DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant provided information disclosure statement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 is allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the independent claims were amended in such a way as to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action. The closest prior art to these claims include Katayama (US20140142774A1) in further view of Schubert (US11598544B1) in further view Kawamura (20220100188) who teaches missing information with respect to operation plan creation. However, with respect to exemplary claim 5 and 6, the closest prior art of record, either alone or taken in combination with any other references of record, do not anticipate or render obvious the claimed functionality of claims 5 and 6.
Claims 9 is allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the independent claims were amended in such a way as to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action. The closest prior art to these claims include Katayama (US20140142774A1) in further view of Schubert (US11598544B1) in further view Glassman (20120316984) who teaches a companion application with respect to home appliances. However, with respect to exemplary claim 9, the closest prior art of record, either alone or taken in combination with any other references of record, do not anticipate or render obvious the claimed functionality of claims 9.
Claims 12 is allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the independent claims were amended in such a way as to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action. The closest prior art to these claims include Katayama (US20140142774A1) in further view of Schubert (US11598544B1) in further view of Kitchen (20230291789) who teaches a missing gateway. However, with respect to exemplary claim 12, the closest prior art of record, either alone or taken in combination with any other references of record, do not anticipate or render obvious the claimed functionality of claims 12.
Claims 13 is allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the independent claims were amended in such a way as to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action. The closest prior art to these claims include Katayama (US20140142774A1) in further view of Schubert (US11598544B1) in further view of Yoshimoto (US20210111560A1) who teaches weekly and event operation schedule. However, with respect to exemplary claim 13, the closest prior art of record, either alone or taken in combination with any other references of record, do not anticipate or render obvious the claimed functionality of claims 13.
Claims 18-20 are allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the independent claims were amended in such a way as to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action. The closest prior art to these claims include Katayama (US20140142774A1) in further view of Schubert (US11598544B1) in further view of Fadell (US20150120596 A1) who teaches smart plugs/sockets and teaches a mesh network. However, with respect to exemplary claims 18-20, the closest prior art of record, either alone or taken in combination with any other references of record, do not anticipate or render obvious the claimed functionality of claims 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Regarding Step 1 of subject matter eligibility for whether the claims fall within a statutory category (See MPEP 2106.03), claims 1-20 are directed to a method.
Regarding step 2A-1, Claims 1-20 recite a Judicial Exception. Exemplary independent claim 1 and similarly claims 11 and 16 recite the limitations of
…managing equipment schedules…determining…an equipment schedule… associating the equipment schedule…altering…operations…accordance with the equipment schedule associated therewith; and displaying information associated…via a dashboard
These limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation cover concepts of managing, determining, associating, altering, and displaying formation. The claim limitations fall under the abstract idea grouping of mental process, because the limitations can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. For example, but for the language of a network and light-weight web-based supervisor, the claim language encompasses managing equipment schedules, determining equipment schedules, associating the determined equipment schedule, altering operations based on the equipment schedule, and displaying information. These steps are mere data manipulation steps that don’t require a computer. A user is able to manage and determine an equipment schedule. A user is also able to associate an equipment schedule as well as alter operations based on an equipment schedule. A user is also capable of displaying information on a dashboard. Given a real-world example, these steps can be carried out by a manager who is in charge of managing equipment. Determining a schedule and implementing it is not novel and has been done before the technological age.
The claims recite determining and managing a schedule with respect to equipment. The Applicant’s specification in para 0003 also recite building management and para 0040-0042 recite reducing costs with respect to managing a building. These make the claims fall in the abstract idea grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices; business relations). It is clear the limitations recite these abstract idea groupings, but for the recitations of generic computer components. The mere nominal recitations of generic computer components does not take the limitations out of the mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. The claims are focused on the combination of these abstract idea processes.
Regarding step 2A-2- This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The Independent claims recite the additional elements of lightweight web-based supervisor, network, wireless network, commissions IoT devices, and commissioned devices
These components are recited at a high level of generality, and merely automate the steps. Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components or software. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Further, the claims do not provide for recite any improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field; applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition; applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; or applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The dependent claims have the same deficiencies as their parent claims as being directed towards an abstract idea, as the dependent claims merely narrow the scope of their parent claims. For example, the dependent claims further describe what the additional elements entail such as the wireless network being a mesh wireless network and the IoT devices being smart sockets. In addition, the dependent claims further recite additional abstract idea steps with respect to the commissioned devices such as determining an equipment group.
