DETAILED ACTION
2. Upon Reconsideration, the Notice of Allowance filed on May 29, 2026 is vacated. The new Non-Final Rejection is set forth as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 4-9, 11, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FERRARI (EP 3 606 323 B1).
Regarding claim 1, FERRARI invention teaches a trailed implement [Figure 1] comprising: an implement structure rotatably supporting an implement ground engaging element [trailed implement (2) would have been well-known to be included an implement ground engaging element; Figure 1 and para. 0008]; a tongue [drawbar (4)] coupled to the implement structure (2) and configured for attachment to a rearward end [hook (3), rear parts] of a tow vehicle [tractor (1); Figure 1 and para. 0009]; a proximity sensor [proximity sensors (7), and para. 0012] positioned to detect data related to objects located within a field of view [safe zone (Z)] disposed forward of the implement structure (2) [Figure 1 and para. 0010]; a controller [ECU (8)] including a processor and a memory having a contact avoidance algorithm stored thereon [para. 0016 teaches an electronic unit 8 (ECU) would have been well-known to be included a processor and memory], wherein the processor is operable to execute the contact avoidance algorithm to [para. 0016, and para. 0036 teaches sensors (7) in conjunction of an electronic unit (8) automatically avoid contacts between the drawbar (4)/ the parts carried by the drawbar (4) in the safe zone Z]: identify a rear ground engaging element [para. 0002 teaches the front portions or projections of the implement; and para. 0009 teaches rear parts] of the tow vehicle (1) from data sensed by the proximity sensor (7) [para. 0026 teaches temporarily reducing or limiting the maximum steering angle of the front wheel, tractor (1) is forced to keep trajectory that avoids contact between the drawbar (4)/parts carried drawbar and rear wheels (6) i.e. damages]; determine a location of the rear ground engaging element of the tow vehicle (1) relative to the implement structure [para. 0009 and 0017]; communicate a warning signal to a notification device for generating a communication indicating a possible contact between the rear ground engaging element of the tow vehicle (1) and the implement structure when the rear ground engaging element is within a pre-defined distance of the implement structure [para. 0009; para. 0033 teaches it is possible that control unit (8) controls warning devices (acoustic, visual or any kind of a warning devices) that are activated when violation is detected so as to warn the driver; and para. 0034 also teaches the electronic control unit (8) may also be designed, upon detection of warning position, to move rear view devices (rear-view mirrors/cameras) so that the rear-view devices will be focused on the first lateral Z1 or the second lateral Z2 where the warning position was detected].
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in claim 1, FERRARI invention further teaches wherein the proximity sensor (7) includes a lidar sensor, a radar sensor, a stereo camera, an inductance sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a magnetic sensor, or a photoelectric sensor [para. 0012].
Regarding claim 5, as discussed in claim 1, FERRARI invention also teaches wherein the control avoidance algorithm is operable to communicate a vehicle control signal to the tow vehicle for controlling one of a steering system of the tow vehicle (1) or a propulsion system of the tow vehicle (1) when the rear ground engaging element of the tow vehicle (1) is within the pre-defined distance of the implement structure [para. 0021+].
Regarding claim 6, as discussed in claim 1, FERRARI invention also teaches, wherein the proximity sensor (7) is coupled to the implement structure [para. 0010 teaches the sensors (7) that are designed to define a safe zone Z that is located between the rear size of the tractor 1 and the front of the trailed implement 2; which would be well-known for considering that the proximity sensor (7) is coupled to the implement structure].
Regarding claim 7, as discussed in claim 6, FERRARI invention also teaches wherein the proximity sensor (7) is positioned proximate a forward outer corner of the implement structure relative to a central longitudinal axis of the implement structure [para. 0010].
Regarding claim 8, as discussed in claim 1, FERRARI invention also teaches wherein the notification device includes one of an audio speaker, an indicator light, a haptic device, or a visual display [para. 0033].
Regarding claim 9, as discussed in claim 1, FERRARI invention further teaches wherein the contact avoidance algorithm is operable is operable to identify an object other than the rear ground engaging element of the tow vehicle (1) that is disposed between the tow vehicle (1) and the implement structure [the teaching in para. 0025 which would have been provided the common general knowledge].
Regarding claim 11, as discussed in claim 1, FERRARI invention further teaches the claimed tractor and trailed implement are used in an agricultural system which is well-known equivalent to harvest system.
Regarding claims 14-19, see discussion in claims 14-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2, 3, 10, 12, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FERRARI in view of SCHINSTOCK (2024/0065166 A1).
Regarding claim 2, as discussed in claim 1, FERRARI invention does not specifically teach
a tongue actuator interconnecting the tongue and the implement structure for controlling an angular position of the tongue about the tongue pivot axis relative to the implement frame.
SCHINSTOCK invention teaches the tongue (36) is moveably coupled to the implement structure [rake implement (20)] for generally horizontal pivotal movement about a tongue pivot axis extending substantially vertically relative to the implement structure (20) [Abstract and para. 0011], and further comprising a tongue actuator (50) interconnecting the tongue (36) and the implement structure (20) for controlling an angular position of the tongue about the tongue pivot axis relative to the implement frame (24) [para. 0011 and 0026-0028].
Since the applied prior art references are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by SCHINSTOCK invention would have been recognized in the pertinent art of FERRARI invention.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified trailed implement structural configuration of FERRARI invention by providing the tongue actuator which is interconnecting the tongue and the implement structure for controlling an angular position of the tongue about the tongue pivot axis relative to the implement frame as taught by SCHINSTOCK invention for the purpose of improving the possibility of the tow vehicle contacting the trailed implement during steering maneuvers is increased.
Regarding claim 3, as discussed and motivated in claims 1-2, the modified FERRARI invention also teaches wherein the contact avoidance algorithm is operable to communicate a tongue control signal to the tongue actuator (50) to change the angular position of the tongue about the tongue pivot axis relative to the implement structure (20) when the rear ground engaging element of the tow vehicle (22) is within the pre-defined distance of the implement structure [Figures 1, 3 and 4].
Regarding claim 10, as discussed and motivated in claims 1-2, the modified invention also teaches wherein the contact avoidance algorithm is operable to communicate a tongue control signal to the tongue actuator (50) to change the angular position of the tongue about the tongue pivot axis relative to the implement structure when the object other than the rear ground engaging element of the tow vehicle (22) is identified and the object is within the pre-defined distance of the implement structure [para. 0011, 0026-0028; and Figures 1, 3 and 4].
Regarding claims 12, 13 and 20; see discussion and motivation in claims 2, 3 and 10.
Conclusion
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
August 19, 2026
/JHH/
/Johnny H. Hoang/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747