DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-11 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Detry et al., US PGPub 2013/0205745.
Regarding claim 1, Detry et al. discloses a power system (see fig 2) comprising: a power unit (2); a supply pump (11) configured to feed oil (6) in a liquid form for lubricating the power unit (2); a supply flow path (connecting 11 and 9) configured to guide, to the power unit (2), the oil (6) fed from the supply pump (11); a return pump (13) configured to return the oil (6) having flowed through the power unit (2); a return flow path (connecting 2 and 6) configured to guide, to the return pump (13), the oil (6) having flowed through the power unit (2); a circulation flow path (7) configured to guide, to the supply pump (11), the oil returned (and collected in 6) by the return pump (13); a bypass flow (BP) path connecting the supply flow path (as described above) and the return flow path (as described above); and an on-off valve (9) configured to open and close the bypass flow path (BP).
Regarding claim 2, Detry et al. discloses the power system according to claim 1, wherein the on-off valve (9) comprises a relief valve (see fig 2A-2B) that is pushed by the oil (entering at IN) to open (see fig 2B) when a pressure of the oil supplied from the supply pump (11) reaches a predetermined pressure upper limit value (as determined by strength of spring).
Regarding claim 9, Detry et al. discloses the power system according to claim 1, wherein the power unit (2) comprises: a bearing (4) that rotatably supports a rotor (3); and a lubrication flow path (see fig 1) configured to allow the oil to flow through the bearing (4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Detry et al. in view of Glahn et al., US PGPub 2011/0155508.
Regarding claim 2, Detry et al. discloses the power system according to claim 1 but does not specify that a capacity of the return pump is larger than a capacity of the supply pump. Glahn et al. teaches a similar engine lubrication system wherein a capacity of the return pump (30) is larger than a capacity of the supply pump (32) (see [0024]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the varied capacity pumps described by Glahn et al. to the system disclosed by Detry et al. in order to avoid engine flooding.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Detry et al. in view of Glahn et al. and further in view of Hutchison, US Patent 5,004,407.
Regarding claim 3, Detry et al. in view of Glahn et al. disclose the power system according to claim 2 but do not specify that the oil led out from the power unit is mixed with gas, and the circulation flow path is provided with a gas-liquid separator configured to separate the gas from the oil.
Hutchison teaches a similar turbine engine lubrication system (see fig 1) wherein the oil led out from the power unit (3) is mixed with gas (air), and the circulation flow path is provided with a gas-liquid separator (1) configured to separate the gas from the oil. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the gas liquid separator described by Hurchison to the system disclosed by Detry et al. in view of Glahn et al. in order to avoid plugging and slugging, e.g. pressure pulsations and slugs of air, then slugs of oil in the fluid provided to the aircraft components. These pressure fluctuations can cause damage to the aircraft components.
Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Detry et al. in view of Delaloye, US PGPub 2006/0054406.
Regarding claims 5-7, Detry et al. discloses the power system according to claim 1, but does not disclose the specified pump motor and control.
Delaloye teaches a similar gas turbine lubrication system further comprising: a motor (129) configured to drive the supply pump (122) and the return pump (125). (claim 5)
wherein the motor (129) is a sole motor (see fig 1), and the power system further comprises a power transmission mechanism (128) configured to transmit a rotational driving force of the motor (129) to the supply pump (122) and the return pump (125). (claim 6)
further comprising: a controller (140) comprising one or more processors (see [0039]) that execute computer-executable instructions stored in a memory (see [0040]), wherein the one or more processors (as described above) execute the computer- executable instructions to cause the controller (140) to control the motor (129) to set torque of the motor (129) to predetermined target torque in a state where the on-off valve (as described by Detry et al.) is opened. (claim 7)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide specified pump motor and control described by Delaloye to the system disclosed by Detry et al. in order to control the lubrication circuit in a simple, straightforward, and responsive manner, to changing turbine machine needs and to airframe maneuver parameters, so that the lubrication circuit can provide sufficient lubrication regardless of airframe maneuver forces.
Regarding claim 8, Detry et al. in view of Delaloye discloses the power system according to claim 7, wherein the one or more processors (as described above – Delaloye) cause the controller (as described above – Delaloye) to control the motor (as described above – Delaloye) to set a rotational speed of the supply pump (11) to a target rotational speed in a state where the on-off valve (9) is closed.
Conclusion
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654