Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species C in the reply filed on 5/4/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are not mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because species C specifically does not require a second inner ring. As shown in Fig. 3E, the outer ring 324/334/360 is a wholly separate element from inner ring 322b/332b/330b. Fig. 4 shows that some structure that was in the inner ring 322b/332b/330b has been incorporated into outer ring 422b/424/460. Therefore the two species are not mutually exclusive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is interpreted as invoking 112(f), because of the inclusion of “means for connecting” and “means for applying a rotational torque”. As such, the specification is consulted for the sufficient structure. Specifically, page 19-20 of the specification recites a means for connecting 420, further narrowed to a first torque tube coupler, a second torque tube coupler, an outer ring comprising interior grooves, an inner ring comprising exterior grooves, and a plurality of rollers positioned between the exterior grooves of the inner ring and the interior grooves of the outer ring, also illustrated in instant Figures 4. As subsequent claims such as claim 8 recite additional structure it and its dependents are not interpreted as invoking 112(f).
Page 20 of the specification recites a means for applying a rotational torque 450, narrowing the means to a drive mechanism comprising a motor and a worm gear. As subsequent claims 9 and 10 recite additional structure they are not interpreted as invoking 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0129712 to Nanez.
Regarding claims 17, Nanez teaches a system for coupling torque tube sections at variable angles in a solar tracking system comprising
A first torque tube coupler 72 (Figs. 8-10, ¶0075-0077) configured to be coupled to a first torque tube section (for instance, the torque tube section 14 on the left in the frame of Fig. 1, ¶0063), the first torque tube coupler being fixed to an inner ring that includes exterior grooves
A second torque tube coupler 90 (p. 11, 12, ¶0078-0080) configured to be coupled to a second torque tube section (torque tube section 14 on the right in Fig. 1), the outer ring including interior grooves (radially arrayed round grooves forming part of 120a, ¶0082)
A plurality of rollers (plurality of roller bearings” of ¶0082) positioned between the exterior grooves of the inner ring 82 and the interior grooves of the outer ring 120.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0129712 to Nanez, and further in view of US 2019/0024764 to Plesniak.
Regarding claims 1 and 8-10, Nanez teaches a system for connecting and rotating torque tube sections at variable angles in a solar tracking system comprising
A first torque tube section (for instance, the torque tube section 14 on the left in the frame of Fig. 1, ¶0063)
A second torque tube section (torque tube section 14 on the right in Fig. 1), wherein the first torque tube section and the second torque tube section are not collinear (Fig. 3, ¶0065, 0066)
A connector (Fig. 4) including
Means for connecting the first torque section with the second torque tube section such that rotational movement from the first torque tube section is translated to the second torque tube section (see discussion below).
As 112(f) is invoked by the claim, the means for connecting is limited by the specification, and is interpreted to have the structure described in pages 19-20 of the specifications. Nanez anticipates this structure, and the structure of claim 8, as it teaches that the means for connecting includes
A first torque tube coupler 72 (Figs. 8-10, ¶0075-0077) fixed to an inner ring 82 and coupled to the first torque tube section (via left cradle 130 of Fig. 4, which may be mislabeled “120”; Fig. 14, ¶0067, 0073, 0083), the inner ring including exterior grooves
A second torque tube coupler 90 (p. 11, 12, ¶0078-0080) fixed to an outer ring 120 (Fig. 13, ¶0081) that surrounds the inner ring 82 and coupled to the second torque tube section (via right cradle 130), the outer ring including interior grooves (radially arrayed round grooves forming part of 120a, ¶0082)
A plurality of rollers (“plurality of roller bearings” of ¶0082) positioned between the exterior grooves of the inner ring 82 and the interior grooves of the outer ring 120.
While the torque tube sections are clearly intended to rotate (a skilled artisan would understand that Nanez teaches a solar tracker, which a skilled artisan would understand to rotate to follow the sun, see ¶0003 of Plesniak), Nanez does not specifically teach a means for applying a rotational torque to a component of the means for connecting the first torque tube section with the second torque tube section. Plesniak teaches that rotation necessary for the tracker to function can be provided by the structure of that invention (see Fig. 15, which shows similar torque tubes 40, 41), and that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a means for applying a rotational torque to the means for connecting in order to enable balanced rotation with a low operation cost (¶0004, 0046, 0063, 0064).
As 112(f) is invoked by the claim, the means for applying a rotational torque is limited by the specification, and is interpreted to have the structure described in page 20 of the specifications. Plesniak teaches that the means for applying a rotational torque of modified-Nanez comprises a motor and a worm gear (95, 45 of Figs. 22, 17, 21). Further, per claims 9 and 10, Plesniak teaches that the desired benefits can be achieved if the means for applying a rotational torque includes a gear (45) which is a worm gear that includes a drive axle (cylindrical body 47) and a worm (46) (¶0049, 0056), so that the worm may interact with a plurality of teeth 70 formed on an outer surface of a ring (Fig. 19, ¶0052). Fig. 4 of Nanez in fact teaches that an outer surface of a ring of that invention has texture similar to teeth (see specifically where arrow “70” is pointing; MPEP §2125). Therefore it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the outer surface of the outer ring with a plurality of teeth so that the worm of the worm gear of modified-Nanez can provide rotational torque to the first and second torque tube couplers through the outer ring.
Regarding claim 18, Nanez teaches the limitations of claim 17. While the torque tube sections of Nanez are clearly intended to rotate (a skilled artisan would understand that Nanez teaches a solar tracker, which a skilled artisan would understand to rotate to follow the sun, see ¶0003 of Plesniak), Nanez does not specifically teach a means for applying a rotational torque to a component. Plesniak teaches that rotation necessary for the tracker to function can be provided by the structure of that invention (see Fig. 15, which shows similar torque tubes 40, 41), and that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a means for applying a rotational torque to the means for connecting in order to enable balanced rotation with a low operation cost (¶0004, 0046, 0063, 0064).
Plesniak teaches that the desired benefits can be achieved if the means for applying a rotational torque includes a gear (45) which is a worm gear that includes a drive axle (cylindrical body 47) and a worm (46) (¶0049, 0056), so that the worm may interact with a plurality of teeth 70 formed on an outer surface of a ring (Fig. 19, ¶0052). Fig. 4 of Nanez in fact teaches that an outer surface of a ring of that invention has texture similar to teeth (see specifically where arrow “70” is pointing; MPEP §2125). Therefore it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the outer surface of the outer ring with a plurality of teeth so that the worm of the worm gear of modified-Nanez can provide rotational torque to the first and second torque tube couplers through the outer ring.
Conclusion
Ryan S. Cannon
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/RYAN S CANNON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726