DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 1/9/2025 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bohn (US2022137408A1, U.S. equivalent of WO2022098454A1 of record in the IDS dated 1/9/2025).
With respect to Claim 1, Bohn discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1—element 100, near-eye display system; [0039]) for displaying a first image (Fig. 3-- light emitted by element 105L, left imager; [0044]) to a first eye (Fig. 3-- element 115L, left eye; [0040]) and a second image (Fig. 3-- light emitted by element 105R, right imager; [0044]) to a second eye (Fig. 3-- element 115R, right eye; [0040]) of a user, comprising:
a support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]);
a light source (Fig. 3-- element 105L and 105R, left and right imagers; [0044]) supported by (Fig. 29—elements 105L and 105R are housed within element 2700) the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) and configured to emit a first light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L) carrying said first image (Fig. 3-- light emitted by element 105L, left imager; [0044]) and a second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R) carrying said second image (Fig. 3-- light emitted by element 105R, right imager; [0044]);
a mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) supported by (Fig. 29—element 305 is housed within element 2700) the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) with one or two cascaded mirrors configured to oscillate about two axes (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) in order to scan the first light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L) across a first scanning area ([0045]: scanning mirrors may be utilized before the DOEs for stereoscopic operation) and the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R) across a second scanning area ([0045]: scanning mirrors may be utilized before the DOEs for stereoscopic operation) (Fig. 3—left and right variations of element 355 are scanned to left and right eyes);
a first beam deflection element (Fig. 3-- elements 130L, 340L, and 310L; [0045]) supported by (Fig. 29—element 130 is housed within element 2700) the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]), arranged in the first scanning area ([0045]: scanning mirrors may be utilized before the DOEs for stereoscopic operation) and configured to deflect the scanned first light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L) towards the first eye (Fig. 3-- element 115L, left eye; [0040]) of the user; and
a second beam deflection element (Fig. 3-- elements 130R, 340R, and 310R; [0045]) supported by (Fig. 29—element 130 is housed within element 2700) the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]), arranged in the second scanning area ([0045]: scanning mirrors may be utilized before the DOEs for stereoscopic operation) and configured to deflect the scanned second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R) towards the second eye (Fig. 3-- element 115R, right eye; [0040]) of the user.
With respect to Claim 2, Bohn discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first beam deflection element (Fig. 3-- elements 130L, 340L, and 310L; [0045]) is formed by a first waveguide (Fig. 3-- element 130L, waveguide; [0045]) having
an in-coupling section (Fig. 3-- element 340, in-coupling DOE; [0045]) arranged in the first scanning area ([0045]: scanning mirrors may be utilized before the DOEs for stereoscopic operation) and configured to couple said scanned first light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L) into the first waveguide (Fig. 3-- element 130L, waveguide; [0045]) for guiding therethrough, and
an out-coupling section (Fig. 3-- element 340, out-coupling DOEs; [0045]) configured to couple the guided first light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L) out of the first waveguide (Fig. 3-- element 130L, waveguide; [0045]) towards the first eye (Fig. 3-- element 115L, left eye; [0040]) of the user; and
the second beam deflection element (Fig. 3-- elements 130R, 340R, and 310R; [0045]) is formed by a second waveguide (Fig. 3-- element 130R, waveguide; [0045]) having an in-coupling section (Fig. 3-- element 340, in-coupling DOE; [0045]) arranged in the second scanning area ([0045]: scanning mirrors may be utilized before the DOEs for stereoscopic operation) and configured to couple said scanned second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R) into the second waveguide (Fig. 3-- element 130R, waveguide; [0045]) for guiding therethrough, and
an out-coupling section (Fig. 3-- element 340, out-coupling DOEs; [0045]) configured to couple the guided second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R) out of the second waveguide (Fig. 3-- element 130R, waveguide; [0045]) towards the second eye (Fig. 3-- element 115R, right eye; [0040]) of the user.
With respect to Claim 3, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) comprises a spectacle frame or spectacles glasses (Fig. 27—element 2700 includes a HMD frame) and the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) is supported at a nose-bridge thereof (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the nose bridge).
With respect to Claim 4, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) comprises a visor or helmet (Fig. 27—element 2700 includes a HMD frame) and the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) is supported at a centre thereof (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the center of the visor).
With respect to Claim 5, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the light source (Fig. 3-- element 105L and 105R, left and right imagers; [0044]) is supported at the nose-bridge (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the nose bridge).
With respect to Claim 6, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) comprises a spectacle frame or spectacles glasses (Fig. 27—element 2700 includes a HMD frame) and the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) is supported at a nose-bridge thereof (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the nose bridge), and wherein the in-coupling sections (Fig. 3-- element 340, in-coupling DOE; [0045]) of the first and second waveguides (Fig. 3-- elements 130L and 130R, waveguide; [0045]) are supported at the nose-bridge (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the nose bridge).
