DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and has/have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 recites “at least one toy”. The Examiner suggests amending the claim(s) to recite –the at least one toy-- in order to maintain clear antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 10, 11, and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10, 11, and 13-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12204513. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the issued patent/co-pending application anticipate the claims of the instant application. Please see below for the mapping in the table, where the bolded limitations indicate the corresponding limitations between the issued patent/co-pending application and instant application. With respect to the dependent claims, each of the claims map to a corresponding dependent claim of the issued patent/co-pending application or are found within the scope of the independent claim.
With respect to each of the dependent claims and independent claims, each claim corresponds numerically. Please see mapping that follows: Instant application claim (I), Issued Patent/Co-Pending App (P) - Claim 10- (I):Claim 10 (P), Claim 11 (I):Claim 11 (P), Claim 13 (I):Claim 13 (P), Claim 14 (I):Claim 14 (P), Claim 15 (I):Claim 15 (P).
Instant Application: 19015040
Issued Patent: 12204513
Claim 10: An artificial intelligence (AI) system for the interactive entertainment and engagement comprising:
a device including a local processor, a local memory with a local database, and at least one sensor;
a virtual assistant (VA) service hosted on at least one server, wherein the VA service includes at least one VA processor and at least one VA memory with at least one VA database;
wherein the device is in network communication with the VA service;
wherein the VA service is operable to construct at least one user account and store the at least one user account in the at least one VA database;
wherein the at least one user account includes at least one user profile and at least one custom personality;
wherein the device is operable to detect and record a first input and transmit the first input to the VA service via a network;
wherein the first input includes a movement of the device, a selection received via the device, a sound, an image, or a video;
wherein the VA service is operable to construct the at least one custom personality from the first input and determine a personality score of the at least one custom personality;
wherein the VA service is operable to extract user personality features from gestures, tone, keywords, or phrases of the first input and determine a user personality score based on the user personality features;
wherein the at least one custom personality includes a selection of characteristics and/or personality traits selected via the device, wherein the characteristics and/or personality traits are exhibited by the VA service;
wherein the VA service is operable to modify the at least one custom personality to include the selected characteristics and/or personality traits;
wherein the VA service is operable to construct a response to the first input, wherein the response is based on the user personality score, the personality score of the at least one custom personality, and at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine, and wherein the VA service is operable to transmit the response to the device; and
wherein the VA service is operable to construct the response to encourage the at least one additional input to be different from the first input.
Claim 10: An artificial intelligence (AI) system for the development
and implementation of artificial personalities comprising:
a device including a graphical user interface (GUI), a local processor, a local memory with a local database, and at least one sensor;
a virtual assistant (VA) service hosted on at least one server, wherein the VA service includes at least one VA processor and at least one VA memory with at least one VA database;
wherein the device is in network communication with the VA service;
wherein the VA service is operable to construct at least one user account and store the at least one user account in the at least one VA database;
wherein the at least one user account includes at least one user profile and at least one custom personality;
wherein the device is operable to detect and record a first input and transmit the first input to the VA service via a network;
wherein the first input includes a movement of the device, a selection received via the GUI of the device, a sound, an image, or a video;
wherein the VA service is operable to construct the at least one custom personality from the first inputs and determine a personality score of the at least one custom personality;
wherein the VA service is operable to extract user personality features from gestures, tones, keywords, or phrases of the first input and determine a user personality score based on the user personality features;
wherein the at least one custom personality includes a selection of characteristics and/or personality traits selected via the GUI of the device, wherein the characteristics
and/or personality traits are exhibited by the VA service;
wherein the VA service is operable to modify the at least one custom personality to include the selected characteristics and/or personality traits;
wherein the VA service is further configured to continuously develop the at least one custom personality based on at least one additional input received by the device to create at least one synchronized custom personality;
wherein the personality score of the at least one custom personality is continuously updated during the modification of the at least one custom personality and the development of the at least one synchronized custom personality;
wherein the VA service is operable to construct a response to the first input, wherein the response is based on the
user personality score, the personality score of the at least one custom personality, and at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine, and wherein the VA service is operable to
transmit the response to the device;
wherein the VA service is operable to construct the response to encourage the at least one additional input to be different from the first input;
wherein a second device is connected to the VA service via a network connection, wherein the second device is operable to detect and record a second input and
transmit the second input to the VA service via a network;
wherein the second device is operable to access the at least one user account including the at least one user profile, the at least one custom personality, and the at least one synchronized custom personality;
wherein the second device is operable to detect and record at least one additional input after the second input;
wherein the VA service is configured to construct an additional response to the at least one additional input after the second input received via the second device,
wherein the additional response is based on the user personality score, the personality score of the at least
one custom personality, and at least one recommendation for the additional response provided by the recommendation engine;
wherein the VA service is operable to transmit the response to the second device; and
wherein the first device and/or the second device is configured to change from a low-power mode to a normal-power mode upon recognition of at least one set
of facial features associated with the at least one user profile.
System claim 13 of the instant application is rejected over system claim 13 of the issued patent/co-pending application using the same rationale as that provided in the table above for the system claims.
As to claim(s) 12, this/these claim(s) are rejected over the issued patent/co-pending application in view of Vescovi et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2017/0132199), as found in the IDS, hereinafter Vescovi.
Please see the art rejections below for further detail.
As to claim(s) 16 and 18-20, this/these claim(s) are rejected over the issued patent/co-pending application in view of Abramson et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2018/0293483), as found in the IDS, hereinafter Abramson.
Please see the art rejections below for further detail.
As to claim(s) 17, this/these claim(s) are rejected over the issued patent/co-pending application in view of Gabai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,773,344), as found in the IDS, hereinafter Gabai.
Please see the art rejections below for further detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson, in view of Murugeshan et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2018/0032884), as found in the IDS, hereinafter Murugeshan, and further in view of Gabai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6773344), as found in the IDS, hereinafter Gabai.
