DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/9/25 and 3/25/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 5- 9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al., KR 20230106933 in view of Nakajima et al., US 5642056 in view of Carney, US 6043668
Regarding claim 1, Noh discloses an apparatus for locking a probe card, the apparatus comprising:
a test head including one or more test boards (Fig. 3; test head 110; abstract);
a probe card (Fig. 3; probe card 140);
a base unit disposed between the test head and the probe card and coupled to each of the test head and the probe card (Fig. 3; base unit 130), including a plurality of balance adjustment assemblies (Fig. 3; unit 130 adjusts probe card 140).
Noh is silent in the base unit including a plurality of sensors measuring a plurality of displacement values of a plurality of points of the probe card; and a controller determining whether the probe card is in an equilibrium state, based on the plurality of displacement values measured from the plurality of sensors, and controlling the probe card to be in an equilibrium state by adjusting a length of at least one of the plurality of balance adjustment assemblies when it is determined that the probe card is out of the equilibrium state.
Nakajima teaches a unit including a sensor measuring a plurality of displacement values of a plurality of points of the probe card (Figs. 11-13; camera 128 optically measures tilting of probe card at multiple points, such as point J and point K in Fig. 13); and a controller determining whether the probe card is in an equilibrium state, based on the plurality of displacement values measured from the sensor (Fig. 11-13; control circuit 129 receives measurement from the camera and determines whether the probe is tilted), and controlling the probe card to be in an equilibrium state by adjusting a length of at least one of the plurality of balance adjustment assemblies when it is determined that the probe card is out of the equilibrium state (Col. 13 lines 15-35; result of the tilting calculated by control circuit 129 used to control motor 115 and slider 117 which is lifted or lowered). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakajima into Noh for the benefit of reducing in the tilting of the probe card.
Noh as modified is silent in wherein a plurality of sensors measure a plurality of displacement values of a plurality of points of the probe card. Carney teaches a plurality of sensors measuring a plurality of displacement values of a plurality of points of the probe card (Fig. 1-2; planarity verification system 10 includes sensors formed by resistors R1-R4 and leads 36 at plural points of the probe card). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the electrical conductivity sensor comprising a plurality of sensors as taught by Carney into the system of Noh as modified since providing an additional sensor or plural sensors would increase the reliability of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, Noh is silent in wherein the controller determines a target balance adjustment assembly to be adjusted in length among the plurality of balance adjustment assemblies, based on a deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values when the probe card is out of the equilibrium state, and adjusts a length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly. Nakajima teaches controller determines a target balance adjustment assembly to be adjusted in length among the plurality of balance adjustment assemblies, based on a deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values when the probe card is out of the equilibrium state, and adjusts a length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly (Col. 13 lines 10-40; distance L1 and Z1 calculated and probe card 22 is adjusted so that probe is planer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakajima into Noh for the benefit of reducing in the tilting of the probe card.
Regarding claim 3, Noh in view of Nakajima teaches the limitations of claim 2. Nakajima further teaches wherein the controller determines a shortened length or an extension length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly, based on the deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values, and controls the length of the determined target balance assembly based on the determined shortened length or the determined extension length (Col. 13 lines 15-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakajima into Noh for the benefit of reducing in the tilting of the probe card.
Regarding claim 5, Noh teaches in wherein the base unit further includes: a center clamp; and an inclined block formed above the center clamp, enabling one end of the plurality of balance adjustment assemblies to ascend or descend (Fig. 4; clamp 144, fixing block 132 inclined surface)
Regarding claim 6, Noh in view of Nakajima teaches the apparatus of claim 5. Noh teaches an elevating member ascending the inclined block when the length adjustment member is lengthened, and descending from the inclined block when the length adjustment member is shortened (Fixing module 132 on inclined surface). Nakajima teaches wherein each of the plurality of balance adjustment assemblies includes: a motor; a length adjustment member coupled to one end of the motor and lengthened in a direction of an inclined block or shortened in an opposite direction of the inclined block in accordance with rotation of the motor (Fig. 11-12; motor 115, slider 117 ; block/seat 118; ); and an elevating member ascending the inclined block when the length adjustment member is lengthened, and descending from the inclined block when the length adjustment member is shortened (Fig. 11-12; test head 27 or lever 123 ascends and descends the seat 118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakajima into Noh for the benefit of reducing in the tilting of the probe card.
Regarding claim 7, Noh teaches wherein when an elevating member ascends the inclined block, the elevating member descends a first point of the inclined block so that a second point of the probe card corresponding to the first point descends, and when the elevating member descends the inclined block, the elevating member ascends a third point of the inclined block so that a fourth point of the probe card corresponding to the third point ascends (Fig. 4; fixing block 132 over inclined surface to move probe card).
