Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37 to 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 37, to what extend are the units “similar” (line 2)? (Lines 5-last of claim 25 describe one unit, so how much of lines 5-last relate to a second, if any at all?) Is it possible that all known boxes everywhere are similar in some regard, and thus at least one “similar” unit may not necessarily include anything listed in lines 5-last? What is Applicant’s intent?
As to claim 37, how many units is this claimed limited to? In particular, does “system further comprises several similar box-shaped units” mean the system is limited to at least 2 units (i.e. the unit of claim 25, and at least 1 more unit, where the 2 units are “similar”)? Are the “similar” units (at least 2) in addition to the unit of claim 25, for a total of at least 3 units? Are those “similar” units similar to each other regardless of the unit of claim 25?
As to claims 37-40, for reasons stated above, there is uncertainty as to how many units are in this claim due to the term “several”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25,27,29,30,31,32,33,36,42,44,46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Clarke et al WO 2018/073392 (listed 1449 of 8/6/25).
Clark teaches (Figures 4,5) a measuring system for monitoring at least one atmospheric condition in an automated storage and retrieval system comprising a framework structure forming a three- dimensional storage grid structure for storing storage containers for storing items, wherein the measuring system comprises (Figure 5; pp 11,12):
at least one box-shaped measuring unit 10 for being stored in the three-dimensional storage grid structure, wherein the box-shaped measuring unit comprises:
measuring equipment ("data logging means 44 comprises sensors") for measuring the at least one atmospheric condition ("temperature, any gas emission) around the box-shaped measuring unit within the grid structure;
a transmitter (communication means 46) for transmitting measurement data to a computer system ("remote central data logging device);
at least one power source ("power supply means 42"); and
a data recorder ("logging means 44") for recording the measurement data.
The device is used in a method.
Cark system of Figure 5 does not state that the sensors measure that which surrounds the unit.
Clark teaches (p. 15) that the bins my employ sensors to “detect gas, smoke, fire or heat, the sensors activating sprinkler systems to put out any fire”.
As to claim 25,27,44, it would have been obvious to also measure the atmosphere around the unit because Clark teaches that such will allow the system to also test for fires.
As to claim 29, the unit has a lid (be it the unit above, or the lid that is on the top of a column).
As to claims 30,31,46, it would have been obvious to employ a gripper because Clark teaches (second para, p. 2) employing a robotic load hander that is configured to grip a container (unit) at any level of the stack. In addition, either the grippers are remotely controlled, or one of ordinary skill would recognize the benefit of such to avoid the danger of worker being on the tall storage unit.
As to claim 32, the lines in Figure 14 and connected to a lid, suggestive that the lid will support a unit.
As to claims 33,36, Figure 14 teaches use of power cable 80 that connects to the lid, and passes power into the unit 10, suggestive of employing such in Figure 5. The cable passes data between the unit 10 and vehicle 30, suggestive of employing such to pass data from the unit to an external unit.
As to claim 42, the vehicle 30 (Figure15) has a power supply inside (ABSTRACT), and one of ordinary skill recognizes the advantage of recharging batteries.
As to REMARKS, consider:
As to second paragraph of p. 7; means 44 measures that which is related to decomposing.
As to third paragraph of p. 7; Clark refers (lines 16-34) to employing sensors to activate sprinkler systems to put out any fires, and communication means. The fire sensors are depicted as being associated with the bin 10, without any further reference to where the sensor is either located or the source of any fire. Fire sensors that trigger sprinklers are commonly positioned in locations that allow for the earliest detection of fire. As such, it is more likely that any fire sensor associated with the bin 10 would be that which senses fire around the bin, as one of ordinary skill would desire sensing fire in the storage system as a whole as quickly as possible. Even if the sensitive element of a smoke sensor were positioned inside of the box, that box would ultimately allow smoke to enter the (burning) box, necessarily activating the sensor. Consider that the claim does not call of the sensitive element of any sensor being located exterior to the bin. Consider that decomposing fruit is not normally associated with spontaneous combustion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26,28,35,34,41,43,45,47,48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT R RAEVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855