Regarding claim 1, Abramson teaches
An artificial intelligence (Al) system for interactive entertainment and engagement comprising (a system of creating a conversational chat bot of a specific person including personality using a neural network, i.e. AI system [0014-5]):
at least one —device-- including a processor, a memory with a database, and at least one sensor (the computing device includes a processor, memory storing social data, personality index data, and instructions for creating a conversational chat bot, i.e. memory with a database, and sensors including GPS, proximity, accelerometer, gyroscopic, force, acoustic, touchscreen, optical, and localization, i.e. at least one sensor [0033],[0036]);
a virtual assistant (VA) service hosted on at least one server, wherein the VA service includes at least one VA processor and at least one VA memory with at least one VA database (the system, i.e. VA service, creates a conversational chat bot, where components of a system may occur remotely, such as one or more server devices, i.e. hosted on at least one server, where the server can store data for one or more entities, i.e. VA database, on a system memory, i.e. VA memory, and has a processing unit, i.e. VA processor [0014],[0019-20],[0036]);
wherein the at least one —device-- is in network communication with the VA service (components of the system, i.e. VA service, may be employed remotely such as on a server device, where the server may perform components of the system and provide data to and from the client computing device, i.e. device…is configured to access the VA service, through a network, i.e. device is in wireless connection with the at least one server [0019],[0029:1-4],[0049-50]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct at least one user profile and at least one custom personality (the input processing unit, i.e. VA service, may store data by user identification, including social data of the user that includes characteristics of the user, as well as traits, attributes, and psychographic data, i.e. construct at least one user profile, the index engine of the input processing unit generates personality indices, where each index may be associated with a specific person or entity, and the person or entity may be a celebrity, historical figure, or fictional character, i.e. at least one custom personality [0023-5],[0053]);
wherein the at least one —device-- is operable to detect and record an input and transmit the input to the VA service via a network (the client device may receive and store input data, i.e. device is operable to detect and record an input, and the information may be accessed from and stored on another device in a network, i.e. transmit…via a network, where the chat bot engine of the system processes different forms of input, i.e. transmit the input to the VA service [0018:24-28],[0020:1-14],[0029],[0049]);
wherein the input includes a movement of the at least one toy, a sound, an image, or a video (input data includes audible input, i.e. a sound, images and video streams, i.e. an image or a video, and data from one or more sensors of the device, such as an accelerometer, gyroscopic, and force sensor, or gestures, i.e. a movement [0020],[0033],[0047],[0051]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct the at least one user profile and the at least one custom personality and store the at least one user profile and the at least one custom personality in the at least one VA database (the input processing unit, i.e. VA service, may store data by user identification, including social data of the user that includes characteristics of the user, as well as traits, attributes, and psychographic data, i.e. construct at least one user profile, the index engine of the input processing unit generates personality indices, where each index may be associated with a specific person or entity, and the person or entity may be a celebrity, historical figure, or fictional character, i.e. at least one custom personality [0023-5],[0053], and data, i.e. at least one user profile and the at least one custom personality, may be stored by the system in a data store, where components of the system may occur remotely, such as one or more server devices, where the server can store data for one or more entities on a system memory, i.e. stored on the at least one database [0014],[0019-20],[0024],[0036]);
wherein the VA service is configured to exhibit the at least one custom personality via the at least one —device-- (the chat bot engine, i.e. VA service, is configured to generate a chatbot that applies personality index data, i.e. personality trait, to generate a personalized chat bot configured to interact conversationally in the personality of the specific entity, i.e. exhibit the custom personality, wherein the custom personality embodies the at least one personality trait [0029:1-10]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct a response to the input, …, wherein the response includes conversational dialogue generated via the NLP engine (the chat bot may be a language understanding model, i.e. VA service…NLP engine, that generates a conversational response to the received user dialogue using statistical language models, i.e. operable to construct a response to the input…the response includes conversational dialogue generated via the NLP engine [0015],[0029],[0054]), and wherein the VA service is operable to transmit the response to the at least one —device—(the chat bot generates a response to the received user dialogue, where a voice font is applied to the chat bot, and audible signals can be provided to the user, i.e. VA service is operable to transmit the response, where data can be provided between a server device and client computing device, i.e. transmit…to the at least one device [0018],[0029],[0047],[0050],[0054]).
While Abramson provides processing user input to create personality indexes, Abramson does not specifically teach categorizing and determining the most common elements between multiple inputs or determining emotional states of a user, and thus does not teach
wherein the VA service is operable to categorize elements of the input;
wherein the VA service is operable to determine the one or more most common elements between the input and the at least one additional input;
wherein the VA service is operable to determine an emotional state of a user based on the input using a natural language processing (NLP) engine;
…wherein the response is based on a user personality score, a personality score of the at least one custom personality, and at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine.
Murugeshan, however, teaches wherein the VA service is operable to categorize elements of the input (the system, i.e. VA service, extracts keywords from the user utterances, i.e. elements of the input, and categorizes and stores the keywords, i.e. operable to categorize elements [0023],[0064]);
wherein the VA service is operable to determine the one or more most common elements between the input and the at least one additional input (the system, i.e. VA service, extracts keywords, i.e. elements, from user utterances that may be part of a conversation history, i.e. the input and the at least one additional input, and may identify keywords that are most often used by the user over a period of time, i.e. operable to determine the most common elements [0023],[0064]);
wherein the VA service is operable to determine an emotional state of a user based on the input using a natural language processing (NLP) engine (user interactions may be received in data formats including text, audio, and video, where the user is using a user device, and characteristics including emotions, keywords, expressions, and topics are extracted, i.e. determine an emotional state of a user based on the input [0022],[0036],[0084-5], where the system, i.e. VA service, may perform part-of-speech tagging, stop-word removal, and word sense disambiguation, i.e. using a natural language processing (NLP) engine, as well as mapping using a domain ontology using meaningful n-grams and synonyms, to determine the domain, and meaning of the keywords, as well as the mood of the user, i.e. determine an emotional state [0023],[0063]);
…wherein the response is based on a user personality score, a personality score of the at least one custom personality, and at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine (the system dynamically generates an adaptive response, i.e. VA service is operable to construct a response, based on the personality and personal details of the user, where the personality includes comparisons of the instances of closeness and deviation between the attributes of the existing cases and the user specific features, and one or more cases that map with a user personality are identified as being similar based on similarity and dissimilarity detection, i.e. based on the user personality score a personality score of the at least one custom personality [0024],[0059-60], where the adaptive responses are provided by the system to the user based on the interactions with and information about the user, where the interactions may include one or more queries during a conversation, i.e. at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine [0022-6],[0038],[0044],[0061-2]).