Regarding claim 8, An teaches a plurality of sensors. An is silent in the sensors measure a distance between the plurality of points of the probe card. Nakajima teaches measuring a distance between the plurality of points of the probe card (Fig. 13; points J, K measured). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakajima into An for the benefit of reducing in the tilting of the probe card.
Regarding claim 9, An is silent wherein the controller determines that the probe card is in an equilibrium state when the deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values is included in a predetermined range. Nakajima teaches wherein the controller determines that the probe card is in an equilibrium state when the deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values is included in a predetermined range (Fig. 11-13; difference of distance Z1 being 0 is a predetermined range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakajima into An for the benefit of reducing in the tilting of the probe card.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al., KR 20230106933 in view of Nakajima et al., US 5642056 in view of Carney, US 6043668 in view of Tiberghien, US 20100025383
Regarding claim 4, Noh in view of Nakajima teaches the limitaitons of claim 2. Nakajima teaches determining a movement of the motor based on the deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values (Col. 13 lines 10-40). An does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller determines a rotation direction and the number of rotations of a motor, and controls the motor included in the determined target balance adjustment assembly based on the determined rotation direction and the number of rotations to adjust the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly. Tiberghien teaches determining a rotation direction and the number of rotations of a motor, and controls the motor included in the determined target balance adjustment assembly based on the determined rotation direction and the number of rotations to adjust the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly (¶[0132]; Figs. 5-7; motor 59 driven in a direction and a number of rotations to bring to a balanced position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Tiberghien into Noh in view of Nakajima as modified for the benefit of providing the desired position of the probe card.
Claim(s) 10, 11, 13, 15, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al., US 5642056 in view of Carney, US 6043668
Regarding claim 10, Nakajima teaches a method of aligning a probe card, which is performed by at least one processor, the method comprising: determining whether the probe card is in an equilibrium state, based on a plurality of displacement values measured from a sensor (Figs. 11-13; camera 128 optically measures tilting of probe card at multiple points, such as point J and point K in Fig. 13); determining a target balance adjustment assembly to be adjusted in length among a plurality of balance adjustment assemblies based on a deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values when it is determined that the probe card is out of an equilibrium state (Col. 13 lines 10-40; distance L1 and Z1 calculated and probe card 22 is adjusted so that probe is planer); and adjusting the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly so that the probe card is in an equilibrium state (Col. 13 lines 15-35; result of the tilting calculated by control circuit 129 used to control motor 115 and slider 117 which is lifted or lowered).
Nakajima is silent in a plurality of sensors. Carney teaches a plurality of sensors measuring a plurality of displacement values of a plurality of points of the probe card (Fig. 1-2; planarity verification system 10 includes sensors formed by resistors R1-R4 and leads 36 at plural points of the probe card). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the electrical conductivity sensor comprising a plurality of sensors as taught by Carney into the system of Nakajima since providing an additional sensor or plural sensors would increase the reliability of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 11, Nakajima teaches before determining whether the probe card is in an equilibrium state: docking the probe card in a base unit coupled with a test head (Fig. 11-13; test head 21; support frame 16); controlling a plurality of motors included in the plurality of balance adjustment assemblies based on a predetermined value (Fig. 11-13; motors 115 on the frames 16 controlled by a signal considered a predetermined value); and setting the displacement value of the sensor to an initial value (Fig. 11-13; displacement initial value being the reference line P which is set in the control unit). Nakajima is silent in a plurality of sensors. Carney teaches a plurality of sensors (Fig. 1-2; planarity verification system 10 includes sensors formed by resistors R1-R4 and leads 36 at plural points of the probe card). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the electrical conductivity sensor comprising a plurality of sensors as taught by Carney into the system of Nakajima since providing an additional sensor or plural sensors would increase the reliability of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Nakajima teaches wherein the determining the target balance adjustment assembly includes determining a shortened length or an extension length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly based on the deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values, and the adjusting the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly includes adjusting the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly based on the determined shortened length or the determined extension length (Col. 13 lines 10-40).
Regarding claim 15, Nakajima teaches wherein the determining whether the probe card is in an equilibrium state includes determining that the probe card is in an equilibrium state when the deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values is included in a predetermined range (Fig. 11-13; difference of distance Z1 being 0 is a predetermined range).
