DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Cao (CN 10525340).
Cao teaches a wiping device for a helmet, the wiping device comprising: a track (11/12) extending between a first end and a second end; a wiper (21) mounted on the track, the wiper being movable between the first end and the second end of the track, the wiper comprising an arm and a blade (22), the arm being elongated between a top end and a bottom end, the blade being coupled to and extending along the arm between the top end and the bottom end, the blade protruding away from a central longitudinal axis of the arm; a mount assembly coupled to the track and configured to mount the track over a visor of the helmet (it is mounted to the visor as shown in figure 5); and a drive mechanism (18) operatively coupled to the wiper, the drive mechanism being configured to move the wiper alternately toward the first end of the track and the second end of the track.
With regards to claim 4, the drive mechanism comprises: a motor (17) mounted in the arm of the wiper; a pinion (19) mounted to an output shaft of the motor; and a rack (16) mounted on the track, the rack having teeth which mesh with gear teeth of the pinion.
With regards to claim 5, a processor (14) operatively coupled to the drive mechanism; and an input operatively coupled to the processor, a speed of the wiper being selectable by the input (power switch for on and off will control the speed of the wiper from on at a first speed to off at no speed).
With regards to claim 6, there is a power supply (20/24) electrically coupled to the processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (‘340) in view of Badewien (DE 3540930).
Cao teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach what the mount assembly is. Badewien teaches a visor cleaner that is attached to the visor via suction cups (7). The suction cups are located on first and second ends of the cleaning device (figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cao so that the wiping device is mounted to the visor via suction cups as taught by Badewien to allow for quick removal and replacement.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (‘340) in view of Chen (CN 223391916).
Cao teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the power supply is a battery that is rechargeable via a charging port. Chen teaches a wiping tool that is powered by a battery (5). The battery is connected to a charging port (60) to recharge the battery as necessary. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cao so that the power supply is a rechargeable battery that can be recharged via a charging port as taught by Chen to allow for the wiping device to be quickly charged when the battery is dead.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (‘340) in view of Badewien (‘930) and Chen (‘916).
Cao teaches a wiping device for a helmet, the wiping device comprising: a track (11/12) extending between a first end and a second end; a wiper (21) mounted on the track, the wiper being movable between the first end and the second end of the track, the wiper comprising an arm and a blade (22), the arm being elongated between a top end and a bottom end, the blade being coupled to and extending along the arm between the top end and the bottom end, the blade protruding away from a central longitudinal axis of the arm; a mount assembly coupled to the track and configured to mount the track over a visor of the helmet (it is mounted to the visor as shown in figure 5); a drive mechanism (18) operatively coupled to the wiper, the drive mechanism being configured to move the wiper alternately toward the first end of the track and the second end of the track, the drive mechanism comprising: a motor (17) mounted in the arm of the wiper; a pinion (19) mounted to an output shaft of the motor; and a rack (16) mounted on the track, the rack having teeth which mesh with gear teeth of the pinion; a processor (14) operatively coupled to the drive mechanism; an input operatively coupled to the processor, a speed of the wiper being selectable by the input (power switch for on and off will control the speed of the wiper from on at a first speed to off at no speed); a power supply (20/24) electrically coupled to the processor.
Cao teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach what the mount assembly is and that the power supply is a battery that is rechargeable via a charging port.
Badewien teaches a visor cleaner that is attached to the visor via suction cups (7). The suction cups are located on first and second ends of the cleaning device (figure 1).
Chen teaches a wiping tool that is powered by a battery (5). The battery is connected to a charging port (60) to recharge the battery as necessary.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cao so that the wiping device is mounted to the visor via suction cups as taught by Badewien to allow for quick removal and replacement. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cao so that the power supply is a rechargeable battery that can be recharged via a charging port as taught by Chen to allow for the wiping device to be quickly charged when the battery is dead.
Relevant Prior Art
It is noted that GB 2481383, GB 2171292, GB2169497 are all relevant prior art references and should be reviewed when making amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723