DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Chaabi (US 6659014 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Chaabi discloses:
A network of tubular track system for transporting items (10) (Fig 1 & Fig. 2B & Fig. 3) [Column 3 Lines 15-22 & Column 3 Lines 47-48 & Column 3 Lines 54-66] comprising:
a first track comprising i) a tubular conduit (12) and ii) an upper rails (44) and lower rails (44) arranged vertically inside of the tubular conduit (Fig. 6B) [Column 6 Lines 1-6];
one or more nodes connected by the first track (Fig. 10A) [Column 9 Lines 15-19]; and
a self-propelled cart (18) configured to travel along the first track between the one or more nodes and transition between the upper rails and lower rails at the one or more nodes (Fig. 2B & Fig. 6A & Fig. 6B & Fig. 10A) [Column 3 Lines 15-22 & Column 3 Lines 47-51 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 6 Lines 50-64 & Column 9 Lines 15-19].
Regarding Claim 2, Chaabi discloses:
the self-propelled cart travels along the upper rails in a first direction and the lower rails in an opposite direction autonomously (Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B & Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B & Fig. 10A) [Column 3 Lines 15-22 & Column 3 Lines 47-51 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 6 Lines 50-64 & Column 9 Lines 15-19].
Regarding Claim 3, Chaabi discloses:
a configuration of the upper rails and lower rails has a headspace above the upper rails allowing the self-propelled cart to pass through with a payload (Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B) [Column 3 Lines 19-24 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 7 Lines 47-49].
Regarding Claim 4, Chaabi discloses:
a configuration of the upper rails and lower rails has a clearance space between the upper rails and the lower rails allowing the self-propelled cart to pass through without a payload (Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B) [Column 3 Lines 19-24 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 7 Lines 47-49].
Regarding Claim 5, Chaabi discloses:
the upper rails have a width greater than a width of the lower rails (Fig. 6B).
Regarding Claim 7, Chaabi discloses:
the node comprises a vertical transition mechanism to transition the self-propelled cart between the upper rails and the lower rails (Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 10C) [Column 9 Lines 15-67 & Column 10 Lines 1-5].
Regarding Claim 8, Chaabi discloses:
a configuration of the upper rails and lower rails has a clearance space between the upper rails and the lower rails allowing the self-propelled cart to pass through with a payload (Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B) [Column 3 Lines 19-24 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 7 Lines 47-49].
Regarding Claim 9, Chaabi discloses:
the network of tubular track system is located underground (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2B & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) [Column 3 Lines 15-19 & Column 3 Lines 47-50 & Column 4 Lines 34-36].
Regarding Claim 10, Chaabi discloses:
an intersection point connected by a second track (Fig. 3) [Column 3 Lines 59-66].
Regarding Claim 11, Chaabi discloses:
the second track comprises upper rails and lower rails having a configuration different from a configuration of the first track (Fig. 3 & Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 6D & Fig. 7B) [Column 3 Lines 19-24 & Column 3 Lines 59-66 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 7 Lines 47-49].
Regarding Claim 12, Chaabi discloses:
the configuration of the second track allows the self-propelled cart to pass through with a payload on both the upper rails and the lower rails (Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B) [Column 3 Lines 19-24 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 7 Lines 47-49].
Regarding Claim 13, Chaabi discloses:
the self-propelled cart is controlled to travel along the first track and the second track autonomously based at least in part on a real-time traffic status or the network of tubular track system [Column 5 Lines 13-38 & Column 6 Lines 50-67].
Regarding Claim 14, Chaabi discloses:
the self-propelled cart is controlled to enter the intersection point or the one or more nodes based at least in part on sensor data [Column 10 Lines 42-47].
Regarding Claim 15, Chaabi discloses:
A method for transporting items (10) (Fig 1 & Fig. 2B & Fig. 3) [Column 3 Lines 15-22 & Column 3 Lines 47-48 & Column 3 Lines 54-66] comprising:
providing a first track comprising i) a tubular conduit (12) and ii) upper rails (44) and lower rails (44) arranged vertically inside of the tubular conduit (Fig. 6B) [Column 6 Lines 1-6];
providing one or more nodes connected by the first track (Fig. 10A) [Column 9 Lines 15-19]; and
controlling a self-propelled cart (18) to travel along the first track between the one or more nodes and transition between the upper rails and lower rails at the one or more nodes (Fig. 2B & Fig. 6A & Fig. 6B & Fig. 10A) [Column 3 Lines 15-22 & Column 3 Lines 47-51 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 6 Lines 50-64 & Column 9 Lines 15-19].
