Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Unno et al. (U.S. 2004/0121820A1).
Regarding claim 1, Unno et al. disclose a support (11, fig. 2 and para 0126) for a rear-view mirror (20, 25) of a motor vehicle (A, see fig. 1), the support (11)comprising:
a first coupling surface (11a, see fig. 2 and para 0133);
first fixing devices (11b, 11c. P1, P2; para 0133) adapted to fix said first coupling surface (11a) to a fixing region (P, fig. 1) of said motor vehicle (as shown in fig. 1);
a second coupling surface (the lower surface of 11 connecting to housing 22); and
second fixing devices (11g, 24d) adapted to fix said second coupling surface to said rear-view mirror (20, 25; as shown in fig. 2);
wherein said second coupling surface is angled relative to said first coupling surface (as shown in figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Unno et al. disclose wherein said first coupling surface (11a, see fig. 2 and para 0133) and said second coupling surface (the lower surface of 11 connecting to housing 22) lie on respective planes that are transversal to each other (as shown in figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Unno et al. disclose wherein said planes form an angle between 85o and 950 with each other (as shown in figs. 1-2, the planes form a 90o angle).
Regarding claim 5, Unno et al. disclose a rear-view mirror assembly (10, 20, fig. 2) for a motor vehicle (A, see fig. 1), the rear-view mirror assembly (10, 20) comprising:
a rear-view mirror (20, 25); and
a support (11, fig. 2 and para 0126) according to claim 1;
said rear-view mirror (20, 25) comprising a fixing portion (22a) adapted to be fixed to a region (P, fig. 1) of said motor vehicle or to said support (11; see figs. 1-2);
said support (11) being adapted to be fixed to said region (P, fig. 1) of said motor vehicle (as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Unno et al. disclose wherein said rear-view mirror (20, 25) further comprises one or more electric and/or electronic devices (24; see fig. 2 and refer to para) adapted to be electrically connected to a source of electrical energy of said motor vehicle (A; refer to para 0139).
Regarding claim 7, Unno et al. disclose a motor vehicle (A, fig. 1), comprising:
a frame (as shown in fig. 1 and also implied);
a cabin (as shown in fig. 1 and also implied) integral with said frame and adapted to accommodate at least a driver of said motor vehicle (as shown in fig. 1 and also implied); and
a rear-view mirror (20, 25; as shown in fig. 2) assembly according to claim 5 (see the rejected of claim 5).
Regarding claim 8, Unno et al. disclose a fixing region (P, fig. 1);
said first coupling surface (11a, see fig. 2 and para 0133) being fixed to said fixing region (P);
said second coupling surface (the lower surface of 11 connecting to housing 22) being facing away from the ground on which said motor vehicle (A) rests, in use (as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Unno et al. disclose wherein said fixing region comprises at least two first holes (P1, P2) and said second fixing devices comprise at least two second holes (24d) at said second coupling surface (as shown in fig. 2);
wherein the relative distance of said first holes (P1, P2) corresponds to the relative distance of said second holes (24d; as shown in fig. 2);
said rear-view mirror (20, 25) comprising at least two pins (11b, 11c; 11g) adapted to respectively engage the two first holes or said second holes (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Unno et al. defining :
a first axis (X) of longitudinal extension;
a second axis (Z), which is vertical, in use; and
a third axis (Y), which is perpendicular to said first axis (X) and said second axis (Z);
wherein the rear-view mirror (20, 25) of said rear-view mirror assembly (10, 20) when fixed to said support is parallel to said second axis (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Unno et al. disclose defining:
a first axis (X) of longitudinal extension;
a second axis (Z), which is vertical, in use; and
a third axis (Y), which is perpendicular to said first axis (X) and said second axis (Y);
wherein the rear-view mirror (20, 25) of said rear-view mirror assembly (10, 20) when fixed to said support is substantially parallel to said second axis (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Unno et al. disclose a method for mounting a support (11) for a motor vehicle (A) comprising the steps of:
providing a motor vehicle (A) comprising a fixing region (P) and at least one rear-view mirror (20, 25) fixed to said fixing region (P. see fig. 1);
removing said rear-view mirror (20, 25) from said fixing region (P, see fig. 2);
fixing a first surface (11a, see fig. 2 and para 0133) of a support (11) to said fixing region (P) by means of first fixing devices (11b, 11c. P1, P2; para 0133); and
fixing said rear-view mirror (20, 25) to a second surface (the lower surface of 11 connecting to housing 22) of said support (11) by means of second fixing devices (11g, 24d); said second surface being angled relative to said first surface (as shown in figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Unno et al. disclose wherein at the end of said step iii), said second surface (the lower surface of 11 connecting to housing 22) faces away from the ground on which said motor vehicle rests (as shown in figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Unno et al. disclose wherein said motor vehicle comprises a source of electrical energy (refer to para 0139) and said rear-view mirror (20, 25) comprises at least one electric device (24; see fig. 2 and refer to para); said
electric device (24; see fig. 2 and refer to para) being electrically connected to said source by means of an electric cable (24c) during said step i) (as shown);
said method comprising the further step v) of keeping said electric device electrically connected to said source during the steps ii), iii) and iv) (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Unno et al. disclose wherein said motor vehicle comprises a source of electrical energy (refer to para 0139) and said rear-view mirror (20, 25) comprises at least one electronic device (24; see fig. 2 and refer to para);
said electronic device (24; see fig. 2 and refer to para) being electrically connected to said source by means of an electric cable (24c) during said step i) (see fig. 2);
said method comprising the further step v) of keeping said electronic device electrically connected to said source during the steps ii), iii) and iv) (as shown in figs. 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 15, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Whipps (U.S. 2022/0080892A1), Dziurda (U.S. 2017/0217374A1), Matsuura (U.S. 7,055,974B1), and (U.S. 6,206,529B1).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672