Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/9/2025 has been fully considered and there are no issues with the submission.
Status of the claims
The following office action is in response to the application filed 1/9/2025. Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a first cooling device configured to, a second cooling device configured to, a third cooling device configured to, and a control device configured to in claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A first cooling device: The first cooling device 34 is disposed adjacent to the first drive device 30, and includes a first oil cooler 35 that supplies the cooled oil to the first motor 31 and the first gear unit 32 through the circulation flow path 36. A first temperature sensor 38for detecting the temperature (first oil temperature) To 1 of the oil and a first oil pump 37 for adjusting the circulation quantity of the oil are attached to the vicinity of the outlet of the first oil cooler 35 of the circulation flow path 36. The cooling oil also functions as a lubricating oil. Paragraph [0016]
A second cooling device: The second cooling device 44 is disposed adjacent to the second drive device 40, and includes a second oil cooler 45 that supplies the cooled oil to the second motor 41 and the second gear unit 42 through the circulation flow path 46. A second temperature sensor 48 for detecting the temperature (second oil temperature) To2 of the oil and a second oil pump 47 for adjusting the circulation quantity of the oil are attached to the vicinity of the outlet of the second oil cooler 45 of the circulation flow path 46. The cooling oil also functions as a lubricating oil. Paragraph [0019]
A third cooling device: The third cooling device 60 includes a radiator 61 disposed at a front portion of the vehicle, a circulation flow path 62, and a water pump 63 that circulates coolant. The coolant flows from the radiator 61 to the water pump 63, a cooling flow passage formed in the first PCU 33, a cooling flow passage formed in the second PCU 43, a cooling flow passage formed in the second oil cooler 45, a cooling flow passage formed in the first oil cooler 35, and flows in the order of the radiator 61, and cools down the booster circuit and the inverter of the first PCU 33, the booster circuit and the inverter of the second PCU 43, the oil of the second oil cooler 45, and the oil of the first oil cooler 35 in this order. Temperature sensors 64, 65, and 66 are attached in the vicinity of the outlet of the radiator 61 of the circulation flow path 62, in the vicinity of the outlet of the first oil cooler 35, and in the vicinity of the inlet of the second oil cooler 45. Paragraph [0021]
A control device: The electronic control unit 70 is constituted by a microcomputer centered on a CPU (not shown). The electronic control unit 70 receives the first oil temperature Tolfrom the first temperature sensor 38, the second oil temperature To2 from the secondtemperature sensor 48, the coolant temperature TwO, the first coolant temperature Twl, the second coolant temperature Tw2 from the temperature sensors 64, 65, 66, and the like. The electronic control unit 70 outputs a drive control signal to the first oil pump 37, a drive control signal to the second oil pump, a drive control signal to the water pump 63, and the like. The electronic control unit 70 also controls the driving of electrified vehicle 20. For this reason, the electronic control unit 70 also receives the shift position SP, the accelerator operation amount Acc, the brake pedal position BP, the three-phase currents Ilu,Ilvv, andI1w applied to the first motor 31, the three-phase currents I2u, I2v, and 12w applied to the second motor 41, and the like, and the electronic control unit 70 outputs a switchingcontrol signal for switching the boosting circuit of the first PCU 33 and the switching element of the inverter, a switching control signal for switching the boosting circuit of the second PCU 43 Paragraph [0021]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012126190 A hereinafter Yoshihiro in view of KR 20230131392 A hereinafter Ho.
Regarding claim 1, Yoshihiro teaches an electrified vehicle comprising:
a first drive device including a first motor that is a sub-drive motor; (There are also hybrid vehicles that have motors on both the front and rear sides. Paragraph [0002])
a first drive circuit configured to drive the first motor; (The first motor 2 is connected to a front inverter 8 via a three-phase high-voltage harness 9. The generator 4 is connected to a front inverter 8 by a three-phase high-voltage harness 10. The front inverter 8 and the high-voltage battery 11 are connected by a high-voltage harness 12 Paragraph [0016])
a first cooling device configured to cool the first drive device with a first heat exchange medium; (The first motor 2 and the generator 4 are connected to an oil cooler 20 and an oil pump 21 by a first oil pipe 22 to a sixth oil pipe 27, and are cooled by oil. Paragraph [0018])
a second drive device including a second motor that is a main drive motor; (The second motor 3 is connected to a rear inverter 15 via a three-phase high-voltage harness 16. The rear inverter 15 and the high-voltage battery 11 are connected by a high-voltage harness 17. Paragraph [0017])
a second drive circuit configured to drive the second motor; (The second motor 3 is connected to a rear inverter 15 via a three-phase high-voltage harness 16. The rear inverter 15 and the high-voltage battery 11 are connected by a high-voltage harness 17. Paragraph [0017])
a second cooling device configured to cool the second drive device with a second heat exchange medium; (The second motor 3, the front inverter 8, and the rear inverter 15 are connected to a radiator 30 and a cooling water pump 31 by cooling water pipes 32 to 36, and are cooled by the cooling water. Paragraph [0020])
Yoshihiro does not teach a third cooling device configured to circulate a third heat exchange medium through the first drive circuit, the second drive circuit, the second cooling device, and the first cooling device in this order; and
a control device configured to control the first cooling device, the second cooling device, the third cooling device, the first motor, and the second motor, wherein the control device is configured to adjust an amount of circulation of the first heat exchange medium based on a first margin temperature and a third margin temperature, the first margin temperature being a difference between a temperature of the first heat exchange medium and a first predetermined temperature, and the third margin temperature being a difference between a temperature of the third heat exchange medium in the first cooling device and a third predetermined temperature.