Regarding Claim 16, Chaabi discloses:
the self-propelled cart travels along the upper rails in a first direction and the lower rails in an opposite direction (Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B & Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B & Fig. 10A) [Column 3 Lines 15-22 & Column 3 Lines 47-51 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 6 Lines 50-64 & Column 9 Lines 15-19].
Regarding Claim 17, Chaabi discloses:
a configuration of the upper rails and lower rails has a headspace above the upper rails allowing the self-propelled cart to pass through with a payload (Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B) [Column 3 Lines 19-24 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 7 Lines 47-49].
Regarding Claim 18, Chaabi discloses:
a configuration of the upper rails and lower rails has a clearance space between the upper rails and the lower rails allowing the self-propelled cart to pass through without a payload (Fig. 6B & Fig. 6C & Fig. 7B) [Column 3 Lines 19-24 & Column 6 Lines 1-6 & Column 7 Lines 47-49].
Regarding Claim 19, Chaabi discloses:
the upper rails have a width greater than a width of the lower rails (Fig. 6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaabi (US 6659014 B2) in view of Benoliel (US 20150015017 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Chaabi does not teach:
the self-propelled cart comprises a mechanism to automatically adjust a width of a wheel track of the self-propelled cart to adapt to the width of the upper rails and the lower rails.
Benoliel teaches:
A network of track system (84) for transporting items [0002 & 0003 & 0015 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040] comprising:
a first track comprising an upper rails (86 & 88) and lower path (Fig. 14) arranged vertically (Fig. 14) [0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061];
a self-propelled cart (30 & 32 & 60 & 62 & 80 & 82) configured to travel along the first track on the upper rails and lower rails at (Fig. 3 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 14) [0022 & 0023 & 0024 & 0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061];
the upper rails have a width greater than a width of the lower rails (Fig. 14) [0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061];
the self-propelled cart comprises a mechanism to automatically adjust a width of a wheel track of the self-propelled cart to adapt to the width of the upper rails and the lower rails (Fig. 3 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 14) [0022 & 0023 & 0024 & 0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-propelled cart transfer system utilizing a network of tubular track having rails of varying widths taught by Chaabi with the self-propelled cart transfer system utilizing a network of track having rails of varying widths and the self-propelled cart comprises a mechanism to automatically adjust a width of a wheel track of the self-propelled cart to adapt to the width of the upper rails and the lower rails taught by Benoliel in order to provide a transfer system having carts capable of traveling on any of the tracks in order to increase utility of the carts.
Regarding Claim 20, Chaabi does not teach:
the self-propelled cart comprises a mechanism to automatically adjust a width of a wheel track of the self-propelled cart to adapt to the width of the upper rails and the lower rails.
Benoliel teaches:
the self-propelled cart comprises a mechanism to automatically adjust a width of a wheel track of the self-propelled cart to adapt to the width of the upper rails and the lower rails.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-propelled cart transfer system utilizing a network of tubular track having rails of varying widths taught by Chaabi with the self-propelled cart transfer system utilizing a network of track having rails of varying widths and the self-propelled cart comprises a mechanism to automatically adjust a width of a wheel track of the self-propelled cart to adapt to the width of the upper rails and the lower rails taught by Benoliel in order to provide a transfer system having carts capable of traveling on any of the tracks in order to increase utility of the carts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publication US 6240851 B1 has been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: self-propelled cart transfer system utilizing a network of track having rails of varying widths and the self-propelled cart comprises a mechanism to automatically adjust a width of a wheel track of the self-propelled cart to adapt to the width of the upper rails and the lower rails. Patent publications US 20180186389 A1 and US 20200239036 A1 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: a network of tubular track system for transporting items.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652