Abramson and Murugeshan are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in enabling dialog between a user and a device with an intelligent dialog system. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the processing user input to create personality indexes teachings of Abramson, with a system that extracts and categorizes keywords from user utterances and determines most often used keywords as taught by Murugeshan. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable a system to provide adaptive responses to user interactions based on user personality (Murugeshan [0024]).
While Abramson in view of Murugeshan provides the use of multiple devices able to communicate through a network, Abramson in view of Murugeshan does not specifically teach that the software platform is implemented on a toy, and thus does not teach
at least one toy including a processor, a memory with a database, and at least one sensor.
Gabai, however, teaches at least one toy including a processor, a memory with a database, and at least one sensor (the toy has a processor, microphones, light and motion sensors, i.e. at least one sensor, and the controller within the toy has a memory that stores information, i.e. memory with a database Fig. 19,34(25:25-51)).
Abramson, Murugeshan, and Gabai are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in presenting customized information to a user. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the use of multiple devices able to communicate through a network, teachings of Abramson, as modified by Murugeshan, with one of the devices being a toy as taught by Gabai. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable the system to facilitate the education and participation of a child through the personification of a character the child has developed a relationship with or is more likely to pay attention to, and allow children who may even be on opposite sides of the world to interact with each other (Gabai (22:7-19),(42:3-28).
Regarding claim 2, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai teaches claim 1, and Abramson further teaches
the at least one VA database is configured to store a plurality of personalities, wherein the plurality of personalities includes the at least one custom personality and at least one additional personality, wherein the VA service is further configured to combine the at least one custom personality with the at least one additional personality to create a merged personality, wherein the merged personality includes one voice model (data stored on the server, i.e. at least one VA database is configured to store, may include multiple personality indexes, i.e. plurality of personalities, such as a personalized personality index, and a generic personality index, i.e. the plurality of personalities includes the at least one custom personality and at least one additional personality, where a personality index may include interaction rules that will govern how a personality index accesses multiple datasets, such as datasets from a specific person through their personality index and data from other users who also have personality indexes, where each personality index comprises social data, i.e. combine the custom personality with the at least one additional personality to create a merged personality, where the personality index contains voice font data, i.e. merged personality includes one voice model [0020],[0024],[0033:1-14],[0034:1-12]).
Regarding claim 3, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai teaches claim 1, and Abramson further teaches
the at least one first sensor of the at least one toy includes a visual sensor, wherein a visual input of the visual sensor is transmitted to a facial recognition model hosted on the at least one server, wherein the facial recognition model includes facial recognition hardware and analytics to identify facial features from the visual input (the system includes multiple client devices, where sensors of a device, i.e. at least one first sensor of the at least one toy, include an optical sensor, such as a camera that can record still images, i.e. sensor…include a visual sensor, wherein a visual input of the visual sensor, where a facial recognition algorithm may be applied to the photo, i.e. facial recognition model, to identify the specific person in the photo, as well as information such as depth and color, i.e. identify facial features from the visual input [0016],[0019],[0033], [0047:22-24], where components of the system may occur remotely, such as on a server, i.e. hosted on the at least one server, and the system may include hardware and software components, i.e. hardware and analytics [0018-9]).
Where Gabai teaches that the device is a toy (16:7-17),(22:7-19),(42:3-22).
And where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Regarding claim 4, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai teaches claim 1, and Gabai further teaches
an exterior of the at least one toy is customized and corresponds to the at least one custom personality, wherein the at least one toy includes a customized vessel shape (the interactive toy may be a figure of oneself, a family member, friend, or any other human or imaginary character, and may be special ordered, i.e. an exterior of the at least one toy is customized…the at least one toy includes a customized vessel shape, where the content is provided to animate the characters in a way that simulates the characters they represent, such as a doll of Elvis performing his songs, i.e. an exterior of the at least one toy is customized and corresponds to the at least one custom personality (54:61-21)).
Where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Regarding claim 5, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai teaches claim 1, and Abramson further teaches
the VA service is configured to continuously develop the at least one custom personality based on at least one additional input received by the at least one toy to create at least one synchronized custom personality, wherein the at least one synchronized custom personality is stored on the at least one VA database (the index engine, i.e. VA service, creates a personalized personality index, where the personalized personality index may change or evolve over time as social data and other similar information is altered, i.e. continuously develop the at least one custom personality…to create at least one synchronized custom personality, where data may be received via input to a user interface of the client device, i.e. based on at least one additional input received by the at least one toy [0020],[0025], and data, i.e. at least one synchronized custom personality, may be stored by the system in a data store, where components of the system may occur remotely, such as one or more server devices, where the server can store data for one or more entities on a system memory, i.e. stored on the at least one VA database [0014],[0019-20],[0024],[0036]).
Where Gabai teaches that the device is a toy (16:7-17),(22:7-19),(42:3-22).
And where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Regarding claim 8, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai teaches claim 1, and Murugeshan further teaches
the VA service is operable to extract and correlate meanings, emotions, and ideas from the input and the at least one additional input, wherein the input and the at least one additional input are received via the at least one toy, analyzed using the NLP engine, and matched to a predetermined semantic category (user interactions may be received in data formats including text, audio, and video, where the user is using a user device, i.e. where the input is received via the device, and characteristics including emotions, keywords, expressions, and topics are extracted, i.e. extract…meanings, emotions, and ideas from the input and the at least one additional input [0022],[0036],[0084-5], where the system, i.e. VA service, may perform part-of-speech tagging, stop-word removal, and word sense disambiguation, i.e. analyzed using the NLP engine, as well as mapping using a domain ontology using meaningful n-grams and synonyms, to determine the domain, i.e. matched to a predetermined semantic category, and meaning of the keywords, as well as the mood of the user, i.e. extract and correlate meanings, emotions, and ideas [0023],[0063]).
