DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 11, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schaffert Wendling (US 6253692 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Wendling discloses a row cleaner (as seen in Fig. 1) for use in agricultural tillage, comprising:
an upper bracket mount ([30, 32, 40] are connected and make up the upper mount connecting the row cleaner to the conventional tillage equipment [12] and is therefore considered to be the upper bracket mount.) having at least one upper pivot point for (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 below) connecting a first end of at least one upper parallel linkage arm [60], and at least one lower pivot point (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 below) for connecting a first end of at least one lower parallel linkage arm [62];
a lower disk mount bracket mount [64] having at least one disk mount upper pivot point (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 below) for connecting a second end of each said at least one upper parallel linkage arm [60], and at least one disk mount lower pivot point (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 below) for connecting a second end of each said at least one lower parallel linkage arm [62];
said upper and lower pivot points (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 below) on said upper bracket [60], and said disk mount upper and lower pivot points (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 below), each being non-vertically aligned with each other (Each pivot point is non-vertically aligned as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 below).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Regarding claim 2, Wendling discloses the row cleaner of claim 1, further including a tillage disk [56] mounted to said disk mount bracket [64], and said row cleaner (as seen in Fig. 1) is configured for operating between a retracted position (as seen in Fig. 2), with said upper and lower parallel linkage arms [60, 62] in a spaced, parallel orientation (Upper and lower parallel linkage arms are held in a spaced parallel position as seen in figurines 1-3.), and an operational position (as seen in Fig. 3), with said upper and lower parallel linkage arms [60, 62] in an extended position (as seen in Fig. 3), in said retracted position (as seen in Fig. 2), edge of said tillage disk [56] being adjacent said lower pivot point of said upper bracket mount [30, 32, 40] (Cambridge Dictionary defines “adjacent” as “very near, next to, or touching”. In the retracted position as seen in Fig. 2, the tillage disk [56] is pulled closer to the upper mount bracket [30, 32, 40] and the edge of said tillage disk [56] is considered to be very near or adjacent to the lower pivot point of said upper bracket [40].).
However, Wendling does not disclose wherein the tillage disk has teeth.
Johnson discloses a tillage disk [48] comprising teeth [50].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Martin’s toothed tillage disk for Wendling’s non-toothed tillage disk in order to help break up and or sweep away residue and dirt clods (Martin, column 6 lines 1-8).
In the disclosed combination, the teeth of said tillage disk (Wendling’s tillage disk [56] toothed as taught by Johnson) being adjacent said lower pivot point of said upper bracket mount [as seen in Wendling’s annotated Fig. 1 above.] (Cambridge Dictionary defines “adjacent” as “very near, next to, or touching”. In the retracted position as seen in Fig. 2, the tillage disk [56, Wendling] is pulled closer to the upper mount bracket [40] and the teeth of said tillage disk [56, Wendling and toothed as taught by Johnson.] is considered to be very near or adjacent to the lower pivot point of said upper bracket [40, Wendling].).
Regarding claim 6, Wendling discloses the row cleaner of claim 1, further including an adjustable stop mechanism [82, 84] associated with one of said upper bracket [40] and said lower disk mount [64] (Merriam-Webster defines “associated” as “joined together often in a working relationship”. As the stop controls the extent to which the upper and lower linkage bars may rotate about their pivot points working with the upper bracket mount [30, 32, 40] and the lower disk mount [64], the stop mechanism is considered to be associated with them.),
and configured for adjusting an operational position (as seen in Fig. 3) of said at least one upper parallel linkage arm [60] and said at least one lower parallel linkage arm [62] in an extended position (as seen in Fig. 3), such adjustment being achieved without the use of tools (Column 3 lines 60-65 disclose the hydraulic circuit the operator uses to control the fluid powered cylinder without the use of external tools.).
Regarding claim 11, Wendling discloses the row cleaner of claim 1, wherein said upper bracket mount [30, 32, 40] includes at least one vertical mounting surface (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 below) and at least one horizontal mounting surface (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 below), both said mounting surfaces having mounting apertures (Screws securing component [32] of upper mount bracket to conventional agricultural tillage equipment [12] in annotated Fig. 1 below.) for accommodating adapters for securing said row cleaner to conventional agricultural tillage equipment [12].
