Claims 3, 6, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, “surfaces is between the trigger guard and the magazine well” is vague and indefinite and does not seem to be supported by the Specification and Drawings. The applicant appears to only disclose a situation where all portions of the surfaces extend outward further than either the trigger guard or the magazine well. Thus, it is impossible for the surfaces to be located between the trigger guard and the magazine well. It seems that applicant is attempting to claim the positions relative to the positions mapped along a longitudinal axis of the firearm.
In claim 6, “lateral extents” has no antecedent basis in the claims.
In claim 10, “AR-15-type rifle” is vague and indefinite. Use of the word “type” makes the required structural limitations unclear.
Claim 19 contains the trademark/trade name “AR-15". Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or de19scribe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a semi-automatic rifle and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Sharps et al (10,386,139).
Sharps et al disclose a rifle with a firearm (column 2, line 27) receive comprising all claimed elements including a lower receiver 10 defining a magazine well 11, a fire control well (the interior of AR-15 lower receivers), and a trigger guard 12; where the lower receiver connects to an upper receiver; and a bottom portion of the lower receiver defines engagement surfaces 23 (Figures 2 and 3) that protrude laterally outward and extend forward of the trigger guard; where the engagement surfaces have a lower margin parallel to a top surface of the fire control well and has a downward sloped portion. Note, in regard to claim 3, an arbitrary portion of 23 between the trigger guard and the space forming the magazine well meet the limitation of being between the trigger guard and the magazine well.
Claims 2, 5-7, 9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharps et al (10,386,139).
Sharps et al disclose a rifle with a firearm (column 2, line 27) receive comprising most claimed elements including a lower receiver 10 defining a magazine well 11, a fire control well (the interior of AR-15 lower receivers), and a trigger guard 12; where the lower receiver connects to an upper receiver; and a bottom portion of the lower receiver defines engagement surfaces 23 (Figures 2 and 3) that protrude laterally outward and extend forward of the trigger guard; where the engagement surfaces have a lower margin parallel to a top surface of the fire control well and has a downward sloped portion. Note, in regard to claim 3, an arbitrary portion of 23 between the trigger guard and the space forming the magazine well meet the limitation of being between the trigger guard and the magazine well. Sharps et al fails to disclose the particular size and angle parameters of the engagement surfaces. However, claimed sizes are obvious and reasonable sizes that an engineer would naturally choose for the disclosed firearm so that it would operate in a manner normal for similar types of firearms. Likewise, the claimed angles of the engagement surfaces are considered to be obvious and non-patentable engineering choices which provide no unexpected results.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Curtis is cited as being of interest since it discloses a firearm with projections on the lower receiver.
/J. Woodrow Eldred/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641
JWE