Where Gabai teaches that the device is a toy (16:7-17),(42:3-22).
And where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Regarding claim 9, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai teaches claim 8, and Murugeshan further teaches
the VA service receives at least one set of guidelines for generating a response to the input and the at least one additional input based on the semantic categorization of the input and the at least one additional input (the system, i.e. VA service, generates an adaptive response to the user based on the domain associated with the one or more user queries, i.e. generating a response to the input and the at least one additional input based on the semantic categorization of the input and the at least one additional input, where special patterns, such as numeric value or date-time patterns, are recognized based on the domain and used to retrieve the required information to respond to the user, i.e. receives at least one set of guidelines for generating a response to the input and the at least one additional input [0024],[0042]).
Where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson, in view of Murugeshan, in view of Gabai, and further in view of Beck (U.S. PG Pub No. 2005/0154594), hereinafter Beck.
Regarding claim 6, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai teaches claim 1.
While Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai provides storing different personalities, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai does not specifically teach the personalities are stored on an interchangeable chip, and thus does not teach
at least one toy further includes at least one interchangeable chip, wherein the interchangeable chip contains at least one personality.
Beck, however, teaches at least one toy further includes at least one interchangeable chip, wherein the interchangeable chip contains at least one personality (memory plug-ins may be used, where behavior patterns may be stored in such a memory for updating the toy, and the plug-ins are an expansion memory cartridge, i.e. interchangeable chip [0139-40],[0203]).
Where Abramson teaches that the behaviors are related to specific personality indexes [0023-5],[0053].
Abramson, Murugeshan, Gabai, and Beck are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in presenting customized information to a user. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the storing different personalities teachings of Abramson, as modified by Murugeshan and Gabai, with the use of memory cartridges as plug-ins for storing behaviors as taught by Beck. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable access to portable entertainment with a flexible access to different learning-simulation effects (Beck [0028-31]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson, in view of Murugeshan, in view of Gabai, and further in view of Vescovi.
Regarding claim 7, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai teaches claim 1.
While Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai provides facial recognition for input data, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Gabai does not specifically teach playing an audio greeting based on facial recognition, and thus does not teach
the at least one toy is further configured to play an audio greeting upon recognition of a set of facial features associated with the at least one user profile.
Vescovi, however, teaches wherein the at least one toy is further configured to play an audio greeting upon recognition of a set of facial features associated with the at least one user profile (one or more instructions may correspond to an output, such as outputting an audio greeting, i.e. further configured to play an audio greeting, to a specific visitor, where personal information data may be collected and stored that uniquely identifies a person, such as in a user’s profile, i.e. associated with the at least one user profile, where the identification of a specific visitor may be determined through facial recognition, i.e. upon recognition of a set of facial features associated with the at least one user profile, Fig. 8C,[0279],[0295],[0398],[0400], where the device performs the functions and may be a toy, i.e. the at least one toy is further configured to [0171]).
Abramson, Murugeshan, Gabai, and Vescovi are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in enabling devices to interact with users in a specific manner. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the facial recognition for input data teachings of Abramson, as modified by Murugeshan and Gabai, with recognizing a specific individual using facial recognition and performing a corresponding instruction as taught by Vescovi. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable a system to interact with different users based on different sets of rules or exceptions by identifying the specific user through facial recognition (Vescovi [0295-6]).
Claim(s) 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson, in view of Murugeshan, and further in view of Vescovi.
Regarding claim 10, and Abramson teaches
An artificial intelligence (AI) system for the interactive entertainment and engagement comprising (a system of creating a conversational chat bot of a specific person including personality using a neural network, i.e. AI system [0014-5]):
a device including a local processor, a local memory with a local database, and at least one sensor (the computing device includes a processor, i.e. local processor, memory storing social data, personality index data, and instructions for creating a conversational chat bot, i.e. local memory with a local database, and sensors including GPS, proximity, accelerometer, gyroscopic, force, acoustic, touchscreen, optical, and localization, i.e. at least one sensor [0033],[0036]);
a virtual assistant (VA) service hosted on at least one server, wherein the VA service includes at least one VA processor and at least one VA memory with at least one VA database (the system, i.e. VA service, creates a conversational chat bot, where components of a system may occur remotely, such as one or more server devices, i.e. hosted on at least one server, where the server can store data for one or more entities, i.e. VA database, on a system memory, i.e. VA memory, and has a processing unit, i.e. VA processor [0014],[0019-20],[0036]);
wherein the device is in network communication with the VA service (components of the system, i.e. VA service, may be employed remotely such as on a server device, where the server may perform components of the system and provide data to and from the client computing device, i.e. device…is configured to access the VA service, through a network, i.e. device is in wireless connection with the at least one server [0019],[0029:1-4],[0049-50]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct at least one user account and store the at least one user account in the at least one VA database (the system may store data by user identification, i.e. construct at least one user account and store the at least one user account in the at least one VA database [0024-5]);
wherein the at least one user account includes at least one user profile and at least one custom personality (the system may store data by user identification, i.e. at least one user account, where the data includes user profile data, i.e. includes at least one user profile, and personalized personality indexes, i.e. at least one custom personality [0020],[0024-5]);
wherein the device is operable to detect and record a first input and transmit the first input to the VA service via a network (the client device may receive and store input data, i.e. device is operable to detect and record a first input, and the information may be accessed from and stored on another device in a network, i.e. transmit…via a network, where the chat bot engine of the system processes different forms of input, i.e. transmit the first input to the VA service [0018:24-28],[0020:1-14],[0029],[0049]);
wherein the first input includes a movement of the device, a selection received via the device, a sound, an image, or a video (input data received over time, i.e. first input, includes audible input, i.e. a sound, images and video streams, i.e. an image or a video, data from one or more sensors of the device, such as an accelerometer, gyroscopic, and force sensor, i.e. a movement of the device, or received through a user interface including a GUI, i.e. selection received via the device [0020],[0033],[0042],[0047],[0051]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct the at least one custom personality from the first input … (the index engine, i.e. VA service, may create a personality index associated with one or more specific people or entities, i.e. construct the at least one custom personality, using data received as input over time, i.e. from the first inputs [0020],[0024-5]);