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Regarding claim 16, Wendling discloses a row cleaner for use in agricultural tillage, comprising:
an upper bracket mount [30, 32, 40] having at least one upper pivot point (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 above) for connecting a first end of at least one upper parallel linkage arm [60], and at least one lower pivot point for (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 above) connecting a first end of at least one lower parallel linkage arm [62];
a lower disk mount bracket mount [64] having at least one disk mount upper pivot point (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 above) for connecting a second end of each said at least one upper parallel linkage arm [60], and at least one disk mount lower pivot point (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 above) for connecting a second end of each said at least one lower parallel linkage arm [62];
and an adjustable stop mechanism [72, 84] associated with one of said upper bracket [40] and said lower disk mount [64] (Merriam-Webster defines “associated” as “joined together often in a working relationship”. As the stop controls the extent to which the upper and lower linkage bars may rotate about their pivot points working with the upper bracket mount [30, 32, 40] and the lower disk mount [64], the stop mechanism is considered to be associated with them.), and configured for adjusting an operational position of [62] said at least one upper parallel linkage arm [60] and said at least one lower parallel linkage arm [62] in an extended position (As seen in Fig. 3), such adjustment being achieved without the use of tools (Column 3 lines 60-65 disclose the hydraulic circuit the operator uses to control the fluid powered cylinder without the use of external tools.).
Regarding claim 18, Wendling discloses the row cleaner of claim 16, wherein said upper bracket mount [30, 32, 40] includes at least one vertical mounting surface (as seen in Wendling’s annotated Fig. 1 above) and at least one horizontal mounting surface (as seen in Wendling’s annotated Fig. 1 above), both said mounting surfaces having mounting apertures (Screws securing component [32] of upper mount bracket to conventional agricultural tillage equipment [12] in annotated Fig. 1 below.) for accommodating adapters for securing said row cleaner to conventional agricultural tillage equipment [12].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as it discloses a pair of said at least one lower parallel linkage arms.
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 3, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as it discloses a stop lever having a toothed edge, and a slidable stop member being slidably associated with one of said upper bracket and said lower disk mount, and having a complementary toothed edge configured for engaging said stop lever toothed edge, said slidable stop member having a stop end for engaging a complementary lobe on an associated one of said at least one upper and lower parallel linkage arms.
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 7, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 is allowed as it discloses an upper bracket mount having a pair of upper pivot points for connecting a first end of a pair of upper parallel linkage arms, and a pair of lower pivot points for connecting a first end of a pair of lower parallel linkage arms; and a lower disk mount bracket mount having a pair of disk mount upper pivot points for connecting a second end of each said upper parallel linkage arm.
Claims 13-15 are allowed as being dependent upon a allowed base claim 12.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as it discloses a stop lever having a toothed edge, and a slidable stop member being slidably associated with one of said upper bracket and said lower disk mount, and having a complementary toothed edge configured for engaging said stop lever toothed edge, said slidable stop member having a stop end for engaging a complementary lobe on an associated one of said at least one upper and lower parallel linkage arms, said stop lever is biased into engagement with said slidable stop member.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as it discloses a stop lever having a toothed edge, and a slidable stop member being slidably associated with one of said upper bracket and said lower disk mount, and having a complementary toothed edge configured for engaging said stop lever toothed edge, said slidable stop member having a stop end for engaging a complementary lobe on an associated one of said at least one upper and lower parallel linkage arms, said stop lever is biased into engagement with said slidable stop member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bassett (US 2018/0139885) discloses an agricultural system for field preparation. Schaffert (US 2022/0078966). Benko (US 2015/0144039) discloses an anhydrous ammonia injector for a disk cleaner. Schilling (US 2011/0120357) discloses a down pressure adjustment assembly for a disc opener of an agricultural element. Hornung (US 5398771) discloses a grain drill.
/ASHLEY A KAERCHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3671 10/19/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673