Regarding step 2B the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because claim 1, 11, and 16 recite
Method, however method is not considered an additional element.
Claim 1 further recites lightweight web-based supervisor, network, commissioned devices.
Claim 5 recites additional device
Claim 7 recites hub and webserver
Claim 8 recites user interface
Claim 9 recites companion application and mobile device
Claim 11 recites lightweight web-based supervisor, network, commissioned devices, gateway,
Claim 14 recites desktop, a laptop, a tablet, a server, or an all-in-one (AIO) computing device, and wherein the desktop, the laptop, the tablet, the server, the all-in-one (AIO) computing device, and user interface
Claim 16 recites lightweight web-based supervisor, wireless network, commissioned internet of things (IoT) devices
Claim 17 recites network, firmware, application
Claim 18 recites mesh network
Claim 19 recites smart socket
When looking at these additional elements individually, the additional elements are purely functional and generic the Applicant specification states general purpose computer configurations in para 0064.
When looking at the additional elements in combination, the Applicant’s specification merely states general purpose computer configurations as seen in para 0064. The computer components add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. See MPEP 2106.05
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination and individually adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use generic computer components, recitations of generic computer structure to perform generic computer functions that are used to "apply" the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katayama (US20140142774A1) in further view of Schubert (US11598544B1).
Regarding claim 1, Katayama teaches
A method (See para 0008-An energy management method which collectively considers electrical equipment in a home and an on-vehicle battery is particularly required.)
the method comprising: automatically determining, via an instance of a lightweight web-based supervisor, an equipment schedule associated with the one or more commissioned devices in the network (See figure 2) Figure 2 shows the cloud computing system which corresponds to the lightweight web-based supervisor. This cloud computing system determines an equipment schedule as seen here (See para 0028-The calculation unit calculates, based on the energy demand and the energy generation amount, an operation schedule of the electrical equipment to optimize an energy balance in the building). This is also with respect to commission devices which correspond to the smart meters as seen in para 0035, terminal 105 as seen in para 0047, and/or the distribution switchboard 20 as seen in para 0036.
automatically associating the equipment schedule, via the instance of the lightweight web-based supervisor, with the one or more commissioned devices in the network The cloud computing system is automatically associating the commissioned device such as the terminal with the equipment schedule since it sends the schedule to the terminal device.(See para 0059-The control unit 300 d creates control information to control the electrical equipment based on the calculated operation schedule…These pieces of control information are transmitted to the terminal 105 or the home gateway 7 via the communication line 40). The cloud computing system is also automatically associating the commissioned device such as the terminal with the equipment schedule since it receives the data from the terminal first in order to make the equipment schedule. (See para 0052-The collection unit 300 a acquires the operation history of the terminal 105 by the user and the like from the terminal 105.) These steps are done automatically since they are being run on a computer.
automatically altering, via the instance of the lightweight web-based supervisor, operation of the one or more commissioned device in the network in accordance with the equipment schedule associated therewith .(See para 0059-The control unit 300 d creates control information to control the electrical equipment based on the calculated operation schedule…These pieces of control information are transmitted to the terminal 105 or the home gateway 7 via the communication line 40). This shows the operation of the terminal will be altered based on the new control information that the system has determined and sent to the terminal.
and displaying information associated with the one or more commissioned devices via…of the instance of the lightweight web-based supervisor. (See para 0059-These pieces of control information are transmitted to the terminal 105 or the home gateway 7 via the communication line 40) (See para 0059-The terminal 105 of the home 100 includes an interface unit (a user interface 105 a shown in FIG. 3) for reflecting the customer's intention on control of the electrical equipment based on the control information transmitted from the control unit 300 d. The user interface 105 a includes a display device that can display the charge/discharge schedule of the storage battery 102 or the power generation schedule of the FC unit 103. The customer can see the contents displayed on the display device and confirm the schedule or select permission or rejection of execution of the displayed schedule. The customer's intention can thus be reflected on schedule execution) This shows that information associated with the commissioned device such as the equipment schedule is displayed to the user.
However it is not clear that Katayama teaches information being displayed with respect to a dashboard, however Schubert teaches via dashboard (See col. 27-28 The dashboard manager 206 can generate dashboards for display via the user device 148. The user device 148 can provide input via the dashboards. The dashboard can display, and/or provide control over, zone temperature, static pressure, air velocity, particulate matters, gasses, water quality, light status, sunshade status, sanitization status, gym occupancy status, etc.) This shows a dashboard.