wherein the at least one custom personality includes a selection of characteristics and/or personality traits selected via the device (the system, i.e. VA service, has an index engine that is configured to create a personalized personality index, i.e. custom personality, where personalized data is accessed and processed to create the personalized personality index, i.e. receive a selection…to be incorporated into a custom personality, where the personalized data includes traits, attributes, and psychographic data, i.e. selection of characteristics and/or personality traits, where the data can be input received through a user interface such as a GUI, i.e. selected via the device [0020],[0025-6],[0042]), wherein the characteristics and/or personality traits are exhibited by the VA service (the chat bot engine, i.e. VA service, is configured to generate a chatbot that applies personality index data, i.e. characteristics and/or personality traits, to generate a personalized chat bot configured to interact conversationally in the personality of the specific entity, i.e. characteristics and/or personality traits are exhibited [0029:1-10]);
wherein the VA service is operable to modify the at least one custom personality to include the selected characteristics and/or personality traits (the index engine, i.e. VA service, creates a personalized personality index, where the personalized personality index may change or evolve over time as social data and other similar information is altered, i.e. modify the at least one custom personality, where data may be received via input to a user interface of the client device, i.e. include the selected characteristics and/or personality traits [0020],[0025]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct a response to the first input (the chat bot may be a language understanding model, i.e. VA service…NLP engine, that generates a conversational response to the received user dialogue using statistical language models, i.e. operable to construct a response to the input [0015],[0029],[0054])…and wherein the VA service is operable to transmit the response to the device (the chat bot generates a response to the received user dialogue, where a voice font is applied to the chat bot, and audible signals can be provided to the user, i.e. VA service is operable to transmit the response, where data can be provided between a server device and client computing device, i.e. transmit…to the at least one device [0018],[0029],[0047],[0050],[0054]).
While Abramson provides the creation of a personalized personality index and multiple client devices that can interact with users, Abramson does not specifically teach the calculation of a personality score or the determination of a response, and thus does not teach
wherein the VA service is operable to construct the at least one custom personality from the first input and determine a personality score of the at least one custom personality;
wherein the VA service is operable to extract user personality features from gestures, tone, keywords, or phrases of the first input and determine a user personality score based on the user personality features;
wherein the VA service is operable to construct a response to the first input, wherein the response is based on the user personality score, the personality score of the at least one custom personality, and at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine….
Murugeshan, however, teaches wherein the VA service is operable to construct the at least one custom personality from the first input and determine a personality score of the at least one custom personality (the system, i.e. VA service, detects and identifies the personality of the user based on the generic and user specific features from information provided by the user, i.e. construct the at least one custom personality from the inputs [0022],[0024:1-4], and where cases have user attributes that map with a user personality, and one or more cases are identified as being similar based on similarity and dissimilarity detection, i.e. determine a personality score of the at least one custom personality [0059-60]);
wherein the VA service is operable to extract user personality features from gestures, tone, keywords, or phrases of the first input and determine a user personality score based on the user personality features (the system extracts generic characteristics, such as gestures, expressions, actions, accent, pitch, and loudness from the user interactions comprising one or more queries during a conversation, i.e. VA service extracting ... from gestures, tones, ... of the stimulus, as well as user specific features including choice of words and slang words, i.e. VA extracting ... from ... keywords, or phrases of the first input [0022-3], where the personality of the user is detected and identified based on the generic and user specific features, i.e. user personality features [0024:1-4], and where cases have user attributes that map with a user personality, and a new case for the user is built based on comparisons of the instances of closeness and deviation between the attributes of the existing cases and the user specific features, i.e. determine a user personality score based on the user personality features [0059-60]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct a response to the first input, wherein the response is based on the user personality score, the personality score of the at least one custom personality, and at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine…(the system dynamically generates an adaptive response, i.e. VA service is operable to construct a response, based on the personality and personal details of the user, where the personality includes comparisons of the instances of closeness and deviation between the attributes of the existing cases and the user specific features, and one or more cases that map with a user personality are identified as being similar based on similarity and dissimilarity detection, i.e. based on the user personality score, the personality score of the at least one custom personality [0024],[0059-60], where the adaptive responses are provided by the system to the user based on the interactions with and information about the user, where the interactions may include one or more queries during a conversation, i.e. response to the first input…at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine [0022-6],[0038],[0044],[0061-2]).
Where Abramson teaches the use of multiple client devices over a distributed network that may perform components of the system [0019-20],[0024].
Abramson and Murugeshan are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in enabling dialog between a user and a device with an intelligent dialog system based on personality. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the creation of a personalized personality index and multiple client devices that can interact with users teachings of Abramson with a system that uses the user personality to generate adaptive responses as taught by Murugeshan. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable a system to provide adaptive responses to user interactions based on user personality (Murugeshan [0024]).
While Abramson in view of Murugeshan provides responding to user dialog input, Abramson in view of Murugeshan does not specifically teach encouraging the user to input a different response, and thus does not teach
wherein the VA service is operable to construct the response to encourage the at least one additional input to be different from the first input.
Vescovi, however, teaches wherein the VA service is operable to construct the response to encourage the at least one additional input to be different from the first input (when a user provides an utterance, i.e. the first input, the modules, i.e. VA service, can initiate additional dialogue with the user, i.e. operable to construct the response, to ask the user for additional information or disambiguate ambiguous utterances, where the questions can be provided to and answers can be received from the users, i.e. construct the response to encourage the at least one additional input to be different from the first input [0247],[0249],[0251]).
Abramson, Murugeshan, and Vescovi are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in enabling devices to interact with users in a specific manner. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the responding to user dialog input teachings of Abramson, as modified by Murugeshan, with initiating additional dialog with a user to receive additional information to what was received in the initial user request as taught by Vescovi. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable a system to retrieve information missing from the user’s initial request so that the system can perform the task requested by the user (Vescovi [0249-51]).