However, Ho teaches a third cooling device configured to circulate a third heat exchange medium through the first drive circuit, the second drive circuit, the second cooling device, and the first cooling device in this order; ([In the illustrated cooling system, the cooling target components are the front wheel inverter (2), the rear wheel inverter (3), the rear wheel motor (4), and the front wheel motor (5). Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a cooled component (2-5) through which coolant passes, a radiator (6), and an electric water pump (1) that supplies coolant for coolant circulation are arranged in series along a coolant line (7). ] Paragraph [0016] [In the cooling system of Fig. 2, a heat exchanger is used in which heat is exchanged between two cooling fluids, i.e., oil that cools the motor (4, 5) and cooling water circulating in the cooling water line (7), i.e., an oil cooler (8, 9) that cools the oil through heat exchange. In the oil cooler (8,9), oil is cooled by coolant, and heat is transferred from the oil that cools the motor (4,5) to the coolant. ] Paragraph [0018] [In Fig. 2, the 'front wheel oil cooler' is an oil cooler in which heat exchange takes place between the oil that cools the front wheel motor (5) and the coolant circulating along the coolant line (7), and the 'rear wheel oil cooler' is an oil cooler in which heat exchange takes place between the oil that cools the rear wheel motor (4) and the coolant circulating along the coolant line (7) Paragraph [0019] Examiner notes that Ho discloses that the cooled components, radiator, and pump are arranged in series along a single coolant line, the coolant necessarily flows sequentially through those components. The reference additionally discloses oil coolers that exchange heat between oil and the coolant circulating in the coolant line. Because the drive circuits and the oil coolers are arranged in series along the same coolant line, the coolant necessarily circulates sequentially through the first, drive circuit, the second drive circuit, the second cooling device, and the first cooling device as claimed.)
a control device configured to control the first cooling device, the second cooling device, the third cooling device, the first motor, and the second motor, ([In addition, the controller (20) can determine whether cooling of the front wheel components and rear wheel components is necessary from the front wheel coolant temperature and the rear wheel coolant temperature. In addition, the controller (20) can individually control the driving states of the first pump (131) and the second pump (132), i.e., the rotational speeds of the two pumps, based on the judgment result Paragraph [0092]) wherein the control device is configured to adjust an amount of circulation of the first heat exchange medium based on a first margin temperature and a third margin temperature, the first margin temperature being a difference between a temperature of the first heat exchange medium and a first predetermined temperature, and the third margin temperature being a difference between a temperature of the third heat exchange medium in the first cooling device and a third predetermined temperature. ([In this way, if both the front wheel side parts and the rear wheel side parts generate heat and both require cooling, the controller (20) can control the rotation speed of the first pump (131) and the rotation speed of the second pump (132) by considering the heat generation ratio and flow rate ratio of the front and rear wheels. Paragraph [0094] [For example, if the heat generation ratio of the front and rear wheels in a vehicle equipped with the cooling system of the present invention is 1.4, the coolant flow rate ratio of the front and rear wheels must be controlled to 1.4 so that the temperature of the front wheel parts (31, 32) and the temperature of the rear wheel parts (33, 34) can be controlled and maintained at the same level. Paragraph [0095] [On the other hand, if one of the front wheel parts and the rear wheel part has a high heat generation amount, and in particular, only one side has a high temperature and requires cooling, the rotation speeds of the first pump (131) and the second pump (132) can be controlled so that coolant can be distributed only to the side with the high heat generation amount. In this case, the rotation speed of the second pump (132) can be controlled to be the same as the rotation speed of the first pump (131). That is, the rotation speed of the second pump (132) is controlled to be 100% of the rotation speed of the first pump (131). Paragraph [0097])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling system of the electric vehicle disclosed by Yoshihiro to include the coolant flow order and control device / temperature regulation of Ho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would allow optimized cooling of the system by determining when each portion needs to be cooled as suggested by Ho in paragraph [0095].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yoshihiro and Ho teach the electrified vehicle according to claim 1. Yoshihiro does not teach wherein the control device is configured to control the amount of circulation of the first heat exchange medium in such a manner that the amount of circulation of the first heat exchange medium increases as the first margin temperature decreases and that the amount of circulation of the first heat exchange medium increases as the third margin temperature decreases.
