DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 19/015,229 filed 01/09/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dobbelaere (EP 3 890 329).
Consider claim 1, Dobbelaere clearly teaches a method for sending video data, (Fig. 4) wherein the method comprises:
encoding a video stream by using a first encoder in a server, to generate first encoded data, and sending the first encoded data to at least one first user equipment; (Figs. 3, 4: First encoder 3200, which is part of a server platform, encodes media content 3100 and sends a multicast stream 3500 to first remote device 3300, [0052], [0058], [0063].)
in a case that the server receives a first video display request corresponding to the first encoded data and sent by a second user equipment, encoding the video stream by using a second encoder, to generate second encoded data, and sending the second encoded data to the second user equipment; (Figs. 3, 4: Second encoder 3210, which is part of a server platform, is instantiated in response to a request from second remote device 3310 and sends unicast stream 3510 to remote device 3310, [0053], [0059], [0064].) and
in a case that the first encoded data satisfies a preset condition, sending the first encoded data to the second user equipment, continuing to send the first encoded data to the at least one first user equipment, and stopping sending the second encoded data to the second user equipment. (Figs. 3, 4: When I-frames I2 of the multicast stream 3500 and unicast stream 3510 align second remote device 3310 switches to the multicast stream 3500 and second encoder 3210 stops encoding the unicast stream 3510, [0054], [0064].)
Consider claim 2, Dobbelaere clearly teaches the encoding a video stream by using a first encoder in a server, to generate first encoded data (Figs. 3, 4: First encoder 3200, which is part of a server platform, encodes media content 3100 into multicast stream 3500, [0052], [0058], [0063].) comprises:
encoding the video stream by using the first encoder in the server, to generate first I-frame data and a plurality of pieces of P-frame data corresponding to the first I-frame data, wherein the first encoder is configured to generate I-frame data based on the video stream at preset time intervals; (Fig. 1: First encoder 1200 generates group of pictures, GOP, including I-frames and P-frames, [0025], [0033].) and
the in a case that the first encoded data satisfies a preset condition, sending the first encoded data to the second user equipment comprises: in a case that I-frame data next to the first I-frame data is generated by using the first encoder, sending the first encoded data to the second user equipment, wherein a time point at which the first video display request is received is between a time point at which the first I-frame data is generated and a time point at which the I-frame data next to the first I-frame data is generated. (Figs. 3, 4: The request from second remote device 3310 is received between I-frames of the multicast stream 3500 and when I-frames I2 of the multicast stream 3500 and unicast stream 3510 align second remote device 3310 switches to the multicast stream 3500, [0030], [0054], [0064].)
Consider claim 7, Dobbelaere clearly teaches an electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions executable on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device ([0013], [0019], [0022]) to perform:
encoding a video stream by using a first encoder in a server, to generate first encoded data, and sending the first encoded data to at least one first user equipment; (Figs. 3, 4: First encoder 3200, which is part of a server platform, encodes media content 3100 and sends a multicast stream 3500 to first remote device 3300, [0052], [0058], [0063].)
in a case that the server receives a first video display request corresponding to the first encoded data and sent by a second user equipment, encoding the video stream by using a second encoder, to generate second encoded data, and sending the second encoded data to the second user equipment; (Figs. 3, 4: Second encoder 3210, which is part of a server platform, is instantiated in response to a request from second remote device 3310 and sends unicast stream 3510 to remote device 3310, [0053], [0059], [0064].) and
in a case that the first encoded data satisfies a preset condition, sending the first encoded data to the second user equipment, continuing to send the first encoded data to the at least one first user equipment, and stopping sending the second encoded data to the second user equipment. (Figs. 3, 4: When I-frames I2 of the multicast stream 3500 and unicast stream 3510 align second remote device 3310 switches to the multicast stream 3500 and second encoder 3210 stops encoding the unicast stream 3510, [0054], [0064].)
