DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., a descriptive title that distinguishes the invention and is not a generic or general description). The new title should take into account any amendments to the claims to best indicate the claimed invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/9/25 follows the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murayama (US 2023/0195319).
Regarding claim 1, Murayama teaches an operation information generating apparatus comprising a hardware processor configured to (information processing system 100; ¶¶ 0056-0067, Figs. 3-4)
obtain operation state history information on an operation state of an image forming apparatus and maintenance history information on maintenance performed on an image former of the image forming apparatus (server 101 detects, receives, and stores job information, error information, maintenance information, and setting change information; ¶¶ 0098-0102, Fig. 7),
generate operation information in which the operation state history information and the maintenance history information are shown on a timeline (timeline screen 500 with job row 501 and maintenance row 503; ¶¶ 0033-036, ¶¶ 0051-0053 Figs. 1-2), and
output the generated operation information to a terminal apparatus (display timeline screen; ¶ 0107, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 2, Murayama teaches the operation information generating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the maintenance included in the operation information is performed at a predetermined cycle (maintenance schedule; ¶ 0082).
Regarding claim 3, Murayama teaches the operation information generating apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the operation state of the image forming apparatus includes a state in which the image forming apparatus is forming an image (print job; ¶ 0051 and ¶ 0080, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Murayama teaches the operation information generating apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the operation information includes information on a cumulative usage amount of an image forming medium used for image formation by the image former at a predetermined time point on the timeline (No. of Prints: 1500 sheets; ¶ 0051, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Murayama teaches the operation information generating apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the operation information includes information on a cumulative number of sheets printed by the image former at a predetermined time point on the timeline (No. of Prints: 1500 sheets; ¶ 0051, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Murayama teaches the operation information generating apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the operation information includes information on a mark indicating a timing in a past at which the maintenance should have been performed (maintenance execution result information indicating whether the maintenance work stored in the scheduler has been performed may be displayed; ¶ 0100).
Regarding claim 7, Murayama teaches the operation information generating apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the operation information includes information on a mark indicating a recommended timing of the next maintenance (schedule maintenance; ¶ 0082).
Claim 8 is a method claim that corresponds to the apparatus of claim 1 thus, arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chiba et al. (US 2024/0210927) teaches a visualization system that displays a timeline including operation state and maintenance information.
/KENT YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681