Katayama and Schubert are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area of order delivery of building management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Katayama’s invention by incorporating the method of Schubert because Katayama would also be able to implement a dashboard in the terminal device of the house. This would allow the user to see relevant building information in a dashboard setting. A dashboard setting would have a plurality of information on a single interface helping the user quickly gauge information.
Regarding claim 2, Katayama further teaches
further comprising automatically determining an equipment group associated with the one or more commissioned devices (See para 0053- The acquired data are held in the database DB as the data 300 h. The data 300 h include the power demand (demand) of each home 100, the power consumption of each of the home appliances 5, the hot water supply amount and the operation state of the FC unit 103, the charged battery level and the amount of charged/discharged power of the storage battery 102, and the power generation amount of the PV system 101.) (See para 0054- That is, the estimation unit 300 estimates the power demand, hot water demand, PV power generation amount, and the like of the home 100.) The cloud-based system determines the different equipment groups (i.e. appliances, HW supply, PV system) when it receives this data from the collection steps and when it determines the optimal electrical schedule as seen here (See para 0055- The calculation unit 300 c calculates the operation schedule of the electrical equipment based on the control target model 300 g including the storage battery 102 and the FC unit 103 in the home 100, and the estimated power demand, hot water demand, and PV power generation amount.).
Regarding claim 3, Katayama further teaches
determining the equipment schedule associated with the one or more commissioned device in the network based on the equipment group associated with the one or more commissioned devices in the group. The cloud-based system determines the different equipment groups (i.e. appliances, HW supply, PV system) when it determines the optimal electrical schedule as seen here (See para 0055- The calculation unit 300 c calculates the operation schedule of the electrical equipment based on the control target model 300 g including the storage battery 102 and the FC unit 103 in the home 100, and the estimated power demand, hot water demand, and PV power generation amount.).
Regarding claim 4, Katayama further teaches
further comprising automatically determining an equipment group associated with the one or more commissioned devices based on configuration information of the one or more commissioned devices. (See para 0053- The acquired data are held in the database DB as the data 300 h. The data 300 h include the power demand (demand) of each home 100, the power consumption of each of the home appliances 5, the hot water supply amount and the operation state of the FC unit 103, the charged battery level and the amount of charged/discharged power of the storage battery 102, and the power generation amount of the PV system 101.) (See para 0054- That is, the estimation unit 300 estimates the power demand, hot water demand, PV power generation amount, and the like of the home 100.) The cloud-based system determines the different equipment groups (i.e. appliances, HW supply, PV system) when it receives this configuration data from the collection steps and this used to determine estimation which leads to making an operation schedule.
Regarding claim 7, Katayama further teaches
wherein the one or more commissioned devices include a hub that is configured as a web-server to host the instance of the lightweight web-based supervisor.(See fig. 2) This shows a commissioned device can include a web server such as SV in fig. 2. This server corresponds to a hub and this hosts the program that runs the steps of the invention such as steps 300a-300d which correspond to the lightweight web-based supervisor.
Regarding claim 8, Katayama already teaches a hub but doesn’t teach a dashboard, however Schubert teaches
wherein the hub is configured to display a dashboard via a user interface of the hub. (See col. 27-28 The dashboard manager 206 can generate dashboards for display via the user device 148. The user device 148 can provide input via the dashboards. The dashboard can display, and/or provide control over, zone temperature, static pressure, air velocity, particulate matters, gasses, water quality, light status, sunshade status, sanitization status, gym occupancy status, etc.) This shows a dashboard.
Katayama and Schubert are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area of order delivery of building management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Katayama’s invention by incorporating the method of Schubert because Katayama would also be able to implement a dashboard in the terminal device of the house. This would allow the user to see relevant building information in a dashboard setting. A dashboard setting would have a plurality of information on a single interface helping the user quickly gauge information.
Regarding claim 10, Katayama and Schubert teach the limitations of claim 1, Schubert already teaches displaying a dashboard and Katayama already teaches displaying information, however Katayama further teaches displaying a schedule as seen here
wherein the dashboard is configured to display a group associated with the one or more commissioned devices in the network, the equipment schedule associated with the one or more commissioned devices in the network, or both. (See para 0050- The user interface 105 a includes a display device that can display the charge/discharge schedule of the storage battery 102 or the power generation schedule of the FC unit 103. The customer can see the contents displayed on the display device and confirm the schedule or select permission or rejection of execution of the displayed schedule.)
