DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Geer et al. (US Patent Number 8573695).
Regarding claim 1, Van Geer discloses a child seat (see at least the abstract, Figures 5, 6, etc.) configured to be secured to a car seat, the child seat comprising: a base (1) comprising a first side, a second side opposite the first side, and a receiving region (generally central region) between the first side and the second side, wherein the base is configured to receive a belt (22) of the car seat from the first side to the second side and within the receiving region; and a tensioning mechanism (including 9, 30, etc.) pivotably attached to the base within the receiving region, wherein the tensioning mechanism is adjustable between a first configuration and a second configuration, wherein, in the first configuration, the tensioning mechanism is configured to receive a portion of the belt (as in Figure 1), wherein, in the second configuration, the tensioning mechanism is configured to apply tension to the portion of the belt (as in Figure 2), and wherein, in both the first configuration and the second configuration, the tensioning mechanism and the base define a tortuous, nonlinear belt pathway from the first side of the base to the second side of the base (this is the general arrangement; see figures).
Regarding claim 2, Van Geer further discloses the tensioning mechanism comprises a first arm (30) and a second arm (32 and/or 9) pivotably attached to the first arm, wherein, in the first configuration, first arm extends at a first angle relative to the second arm, and in the second configuration, the first arm extends at a second angle relative to the second arm that is different from the first angle (see at least Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, Van Geer further discloses the tensioning mechanism comprises a bottom arm (32) and a top arm (30), wherein the bottom arm is pivotably connected to the base (at least via 9 for instance) within the receiving region, and wherein the top arm is pivotably connected to the bottom arm (at 33).
Regarding claim 4, Van Geer further discloses the bottom arm comprises a first end (at 34) and a second end (at 33) opposite from the first end, wherein the top arm comprises a first end and a second end opposite from the first end, wherein the first end of the bottom arm is pivotably attached to the base (at 9), and wherein the second end of the bottom arm is pivotably attached to the top arm between the first end and the second end of the top arm (see at least Figure 1 showing connection 33 between ends of 30).
Regarding claim 5, Van Geer further discloses the top arm further comprises a top side and a bottom side, and wherein the second end of the bottom arm is pivotably attached to the bottom side of the top arm between the first end and the second end of the top arm (see again Figure 1 showing this arrangement).
Regarding claim 6, Van Geer further discloses the top arm further comprises a front end, a back end opposite the front end, a top side, and a bottom side opposite the top side, and wherein the belt pathway is defined between the bottom side of the top arm and the base and between the bottom arm and the front end of the top arm (this is the general arrangement; see again Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Van Geer discloses a child seat (see at least the abstract, Figures 5, 6, etc.) configured to be secured to a car seat, the child seat comprising: a base (1) comprising a first side, a second side opposite the first side, and a receiving region (generally central region) between the first side and the second side, wherein the base is configured to receive a belt (22) of the car seat from the first side to the second side and within the receiving region; and a tensioning mechanism (including 9, 30, etc.) pivotably attached to the base within the receiving region (see figures).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it shows a range of related devices.
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636