DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 124 (Figure 1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0012], line 4, “104” should be replaced with --112--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 2, “a delivery tubing engaging” should be replaced with --the delivery tubing engaging portion--.
In claim 9, line 2, “a delivery tubing engaging” should be replaced with --the delivery tubing engaging portion--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 102903407 A) in view of Schultz (US 2006/0006643).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, and 5, Zhao et al. discloses an adapter (element 19, Fig. 1) for securely engaging an eddy current probe shaft (see Fig. 2) to a length of delivery tubing (element 20, Fig. 2), comprising: a tubular body (see Fig. 2) having a probe shaft engaging portion (i.e., thread) (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2) and a delivery tubing engaging portion (i.e., thread) (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2), wherein the probe shaft engaging portion is sized for receipt within a central aperture of the delivery tubing (see Fig. 2), wherein the probe shaft engaging portion comprises a threaded portion (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2) for frictionally engaging an inside surface of the delivery tubing (see Fig. 2).
Although Zhao et al. does not appear to discloses the probe shaft engaging portion having a barbed portion, Schultz shows that an engaging portion comprising a barbed portion (see Fig. 1) comprising at least one barb (element 22, Fig. 1) and a threaded portion (see Fig. 1) comprising a number of discrete threads (elements 40, Fig. 1), wherein the tubular body further comprises a flange (element 60, Fig. 1) that projects radially from the tubular body between the engaging portion and the tubing engaging portion, wherein an outside diameter of the flange is approximately equal to an outside diameter of the tubing (see Fig. 1), and wherein the tubular body further comprises a forward portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below) between the threaded portion and the flange, wherein an outside diameter of the forward portion is less than an outside diameter of the threaded portion to form an annular cavity therearound (see Fig. 1) to receive adhesive therein during assembly of the tubing to the tubing adapter (i.e., the Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim) is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improved fitting of the tubing.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao et al. discloses an adapter, wherein the threaded portion comprises a number of discrete threads (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, 7, 9, and 10, Zhao et al. discloses an eddy current probe system (see Fig. 2), comprising: a probe head (see Fig. 2); a delivery tubing adapter (element 19, Fig. 1); and delivery tubing (element 20, Fig. 1) coupled to the probe head via the delivery tubing adapter for pushing or pulling the probe head into or out of a conduit under test, wherein the delivery tubing adapter comprises: a tubular body (see Fig. 2) having a probe shaft engaging portion (i.e., thread) (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2) and a delivery tubing engaging portion (i.e., thread) (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2), wherein the probe shaft engaging portion is sized for receipt within a central aperture of the delivery tubing (see Fig. 2), wherein the probe shaft engaging portion comprises a threaded portion (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2) for frictionally engaging an inside surface of the delivery tubing (see Fig. 2).
Although Zhao et al. does not appear to discloses the probe shaft engaging portion having a barbed portion, Schultz shows that an engaging portion comprising a barbed portion (see Fig. 1) comprising at least one barb (element 22, Fig. 1) and a threaded portion (see Fig. 1) comprising a number of discrete threads (elements 40, Fig. 1), wherein the tubular body further comprises a flange (element 60, Fig. 1) that projects radially from the tubular body between the engaging portion and the tubing engaging portion, wherein an outside diameter of the flange is approximately equal to an outside diameter of the tubing (see Fig. 1), and wherein the tubular body further comprises a forward portion (see annotated Fig. 1 above) between the threaded portion and the flange, wherein an outside diameter of the forward portion is less than an outside diameter of the threaded portion to form an annular cavity therearound (see Fig. 1) to receive adhesive therein during assembly of the tubing to the tubing adapter (i.e., the Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim) is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improved fitting of the tubing.
Regarding claim 8, Zhao et al. discloses an eddy current probe system, wherein the threaded portion comprises a number of discrete threads (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao et al. discloses an eddy current probe system, wherein an interior surface of the delivery tubing includes a threaded portion (i.e., thread) (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2) configured to engage the threaded portion of the delivery tubing adapter (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao et al. discloses an eddy current probe system, wherein threaded portion on the interior surface of the delivery tubing includes an entirety of the interior surface of the delivery tubing (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao et al. discloses an eddy current probe system, wherein the threaded portion on the interior surface of the delivery tubing is formed oppositely from the threaded portion of the delivery tubing adapter (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2).
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 102903407 A) in view of Klein et al. (US 6,899,355).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Zhao et al. discloses an adapter (element 19, Fig. 1) for securely engaging an eddy current probe shaft (see Fig. 2) to a length of delivery tubing (element 20, Fig. 2), comprising: a tubular body (see Fig. 2) having a probe shaft engaging portion (i.e., thread) (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2) and a delivery tubing engaging portion (i.e., thread) (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2), wherein the probe shaft engaging portion is sized for receipt within a central aperture of the delivery tubing (see Fig. 2), wherein the probe shaft engaging portion comprises a threaded portion (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2) for frictionally engaging an inside surface of the delivery tubing (see Fig. 2).
Although Zhao et al. does not appear to discloses the probe shaft engaging portion having a barbed portion, Klein et al. shows that an engaging portion comprising a barbed portion (see Fig. 2) comprising at least one barb (element 20, Fig. 2) and a threaded portion (see Fig. 2) comprising a number of discrete threads (elements 24, 26, Fig. 2) is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improved fitting of the tubing.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao et al. discloses an adapter, wherein the threaded portion comprises a number of discrete threads (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6 and 7, Zhao et al. discloses an eddy current probe system (see Fig. 2), comprising: a probe head (see Fig. 2); a delivery tubing adapter (element 19, Fig. 1); and delivery tubing (element 20, Fig. 1) coupled to the probe head via the delivery tubing adapter for pushing or pulling the probe head into or out of a conduit under test, wherein the delivery tubing adapter comprises: a tubular body (see Fig. 2) having a probe shaft engaging portion (i.e., thread) (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2) and a delivery tubing engaging portion (i.e., thread) (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2), wherein the probe shaft engaging portion is sized for receipt within a central aperture of the delivery tubing (see Fig. 2), wherein the probe shaft engaging portion comprises a threaded portion (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2) for frictionally engaging an inside surface of the delivery tubing (see Fig. 2).
Although Zhao et al. does not appear to discloses the probe shaft engaging portion having a barbed portion, Klein et al. shows that an engaging portion comprising a barbed portion (see Fig. 2) comprising at least one barb (element 20, Fig. 2) and a threaded portion (see Fig. 2) comprising a number of discrete threads (elements 24, 26, Fig. 2) is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improved fitting of the tubing.
Regarding claim 8, Zhao et al. discloses an eddy current probe system, wherein the threaded portion comprises a number of discrete threads (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao et al. discloses an eddy current probe system, wherein an interior surface of the delivery tubing includes a threaded portion (i.e., thread) (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2) configured to engage the threaded portion of the delivery tubing adapter (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao et al. discloses an eddy current probe system, wherein threaded portion on the interior surface of the delivery tubing includes an entirety of the interior surface of the delivery tubing (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao et al. discloses an eddy current probe system, wherein the threaded portion on the interior surface of the delivery tubing is formed oppositely from the threaded portion of the delivery tubing adapter (see par. [0041] and Fig. 2).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Draper et al. (US 7,819,035) discloses a detachable, quick disconnect system for nondestructive testing components. Lakhan et al. (US 9,593,930) discloses a probe apparatus having a conventional eddy current probe. Samson (US 2004/0257072) discloses a dual sensitivity eddy current test probe. Turk et al. (US 10,537,073) discloses a conduit with connector and assembly thereof.
Contact Information
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/M.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
7/7/2026