DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/24/2025 and 01/09/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the multiple spaces in the line 5 in the phrase “element. The at least” needs to be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the four optical lens elements comprising, in order from an object side of the optical lens assembly to an image side thereof, a first optical lens element, a second optical lens element, a third optical lens element and a fourth optical lens element, wherein the at least four optical lens elements comprise a blue-glass lens element, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claims 1-40, the claims have “arranging factor” features that are not enabled by the specification. The specification does not disclose what an “arranging factor” is or how the arranging factor is used in the lens system. The specification does not provide any drawings that correlates to the lens system. However, ¶0088 and Table 4 provides various different arranging factors (i.e. “first arranging factor through fifth arranging factors, comprehensive arranging factor, a main arranging) however the specification does not clearly identify what is an arranging factor (Wands factor F). The claim has breadth covering the effects of colored lenses in optical lens system (Wands factor A and B). One of ordinary skill attempting to provide a lens system using the various “arranging factors” as claimed, would not be able to determine the values that correlate to the working examples of the lens systems because the phrase arranging factor is not a term that is used in the art (Wands factors C and D). One of ordinary skill of the art would not be able to determine the values that correlate to the working examples of the lens systems (Wands factors E). Considering all the evidence, as a whole, the examiner concludes that one of ordinary skill in the art would need to engage in undue experimentation to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure (Wands factor H), see MPEP 2164.01(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-40, the limitation “arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element” in claims 1-40 is a limitation which renders the claim indefinite. The specification does not provide a clear explanation of what is considered an “arranging factor” nor is it a term of art. The specification provides calculations in the tables for various different arranging factors claimed (i.e “first, second, third, fourth and fifth comprehensive, main, coating arranging factors etc.) however the specification does not give a clear explanation of what is an arranging factor in the lens system. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claims are vague and indefinite. For the sake of compact prosecution, the limitation “arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element” is understood to be an inherit feature of a lens system with at least one lens with blue material.
For examination purposes, since Claims 2-25 depend from independent claim 1 and 27-40 depend from independent claim 26, these claims also indefinite. For purposes of examination the examiner will interpret any limitation regarding any “arranging factor” as an inherent feature for a device reading on the other structural and functional limitations of the claimed device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-14, 25-26, 28-31 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai (US Patent Publication Number 2018/0067242 A1).
Lai teaches, as claimed in independent claim 1, an optical lens assembly (Fig. 8), comprising: at least four optical lens elements (810-840) comprising, in order from an object side of the optical lens assembly to an image side thereof, a first optical lens element (810), a second optical lens element (820), a third optical lens element (830) and a fourth optical lens element (840) wherein the at least four optical lens elements comprise a blue-glass lens element (See Fig. 8 shows 810-840 with the light absorbing agent and ¶0044 states “wherein the long-wavelength light absorbing agent can be an organic material… diimmonium derivatives can be diimmonium dyes. The methylene blue derivatives can be methylene blue dye”), first arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb1, a fifth arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb5, and the following conditions are Fb1 ≤ 1.50; and 0.08 ≤ Fb5 ≤0.30 (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 2, wherein a second arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb2, and the following condition is satisfied: Fb2 ≤ 0.30 (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 3, wherein a third arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb3, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.50 ≤ Fb3 ≤2.00 (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 4, wherein a fourth arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb4, and the following condition is satisfied: Fb4 ≤ 0.10 (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 5, wherein an Abbe number of each of the at least four optical lens elements is V, and the blue-glass lens element satisfies the following condition: 20.00 <V (Table 17).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 6, wherein a third arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb3, and the following condition is satisfied: 0<FB (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 7, wherein a wavelength at 50% transmittance of the optical lens assembly is Wt50, and the following condition is satisfied: 600 nm ≤Wt50 ≤700 nm (See Fig. 12).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 8, wherein the at least four optical lens elements comprise a long-wavelength absorbing lens element (¶0134 “optical lens element 810 including the long-wavelength light absorbing agent is WLT50… the second optical lens element 820 is made of a plastic material (its reference numeral is omitted), and includes at least one long-wavelength light absorbing agent”; ¶0135 “ 830 is made of a plastic material (its reference numeral is omitted), and includes at least one long-wavelength light absorbing agent”; ¶0136 “840 is made of a plastic material (its reference numeral is omitted), and includes at least one long-wavelength light absorbing agent”).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 9, wherein a main arranging factor of the long-wavelength absorbing lens element is FA, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.50 ≤FA (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 10, wherein a material arranging factor of the long-wavelength absorbing lens element is Fam, and the following condition is satisfied: 20.00< Fam<50 ((considered inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 12, wherein an average transmittance in a wavelength range of 600 nm - 650 nm of the optical lens assembly is T6065, and the following condition is satisfied: T6065 ≤60.00% (Fig. 12, 600 is 70% and 700 is 20% the average would be about 45%).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 13, wherein an average transmittance in a wavelength range of 600 nm - 650 nm of the optical lens assembly is T6065, and the following condition is satisfied: T6065 ≤ 30.00% (Fig. 16, 600 is 50% and 650 is 10% so the average would be about 30%.
