DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment After Non-Final Rejection filed 05/11/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
The markings of the amendments to the claims for the claim set filed 05/11/2026 are not in accordance with the manner of making amendments described by MPEP 714. MPEP 714(c) details the proper procedure for marking claim amendments.
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of "canceled" or "not entered" may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of "currently amended," and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of "currently amended," or "withdrawn" if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as "withdrawn— currently amended."
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of "original," "withdrawn" or "previously presented" will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of "withdrawn" or "previously presented." Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of "new" and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of "canceled" or "not entered."
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as "canceled" will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a "new" claim with a new claim number.
Applicant is requested to comply with proper claim amendment marking procedure in future amendments.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 05/11/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,373,901 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Anvaripour (US 2022/0207805) does not disclose the newly added claim limitations, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Anvaripour discloses a first capture interface in a first mode for capturing a single video clip (Fig. 5, [0097]), a preview interface for editing captured clips (Figs. 5, 7, [0111], [0123]), and a second capture interface for capturing multiple video clips, presented in response to selection of add video button 710 and camera mode selection button 510, which includes different buttons 520, 514, 516 and 518 from the first capture interface ([0098], [0100], [0115]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anvaripour et al. (US 2022/0207805), herein Anvaripour.
Consider claim 1, Anvaripour clearly teaches a method of content capturing, comprising:
presenting a first page, the first page being configured to obtain a first media content segment in a first mode; (Fig. 5: The capture user interface 502 includes camera mode selection button 510 which is placed into first camera mode for capturing a single video clip, [0049], [0092]-[0094].)
in response to capturing completion of the first media content segment, presenting a first editing page, the first editing page being configured to edit at least the first media content segment, (Figs. 5, 7: After capturing the video clip a preview user interface 504, 702 is displayed which includes editing tools 526, 704 for editing the captured clips, [0111], [0123].) wherein the first editing page comprises a predetermined control, the predetermined control being configured to trigger addition of a new media content segment; (Fig. 7: The preview user interface 702 includes an add video button 710 to capture additional video clips, [0109], [0126].) and
in response to a trigger on the predetermined control, presenting a second page, the second page being configured to obtain at least one second media content segment in a second mode, wherein the second page is different from the first page, and the second page supports capturing of a plurality of media content segments in the second mode (Figs. 5, 7: The second capture mode can be selected using add video button 710 and camera mode selection button 510, the interface is different from the first, and includes first and second tap gestures for pausing and restarting video capture to capture multiple video clips, [0095], [0097]-[0100], [0115]-[0122].) and the first media content segment and the at least one second media content segment are associated with one video. (Fig. 5: Expanded view 524 shows video clips 1-5 combined into one video, [0091], [0102], [0103].)
Consider claim 2, Anvaripour clearly teaches the second page comprises at least one of: a first control to trigger capturing of the at least one second media content segment, (Fig. 5: Capture button 520, [0098]) or a second control to trigger uploading of the at least one second media content segment from an album.
Consider claim 3, Anvaripour clearly teaches at least one of the first media content segment or the at least one second media content segment comprises: a video segment, or an image. (Video clips or images may be captured, [0093].)
Consider claim 4, Anvaripour clearly teaches presenting the first page comprises: in response to a capturing start instruction, presenting a first capturing start page, the first capturing start page comprising at least a capturing control; and in response to a trigger on the capturing control, presenting the first page. (Fig. 5: The capture user interface 502 includes capture button 520 to record video clips, [0093], [0097].)
Consider claim 5, Anvaripour clearly teaches presenting the second page comprises: in response to a trigger on the predetermined control, presenting a second capturing start page, the second capturing start page comprising at least a capturing control; (Fig. 7: The preview user interface 504, 702 includes an add video button 710 for switching back to the capture user interface 502 to capture an additional video clip, [0109], [0126].) and in response to a trigger on the capturing control, presenting the second page. (Fig. 5: The capture user interface 502 includes capture button 520 to record video clips, [0093], [0097].)
Consider claim 7, Anvaripour clearly teaches in response to completion of obtaining the at least one second media content segment, presenting a second editing page, the second editing page being configured to at least edit the first media content segment and the at least one second media content segment. (Figs. 5, 7: After capturing the additional video clip a preview user interface 504, 702 is displayed which includes editing tools 526, 704 for editing the captured clips and video preview 708 in which each clip is represented, [0109], [0111], [0123], [0126].)