Regarding claim 12, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi teaches claim 10, and Vescovi further teaches
the device is further configured to detect a user via one or more user biometric parameters obtained from a camera, microphone, or other sensor (one or more instructions may correspond to an output, such as outputting an audio greeting, i.e. further configured to play an audio greeting, to a specific visitor, where personal information data may be collected and stored that uniquely identifies a person, such as in a user’s profile, i.e. associated with the at least one user profile, where the identification of a specific visitor may be determined through facial recognition, i.e. upon recognition of a set of facial features associated with the at least one user profile, Fig. 8C,[0279],[0295],[0398],[0400], where the device performs the functions, and can use an optical sensor to capture images, that can be associated with a name, such as recognizing a face, i.e. device is further configured to detect a user via one or more user biometric parameters obtained from a camera [0080],[0122],[0171],[0295]).
Where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Regarding claim 13, Abramson teaches
An artificial intelligence (AI) system for interactive entertainment and engagement comprising (a system of creating a conversational chat bot of a specific person including personality using a neural network, i.e. AI system [0014-5]):
a device including a local processor, a local memory with a local database, and at least one sensor (the computing device includes a processor, i.e. local processor, memory storing social data, personality index data, and instructions for creating a conversational chat bot, i.e. local memory with a local database, and sensors including GPS, proximity, accelerometer, gyroscopic, force, acoustic, touchscreen, optical, and localization, i.e. at least one sensor [0033],[0036]);
a virtual assistant (VA) service hosted on at least one server, wherein the VA service includes at least one VA processor and at least one VA memory with at least one VA database (the system, i.e. VA service, creates a conversational chat bot, where components of a system may occur remotely, such as one or more server devices, i.e. hosted on at least one server, where the server can store data for one or more entities, i.e. VA database, on a system memory, i.e. VA memory, and has a processing unit, i.e. VA processor [0014],[0019-20],[0036]);
wherein the device is in network communication with the VA service (components of the system, i.e. VA service, may be employed remotely such as on a server device, where the server may perform components of the system and provide data to and from the client computing device, i.e. device…is configured to access the VA service, through a network, i.e. device is in wireless connection with the at least one server [0019],[0029:1-4],[0049-50]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct at least one user account and store the at least one user account in the at least one VA database (the system may store data by user identification, i.e. construct at least one user account and store the at least one user account in the at least one VA database [0024-5]);
wherein the at least one user account includes at least one user profile and at least one custom personality (the system may store data by user identification, i.e. at least one user account, where the data includes user profile data, i.e. includes at least one user profile, and personalized personality indexes, i.e. at least one custom personality [0020],[0024-5]);
wherein the device is operable to detect and record an input and transmit the input to the VA service via a network (the client device may receive and store input data, i.e. device is operable to detect and record an input, and the information may be accessed from and stored on another device in a network, i.e. transmit…via a network, where the chat bot engine of the system processes different forms of input, i.e. transmit the input to the VA service [0018:24-28],[0020:1-14],[0029],[0049]);
wherein the input includes a movement of the device, a selection received via the device, a sound, an image, or a video (input data received over time, i.e. input, includes audible input, i.e. a sound, images and video streams, i.e. an image or a video, data from one or more sensors of the device, such as an accelerometer, gyroscopic, and force sensor, i.e. a movement of the device, or received through a user interface including a GUI, i.e. selection received via the device [0020],[0033],[0042],[0047],[0051]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct at least one custom personality, wherein the at least one custom personality is exhibited by the VA service (the index engine, i.e. VA service, may create a personality index associated with one or more specific people or entities, i.e. construct at least one custom personality, using data received as input over time [0020],[0024-5], the chat bot engine, i.e. VA service, is configured to generate a chatbot that applies personality index data, i.e. custom personality, to generate a personalized chat bot configured to interact conversationally in the personality of the specific entity, i.e. exhibited by the VA service [0029:1-10]);
wherein the at least one custom personality includes a selection of personality traits selected via the device (the system has an index engine that is configured to create a personalized personality index, i.e. custom personality, where personalized data is accessed and processed to create the personalized personality index, i.e. the at least one custom personality includes a selection of personality traits, where the personalized data includes traits, attributes, and psychographic data, where the data can be input received through a user interface such as a GUI, i.e. selected via the device [0020],[0025-6],[0042]), wherein the VA service is operable to modify the at least one custom personality to include the selected personality traits (the index engine, i.e. VA service, creates a personalized personality index, where the personalized personality index may change or evolve over time as social data and other similar information is altered, i.e. modify the at least one custom personality, where data may be received via input to a user interface of the client device, i.e. include the selected personality traits [0020],[0025]);
wherein the VA service is further configured to continuously develop the at least one custom personality based on at least one additional input received by the device to create at least one synchronized custom personality (the index engine, i.e. VA service, creates a personalized personality index, where the personalized personality index may change or evolve over time as social data and other similar information is altered, i.e. continuously develop the at least one custom personality…to create at least one synchronized custom personality, where data may be received via input to a user interface of the client device, i.e. based on at least one additional input received by the device [0020],[0025]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct a response to the input and the at least one additional input, …(the chat bot may be a language understanding model, i.e. VA service…NLP engine, that generates a conversational response to the received user dialogue using statistical language models, i.e. operable to construct a response to the input, using the personalized personality index that has changed as new data is received [0015],[0020],[0025],[0029],[0054]).
While Abramson provides the creation of a personalized personality index and multiple client devices that can interact with users, Abramson does not specifically teach the calculation of a personality score or the determination of a response, and thus does not teach
wherein the VA service is operable to extract user personality features from gestures, tones, keywords, or phrases of the input and determine a user personality score based on the user personality features;
wherein the VA service is operable to construct a response to the input and the at least one additional input, wherein the response is based on the user personality score and at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine.