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 14, wherein an average transmittance in a wavelength range of 700 nm - 1050 nm of the optical lens assembly is T70105, and the following condition is satisfied: T70105 ≤10.00% (Fig. 16, 700 nm is 0%).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 25, an electronic device (10), comprising the optical lens assembly (11).
Lai teaches, as claimed in independent claim 26, an optical lens assembly (Fig. 8), comprising: at least four optical lens elements (810-840) comprising, in order from an object side of the optical lens assembly to an image side thereof, a first optical lens element (810), a second optical lens element (820), a third optical lens element (830) and a fourth optical lens element (840) wherein the at least four optical lens elements comprise a blue-glass lens element (See Fig. 8 shows 810-840 with the light absorbing agent and ¶0044 states “wherein the long-wavelength light absorbing agent can be an organic material… diimmonium derivatives can be diimmonium dyes. The methylene blue derivatives can be methylene blue dye”), first arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb1, a fifth arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb5, and the following conditions are 0.05 ≤ FB5 ≤ 0.40; and 0.5 ≤ FB (considered inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 28, wherein a first arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb1, and the following condition is satisfied: Fb1 ≤1.40 (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 29, wherein a first arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb1, and the following condition is satisfied: Fb2 ≤ 0.25 (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 30, wherein a third arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb3, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.60 < Fb3 <1.50 (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 31, wherein a fourth arranging factor of the blue-glass lens element is Fb4, and the following condition is satisfied Fb4 ≤ 0.08 (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 40, Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 25, an electronic device (10), comprising: the optical lens assembly (11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai (US Patent Publication Number 2018/0067242 A1) in view of Tsai (US Patent Publication Number 2023/ 0251400 A1)
Lai fails to teach, as claimed in claim 18, wherein, the at least four optical lens elements comprise a long-wavelength filtering lens element, and the long-wavelength filtering lens element comprises a long-wavelength filtering coating membrane; and the long-wavelength filtering coating membrane comprises at least one low refractive index layer and at least one high refractive index layer, and the long-wavelength filtering coating membrane is formed by alternately stacking the at least one high refractive index layer and the at least one low refractive index layer. In a related art, Tsai teaches wherein, the at least four optical lens elements (L1-L4) comprise a long-wavelength filtering lens element1, and the long-wavelength filtering lens element comprises a long-wavelength filtering coating membrane (¶0023 “The multi-layer coating membrane is a dual-bandpass filtering membrane”), and the long-wavelength filtering coating membrane comprises at least one low refractive index layer and at least one high refractive index layer, and the long-wavelength filtering coating membrane is formed by alternately stacking the at least one high refractive index layer and the at least one low refractive index layer (¶0024 “the multi-layer coating membrane is formed by alternately stacking high refractive index layers and low refractive index layers”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical lens system, as taught by Lai, with the a long-wavelength filtering coating membrane, as taught by Tsai, for the purpose of providing a way to filter out lights with other wavelengths based on the coating technology (¶0023).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 19, wherein a coating arranging factor of an object-side surface of the long-wavelength filtering lens element is FcR1, a coating arranging factor of an image-side surface of the long-wavelength filtering lens element is FcR2, and the following conditions are satisfied: 5.00 ≤FcR1; or 5.00 ≤FcR2 (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai teaches, as claimed in claim 20, wherein the blue-glass lens element and the long-wavelength filtering lens element are the same one of the optical lens elements (¶0130 “the blue glass or the filtering element, of the optical lens assembly of the present disclosure can include the multi-layer coating membrane”), a merge arranging factor of an object-side surface of the blue-glass lens element is FbcR1,a merge arranging factor of an image-side surface of the blue-glass lens element is FbcR2, and the following conditions are satisfied: 4.00≤FbcR1; or 4.00≤FbcR2 (considered an inherit feature of a lens system with blue material by the 112(b) rejection).
