DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (CN 114597588).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses a fire-extinguishing material, comprising:
a fire-extinguishing agent layer (101, 102, 103, 104) containing a fire-extinguishing agent (abstract, flame-retardant material) and a binder resin (lines 609-611, epoxy resin), wherein the fire-extinguishing agent contains at least one of an organic salt and an inorganic salt (line 583, sodium salt is coated on the flame retardant material), and the fire-extinguishing agent layer has a porosity of 37% or less in a cross section of the fire-extinguishing agent layer (Line 160).
Claim(s) 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng Figure 3.
Regarding claim 1, Zheng Figure 3 discloses a fire-extinguishing material, comprising:
a fire-extinguishing agent layer (101, 103, 104) containing a fire-extinguishing agent (abstract, flame-retardant material) and a binder resin (lines 609-611, epoxy resin), wherein the fire-extinguishing agent contains at least one of an organic salt and an inorganic salt (line 583, sodium salt is coated on the flame retardant material), and the fire-extinguishing agent layer has a porosity of 37% or less in a cross section of the fire-extinguishing agent layer (Line 160).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng Figure 3 discloses the fire-extinguishing material of claim 1, further comprising a resin substrate (102) disposed with the fire-extinguishing agent layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng.
Regarding claim 2, Zheng discloses the fire-extinguishing material of claim 1, but fails to disclose that the fire extinguishing layer contains 70 to 97 mass% of the fire-extinguishing agent with respect to a total amount of the fire-extinguishing agent and the binder resin.
Zheng discloses that the mass percentage of the fire extinguishing agent is optimized to ensure that the material can effectively reduce the flammability of the electrolyte solution (Lines 508-512). The mass percentage of the agent is put forth as a result effective variable, as changing of the percentage affects the flammability of the electrolyte solution. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Zheng to have a mass percentage within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the content of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zheng to have the fire extinguishing layer contain 70 to 97 mass% of the fire-extinguishing agent with respect to a total amount of the fire-extinguishing agent and the binder resin as a matter of routine optimization, since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 6, Zheng discloses the fire-extinguishing material of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the fire-extinguishing agent layer has a thickness of 80 to 600 pm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the layer to have a thickness within the claimed range since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Zheng would not operate differently with the claimed thickness and the device would function appropriately having the claimed thickness. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed (Paragraph 45). Specifically, Applicant states that a thickness in the claimed range would make extinguishing easier, but does not disclose that a thickness outside of the claimed range would make the material inoperable.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Comboy (US 2022/0054876).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng discloses the fire-extinguishing material of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the salt contains a potassium salt.
Conboy discloses a fire inhibiting material wherein potassium salt is used interchangeably with sodium salt (Paragraph 55).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the material containing potassium salt, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component or material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical design expediency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Also see MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. states "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Volkov (RU 2655909)
Regarding claim 4, Zheng discloses the fire-extinguishing material of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the salt has an average particle size of 1 to 100 pm.
Volkov discloses an extinguishing method wherein salt includes a particle size of 1 to 100 pm (Page 2, paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng with the disclosures of Volkov, providing the salt to include a particle size of 1 to 100 pm (Volkov, Page 2, paragraph 1), as it is known to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a particle size suitable use in a particular application.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Wei (US 2021/0384515).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng discloses the fire-extinguishing material of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the binder resin contains a polyvinyl acetal-based resin.
Wei discloses an extinguishing body wherein a binder resin contains polyvinyl butyral as a substitute for epoxy resin (Paragraph 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng with the disclosures of Wei, replacing the epoxy resin with polyvinyl butyral, thus providing the binder resin containing a polyvinyl acetal-based resin, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component or material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical design expediency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Also see MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. states "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Henschel (EP4008214).
Regarding claim 8, Zheng discloses a fire-extinguishing material package comprising the fire-extinguishing material of claim 1 (see claim 1), but fails to disclose a packaging bag in which the fire-extinguishing material is to be enclosed.
Henschel discloses a device that includes a packaging bag (15) that may receive an extinguishing material (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng with the disclosures of Henschel providing the device to further include a packaging bag (Henschel, 15) that may receive the extinguishing material, in order to provide for a known structure for transporting batteries, while ensuring protection.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752