Murugeshan, however, teaches wherein the VA service is operable to extract user personality features from gestures, tone, keywords, or phrases of the first input and determine a user personality score based on the user personality features (the system extracts generic characteristics, such as gestures, expressions, actions, accent, pitch, and loudness from the user interactions comprising one or more queries during a conversation, i.e. VA service extracting ... from gestures, tones, ... of the stimulus, as well as user specific features including choice of words and slang words, i.e. VA extracting ... from ... keywords, or phrases of the first input [0022-3], where the personality of the user is detected and identified based on the generic and user specific features, i.e. user personality features [0024:1-4], and where cases have user attributes that map with a user personality, and a new case for the user is built based on comparisons of the instances of closeness and deviation between the attributes of the existing cases and the user specific features, i.e. determine a user personality score based on the user personality features [0059-60]);
wherein the VA service is operable to construct a response to the input and the at least one additional input, wherein the response is based on the user personality score and at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine (the system dynamically generates an adaptive response, i.e. VA service is operable to construct a response, based on the personality and personal details of the user, where the personality includes comparisons of the instances of closeness and deviation between the attributes of the existing cases and the user specific features, and one or more cases that map with a user personality are identified as being similar based on similarity and dissimilarity detection, i.e. based on the user personality score, the personality score of the at least one custom personality [0024],[0059-60], where the adaptive responses are provided by the system to the user based on the interactions with and information about the user, where the interactions may include one or more queries during a conversation, i.e. response to the input and the at least one additional input…at least one recommendation for response provided by a recommendation engine [0022-6],[0038],[0044],[0061-2]).
Abramson and Murugeshan are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in enabling dialog between a user and a device with an intelligent dialog system based on personality. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the creation of a personalized personality index and multiple client devices that can interact with users teachings of Abramson with a system that uses the user personality to generate adaptive responses as taught by Murugeshan. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable a system to provide adaptive responses to user interactions based on user personality (Murugeshan [0024]).
While Abramson in view of Murugeshan provides facial recognition for input data, Abramson in view of Murugeshan does not specifically teach playing an audio greeting based on facial recognition, and thus does not teach
wherein the device is further configured to play an audio greeting upon recognition of the at least one set of facial features of the at least one user associated with the at least one user profile.
Vescovi, however, teaches wherein the device is further configured to play an audio greeting upon recognition of the at least one set of facial features of the at least one user associated with the at least one user profile (one or more instructions may correspond to an output, such as outputting an audio greeting, i.e. further configured to play an audio greeting, to a specific visitor, where personal information data may be collected and stored that uniquely identifies a person, such as in a user’s profile, i.e. associated with the at least one user profile, where the identification of a specific visitor may be determined through facial recognition, i.e. upon recognition of a set of facial features associated with the at least one user profile, Fig. 8C,[0279],[0295],[0398],[0400], where the device performs the functions, i.e. device is further configured to [0171]).
Abramson, Murugeshan, and Vescovi are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in enabling devices to interact with users in a specific manner. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the facial recognition for input data teachings of Abramson, as modified by Murugeshan, with recognizing a specific individual using facial recognition and performing a corresponding instruction as taught by Vescovi. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable a system to interact with different users based on different sets of rules or exceptions by identifying the specific user through facial recognition (Vescovi [0295-6]).
Regarding claim 15, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi teaches claim 13, and Abramson further teaches
the device is connected to a wireless network and/or a cloud-computing network, wherein the device is further equipped with mobile communication protocols for connecting to a cellular network and sending and receiving voice communication (the client device, i.e. user device may be a mobile device such as a mobile telephone or smartphone, i.e. mobile phone, that has communication connections including wireless connections, i.e. connected to a wireless network and/or a cloud-computing network, where it may run applications such as a phone dialer program and have connectivity via a communications carrier, i.e. further equipped with mobile communication protocols for connecting to a cellular network, to enable a telephone conversation, i.e. sending and receiving voice communication [0019],[0039],[0041-2],[0044-7]).
Regarding claim 16, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi teaches claim 13, and Abramson further teaches
the VA service is implemented in a video game, in augmented reality, or in virtual reality (the system provides the chat bot, i.e. VA service, with the 3D models of the characters applied, in a virtual reality, i.e. virtual reality, or augmented reality context, i.e. augmented reality, where the client device has an output display for showing a GUI and other information to the user [0016],[0039],[0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi teaches claim 13, and Abramson further teaches
the VA service is configured to construct at least one virtual avatar based on the input and the at least one additional input received via the device, wherein the virtual avatar is displayed to the device, wherein the at least one virtual avatar includes a selection of characteristics selected via the device, wherein the VA service is operable to modify the appearance of the at least one virtual avatar to include the selected characteristics device (the system may access image data in the personality index, i.e. VA service is further configured to receive a selection of at least one profile characteristic, and creates a 3D model of the person using the image data, where data is received as input to the device over time, i.e. construct at least one virtual avatar based on the input and the at least one additional input received via the device, and the 3D model of the specific person requested is applied to the chat bot to enable immersive interactions with the likeness of the specific person, i.e. the at least one virtual avatar includes a selection of characteristics selected via the device wherein the VA service is operable to modify the appearance of the at least one virtual avatar to include the selected characteristics device, where output elements of a computing device include a display for showing a graphical user interface, i.e. the virtual avatar is displayed to the device [0016-7],[0020],[0022],[0025],[0042],[0051]).
Regarding claim 19, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi teaches claim 18, and Abramson further teaches
the VA service is further configured to continuously develop the at least one custom personality based on at least one additional input received by the device to create at least one synchronized custom personality (the index engine, i.e. VA service, creates a personalized personality index, where the personalized personality index may change or evolve over time as social data and other similar information is altered, i.e. continuously develop the at least one custom personality…to create at least one synchronized custom personality, where data may be received via input to a user interface of the client device, i.e. based on at least one additional input received by the device [0020],[0025], and data, i.e. at least one synchronized custom personality, may be stored by the system in a data store, where components of the system may occur remotely, such as one or more server devices, where the server can store data for one or more entities on a system memory, i.e. stored on the at least one VA database [0014],[0019-20],[0024],[0036]).