However, Ho teaches wherein the control device is configured to control the amount of circulation of the first heat exchange medium in such a manner that the amount of circulation of the first heat exchange medium increases as the first margin temperature decreases and that the amount of circulation of the first heat exchange medium increases as the third margin temperature decreases. ([In addition, the controller (20) can determine whether cooling of the front wheel components and rear wheel components is necessary from the front wheel coolant temperature and the rear wheel coolant temperature. In addition, the controller (20) can individually control the driving states of the first pump (131) and the second pump (132), i.e., the rotational speeds of the two pumps, based on the judgment result Paragraph [0092] [In this way, if both the front wheel side parts and the rear wheel side parts generate heat and both require cooling, the controller (20) can control the rotation speed of the first pump (131) and the rotation speed of the second pump (132) by considering the heat generation ratio and flow rate ratio of the front and rear wheels. Paragraph [0094] [For example, if the heat generation ratio of the front and rear wheels in a vehicle equipped with the cooling system of the present invention is 1.4, the coolant flow rate ratio of the front and rear wheels must be controlled to 1.4 so that the temperature of the front wheel parts (31, 32) and the temperature of the rear wheel parts (33, 34) can be controlled and maintained at the same level. Paragraph [0095] [On the other hand, if one of the front wheel parts and the rear wheel part has a high heat generation amount, and in particular, only one side has a high temperature and requires cooling, the rotation speeds of the first pump (131) and the second pump (132) can be controlled so that coolant can be distributed only to the side with the high heat generation amount. In this case, the rotation speed of the second pump (132) can be controlled to be the same as the rotation speed of the first pump (131). That is, the rotation speed of the second pump (132) is controlled to be 100% of the rotation speed of the first pump (131). Paragraph [0097])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system of the electric vehicle disclosed by Yoshihiro to include controlling the amount of circulation of the first heat exchange medium in such a manner that the amount of circulation increases as the first margin temperature decreases and the amount of circulation increases as the third margin temperature decreases of Ho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would allow optimized cooling of the first heat exchange based on a sensed temperature as suggested by Ho in paragraph [0095].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yoshihiro and Ho teaches the electrified vehicle according to claim 1. Yoshihiro also teaches wherein the control device is configured to limit driving of the first motor when the temperature of the first heat exchange medium is equal to or higher than the first predetermined temperature or when the temperature of the third heat exchange medium is equal to or higher than the third predetermined temperature. (As shown in FIG. 4 , the motor torque control device (driving force distribution means) 60 in the hybrid vehicle 1 according to this embodiment includes a first motor torque limit calculation unit 61 that calculates the first motor maximum torque Tmx1 based on the first motor coil temperature T1 measured by the first motor coil thermometer 51, the oil temperature TO measured by the oil thermometer 50, and the first motor rotation speed Nm1 measured by the first motor rotation speed meter 52. Paragraph [0037])
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yoshihiro and Ho teaches the electrified vehicle according to claim 3. Yoshihiro also teaches wherein the control device is configured to cut off a driving force of the first drive device when the temperature of the first heat exchange medium is equal to or higher than a first specific temperature that is higher than the first predetermined temperature or when the temperature of the third heat exchange medium in the first cooling device is equal to or higher than a third specific temperature that is higher than the third predetermined temperature. (As shown in FIG. 4 , the motor torque control device (driving force distribution means) 60 in the hybrid vehicle 1 according to this embodiment includes a first motor torque limit calculation unit 61 that calculates the first motor maximum torque Tmx1 based on the first motor coil temperature T1 measured by the first motor coil thermometer 51, the oil temperature TO measured by the oil thermometer 50, and the first motor rotation speed Nm1 measured by the first motor rotation speed meter 52. Paragraph [0037])
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yoshihiro and Ho teaches the electrified vehicle according to claim 1. Yoshihiro does not teach wherein the control device is configured to adjust an amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium based on a second margin temperature and a fourth margin temperature, the second margin temperature being a difference between a temperature of the second heat exchange medium and a second predetermined temperature, and the fourth margin temperature being a difference between the temperature of the third heat exchange medium in the second cooling device and a fourth predetermined temperature.