Lai fails to teach, as claimed in claim 21, wherein a total number of layers of the long-wavelength filtering coating membrane is tLs, and the following condition is satisfied: tLs <80. In a related art, Tsai teaches wherein a total number of layers of the long-wavelength filtering coating membrane is tLs, and the following condition is satisfied: tLs <80 (¶0078 “total number of layers of the multi-layer coating membrane tLs = 44”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical lens system, as taught by Lai, with the a long-wavelength filtering coating membrane, as taught by Tsai, for the purpose of providing a way to filter out lights with other wavelengths based on the coating technology (¶0023).
Lai fails to teach, as claimed in claim 22, wherein a total thickness of the long-wavelength filtering coating membrane is tTk, and the following condition is satisfied 3000 nm ≤ tTk ≤ 10000 nm. In a related art Tsai teaches wherein a total thickness of the long-wavelength filtering coating membrane is tTk, and the following condition is satisfied 3000 nm ≤ tTk ≤ 10000 nm (Table 1D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical lens system, as taught by Lai, with the a long-wavelength filtering coating membrane, as taught by Tsai, for the purpose of providing a way to filter out lights with other wavelengths based on the coating technology (¶0023).
Lai fails to teach, as claimed in claim 23, wherein a total thickness of the high refractive index layer is HtTk, a total thickness of the low refractive index is LtTk, and the following condition is satisfied: 1.00 LtTk/HtTk 2.00. In a related art, Tsai teaches wherein a total thickness of the high refractive index layer is HtTk, a total thickness of the low refractive index is LtTk, and the following condition is satisfied: 1.00 LtTk/HtTk 2.00 (Table 1D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical lens system, as taught by Lai, with the a long-wavelength filtering coating membrane, as taught by Tsai, for the purpose of providing a way to filter out lights with other wavelengths based on the coating technology (¶0023).
Lai fails to teach, as claimed in claim 24, wherein a refractive index of the high refractive index layer is NH, a refractive index of the low refractive index is NL, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.50 ≤ NH-NL. In a related art, Tsai teaches wherein a refractive index of the high refractive index layer is NH, a refractive index of the low refractive index is NL, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.50 ≤ NH-NL (Table 1D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical lens system, as taught by Lai, with the a long-wavelength filtering coating membrane, as taught by Tsai, for the purpose of providing a way to filter out lights with other wavelengths based on the coating technology (¶0023).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang (US Patent Publication Number 2022/0035128 A1) teaches at least four optical lens elements comprising, in order from an object side of the optical lens assembly to an image side thereof, a first optical lens element, a second optical lens element, a third optical lens element and a fourth optical lens element, the fourth lens with a blue glass element.
Hoshi (US Patent Publication Number 2021/0041666 A1) teaches at least four optical lens elements comprising, in order from an object side of the optical lens assembly to an image side thereof, a first optical lens element, a second optical lens element, a third optical lens element and a fourth optical lens element, the fourth lens with a blue glass element.
Tsai (US Patent Publication Number 2017/0235099 A1) teaches at least four optical lens elements comprising, in order from an object side of the optical lens assembly to an image side thereof, a first optical lens element, a second optical lens element, a third optical lens element and a fourth optical lens element.
Sun (US Patent Publication Number 2017/0075088 A1) teaches at least four optical lens elements comprising, in order from an object side of the optical lens assembly to an image side thereof, a first optical lens element, a second optical lens element, a third optical lens element and a fourth optical lens element.
Lee (US Patent Publication Number 2016/0139370 A1) teaches at least four optical lens elements comprising, in order from an object side of the optical lens assembly to an image side thereof, a first optical lens element, a second optical lens element, a third optical lens element and a fourth optical lens element.
Chang (US Patent Publication Number 2022/0163710 A1) teaches at least three optical lens elements comprising, in order from an object side of the optical lens assembly to an image side thereof, a first optical lens element, a second optical lens element, a third optical lens with a blue glass element.
JOURNEY F. SUMLAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
08 August 2026
/George G. King/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1¶ 01114 the multi-layer coating membranes of Example 1 to Example 4 so as to arrange the surfaces of different optical lens elements with different coatings.