Katayama and Schubert are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area of order delivery of building management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Katayama’s invention by incorporating the method of Schubert because Katayama would also be able to implement a dashboard in the terminal device of the house. This would allow the user to see relevant building information in a dashboard setting. A dashboard setting would have a plurality of information on a single interface helping the user quickly gauge information.
Regarding claim 16 and similarly claim 11, Katayama teaches
A method…via an instance of a lightweight web-based supervisor that is provisioned to a wireless network including one or more commissioned internet of things (IoT) devices (See para 0008-An energy management method which collectively considers electrical equipment in a home and an on-vehicle battery is particularly required.) (See figure 2) Figure 2 shows the cloud computing system which corresponds to the lightweight web-based supervisor. This cloud computing system is with respect to a wireless network as seen here (See para 0049- The IP network 200 may include a wireless or wired communication infrastructure to form a bidirectional communication environment between the home gateway 7 and the cloud 300.) This is also with respect to IoT commission devices which correspond to the terminal 105 as seen in para 0047, and/or the distribution switchboard 20 as seen in para 0036.
wherein the one or more commissioned IoT devices are wirelessly coupled via the wireless network to one or more hubs, The terminal device corresponds to the commissioned IoT device and this coupled to a hub such as smart meter 19 as seen in fig. 2 through a wireless network such as item 25 in fig. 2.
the method comprising: receiving configuration information associated with one or more commissioned devices in the wireless network (See para 0052- The collection unit 300 a periodically or aperiodically acquires various kinds of data concerning the electrical equipment of the home 100 from the home gateway 7 of the home 100. The collection unit 300 a acquires the operation history of the terminal 105 by the user and the like from the terminal 105.) This teaches receiving information from the terminal 105 which is data associated with the terminal. The terminal 105 is part of the wireless network as seen in fig. 2.
automatically determining, based at least on the configuration information, an equipment group associated with the one or more commissioned devices (See para 0053- The acquired data are held in the database DB as the data 300 h. The data 300 h include the power demand (demand) of each home 100, the power consumption of each of the home appliances 5, the hot water supply amount and the operation state of the FC unit 103, the charged battery level and the amount of charged/discharged power of the storage battery 102, and the power generation amount of the PV system 101.) (See para 0054- That is, the estimation unit 300 estimates the power demand, hot water demand, PV power generation amount, and the like of the home 100.) The cloud-based system determines the different equipment groups (i.e. appliances, HW supply, PV system) when it receives this data from the collection steps and when it determines the optimal electrical schedule as seen here (See para 0055- The calculation unit 300 c calculates the operation schedule of the electrical equipment based on the control target model 300 g including the storage battery 102 and the FC unit 103 in the home 100, and the estimated power demand, hot water demand, and PV power generation amount.)
automatically determining an equipment schedule corresponding to the equipment group The cloud-based system determines the different equipment groups (i.e. appliances, HW supply, PV system) when it receives this data from the collection steps and when it determines the optimal electrical schedule as seen here (See para 0055- The calculation unit 300 c calculates the operation schedule of the electrical equipment based on the control target model 300 g including the storage battery 102 and the FC unit 103 in the home 100, and the estimated power demand, hot water demand, and PV power generation amount.)
automatically associating the equipment schedule, via the instance of the lightweight web-based supervisor, with the one or more commissioned devices in the wireless network; The cloud computing system is automatically associating the commissioned device such as the terminal with the equipment schedule since it sends the schedule to the terminal device.(See para 0059-The control unit 300 d creates control information to control the electrical equipment based on the calculated operation schedule…These pieces of control information are transmitted to the terminal 105 or the home gateway 7 via the communication line 40). The cloud computing system is also automatically associating the commissioned device such as the terminal with the equipment schedule since it receives the data from the terminal first in order to make the equipment schedule. (See para 0052-The collection unit 300 a acquires the operation history of the terminal 105 by the user and the like from the terminal 105.) These steps are done automatically since they are being run on a computer.