However, Ho teaches wherein the control device is configured to adjust an amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium based on a second margin temperature and a fourth margin temperature, the second margin temperature being a difference between a temperature of the second heat exchange medium and a second predetermined temperature, and the fourth margin temperature being a difference between the temperature of the third heat exchange medium in the second cooling device and a fourth predetermined temperature. ([In addition, the controller (20) can determine whether cooling of the front wheel components and rear wheel components is necessary from the front wheel coolant temperature and the rear wheel coolant temperature. In addition, the controller (20) can individually control the driving states of the first pump (131) and the second pump (132), i.e., the rotational speeds of the two pumps, based on the judgment result Paragraph [0092] [In this way, if both the front wheel side parts and the rear wheel side parts generate heat and both require cooling, the controller (20) can control the rotation speed of the first pump (131) and the rotation speed of the second pump (132) by considering the heat generation ratio and flow rate ratio of the front and rear wheels. Paragraph [0094] [For example, if the heat generation ratio of the front and rear wheels in a vehicle equipped with the cooling system of the present invention is 1.4, the coolant flow rate ratio of the front and rear wheels must be controlled to 1.4 so that the temperature of the front wheel parts (31, 32) and the temperature of the rear wheel parts (33, 34) can be controlled and maintained at the same level. Paragraph [0095] [On the other hand, if one of the front wheel parts and the rear wheel part has a high heat generation amount, and in particular, only one side has a high temperature and requires cooling, the rotation speeds of the first pump (131) and the second pump (132) can be controlled so that coolant can be distributed only to the side with the high heat generation amount. In this case, the rotation speed of the second pump (132) can be controlled to be the same as the rotation speed of the first pump (131). That is, the rotation speed of the second pump (132) is controlled to be 100% of the rotation speed of the first pump (131). Paragraph [0097])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system of the electric vehicle disclosed by Yoshihiro to include controlling the amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium based on a second margin temperature and a fourth margin temperature, the second margin temperature being a difference between a temperature of the second heat exchange medium and a second predetermined temperature, and the fourth margin temperature being a difference between the temperature of the third heat exchange medium in the second cooling device and a fourth predetermined temperature of Ho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would allow increased control of the second heat exchange medium based on predetermined temperature ranges as suggested by Ho in paragraph [0095].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yoshihiro and Ho teaches the electrified vehicle according to claim 5. Yoshihiro does not teach wherein the control device is configured to adjust the amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium in such a manner that the amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium increases as the second margin temperature decreases and that the amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium increases as the third margin temperature decreases.
However, Ho teaches wherein the control device is configured to adjust the amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium in such a manner that the amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium increases as the second margin temperature decreases and that the amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium increases as the third margin temperature decreases. ([In addition, the controller (20) can determine whether cooling of the front wheel components and rear wheel components is necessary from the front wheel coolant temperature and the rear wheel coolant temperature. In addition, the controller (20) can individually control the driving states of the first pump (131) and the second pump (132), i.e., the rotational speeds of the two pumps, based on the judgment result Paragraph [0092] [In this way, if both the front wheel side parts and the rear wheel side parts generate heat and both require cooling, the controller (20) can control the rotation speed of the first pump (131) and the rotation speed of the second pump (132) by considering the heat generation ratio and flow rate ratio of the front and rear wheels. Paragraph [0094] [For example, if the heat generation ratio of the front and rear wheels in a vehicle equipped with the cooling system of the present invention is 1.4, the coolant flow rate ratio of the front and rear wheels must be controlled to 1.4 so that the temperature of the front wheel parts (31, 32) and the temperature of the rear wheel parts (33, 34) can be controlled and maintained at the same level. Paragraph [0095] [On the other hand, if one of the front wheel parts and the rear wheel part has a high heat generation amount, and in particular, only one side has a high temperature and requires cooling, the rotation speeds of the first pump (131) and the second pump (132) can be controlled so that coolant can be distributed only to the side with the high heat generation amount. In this case, the rotation speed of the second pump (132) can be controlled to be the same as the rotation speed of the first pump (131). That is, the rotation speed of the second pump (132) is controlled to be 100% of the rotation speed of the first pump (131). Paragraph [0097])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system of the electric vehicle disclosed by Yoshihiro to include controlling the amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium in such a manner that the amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium increases as the second margin temperature decreases and that the amount of circulation of the second heat exchange medium increases as the third margin temperature decreases of Ho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would allow increased control of the second heat exchange medium based on predetermined temperature ranges as suggested by Ho in paragraph [0095].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yoshihiro and Ho teaches the electrified vehicle according to claim 5. Yoshihiro also teaches wherein the control device is configured to limit driving of the second motor when the temperature of the second heat exchange medium is equal to or higher than the second predetermined temperature. (The motor torque control device 60 also includes a second motor torque limit calculation unit 62 that calculates the second motor maximum torque Tmx2 based on the second motor coil temperature T2 measured by the second motor coil thermometer 53 and the second motor rotation speed Nm2 measured by the second motor rotation speed meter 54. Paragraph [0038])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. US 20180163607 A1 discloses a cooling system for a vehicle involving a first, second, and third pump constituting a single loop with multiple cooling circuits for various motors and inverters.
/JOSHUA JEFFREY PENKO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
3/2/26