DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2, Figs. 6-20, in the reply filed on 1/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/21/2026.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 are allowed.
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu, US 20240100664.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses: A power tool (Fig. 1, power tool 1), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 4, housing 10);
a motor (Fig. 4, power body 21) in the housing;
an accessory holder ([0002], “ tool head”) configured to hold a power tool accessory and driven by the motor;
a torque tube (Fig. 4, inner casing socket 40) in the housing;
a strain gauge (Fig. 4, torque sensor 60) on the torque tube;
a controller ([0025], “the control board is electrically connected to the power body 21 and the torque sensor 60.”); wherein
the controller is configured to control operation of the motor based at least in part on a measurement from the strain gauge ([0026] “After the operation of the power body 21 has exceeded a predetermined torque, the control board receives a signal transmitted from the torque sensor 60 and immediately stop the operation of the power body 21.”); wherein
the torque tube has a first end (Fig.3, front side 41) and a second end (Fig.3, rear side 42) opposite the first end; wherein
the second end of the torque tube is rotationally fixed to the housing ([0021], “The rear fixing plate 222 is fixed onto the inner casing socket 40 through the rear locking members 24 passing through the fourth locking holes 4210 and the third locking holes 2220.”).
Regarding claim 2, Wu further discloses: the second end of the torque tube has splines (see Fig. 3. The shape of the front flange 411 acts as mounting splines on the outer casing).
Regarding claim 3, Wu further discloses: the splines engage an inner portion of the housing ([0023], “the front flange 411 of the inner casing socket 40 is fixed to an inner wall of the outer casing 10, and the rear baffle 421 of the inner casing socket 40 is attached to an inner wall of the outer casing 10. Since the inner casing front side 41 is fixed onto the outer casing 10, therefore when the inner casing rear side 42 is rotated, it will not drive the inner casing front side 41 to rotate altogether.”).
Regarding claim 7, Wu further discloses: the strain gauge is on a necked down section of the torque tube (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Wu further discloses: the accessory holder is a bit holder ([0002], “ tool head” – as this device is a torque wrench type device, it is inherent that this device is attached to a bot of some type to perform its function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nussbaumer, DE 3222161 in view of Wu, US 20240100664.
Regarding claim 10, Nussbaumer discloses: A power tool (Fig. 1, Pneumatic Torque Wrench), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, housing 10);
a motor (Fig. 1, motor 18) in the housing;
an accessory holder (Fig. 1, tool 24) configured to hold a power tool accessory and driven by the motor;
a torque tube (Fig. 1, connecting portion 12) in the housing;
strain gauges (Fig. 1, torque sensor 34/strain gauge 36) on the torque tube;
a controller (Fig. 1, strain measuring circuit 42);
the torque tube comprises a front section (Fig.1, holding flange 14), a rear section (Fig.1, unlabeled flange on right side of drawing opposite 14) and a central section between the front section and the rear section (Fig. 1, connecting portion 12); wherein
the front section is configured to engage a bearing (Fig. 1, bearing 32); wherein
the rear section is configured to engage the housing (see Fig. 1,); wherein
the strain gauges are on the central section (see Fig, 1); and wherein
an outer diameter of the central section is at least five percent smaller than an outer diameter of the rear section (see Fig. 1. While drawings are not necessarily to scale, as the flange portion is several times larger in diameter than the central portion, the claim limitation is met).
Nussbaumer does not explicitly disclose: the controller is configured to control operation of the motor based at least in part on measurements from the strain gauges.
Wu teaches: the controller is configured to control operation of the motor based at least in part on measurements from the strain gauges ([0026] “After the operation of the power body 21 has exceeded a predetermined torque, the control board receives a signal transmitted from the torque sensor 60 and immediately stop the operation of the power body 21.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the control systems as taught by Wu in combination with the Nussbaumer device, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this alteration is that combining these features allows for automated utilization of the data taken by the gauge to prevent damage to the tool or a workpiece
Regarding claim 11, the modified Nussbaumer further discloses: the outer diameter of the central section is at least ten percent smaller than the outer diameter of the rear section (see Fig. 1. While drawings are not necessarily to scale, as the flange portion is several times larger in diameter than the central portion, the claim limitation is met).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Nussbaumer further discloses: the outer diameter of the central section is at least fifteen percent smaller than the outer diameter of the rear section(see Fig. 1. While drawings are not necessarily to scale, as the flange portion is several times larger in diameter than the central portion, the claim limitation is met).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Nussbaumer further discloses: a transmission (Fig. 1, gearbox 20); and
a gearbox housing at least a portion of the transmission (see Examiner Illustration 1); wherein
the torque tube surrounds at least a portion of the gearbox (see Examiner Illustration 1).
Examiner Illustration 1
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nussbaumer, DE 3222161 in view of Wu, US 20240100664, further in view of Wang, US 20200164495.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Nussbaumer discloses the device of claim 10.
The modified Nussmauner does not explicitly disclose: the strain gauges are disposed at a 45-degree angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of the torque tube.
Wang teaches: the strain gauges are disposed at a 45-degree angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of the torque tube (see Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the angled strain gauges as taught by Wang in combination with the Nussbaumer device, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this alteration is that combining these features allows for a single gauge set to measure relative strain in all directions on the plain of the gauge. The Examiner further notes that this is not only common, but it is in fact the norm regarding strain gauges.
Conclusion
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731