Where Murugeshan further teaches wherein the personality score of the at least one custom personality is continuously updated during the modification of the at least one custom personality and the development of the at least one synchronized custom personality (the conversation history retains various features of the user personality, i.e. development of the at least one synchronized custom personality, where variations in the personality of the user are identified, i.e. modification of the at least one custom personality, and cases have user attributes that map with a user personality, where cases are revised if correction is required and similarity and dissimilarity of one or more cases are detected, i.e. personality score of the at least one custom personality is continuously updated during the modification [0059-62],[0064]).
And where the motivation to combine is the same as previously presented.
Regarding claim 20, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi teaches claim 13, and Abramson further teaches
the at least one VA database is configured to store a plurality of personalities, wherein the plurality of personalities includes the at least one custom personality and at least one additional personality, wherein the VA service is further configured to combine the at least one custom personality with the at least one additional personality to create a merged personality, wherein the merged personality includes one voice model (data stored on the server, i.e. at least one VA database is configured to store, may include multiple personality indexes, i.e. plurality of personalities, such as a personalized personality index, and a generic personality index, i.e. the plurality of personalities includes the at least one custom personality and at least one additional personality, where a personality index may include interaction rules that will govern how a personality index accesses multiple datasets, such as datasets from a specific person through their personality index and data from other users who also have personality indexes, where each personality index comprises social data, i.e. combine the custom personality with the at least one additional personality to create a merged personality, where the personality index contains voice font data, i.e. merged personality includes one voice model [0020],[0024],[0033:1-14],[0034:1-12]).
Claim(s) 11, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson, in view of Murugeshan, in view of Vescovi, and further in view of Gabai.
Regarding claims 11 and 14, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi teaches claims 10 and 13.
While Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi provides using custom 2D and 3D images for a chatbot, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi does not specifically teach the customized device exterior including a vessel shape, and thus does not teach
an exterior of the device is customized and corresponds to the custom personality and/or the at least one user profile, wherein the device includes a customized vessel shape.
Gabai, however, teaches an exterior of the device is customized and corresponds to the custom personality and/or the at least one user profile, wherein the device includes a customized vessel shape (the interactive toy may be a figure of oneself, a family member, friend, or any other human or imaginary character, and may be special ordered, i.e. an exterior of the at least one toy is customized…the at least one toy includes a customized vessel shape, where the content is provided to animate the characters in a way that simulates the characters they represent, such as a doll of Elvis performing his songs, i.e. an exterior of the at least one toy is customized and corresponds to the at least one custom personality (54:61-21)).
Abramson, Murugeshan, Vescovi, and Gabai are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in presenting customized information to a user. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the use of custom 2D and 3D images for a chatbot teachings of Abramson, as modified by Murugeshan and Vescovi, with one of the devices being a toy customized to look like the character as taught by Gabai. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable the system to facilitate the education and participation of a child through the personification of a character the child has developed a relationship with or is more likely to pay attention to, and allow children who may even be on opposite sides of the world to interact with each other (Gabai (22:7-19),(42:3-28).
Regarding claim 17, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi teaches claim 13.
While Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi provides the interaction of a user with a personalized chat bot, Abramson in view of Murugeshan and Vescovi does not specifically teach educational content modules, and thus does not teach
the VA service includes a content module;
wherein the content module includes at least one goal and at least one lesson plan;
wherein the VA service is operable to construct at least one question and at least one statement using a voice model, wherein the at least one question and the at least one statement are based on the at least one goal and the at least one lesson plan; and
wherein the VA service is operable to update the at least one goal and the at least one lesson plan based on a detected response to the at least one question and/or the at least one statement.
Gabai, however, teaches the VA service includes a content module (content from different content providers is downloaded through an interactive toy server, i.e. VA service, and the server provides connection to appropriate database records, including educational packages on Math, Science, History, or Religion, i.e. includes a content module (28:24-33),(35:14-27),(37:3-6),(38:43-60),(57:40-45));
wherein the content module includes at least one goal and at least one lesson plan (content from different content providers is downloaded through an interactive toy server and the server provides connection to appropriate database records, including educational packages on Math, Science, History, or Religion, i.e. content module (28:24-33),(35:14-27),(37:3-6),(38:43-60),(57:40-45), where educational content may include encouraging the child to take part in a tour, such as a trip plan fixed in advance, i.e. one goal, and tour information for a historical site may include a character of a history professor may entertain the users with quizzes, i.e. lesson plan, and may reward the winners, i.e. goal (41:36-65),(42:3-28),(55:1-21));
wherein the VA service is operable to construct at least one question and at least one statement using a voice model, wherein the at least one question and the at least one statement are based on the at least one goal and the at least one lesson plan (educational content attracts the attention of the child user, i.e. based on the at least one goal, by personifying a historical figure or history professor and providing historical commentary and jokes, i.e. constructing…at least one statement, and games such as quizzes, i.e. constructing at least one question…based on the at least one lesson plan (41:59-65),(42:3-12),(55:1-21)); and
wherein the VA service is operable to update the at least one goal and the at least one lesson plan based on a detected response to the at least one question and/or the at least one statement (educational content may be flexible and personalized, i.e. VA service is operable to update, where the interactive toy reacts to the answers to the questions it asks the user, i.e. based on a detected response to the at least one question and/or the at least one statement, such as through an AI generated conversation, including suggesting new places to visit in response to user feedback, i.e. update the at least one goal, and tailoring the commentary and quizzes to the new location, i.e. update the at least one lesson plan (41:30-42:28),(45:30-55),(57:40-58:41),(60:33-38)).
Abramson, Murugeshan, Vescovi, and Gabai are analogous art because they are from a similar field of endeavor in presenting customized information to a user. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the interaction of a user with a personalized chat bot teachings of Abramson, as modified by Murugeshan and Vescovi, with the interacting with a user through customized educational content as taught by Gabai. It would have been obvious to combine the references to enable the system to facilitate the education and participation of a child through the personification of a character the child has developed a relationship with or is more likely to pay attention to, and allow children who may even be on opposite sides of the world to interact with each other (Gabai (22:7-19),(42:3-28)).
Conclusion
/NICOLE A K SCHMIEDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659