DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a Continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/202,771, filed May 26, 2023, now U.S. Patent 12,234,128, which is a Continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/406,343, filed August 19, 2021, now U.S. Patent 11,702,322, which is a Continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 16/559,299, filed September 3, 2019, now U.S. Patent 11,136,223.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the accessory “further configured to shred materials” and the “teeth” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “non-rigid” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “non-rigid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, and 8-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, 2-10, and 14-17, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11, 702,322. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application completely encompass the claims of the patent. One cannot make or use the invention recited in the claims of the patent without infringing upon the claims of this application.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,234,128. Although the claim at issue is not identical, it is not patentably distinct because the claim of this application completely encompasses the claim of the patent. One cannot make or use the invention recited in the claim of the patent without infringing upon the claim of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Low et al. (US 5,242,059).
Regarding independent claim 1, Low discloses a sorting system, the sorting system comprising: sorting control logic and electronics (32) configured to, in response to a signal generated by an object recognition device (20), convert a compressed air stream into a vacuum airflow (see at least col. 3, lines 25-65); a vacuum extractor device comprising: an inlet (22) and an outlet (24), wherein the vacuum airflow is configured to enter the inlet and exit the outlet; and an accessory (37) coupled to the inlet, wherein the accessory is configured to guide a target object into the inlet; and wherein the vacuum extractor device is configured to extract the target object identified by the sorting control logic and electronics utilizing the vacuum airflow, and further utilizing the vacuum airflow, to pass the target object through the inlet and the outlet to a deposit location (25).
Regarding claims 2-12 and 14-16, Low discloses that the accessory is configured to guide non-rigid material (see at least col. 1, lines 1-20) through into the inlet. The accessory is further configured to shred materials entering the inlet (see at least col. 1, liens 53-65). The accessory is further configured to separate the target object from other materials (see at least col. 1, lines 53-65). The accessory comprises a specific angle (see Fig. 3). The accessory comprises a funnel (see Fig. 5). The accessory comprises teeth (37). The vacuum extractor device is included in a vacuum extraction assembly that comprises a plurality of vacuum extractor devices individually operated by the sorting control logic and electronics via a respective compressed air stream (see at least col. 3, lines 25-65). The vacuum extractor device of the plurality of vacuum extractor devices is selected for operation to capture the target object based on a characteristic of the target object identified by the sorting control logic and electronics (see at least col. 3, line 44 – col. 4, line 15). The characteristic comprises one or more of a size, a shape, an orientation, a material type, or a material composition of the target object (see at least col. 3, line 44 – col. 4, line 15). The object recognition device comprises at least one of: a camera (20), an infrared camera, a non-visible electromagnetic radiation sensor, a magnetic sensor, or a capacitive sensor. Low further discloses a conveyor mechanism (10) configured to channel the target object past the object recognition device and towards the vacuum extractor device. Low further discloses a ducting system (23) coupled to the outlet of the vacuum extractor device, wherein the ducting system is reconfigurable to direct individual target objects to the deposit location (25 when in “second position”; see col. 3, lines 25-35) or another location (14 when in “first position”; see coll. 3, lines 25-35). The sorting control logic and electronics comprises one or more neural processing units (32), wherein the one or more neural processing units are configured to distinguish the target object from one or more non- target objects based on a neural network parameter set (see at least col. 3, line 65 – col. 4, line 15). The one or more neural processing units further identify predefined characteristics of the target object based on the neural network parameter set (see at least col. 3, line 65 – col. 4, line 15).
Regarding independent claim 17, Low discloses A method, the method comprising: in response to a signal generated by an object recognition device (20), converting a compressed air stream using sorting control logic and electronics (32) into a vacuum airflow through a vacuum extractor device (see at least col. 3, lines 25-65), wherein the vacuum extractor device having an inlet (22) and an outlet (24), wherein the vacuum airflow enters the inlet and exits the outlet, wherein the vacuum extractor device further includes an accessory (37) coupled to the inlet, wherein the accessory is configured to guide a target object into the inlet; utilizing the vacuum airflow to extract the target object identified by the sorting control logic and electronics by drawing the target object in through the inlet of the vacuum extractor device and out through the outlet of the vacuum extractor device (see at least col. 3, lines 25-65);; and discharging the target object to a deposit location (25).
