DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 sets forth “the deformable wall part of the clearance portion”, however, the “deformable wall part” set forth in Claim 1 is not clearly defined as an element “of the clearance portion” and is only set forth as “configured to deform into the clearance portion”. Clarification of the structural relationships is required to fully understand the apparatus.
Claim 6 is rejected as depending upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dole, U.S. Patent 8,297,137.
Regarding Claim 1¸ Dole teaches:
A male lock portion (22) which is formed in a first structural body (2);
a female lock portion (40/42/43) which is formed in a second structural body (8), the female lock portion defining an insertion port (40) into which the male lock portion is insertable;
a clearance portion (see below) which is formed adjacent to the female lock portion in the second structural body and including an open end (see below), wherein the female lock portion includes a deformable wall part (43) configured to deform into the clearance portion when the male lock portion is inserted into the insertion port and contacts the deformable wall part of the female lock portion (Col 5, Lns35-40); and
a restriction portion (53/53’) which is formed in the second structural body between the insertion port of the female lock portion and the open end of the clearance portion in a direction perpendicular to the direction in which the male lock portion is inserted into the insertion port, the restriction portion configured to restricts insertion of the male lock portion into the open end of the clearance portion (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Dole teaches:
The restriction portion is partially formed so as to obstruct a center portion of the open end of the clearance portion (see below, see Fig. 4, element 54).
Regarding Claim 3, Dole teaches:
The restriction portion is partially formed so as to obstruct a center portion of the open end of the clearance portion (see below, see Fig. 4, element 54).
Regarding Claim 4, Dole teaches:
The restriction portion is partially formed so as to obstruct a center portion of the open end of the clearance portion (see below, see Fig. 4, element 54).
Regarding Claim 5, insofar as the claim is understood, Dole teaches:
The restriction portion includes a first straight portion (53), a second straight portion
(53’), and a bent portion (see below), the first straight portion extending from the deformable wall part of the clearance portion (see 50 which is an element of the deformable wall portion), the second straight portion extending from a wall portion of the clearance portion (see below) on the side opposite to the deformable wall part, the bent portion being provided between the first straight portion and the second straight portion (see below), and
in a state where the first structural body and the second structural body are assembled, the restriction portion is formed as a belt-shaped portion bent at the bent portion so as to protrude towards a side on which the first structural body is located relative to the second structural body, thereby obstructing the open end (see Figs. 2-4, see below).
Regarding Claim 6, insofar as the claim is understood, Dole teaches:
The first straight section (53) has an inclined surface inclined toward the insertion port, and in a direction in which the female lock portion and the clearance portion adjoin one another (see Figs. 2-4), a length of the first straight portion is longer than the length of the second straight portion (53’, Fig. 3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677