DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
In figure 1, reference characters “190” and “107B” are not in the specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ [0018], “a mixing element (see, e.g., element 414 in FIG. 3A)”, reference character 414 is not in figure 3A. It is understood by the examiner that “element 414” should be “element 314”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-23, 25, 27, 28, 30, 32, 34-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5-7, 10, and 12-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,220,926 in view of Yokota et al. (US 20100085396 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21-23, 25, 27, 28, 30, 32, 34-39 in the application merely define an obvious variation of an ink jet printing device disclosed and claimed in the patent. Further, a second valve is not mentioned in the claims of the patent, however Yokota et al. demonstrates (Fig. 7) an inkjet printing system wherein a second valve (156) is disposed after a second pump (156) that pumps print material from the drain reservoir (130) toward the supply reservoir (120). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second valve for the purpose of controlling flow based on the valve being opened or closed depending on the state of the system (such as opened when in ejection state or at start-up or closed when replenishing ink; ¶ [0114], [0127], [0128]).
Claims 21, 23, 32, 38, and 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,848. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21, 23, 32, and 38 in the application merely define an obvious variation of an ink jet printing device disclosed and claimed in the patent. As mentioned, the inclusion of additional valves would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention over at least Yokota et al. for the purpose of using the valves to control the [direction of] flow in the overall system depending on the state of the system (¶ [0114], [0127], [0128]). Further, Yokota et al. teaches the use of sensors (190, 192) for each of the supply and drain reservoirs. While they may be pressure sensors for the gas in each reservoir, the pressure control system works with a volume calculation unit to determine ink consumption and to control overall volume and pressure in each reservoir (¶ [0147], [0148]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sensors for the purpose of controlling volume and/or pressure in the reservoirs based on print material consumption (¶ [0147], [0148]).
Claims 32, 38, and 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,338,588. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 32 and 38 in the application merely define an obvious variation of an ink jet printing device disclosed and claimed in the patent by inclusion of valves. As mentioned, the inclusion of additional valves and/or sensors would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention over at least Yokota et al. for the purpose of using the valves to control the [direction of] flow in the overall system depending on the state of the system (¶ [0114], [0127], [0128]) and using the sensors for controlling volume and/or pressure in the reservoirs based on print material consumption (¶ [0147], [0148]).
Claims 24, 26, 29, 31, 33, and 40 are objected to for their dependency on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-25, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokota et al. (US 20100085396 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yokota.
Yokota discloses the following claimed subject matter:
Re-claim 21, an inkjet printing system (Fig. 6, 7), comprising:
a print assembly (50);
a local circulation circuit (Fig. 7 annotated below) having a supply reservoir (120) to supply print material to the print assembly, a drain reservoir (130) to receive print material from the print assembly, and a negative pressure gas flow unit to control pressure in the supply reservoir and the drain reservoir (72a, 190, 192; ¶ [0086]);
a bulk circulation circuit (Fig. 7 annotated below) having a first pump (142) to pump print material continuously around the bulk circulation circuit and to transfer print material to the local circulation circuit;
a first valve (146) to control flow of print material from the bulk circulation circuit to the local circulation circuit;
a second pump (152) to receive print material from the drain reservoir and to pump the print material through a second valve (165) to the supply reservoir; and
a controller (72, 72a) configured to control the negative pressure gas flow unit to maintain flow of print material through the print assembly from the supply reservoir to the drain reservoir.
Re-claim 22, further comprising a bi-directional line fluidly coupled between the bulk circulation circuit and the first valve (pump 142 of flow channel 140 may reverse direction of flow; ¶ [0105]).
Re-claim 23, further comprising a bypass line (180) connecting the supply reservoir and the drain reservoir.
Re-claim 24, wherein the controller is further configured to control the second pump to maintain a volume of the print material in the supply reservoir (pump 152 can be controlled to be halted for during ink replenishing; ¶ [0127]).
Re-claim 25, further comprising a bypass line (180) connecting the supply reservoir and the drain reservoir, the bypass line having a bypass valve (182), wherein the controller is further configured to control the bypass valve to maintain a volume of the print material in the drain reservoir (¶ [0112], [0127], [0130]; controller 72 controls flow of ink in the system; ¶ [0086]).
Re-claim 27, further comprising a phase purification module (144) disposed in the flow path (150, 150b to 140) between the second pump and the supply reservoir.
Re-claim 28, wherein the phase purification module is disposed in the flow path (150b to 140) between the second valve and the supply reservoir.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota as applied to claims 21 and 25 above, and further in view of Katada et al. (US 20090102879 A1), hereinafter referred to as Katada.