Consider claim 8, Dobbelaere clearly teaches when encoding a video stream by using a first encoder in a server, to generate first encoded data, (Figs. 3, 4: First encoder 3200, which is part of a server platform, encodes media content 3100 into multicast stream 3500, [0052], [0058], [0063].) the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to perform:
encoding the video stream by using the first encoder in the server, to generate first I-frame data and a plurality of pieces of P-frame data corresponding to the first I-frame data, wherein the first encoder is configured to generate I-frame data based on the video stream at preset time intervals; (Fig. 1: First encoder 1200 generates group of pictures, GOP, including I-frames and P-frames, [0025], [0033].) and
when in a case that the first encoded data satisfies a preset condition, sending the first encoded data to the second user equipment, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to perform: in a case that I-frame data next to the first I-frame data is generated by using the first encoder, sending the first encoded data to the second user equipment, wherein a time point at which the first video display request is received is between a time point at which the first I-frame data is generated and a time point at which the I-frame data next to the first I-frame data is generated. (Figs. 3, 4: The request from second remote device 3310 is received between I-frames of the multicast stream 3500 and when I-frames I2 of the multicast stream 3500 and unicast stream 3510 align second remote device 3310 switches to the multicast stream 3500, [0030], [0054], [0064].)
Consider claim 13, Dobbelaere clearly teaches a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor ([0013], [0019], [0022]) to perform:
encoding a video stream by using a first encoder in a server, to generate first encoded data, and sending the first encoded data to at least one first user equipment; (Figs. 3, 4: First encoder 3200, which is part of a server platform, encodes media content 3100 and sends a multicast stream 3500 to first remote device 3300, [0052], [0058], [0063].)
in a case that the server receives a first video display request corresponding to the first encoded data and sent by a second user equipment, encoding the video stream by using a second encoder, to generate second encoded data, and sending the second encoded data to the second user equipment; (Figs. 3, 4: Second encoder 3210, which is part of a server platform, is instantiated in response to a request from second remote device 3310 and sends unicast stream 3510 to remote device 3310, [0053], [0059], [0064].) and
in a case that the first encoded data satisfies a preset condition, sending the first encoded data to the second user equipment, continuing to send the first encoded data to the at least one first user equipment, and stopping sending the second encoded data to the second user equipment. (Figs. 3, 4: When I-frames I2 of the multicast stream 3500 and unicast stream 3510 align second remote device 3310 switches to the multicast stream 3500 and second encoder 3210 stops encoding the unicast stream 3510, [0054], [0064].)
Consider claim 14, Dobbelaere clearly teaches when encoding a video stream by using a first encoder in a server, to generate first encoded data, (Figs. 3, 4: First encoder 3200, which is part of a server platform, encodes media content 3100 into multicast stream 3500, [0052], [0058], [0063].) the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform:
encoding the video stream by using the first encoder in the server, to generate first I-frame data and a plurality of pieces of P-frame data corresponding to the first I-frame data, wherein the first encoder is configured to generate I-frame data based on the video stream at preset time intervals; (Fig. 1: First encoder 1200 generates group of pictures, GOP, including I-frames and P-frames, [0025], [0033]. and
when in a case that the first encoded data satisfies a preset condition, sending the first encoded data to the second user equipment, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to perform: in a case that I-frame data next to the first I-frame data is generated by using the first encoder, sending the first encoded data to the second user equipment, wherein a time point at which the first video display request is received is between a time point at which the first I-frame data is generated and a time point at which the I-frame data next to the first I-frame data is generated. (Figs. 3, 4: The request from second remote device 3310 is received between I-frames of the multicast stream 3500 and when I-frames I2 of the multicast stream 3500 and unicast stream 3510 align second remote device 3310 switches to the multicast stream 3500, [0030], [0054], [0064].)
Consider claim 19, Dobbelaere clearly teaches a chip, wherein the chip comprises a processor and a communication interface, the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or instructions, to implement steps of the method for sending video data according to claim 1. ([0013]-[0022])
Consider claim 20, Dobbelaere clearly teaches a computer program, wherein the computer program is stored in a non-transitory storage medium, and the computer program is executed by at least one processor, to implement steps of the method for sending video data according to claim 1. ([0013], [0019], [0022])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 9, 10, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobbelaere (EP 3 890 329) in view of Johansson et al. (US 2008/0175273), herein Johansson.
Consider claim 3, Dobbelaere clearly teaches the encoding the video stream by using a second encoder, to generate second encoded data comprises: generating the second encoded data that comprises second I-frame data and that is of preset duration. (Fig. 3: Second encoder 3210 generates I-frame I1’ 3211 through I-frame I2 3213, [0025], [0053], [0054].)