Consider claim 8, Anvaripour clearly teaches an editing result of the first media content segment is maintained in the first editing page and in the second editing page. (All video clips and edits are preserved when switching between the preview user interface 702 and the capture user interface 502, [0109], [0110], [0126], [0127].)
Consider claim 9, Anvaripour clearly teaches in response to a total length of media content segments reaching an upper limit of video duration, presenting the first editing page; or in response to the total length of media content segments reaching the upper limit of video duration, presenting the a second editing page, the second editing page being configured to at least edit the first media content segment and the at least one second media content segment. (Camera system 214 prevents recording of subsequent video clips if a maximum duration is reached, [0104]. Capture user interface 502 is automatically switched to preview user interface 504 following the capture of a clip, [0107].)
Consider claim 10, Anvaripour clearly teaches a trigger on new capturing is disabled in the first editing page or the second editing page where the total length of the media content segments reaches the upper limit of video duration. (Camera system 214 prevents recording of subsequent video clips if a maximum duration is reached, [0104].)
Consider claim 11, Anvaripour clearly teaches presenting the second page comprises: presenting at least one of the following indications in the second page: an indication of a remaining capturing duration, which is determined based on a difference between the upper limit of video duration and the total length of the media content segments, or an indication of a capturing progress of the at least one second media content segment. (Fig. 5: Timeline progress bar 514 is updated in real-time, [0103].)
Consider claim 14, Anvaripour clearly teaches an electronic device, comprising:
at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions to be executed by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, causing the electronic device to perform acts (Fig. 11, [0163]) comprising:
presenting a first page, the first page being configured to obtain a first media content segment in a first mode; (Fig. 5: The capture user interface 502 includes camera mode selection button 510 which is placed into first camera mode for capturing a single video clip, [0049], [0092]-[0094].)
in response to capturing completion of the first media content segment, presenting a first editing page, the first editing page being configured to edit at least the first media content segment, (Figs. 5, 7: After capturing the video clip a preview user interface 504, 702 is displayed which includes editing tools 526, 704 for editing the captured clips, [0111], [0123].) wherein the first editing page comprises a predetermined control, the predetermined control being configured to trigger addition of a new media content segment; (Fig. 7: The preview user interface 504, 702 includes an add video button 710 to capture additional video clips, [0109], [0126].) and
in response to a trigger on the predetermined control, presenting a second page, the second page being configured to obtain at least one second media content segment in a second mode, wherein the second page is different from the first page, and the second page supports capturing of a plurality of media content segments in the second mode, (Figs. 5, 7: The second capture mode can be selected using add video button 710 and camera mode selection button 510, the interface is different from the first, and includes first and second tap gestures for pausing and restarting video capture to capture multiple video clips, [0095], [0097]-[0100], [0115]-[0122].) and the first media content segment and the at least one second media content segment are associated with one video. (Fig. 5: Expanded view 524 shows video clips 1-5 combined into one video, [0091], [0102], [0103].)
Consider claim 15, Anvaripour clearly teaches the second page comprises at least one of: a first control to trigger capturing of the at least one second media content segment, (Fig. 5: Capture button 520, [0098]) or a second control to trigger uploading of the at least one second media content segment from an album.
Consider claim 16, Anvaripour clearly teaches at least one of the first media content segment or the at least one second media content segment comprises: a video segment, or an image. (Video clips or images may be captured, [0093].)
Consider claim 17, Anvaripour clearly teaches presenting the first page comprises: in response to a capturing start instruction, presenting a first capturing start page, the first capturing start page comprising at least a capturing control; and in response to a trigger on the capturing control, presenting the first page. (Fig. 5: The capture user interface 502 includes capture button 520 to record video clips, [0093], [0097].)
Consider claim 18, Anvaripour clearly teaches presenting the second page comprises: in response to a trigger on the predetermined control, presenting a second capturing start page, the second capturing start page comprising at least a capturing control; (Fig. 7: The preview user interface 504, 702 includes an add video button 710 for switching back to the capture user interface 502 to capture an additional video clip, [0109], [0126].) and in response to a trigger on the capturing control, presenting the second page. (Fig. 5: The capture user interface 502 includes capture button 520 to record video clips, [0093], [0097].)