With respect to Claim 7, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) comprises a spectacle frame or spectacles glasses (Fig. 27—element 2700 includes a HMD frame) and the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) is supported at a nose-bridge thereof (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the nose bridge), and wherein the first and second waveguides (Fig. 3-- elements 130L and 130R, waveguide; [0045]) are arranged inside or on one common substrate ([0085]: waveguides are cut from a single substrate material).
With respect to Claim 8, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) comprises a spectacle frame or spectacles glasses (Fig. 27—element 2700 includes a HMD frame) and the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) is supported at a nose-bridge thereof (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the nose bridge), and wherein the first and second waveguides (Fig. 3-- elements 130L and 130R, waveguide; [0045]) are arranged inside or on separate substrates which are non-coplanarily tilted ([0046]: While the EPE 305 is depicted as having a planar configuration, other shapes may also be utilized including, for example, curved or partially spherical shapes, in which case gratings in the DOEs disposed thereon may be non-co-planar) towards the user's eyes (Fig. 3—elements 130L and 130R are arranged separately).
With respect to Claim 9, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light source (Fig. 3-- element 105L and 105R, left and right imagers; [0044]) comprises one emitter configured to emit the first and second light beams (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L or 105R) coaxially and at different emission times ([0040]: element 105 may include a single light source and the light source may include electronics to enable a virtual display to provide one or more input optical beams to the optical system).
With respect to Claim 10, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light source (Fig. 3-- element 105L and 105R, left and right imagers; [0044]) comprises two emitters (Fig. 3-- element 105L and 105R) supported under different orientations (Fig. 3-- Fig. 3-- elements 105L and 105R are arranged separate from each other) and configured to emit the first and second light beams (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L or 105R).
With respect to Claim 11, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, and further discloses wherein the two emitters (Fig. 3-- element 105L and 105R) are configured to emit simultaneously ([0040]: 105 may include any other suitable displays or micro-displays operating in simultaneous emission).
With respect to Claim 12, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light source (Fig. 3-- element 105L and 105R, left and right imagers; [0044]) is configured to emit each light beam with more than one colour ([0040]: 105 may include RGB light emitting diodes).
With respect to Claim 13, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses further comprising an angular shift element (Fig. 3-- element 120, imaging optics; [0038]) configured to shift ([0038]: element 120 may comprise as collimating lens) the first light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L), the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R), or the first and the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R) in angle for deflecting them towards the eyes under angles of overlapping ranges (Fig. 3—element 120 is disposed in front of both element 105L and 105R and collimates element 355).
With respect to Claim 14, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, and further discloses further comprising an angular shift element (Fig. 3-- element 120, imaging optics; [0038]) configured to shift ([0038]: element 120 may comprise as collimating lens) the first light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L), the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R), or the first and the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R) in angle for deflecting them towards the eyes under angles of overlapping ranges (Fig. 3—element 120 is disposed in front of both element 105L and 105R and collimates element 355), wherein the in-coupling and out-coupling sections (Fig. 3-- elements 340 and 310; [0045]) of the first waveguide (Fig. 3-- element 130L, waveguide; [0045]) each comprise a diffraction grating (Fig. 3-- elements 340 and 310 are DOEs) for coupling in or out the first light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L), the diffraction gratings (Fig. 3-- elements 340 and 310 are DOEs) having different spatial frequencies ([0064]: there may be a shift in the grating features of the out-coupling DOE) to form at least a part of ([0064]: a change in phase of the out-coupling DOE will induce a phase change of the diffracted field from planar to spherical; thus inducing a further angular shift on collimated light received from element 120) said angular shift element (Fig. 3-- element 120, imaging optics; [0038]), and/or
wherein the in-coupling and out-coupling sections (Fig. 3-- elements 340 and 310; [0045]) of the second waveguide (Fig. 3-- element 130R, waveguide; [0045]) each comprise a diffraction grating (Fig. 3-- elements 340 and 310 are DOEs) for coupling in or out the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R), the diffraction gratings (Fig. 3-- elements 340 and 310 are DOEs) having different spatial frequencies ([0064]: there may be a shift in the grating features of the out-coupling DOE) to form at least a part of ([0064]: a change in phase of the out-coupling DOE will induce a phase change of the diffracted field from planar to spherical; thus inducing a further angular shift on collimated light received from element 120) said angular shift element (Fig. 3-- element 120, imaging optics; [0038]).