Re-claim 26, Yokota teaches the inkjet printing system of claim 25, however Yokota does not teach the inkjet printing system as further comprising a third valve to control flow of the print material from the drain reservoir to the second pump.
Katada teaches an inkjet printing system (Fig. 13) comprising a third valve (V7) to control flow of the print material from the drain reservoir to the second pump (“a second bypass flow channel 182 which connects the ports for ink-input/output on both sides of the second sub pump P2 with each other”; ¶ [0156]; valve V7 is provided for bypass flow channel 182; ¶ [0157]; pump P2 is reversible; ¶ [0110]- [0112])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yokota with the teaching of Katada for the purpose of at least allowing the flow channel to remain open even when the power supply is turned off and providing a flow channel connection between the inlet and outlet of the pump as taught by Katada (¶ [0156], [0157]).
Re-claim 29, Yokota teaches the inkjet printing system of claim 21, however Yokota does not teach the inkjet printing system as further comprising a recycle line to route print material from the second valve back to the second pump.
Katada teaches an inkjet printing system (Fig. 13) comprising a recycle line (160B) to route print material from the second valve back to the second pump (ink flowing from check valve 162 can flow back to second sub pump P2 via flow channel 160B; ¶ [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yokota with the teaching of Katada for the purpose of allowing print material uni-directionally flow toward the drain reservoir via the second pump after filtering as taught by Katada (¶ [0109]).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Kinase et al. (US 20080239027 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kinase.
Re-claim 30, Yokota teaches the inkjet printing system of claim 21, wherein the bulk circulation circuit comprises a print material reservoir (102), however Yokota does not teach the print material reservoir as having a mixing element.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota as modified by Kinase as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Katada.
Re-claim 31, Yokota as modified by Kinase teaches the inkjet printing system of claim 30, however neither teach the system as further comprising a check valve disposed in the flow path between the second pump and the second valve.
Katada teaches inkjet printing system (Fig. 13) wherein the second valve is a check valve (162). To use both a second valve separate from a check valve rather than a check valve alone is considered obvious (MPEP 2144.04 V C). As understood, the purpose of a check valve between the second pump and the second valve is to function as a valve that will permit uni-directional flow, and therefore having a check valve as the second valve has and equivalent function as having a check valve before a second valve.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yokota as modified by Kinase with the teaching of Katada for the purpose of controlling the direction of flow to be away from the drain reservoir as taught by Katada (¶ [0109]).
Claim(s) 32-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katada in view of Shimizu (US 20190299626 A1).
Re-claim 32, Katada teaches an inkjet printing system (Fig. 13), comprising:
a print assembly (63);
a local circulation circuit (Fig. 13 annotated below) having a supply reservoir (120) to supply print material to the print assembly, a drain reservoir (130) to receive print material from the print assembly, and a negative pressure gas flow unit to control pressure in the supply reservoir and the drain reservoir (72a, S1, S2; ¶ [0088]);
a bulk circulation circuit (Fig. 13 annotated below) having a first pump (102) to pump print material continuously around the bulk circulation circuit (pump P0 adjusts ink amount in buffer tank 110; ¶ [0158]; from Fig. 13, valve V0 is a two-way valve);
a middle circulation circuit (Fig. 13 annotated below) fluidly coupled with the bulk circulation circuit and the local circulation circuit, the middle circulation circuit having a recycle valve (164);
a first valve (V3) to control flow of print material from the bulk circulation circuit to the local circulation circuit;
a second pump (P2) to receive print material from the drain reservoir and to pump the print material through a second valve (162) to the supply reservoir; and
a controller (72) configured to control the negative pressure gas flow unit (72a) to maintain flow of print material through the print assembly from the supply reservoir to the drain reservoir and to control the recycle valve to flow print material from the middle circulation circuit to the local circulation circuit or to circulate the print material around the middle circulation circuit (valves can be controlled to be opened and/or closed).
Katada does not teach wherein the first pump is used to transfer print material to the local circulation circuit.
Shimizu teaches an inkjet printing system (Fig. 2) wherein a bulk circulation unit places the first pump such that it both circulates print material in the bulk circulation circuit and sends print material downstream (¶ [0039]) and ultimately through a local circulation circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Katada with the teaching of Shimuzu for the purpose of providing the pump that will suck up print material from the bulk circulation circuit and send it through a phase purification module before going toward other circuits as taught by Shimuzu (¶ [0039]; Fig. 2).