Consider claim 20, Anvaripour clearly teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program, when executed by a processor, implementing acts (Fig. 11, [0163]) comprising:
presenting a first page, the first page being configured to obtain a first media content segment in a first mode; (Fig. 5: The capture user interface 502 includes camera mode selection button 510 which is placed into first camera mode for capturing a single video clip, [0049], [0092]-[0094].)
in response to capturing completion of the first media content segment, presenting a first editing page, the first editing page being configured to edit at least the first media content segment, (Figs. 5, 7: After capturing the video clip a preview user interface 504, 702 is displayed which includes editing tools 526, 704 for editing the captured clips, [0111], [0123].) wherein the first editing page comprises a predetermined control, the predetermined control being configured to trigger addition of a new media content segment; (Fig. 7: The preview user interface 504, 702 includes an add video button 710 to capture additional video clips, [0109], [0126].) and
in response to a trigger on the predetermined control, presenting a second page, (Fig. 7: The preview user interface 504, 702 includes an add video button 710 to capture additional video clips, [0109], [0126].) the second page being configured to obtain at least one a second media content segment in a second mode, wherein the second page is different from the first page, and the second page support capturing of a plurality of media content segments in the second mode, (Figs. 5, 7: The second capture mode can be selected using add video button 710 and camera mode selection button 510, the interface is different from the first, and includes first and second tap gestures for pausing and restarting video capture to capture multiple video clips, [0095], [0097]-[0100], [0115]-[0122].) and the first media content segment and the at least one second media content segment are associated with one video. (Fig. 5: Expanded view 524 shows video clips 1-5 combined into one video, [0091], [0102], [0103].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anvaripour et al. (US 2022/0207805) in view of Wong et al. (US 2021/0375320), herein Wong.
Consider claim 6, Anvaripour clearly teaches presenting the second capturing start page.
However, Anvaripour does not explicitly teach in response to a trigger for segment alignment, presenting an alignment identifier in the second capturing start page for alignment to at least one object in the first media content segment.
In an analogous art, Wong, which discloses a system for video processing, clearly teaches in response to a trigger for segment alignment, presenting an alignment identifier in the second capturing start page for alignment to at least one object in the first media content segment. (Fig. 2C: Ghost icon 220 enables the user to align an object in the first video clip with the same object in the second video clip, [0069].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Anvaripour by in response to a trigger for segment alignment, presenting an alignment identifier in the second capturing start page for alignment to at least one object in the first media content segment, as taught by Wong, for the benefit of enabling the user to seamlessly stitch together the video clips.
Consider claim 19, Anvaripour combined with Wong clearly teaches presenting the second capturing start page comprises: in response to a trigger for segment alignment, presenting an alignment identifier in the second capturing start page for alignment to at least one object in the first media content segment. (Fig. 2C: Ghost icon 220 enables the user to align an object in the first video clip with the same object in the second video clip, [0069] Wong.)
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anvaripour et al. (US 2022/0207805) in view of Anvaripour et al. (US 2022/0210337), herein Anvaripour ‘337.
Consider claim 12, Anvaripour clearly teaches presenting the first editing page comprises: presenting a first segment identifier of the first media content segment in the first editing page. (Fig. 7: Video preview includes individually selectable thumbnails, [0126].)
However, Anvaripour does not explicitly teach in response to a selection of the first segment identifier, presenting a preview window of the first media content segment; and presenting, based on a positioning indicator of the first media content segment in the preview window, a picture of the first media content segment corresponding to the positioning indicator in the first editing page.
In an analogous art, Anvaripour ‘337, which discloses a system for video processing, clearly teaches in response to a selection of the first segment identifier, presenting a preview window of the first media content segment; and presenting, based on a positioning indicator of the first media content segment in the preview window, a picture of the first media content segment corresponding to the positioning indicator in the first editing page. (Figs. 8C, 8D: The user taps on a thumbnail in preview bar 814 corresponding to a video clip and the playback 810 displays the video frame associated with position indicator 816,840, [0141]-[0144].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Anvaripour by in response to a selection of the first segment identifier, presenting a preview window of the first media content segment; and presenting, based on a positioning indicator of the first media content segment in the preview window, a picture of the first media content segment corresponding to the positioning indicator in the first editing page, as taught by Anvaripour ‘337, for the benefit of allowing the user greater control over the video clip edits.
Consider claim 13, Anvaripour combined with Anvaripour ‘337 clearly teaches in response to deletion of the first segment identifier, deleting the first media content segment corresponding to the first segment identifier. (Thumbnails are individually selectable for deletion, [0126] Anvaripour.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425