However, Dobbelaere does not explicitly teach caching the second encoded data of the preset duration; and in a case that the server receives a second video display request corresponding to the first encoded data and sent by a third user equipment, if duration between a time point at which the second video display request is received and a time point at which the second I-frame data is generated is shorter than the preset duration, sending the cached second encoded data to the third user equipment.
In an analogous art, Johansson, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches caching the second encoded data of the preset duration; and in a case that the server receives a second video display request corresponding to the first encoded data and sent by a third user equipment, if duration between a time point at which the second video display request is received and a time point at which the second I-frame data is generated is shorter than the preset duration, sending the cached second encoded data to the third user equipment. (Figs. 1, 2: GOP 233 is cached in buffer 231 and when client 153, 253 requests access to the stream during P-frame 109, 209 cached I-frame 201 is sent to client 153, 253, [0027], [0029]-[0032].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Dobbelaere by caching the second encoded data of the preset duration; and in a case that the server receives a second video display request corresponding to the first encoded data and sent by a third user equipment, if duration between a time point at which the second video display request is received and a time point at which the second I-frame data is generated is shorter than the preset duration, sending the cached second encoded data to the third user equipment, as taught by Johansson, for the benefit of reducing the number of encoder required to provide the streams.
Consider claim 4, Dobbelaere combined with Johansson clearly teaches after the caching the second encoded data of the preset duration, the method further comprises: in a case that I-frame data next to the second I-frame data is generated by using the second encoder, replacing the cached second encoded data based on the I-frame data next to the second I-frame data. (The buffer is a first-in-first-out buffer, therefore, I-frame 201 will be replaced by I-frame 219 as the video is encoded, [0031], [0032] Johansson.)
Consider claim 9, Dobbelaere combined with Johansson clearly teaches when encoding the video stream by using a second encoder, to generate second encoded data, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to perform: generating the second encoded data that comprises second I-frame data and that is of preset duration; (Fig. 3: Second encoder 3210 generates I-frame I1’ 3211 through I-frame I2 3213, [0025], [0053], [0054] Dobbelaere.) and the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to further perform: caching the second encoded data of the preset duration; and in a case that the server receives a second video display request corresponding to the first encoded data and sent by a third user equipment, if duration between a time point at which the second video display request is received and a time point at which the second I-frame data is generated is shorter than the preset duration, sending the cached second encoded data to the third user equipment. (Figs. 1, 2: GOP 233 is cached in buffer 231 and when client 153, 253 requests access to the stream during P-frame 109, 209 cached I-frame 201 is sent to client 153, 253, [0027], [0029]-[0032] Johansson.)
Consider claim 10, Dobbelaere combined with Johansson clearly teaches after caching the second encoded data of the preset duration, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to further perform: in a case that I-frame data next to the second I-frame data is generated by using the second encoder, replacing the cached second encoded data based on the I-frame data next to the second I-frame data. (The buffer is a first-in-first-out buffer, therefore, I-frame 201 will be replaced by I-frame 219 as the video is encoded, [0031], [0032] Johansson.)
Consider claim 15, Dobbelaere combined with Johansson clearly teaches when encoding the video stream by using a second encoder, to generate second encoded data, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform: generating the second encoded data that comprises second I-frame data and that is of preset duration; (Fig. 3: Second encoder 3210 generates I-frame I1’ 3211 through I-frame I2 3213, [0025], [0053], [0054] Dobbelaere.) and the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to further perform: caching the second encoded data of the preset duration; and in a case that the server receives a second video display request corresponding to the first encoded data and sent by a third user equipment, if duration between a time point at which the second video display request is received and a time point at which the second I-frame data is generated is shorter than the preset duration, sending the cached second encoded data to the third user equipment. (Figs. 1, 2: GOP 233 is cached in buffer 231 and when client 153, 253 requests access to the stream during P-frame 109, 209 cached I-frame 201 is sent to client 153, 253, [0027], [0029]-[0032] Johansson.)
Consider claim 16, Dobbelaere combined with Johansson clearly teaches after caching the second encoded data of the preset duration, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to further perform: in a case that I-frame data next to the second I-frame data is generated by using the second encoder, replacing the cached second encoded data based on the I-frame data next to the second I-frame data. (The buffer is a first-in-first-out buffer, therefore, I-frame 201 will be replaced by I-frame 219 as the video is encoded, [0031], [0032] Johansson.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 11, 12, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425