Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghuchandra et al. (US 2022/0077813) in view of Oakley, Jr. (US 2021/0058027).
Regarding claim 1, Raghuchandra discloses an assembly apparatus (see fig. 3), comprising:
at least one solar cell (1007, on outside of concentrator 12 (330) configured to capture solar energy (see para [0036]);
a panel (320) actuator (360) configured to manipulate an operational parameter of the at least one solar cell (see [0039]);
a communication module (430) configured to receive at least one control signal (see para [0024], [0031], ; and
a processor configured to control the panel actuator to manipulate the operational parameter of the at least one solar cell based at least in part upon the at least one control signal (see fig. 7, para [0008], [0015]-[0018], [0036]-[0044], [0058]).
Raghuchandra does not disclose an energy storage configured to store at least a portion of solar energy captured by the at least one solar cell;
Oakley is analogous art to Raghuchandra as Oakley is directed to a solar array (see abstract). Oakley discloses a solar module array (100) includes a battery unit (140) (see para [0046]). Oakley discloses the battery may be used to store energy from the solar array to power electrical devices (see para [0046], [0048]).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the assembly apparatus of Raghuchandra by including a battery (i.e., energy storage) as the battery is able to store energy from the solar cells and used to power electronic devices.
Regarding claim 2, modified Raghuchandra discloses an assembly apparatus of claim 1, wherein the operational parameter is a current or expected presence status adjacent to the at least one solar cell (see para [0007]-[0009], [0017]-[0018], [0036]-[0042], [0045] and [0058]).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghuchandra et al. and Oakley, Jr. as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Blau (US 2014/0366929).
Regarding claim 3, modified Raghuchandra discloses an assembly apparatus of claim 2, wherein the presence status indicates current or expected presence of an object, and further wherein the panel actuator (Raghuchandra 360) is configured to manipulate position of the at least one solar cell responsive to a control signal received from the processor (see discussion of claim 1, para [0008],[0015]-[0018], [0036]-[0044], [0058]).
Modified Raghuchandra does not disclose the current or expected presence is that of livestock.
Blau is analogous art to modified Raghuchandra as Blau discloses a solar array (solar cells 1006, see figs. 11 and 17A, para [0180], [0210]-[0212]). Blau discloses monitoring the presence of an object, wherein a controller adjusts the solar assembly based on the presence of an object, specifically livestock and/or adverse weather (see para [0021], [0068], [0135], [0212]-[0213]). The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known device (i.e., sensor for livestock as taught by Blau) for another known device (i.e., sensor for flying object as taught by Raghuchandra and/or adverse weather as taught by Raghuchandra and Blau), wherein the result is predictable (i.e., prevent damage resulting due to contact of the assembly and object).
Regarding claim 4, modified Raghuchandra discloses an assembly apparatus of claim 3, wherein the panel actuator (Raghuchandra 360) is configured to position the at least one solar cell at any angle with respect to a ground surface when the assembly apparatus operates in a standard tracking mode (see Raghuchandra para [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Raghuchandra discloses an assembly apparatus of claim 4, wherein the panel actuator is configured to limit position of the at least one solar cell from parallel to the ground surface when the assembly apparatus operates in a presence mode (see Raghuchandra para [0040]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Raghuchandra discloses an assembly apparatus of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to designate whether the assembly apparatus is within a current use area based at least in part on the control signal, and to operate the assembly apparatus in a presence mode or a standard tracking mode based upon the designation (see Raghuchandra para [0008],[0015]-[0018], [0036]-[0044], [0058]).
Conclusion
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721