mentally evaluating the characteristics of the image.
Dependent claim 13 recites “wherein each of the plurality of AI models comprises a convolutional neural network” which merely names the machine learning model but does not recite any details on how the model operates. The machine learning model is recited at a high level of generality and merely confines the use of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment (machine learning model) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Dependent claim 14 recites “wherein the convolutional neural network comprises a plurality of convolutional layers with at least some of the plurality of convolutional layers being connected to one another via a skip connection” which merely describes the kind of machine learning model but does not recite any details on how the model operates. The machine learning model is recited at a high level of generality and merely confines the use of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment (machine learning model) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites “wherein the plurality of artificial intelligence models corresponds to a plurality of value combinations of the one or more of the plurality of characteristics, respectively”. It is not clear what these value combinations refer to or how they are calculated. The specification does not clarify or provide details regarding the value combinations and how they correspond to the models. Claim 10 depends from claim 9 and is rejected for the same reason for failing to clarify the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 15-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (US Publication No. 2023/0098966).
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach acquiring an identity of a drug product from a drug product information repository (see abstract, fig. 5, ¶¶ 45, 54: identify of the drug is acquired from database containing the training images); receiving information associated with the drug product from a drug product package validation system, the information comprising an image of the drug product and the identity of the drug product (see abstract, fig. 5, ¶¶ 45, 54: training images of drug product package with associated identify information of the drug); processing the image of the drug product to acquire a plurality of characteristics associated with the drug product (see fig. 5, ¶¶ 45, 54: image is processed to acquire features or characteristics of the drug product); and configuring a non-transitory computer readable medium with a data structure that associates the identity of the drug product with the plurality of characteristics (see fig. 5, ¶¶ 45, 54: identity of the drug is associated with plurality of characteristics such as color).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of characteristics comprises size, shape, color, imprint code, weight, or scoring (see ¶ 54: color).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teach method of claim 2, wherein the shape comprises round, elliptical, capsule, triangular, oblong, oval, square, diamond, hexagon, octagon, pentagon, gelcap, non-uniform, and other (see ¶ 45: characteristic information for drug products, such as capsules, pills, and the like, including size, shape, color, markings, or other identifying information).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teach method of claim 2, wherein the color comprises transparent and a plurality of colors (see ¶ 54: transparency).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the identity comprises a National Drug Code (NDC), a Drug Identification Number (DIN) identifier, or a Universal Product Code (UPC) identifier (see ¶ 54: identification number).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the drug product information repository comprises one or more commercially available databases or proprietary databases (see fig. 1, ¶ 50: drug product databases).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teach method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, using an Artificial Intelligence (Al) model, the identity of the drug product based on one or more of the plurality of characteristics (see fig. 5, ¶¶ 45 , 54: artificial intelligence to identify drug product based on one or more characteristics); wherein receiving the information associated with the drug product from the drug product package validation system comprises receiving the information associated with the drug product from the Al model (see fig. 5, ¶¶ 45, 54: package validation system receives information from the AI model).
With regard to claim 15, see discussion of claim 1. D1 further teach a computer processor and memory (see fig. 1).
With regard to claim 16, see discussion of claim 2.
With regard to claim 18, see discussion of claims 4 and 5.
With regard to claim 19, see discussion of claim 6.
With regard to claim 20, see discussion of claim 1. D1 further teach a non-transitory computer readable medium (see fig. 1: computer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regard to claim 3, D1 teach method of Claim 2, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the imprint code comprises an indicium of medicinal strength, an indicium of an active ingredient, and an indicium of an inactive ingredient. However, Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that determining medicinal strength or active ingredients is extremely well known in the art before the effective filing date and that one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable results. The motivation for determining the strength or active ingredient would have been to validate the drugs before dispensing to a patient, for example.
With regard to claim 17, see discussion of claim 3.
Claims 9, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 and further in view of D2 (US Publication No. 2024/0312173).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teach method of claim 8, wherein the Al model comprises a plurality of Al models, determining, using one of the plurality of Al models, the identity of the first drug product based on the one or more of the plurality of characteristics (see fig. 5, ¶¶ 45, 54), but fails to explicitly teach filtering the information based on at least one of the plurality of characteristics to identify one of the plurality of Al models. However, D2 teach the missing feature (see ¶ 28: selecting model based on reference feature of image, e.g., if reference feature is a face, then a face model is selected). One skilled in the art would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to select an AI model based on the characteristics or feature of the image which may correspond to different categories of drugs, such as drugs in a bottle or strip packaging. The teachings of D2 may be incorporated into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable results. The motivation would have been to select different AI models to recognize or classify the drugs, where different AI models may be trained on different categories of drugs, thereby enhancing recognition and classification of drugs.
With regard to claim 12, D2 teach method of Claim 9, wherein filtering the information comprises: filtering the information based on see ¶ 28: selecting model based on reference feature of image, e.g., if reference feature is a face, then a face model is selected). D2 does not explicitly teach using all of the characteristics of the image to select or identify an AI model, however one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to use one or more features or characteristics of the image to filter or categorize the image into different categories and then select an AI model corresponding to the category, as explained above in claim 9.
With regard to claim 13, D1 teach method of Claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of AI models comprises a see ¶ 41: AI systems may be used including, but not limited to, a multi-layer neural network, a deep learning system, a natural language processing system, and/or computer vision). D1 teach neural network but fail to explicitly teach convolution neural network, however Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that CNN’s are extremely well known in the art before the effective filing date and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced computational efficiency and scalability.
With regard to claim 14, D1 teach method of Claim 13, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the convolutional neural network comprises a plurality of convolutional layers with at least some of the plurality of convolutional layers being connected to one another via a skip connection. However, takes Official Notice to the fact that CNN’s with skip connections are extremely well known in the art before the effective filing date and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced results such as faster and more stable convergence.
Pertinent Art
Harrison et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0082923) is directed to capturing an image of pill bottle label and extracting features and label classification and prediction.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672