With respect to Claim 15, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 13, and further discloses wherein the angular shift element (Fig. 3-- element 120, imaging optics; [0038]) comprises a refractive optical element ([0038]: element 120 may include imaging optics such as a refractive optical element) supported by (Fig. 29—element 120 is housed within element 2700) the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) in a light path of the first light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L), the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R), or the first and the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R) between the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) and the first and second beam deflection elements (Fig. 3-- elements 130R, 340R, and 310R; [0045]).
With respect to Claim 16, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 13, and further discloses wherein the angular shift element (Fig. 3-- element 120, imaging optics; [0038]) comprises a reflective optical element ([0038]: element 120 may include imaging optics such as a reflective optical element), supported by (Fig. 29—element 120 is housed within element 2700) the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) in a light path of the first light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105L), the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R), or the first and the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R) between the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) and the first and second beam deflection elements (Fig. 3-- elements 130R, 340R, and 310R; [0045]).
With respect to Claim 18, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 4, and further discloses wherein the light source (Fig. 3-- element 105L and 105R, left and right imagers; [0044]) is supported at the centre (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the center of the visor).
With respect to Claim 19, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) comprises a visor or helmet (Fig. 27—element 2700 includes a HMD frame) and the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) is supported at a centre thereof (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the center of the visor), and wherein the in-coupling sections (Fig. 3-- element 340, in-coupling DOE; [0045]) of the first and second waveguides (Fig. 3-- elements 130L and 130R, waveguide; [0045]) are supported at the centre (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the center of the visor).
With respect to Claim 20, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) comprises a visor or helmet (Fig. 27—element 2700 includes a HMD frame) and the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) is supported at a centre thereof (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the center of the visor), and wherein the first and second waveguides (Fig. 3-- elements 130L and 130R, waveguide; [0045]) are arranged inside or on one common substrate ([0085]: waveguides are cut from a single substrate material).
With respect to Claim 21, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) comprises a visor or helmet (Fig. 27—element 2700 includes a HMD frame) and the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) is supported at a centre thereof (Fig. 27—element 2700 supports element 2905 at the center of the visor), and wherein the first and second waveguides (Fig. 3-- elements 130L and 130R, waveguide; [0045]) are arranged inside or on separate substrates which are non-coplanarily tilted towards the user's eyes ([0046]: While the EPE 305 is depicted as having a planar configuration, other shapes may also be utilized including, for example, curved or partially spherical shapes, in which case gratings in the DOEs disposed thereon may be non-co-planar).
With respect to Claim 22, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light source (Fig. 3-- element 105L and 105R, left and right imagers; [0044]) is configured to emit each light beam with the colours red, green and blue ([0040]: 105 may include RGB light emitting diodes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (US2022137408A1, U.S. equivalent of WO2022098454A1 of record in the IDS dated 1/9/2025).
With respect to Claim 17, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light source (Fig. 3-- element 105L and 105R, left and right imagers; [0044]) is further configured to emit a third light beam carrying a third image ([0040]: 105 may include one or more light sources carrying images), the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) is further configured to scan the third light beam across a third scanning area ([0040]: 105 may include one or more light sources carrying images).
However, Bohn does not disclose a third beam deflection element supported by the support, arranged in the third scanning area and configured to deflect the scanned third light beam towards the first or the second eye of the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate the first or second beam deflection element, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 23, Bohn discloses the apparatus according to claim 13, and further discloses wherein the angular shift element (Fig. 3-- element 120, imaging optics; [0038]) comprises a reflective optical element ([0038]: element 120 may include imaging optics such as a reflective optical element), supported by (Fig. 29—element 120 is housed within element 2700) the support (Fig. 29-- element 2700, visor; [0093]) in a light path of the first tight beam, the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R), or the first and the second light beam (Fig. 3-- element 355 which is emitted by 105R) between the mirror assembly (Fig. 3-- element 305 may include scanning mirrors for stereoscopic operation; [0045]) and the first and second beam deflection elements (Fig. 3-- elements 130R, 340R, and 310R; [0045]),
However, Bohn does not explicitly disclose wherein the angular shift element comprises a V-shaped reflective optical element and reflecting the first and second light beams at inner surfaces of different legs of the V.
The prior art and the instant claim differ by the shape of the specific shape of a reflective optical element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a V-shaped optical element in the apparatus of Bohn in such a way that the first and second light beams are reflected at inner surfaces of different legs of the V, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), MPEP §2144.04(IV)(B). In the instant case, the change in shape does not appear to be significant to the function because Bohn teaches that element 120 may utilize any imaging optics, [0038]. Further, it would be within reason of one of ordinary skill in the art to choose to place a V-shaped reflective optical element which reflects a first or second light beam in a specific direction within the first and second imaging paths because V-shaped reflective optical elements are well known within the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kirillov (US 20220413207 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1A and [0023]-[0027].
Calafiore (US 20220206295 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1A and [0036].
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872