Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re claim 1, applicant argues that Matsumoto does not disclose “distribut[ing] the color information of pixels within the plurality of blocks of pixel data across different groups of memory modules from among multiple memory modules” because “This feature requires assigning pixel-related color information to different memory-module groups that collectively form part of a multi-module storage system” (Remarks p21).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., assigning pixel-related color information to different memory-module groups that collectively form part of a multi-module storage system) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Additionally, Matsumoto discloses distributing color information pixels (see fig 3) across different groups of memory modules (fig 7, different modules of buffer memory 140, as well as processors and memory card, pars [0049]-[0050]).
Applicant further argues that Matsumoto fails to disclose “the claimed hierarchical storage process” (Remarks p22). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Matsumoto discloses the RAW image data is separated into vertical/horizontal pixels of a same color, which is equivalent to “strip[ing]”. The pixel data is parsed into like colors (see fig 3), equivalent to “partition[ing]”. The composite image data is moved into composite RAW memory portion and then to a memory card, equivalent to “distribut[ing]” (see figs 3 and 7, pars [0049]-[0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 14-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al. (US 2020/0204730, hereinafter Matsumoto).
Re claim 1, Matsumoto discloses, an image recording system for storing digital image data that is related to an image, the image capturing system comprising: a memory storage (140), having a plurality of memory modules (fig 7); and a memory controller (130) configured to: access digital image data in a raw image format that includes color information for a plurality of pixels of the image (par [0049], fig 3, RAW DATA x 8), stripe the digital image data into a plurality of blocks of image data (pars [0049]-[0050], fig 3, R1-R8), partition the plurality of blocks of image data into a plurality of blocks of pixel data (pars [0049]-[0050]), and distribute the color information of pixels within the plurality of blocks of pixel data across different groups of memory modules from among multiple memory modules (pars [0049]-[0050], RED DATA, BLUE DATA, GREEN DATA, see also fig 7).
Re claim 2, Matsumoto discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the color information comprises luminance or chrominance color components of YUV color model or red, green or blue color components of a red, green, blue (RGB) color model (figs 3-7).
Re claim 3, Matsumoto discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the pixels of the image are arranged in a first series of rows and a first series of columns to form an array of pixels, and wherein the memory controller is configured to stripe the digital image data row-wise along the first series of rows into the plurality of blocks of image data (fig 3).
Re claim 4, Matsumoto discloses the limitations of claim 3 including wherein the memory controller is configured to partition the plurality of blocks of image data into a plurality of second series of rows and a plurality of second series of columns to form a plurality of arrays of pixel data (fig 3).
Re claim 7, Matsumoto discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the memory controller is configured to distribute the color information of pixels from among the plurality of pixels that are within the plurality of blocks of pixel data across the different groups of memory modules in a round-robin fashion (fig 3).
Claims 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected for the reasons stated in claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 1, 3, 4, and 7, respectively. The method steps and system as claimed would have been anticipated by the recording system of Matsumoto.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 18, 19, and 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/JOEL W FOSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639