Regarding claim 18, Nakajima teaches a control device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing a computer program executed by the one or more processors, wherein the computer program includes instructions for performing: an operation of determining whether a probe card is in an equilibrium state, based on a plurality of displacement values measured from a sensor (Figs. 11-13; camera 128 optically measures tilting of probe card at multiple points, such as point J and point K in Fig. 13); an operation of determining a target balance adjustment assembly to be adjusted in length among a plurality of balance adjustment assemblies based on a deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values when it is determined that the probe card is out of an equilibrium state (Col. 13 lines 10-40; distance L1 and Z1 calculated and probe card 22 is adjusted so that probe is planer); and an operation of adjusting the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly so that the probe card is in an equilibrium state(Col. 13 lines 15-35; result of the tilting calculated by control circuit 129 used to control motor 115 and slider 117 which is lifted or lowered).
Nakajima is silent in a plurality of sensors. Carney teaches a plurality of sensors measuring a plurality of displacement values of a plurality of points of the probe card (Fig. 1-2; planarity verification system 10 includes sensors formed by resistors R1-R4 and leads 36 at plural points of the probe card). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the electrical conductivity sensor comprising a plurality of sensors as taught by Carney into the system of Nakajima since providing an additional sensor or plural sensors would increase the reliability of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 19, Nakajima teaches wherein the operation of determining a target balance adjustment assembly includes an operation of determining a shortened length or an extension length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly based on the deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values, and the operation of adjusting the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly includes an operation of adjusting the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly based on the determined shortened length or the determined extension length (Col. 13 lines 10-40).
Claim(s) 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al., US 5642056 in view of Carney, US 6043668 in view of Tiberghien, US 20100025383
Regarding claim 14, Nakajima teaches determining a movement of the motor based on the deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values (Col. 13 lines 10-40). Nakajima does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the target balance adjustment assembly includes determining a rotation direction and the number of rotations of a motor, and the adjusting the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly includes adjusting the length of the target balance adjustment assembly by controlling the motor included in the determined target balance adjustment assembly based on the determined rotation direction and the number of rotations. Tiberghien teaches determining the target balance adjustment assembly includes determining a rotation direction and the number of rotations of a motor, and the adjusting the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly includes adjusting the length of the target balance adjustment assembly by controlling the motor included in the determined target balance adjustment assembly based on the determined rotation direction and the number of rotations (¶[0132]; Figs. 5-7; motor 59 driven in a direction and a number of rotations to bring to a balanced position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Tiberghien into Nakajima as modified for the benefit of providing the desired position of the probe card.
Regarding claim 20, Nakajima teaches determining a movement of the motor based on the deviation or difference of the plurality of displacement values (Col. 13 lines 10-40). Nakajima does not explicitly disclose wherein the operation of determining the target balance adjustment assembly includes an operation of determining a rotation direction and the number of rotations of a motor, and the operation of adjusting the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly includes an operation of adjusting the length of the target balance adjustment assembly by controlling the motor included in the determined target balance adjustment assembly based on the determined rotation direction and the number of rotations. Tiberghien teaches an operation of determining a rotation direction and the number of rotations of a motor, and the operation of adjusting the length of the determined target balance adjustment assembly includes an operation of adjusting the length of the target balance adjustment assembly by controlling the motor included in the determined target balance adjustment assembly based on the determined rotation direction and the number of rotations (¶[0132]; Figs. 5-7; motor 59 driven in a direction and a number of rotations to bring to a balanced position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Tiberghien into Nakajima as modified for the benefit of providing the desired position of the probe card.
Claim(s) 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al., US 5642056 in view of Carney, US 6043668 in view of Appinger et al., US 9977053
Regarding claim 16 and 17, Nakajima is silent in further comprising, before determining whether the probe card is in an equilibrium state: generating a contact force on one surface of the probe card; and acquiring the plurality of displacement values by using the plurality of sensors, wherein the generating a contact force on one surface of the probe card includes contacting one surface of the probe card with a wafer. Appinger teaches determining whether the probe card is in an equilibrium state: generating a contact force on one surface of the probe card; and acquiring the plurality of displacement values by using the plurality of sensors, wherein the generating a contact force on one surface of the probe card includes contacting one surface of the probe card with a wafer (Col. 4 lines 20-Col.5 lines 10; Fig. 1; measuring of electrical contacts and determining if an electrical contact is established under contact force with wafer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Appinger into Nakajima for the benefit of detecting whether the pins of the probe are in contact with the wafer thereby improving testing capabilities.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12, prior art does not disclose or suggest: “ after controlling the plurality of motors based on a predetermined value, locking the probe card in the base unit by activating one or more probe card lock modules, wherein the setting the displacement value of each of the plurality of sensors to an initial value is performed after controlling one or more probe card lock modules to be locked” in combination with all the limitations of claim 12.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858