Katada further teaches
Re-claim 33, wherein the controller is further configured to control the second pump to maintain a volume of the print material in the supply reservoir (pump P2 can be controlled to send ink toward the supply reservoir after passing through filter 142; ¶ [0112]).
Re-claim 34, further comprising a bypass line (172) connecting the supply reservoir and the drain reservoir, the bypass line having a bypass valve (V4), wherein the controller is further configured to control the bypass valve to maintain a volume of the print material in the drain reservoir (¶ [0145]; controller 72 controls flow of ink in the system; ¶ [0088]).
Re-claim 35, wherein the bypass is a first bypass, and further comprising a second bypass (174) fluidly connecting the bulk circulation circuit with the local circulation circuit.
Re-claim 37, further comprising a level sensor (S1, S2) coupled to each of the supply reservoir and the drain reservoir, wherein the controller (72, 72a) is operatively coupled to the level sensors and further configured to adjust a pressure difference between the supply reservoir and the drain reservoir based on signals from the level sensors (¶ [0100], [0116]; Fig. 6).
Re-claim 38, wherein the controller is further configured to control the negative pressure gas flow unit to maintain a higher pressure at an outlet of the supply reservoir than at an inlet of the drain reservoir (pressure is set higher for the supply side than the recovery side; ¶ [0116])
Re-claim 36, Katada as modified by Shimizu teaches the inkjet printing system of claim 32, and Katada further teaches wherein the bulk circulation circuit comprises a print material reservoir (110) and the middle circulation circuit comprises a phase purification module (170), however Katada does not teach the print material reservoir as having a mixing element.
Shimizu further teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the bulk circulation circuit comprises a print material reservoir (30) having a mixing element (46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teaching of Katada with the teaching of Shimuzu for the purpose of resolving sedimentation to have the print material in a uniform state in preparation for printing as taught by Shimuzu (¶ [0059]).
Re-claim 39, Katada teaches an inkjet printing system (Fig. 13), comprising:
a print assembly (63);
a local circulation circuit (Fig. 13 annotated above for claim 32) having a supply reservoir (120) to supply print material to the print assembly, a drain reservoir (130) to receive print material from the print assembly, one or more level sensors (S1, S2) coupled to the supply reservoir, the drain reservoir, or both, and a negative pressure gas flow unit to control pressure in the supply reservoir and the drain reservoir (72a, S1, S2; ¶ [0088]);
a bulk circulation circuit (Fig. 13 annotated above for claim 32) having a first pump (102) to pump print material continuously around the bulk circulation circuit (pump P0 adjusts ink amount in buffer tank 110; ¶ [0158]; from Fig. 13, valve V0 is a two-way valve);
a middle circulation circuit (Fig. 13 annotated above for claim 32) fluidly coupled with the bulk circulation circuit and the local circulation circuit, the middle circulation circuit having a recycle valve (164);
a first valve (V3) to control flow of print material from the bulk circulation circuit to the local circulation circuit;
a second pump (P2) to receive print material from the drain reservoir and to pump the print material through a second valve (162) to the supply reservoir; and
a controller (72) configured to control the negative pressure gas flow unit (72a) to maintain flow of print material through the print assembly from the supply reservoir to the drain reservoir and to control the recycle valve to flow print material from the middle circulation circuit to the local circulation circuit or to circulate the print material around the middle circulation circuit (valves can be controlled to be opened and/or closed).
Katada does not teach wherein the first pump is used to transfer print material to the local circulation circuit.
Shimizu teaches an inkjet printing system (Fig. 2) wherein a bulk circulation unit places the first pump such that it both circulates print material in the bulk circulation circuit and sends print material downstream (¶ [0039]) and ultimately through a local circulation circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Katada with the teaching of Shimuzu for the purpose of providing the pump that will suck up print material from the bulk circulation circuit and send it through a phase purification module before going toward other circuits as taught by Shimuzu (¶ [0039]; Fig. 2).
Katada further teaches
Re-claim 40, further comprising a bypass line (172) connecting the supply reservoir and the drain reservoir, the bypass line having a bypass valve (V4), wherein the controller is operatively coupled to the one or more level sensors (¶ [0100]; Fig. 6) and is further configured to control the bypass valve to maintain a volume of the print material in the drain reservoir ((¶ [0145]; controller 72 controls flow of ink in the system; ¶ [0088]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Preckel (US 20110285768 A1, from IDS) demonstrates (Fig. 7) an inkjet printing system (5a) with a print assembly (3) and at least a bulk circulation circuit (8) and a local circulation circuit (10a).
02 July 2026
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853