Regarding dependent claims 18-20, Low discloses that the vacuum extractor device is included in a vacuum extraction assembly that comprises a plurality of vacuum extractor devices individually operated by the sorting control logic and electronics via a respective compressed air stream (see at least col. 3, lines 25-65). Low further discloses selecting the vacuum extractor device for operation to extract the target object based on a characteristic of the target object identified by the sorting control logic and electronics (see at least col. 3, line 44 – col. 4, line 15). The object recognition device comprises at least one of: a camera (20), an infrared camera, a non-visible electromagnetic radiation sensor, a magnetic sensor or a capacitive sensor
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-10, 12, 13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans et al. (US 5,040,353).
Regarding independent claim 1, Evans discloses a sorting system, the sorting system comprising: sorting control logic and electronics (PLC) configured to, in response to a signal generated by an object recognition device (see at least col. 7, line 12, “detection station”), convert a compressed air stream into a vacuum airflow; a vacuum extractor device comprising: an inlet (generally at 20A) and an outlet (20B), wherein the vacuum airflow is configured to enter the inlet and exit the outlet; and an accessory (20A) coupled to the inlet, wherein the accessory is configured to guide a target object into the inlet; and wherein the vacuum extractor device is configured to extract the target object identified by the sorting control logic and electronics utilizing the vacuum airflow (see at least col. 7, lines 10-60), and further utilizing the vacuum airflow, to pass the target object through the inlet and the outlet to a deposit location (see at least col. 7, lines 20-60).
Regarding claims 4-6, 8-10, 12, 13, and 15-16, Evans discloses that the accessory is further configured to separate the target object from other materials (see at least col. 7, lines 10-60). The accessory comprises a specific angle (see Fig. 6). The accessory comprises a funnel (see Fig. 6). The vacuum extractor device is included in a vacuum extraction assembly that comprises a plurality of vacuum extractor devices (see Fig. 1) individually operated by the sorting control logic and electronics via a respective compressed air stream (see abstract). The vacuum extractor device of the plurality of vacuum extractor devices is selected for operation to capture the target object based on a characteristic of the target object identified by the sorting control logic and electronics (see at least col. 7, lines 10-60). The characteristic comprises one or more of a size, a shape, an orientation, a material type, or a material composition of the target object ((see at least col. 7, lines 20-60). Evans further discloses a conveyor mechanism (S) configured to channel the target object past the object recognition device and towards the vacuum extractor device. The conveyor mechanism comprises one or more raised features, recessed features, or perforation features, configured to provide airflow for intake into the vacuum airflow (see at least Fig. 6). The sorting control logic and electronics comprises one or more neural processing units (PLC), wherein the one or more neural processing units are configured to distinguish the target object from one or more non- target objects based on a neural network parameter set (see at least col. 7, lines 10-60). The one or more neural processing units further identify predefined characteristics of the target object based on the neural network parameter set (see at least col. 7, lines 10-60).
Regarding independent claim 17, Evans discloses A method, the method comprising: in response to a signal generated by an object recognition device (see at least col. 7, line 12, “detection station”), converting a compressed air stream using sorting control logic and electronics (PLC) into a vacuum airflow through a vacuum extractor device, wherein the vacuum extractor device having an inlet (generally at 20A) and an outlet (20B), wherein the vacuum airflow enters the inlet and exits the outlet, wherein the vacuum extractor device further includes an accessory (20A) coupled to the inlet, wherein the accessory is configured to guide a target object into the inlet; utilizing the vacuum airflow to extract the target object identified by the sorting control logic and electronics by drawing the target object in through the inlet of the vacuum extractor device and out through the outlet of the vacuum extractor device (see at least col. 7, lines 10-60); and discharging the target object to a deposit location (see at least col. 7, lines 10-60).
Regarding dependent claims 18-19, Evans discloses that the vacuum extractor device is included in a vacuum extraction assembly that comprises a plurality of vacuum extractor devices individually operated by the sorting control logic and electronics via a respective compressed air stream (see at least col. 7, lines 10-60). Evans further discloses selecting the vacuum extractor device for operation to extract the target object based on a characteristic of the target object identified by the sorting control logic and electronics (see at least col. 7, lines 10-60).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Borrell (US 2019/0374978) and Lukka et al. (2021/0061588) disclose similar vacuum extraction systems which utilize venturi nozzles.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653