automatically altering, via the instance of the lightweight web-based supervisor, operation of the one or more commissioned device in wireless network in accordance with the equipment schedule associated therewith; (See para 0059-The control unit 300 d creates control information to control the electrical equipment based on the calculated operation schedule…These pieces of control information are transmitted to the terminal 105 or the home gateway 7 via the communication line 40). This shows the operation of the terminal will be altered based on the new control information that the system has determined.
and displaying at least operational information and the equipment group associated with the one or more commissioned devices…of the instance of the lightweight web-based supervisor. (See para 0059-These pieces of control information are transmitted to the terminal 105 or the home gateway 7 via the communication line 40) (See para 0059-The terminal 105 of the home 100 includes an interface unit (a user interface 105 a shown in FIG. 3) for reflecting the customer's intention on control of the electrical equipment based on the control information transmitted from the control unit 300 d. The user interface 105 a includes a display device that can display the charge/discharge schedule of the storage battery 102 or the power generation schedule of the FC unit 103. The customer can see the contents displayed on the display device and confirm the schedule or select permission or rejection of execution of the displayed schedule. The customer's intention can thus be reflected on schedule execution) This shows that information associated with the commissioned device such as the equipment schedule is displayed to the user.
However it is not clear that Katayama teaches information being displayed with respect to a dashboard, however Schubert teaches via dashboard (See col. 27-28 The dashboard manager 206 can generate dashboards for display via the user device 148. The user device 148 can provide input via the dashboards. The dashboard can display, and/or provide control over, zone temperature, static pressure, air velocity, particulate matters, gasses, water quality, light status, sunshade status, sanitization status, gym occupancy status, etc.) This shows a dashboard.
Katayama and Schubert are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area of order delivery of building management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Katayama’s invention by incorporating the method of Schubert because Katayama would also be able to implement a dashboard in the terminal device of the house. This would allow the user to see relevant building information in a dashboard setting. A dashboard setting would have a plurality of information on a single interface helping the user quickly gauge information.
Regarding claim 14, Katayama further teaches
wherein the one or more commissioned devices include a desktop, a laptop, a tablet, a server, or an all-in-one (AIO) computing device, and wherein the desktop, the laptop, the tablet, the server, or the all-in-one (AIO) computing device includes a user interface that is configured to display the dashboard. (See para 0047- The terminal 105 can be, for example, a general-purpose portable information device, personal computer, or tablet terminal as well as a so-called touch panel.)
Regarding claim 15, Katayama already teaches a hub but doesn’t teach a dashboard, however Schubert teaches
wherein the hub is configured to display a dashboard via a user interface of the hub. (See col. 27-28 The dashboard manager 206 can generate dashboards for display via the user device 148. The user device 148 can provide input via the dashboards. The dashboard can display, and/or provide control over, zone temperature, static pressure, air velocity, particulate matters, gasses, water quality, light status, sunshade status, sanitization status, gym occupancy status, etc.) This shows a dashboard.
Katayama and Schubert are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area of order delivery of building management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Katayama’s invention by incorporating the method of Schubert because Katayama would also be able to implement a dashboard in the terminal device of the house. This would allow the user to see relevant building information in a dashboard setting. A dashboard setting would have a plurality of information on a single interface helping the user quickly gauge information.
Regarding claim 17, Katayama further teaches
wherein the configuration information includes one or more of:a type of the one or more commissioned devices;a type of extension associated with the one or more commissioned devices;a device identifier associated with the one or more commissioned devices;a network associated with the one or more commissioned devices;a vendor of the one or more commissioned devices;a make a type of the one or more commissioned devices;a model of the one or more commissioned devices;a version of firmware installed on the one or more commissioned devices; and a version of an application installed on the one or more commissioned devices. The configuration information includes device identifier information such as data about appliances and hot water demand (See para 0053- The acquired data are held in the database DB as the data 300 h. The data 300 h include the power demand (demand) of each home 100, the power consumption of each of the home appliances 5, the hot water supply amount and the operation state of the FC unit 103, the charged battery level and the amount of charged/discharged power of the storage battery 102, and the power generation amount of the PV system 101)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Kawamura (20220100188) who teaches missing information with respect to operation plan creation.
Glassman (20120316984) who teaches a companion application with respect to home appliances.
Kitchen (20230291789 ) who teaches a missing gateway.
Yoshimoto (US20210111560A1 ) who teaches weekly and event operation schedule.
Fadell (US20210111560A1 ) who teaches smart plugs/sockets and teaches a mesh network.
/MUSTAFA IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625