DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Sensor element in claim 1.
System device in claim 1.
Smart device in claim 24.
A review of the published specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure describe in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Sensor element – described as a camera, heart rate monitoring device, a position-based lung sensor and/or any other appropriate or desired sensors in paragraphs 19-22 of the published specification.
Smart device – described as a cell phone, a tablet computer, a laptop, a desktop computer, a smart watch, or any other appropriate or desired device in paragraph 24 of the published specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim limitation “a system device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between the structure and the function can be found in the specification Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites that the system “terminates operation of the system if one of the monitored physiological data measurements exceeds the correlated safety limit correlating to that monitored physiological data measurement”, however, the system is also described as alerting a healthcare professional. These ideas seem to be in conflict since a system which is off cannot contact a healthcare professional. For examination purposes, a reference disclosing alerting the user to stop the exercise or activity will be interpreted as meeting this limitation in the claim as that seems to be the most consistent with paragraph 29 of the specification, which describes pausing the exercise program, rather than the entire system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception of an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to system configured to select at least one targeted exercise for a participant based on physiological measurements.
Claim 1 is considered to be directed towards an abstract idea because it recites a mental process of selecting at least one targeted exercise for a participant based on physiological measurements. This is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. In this case, a physician or trainer can and often does prescribe certain exercise for a patient based on physiological measurements. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).III. A-B.
The judicial exception enumerated above (i.e., mathematical formula, mental process, and law of nature) is not integrated into a practical application. Specifically, the additional limitations of claim 1 directed towards a smart device and program code or use thereof comprise no more than instructions to implement the judicial exceptions on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform the judicial exception. The additional limitations of claim 1 directed towards displaying the selected exercise are merely extra-solution activity of outputting data. The additional limitations of claim 1 directed towards sensors and collecting data are merely extra-solution activity of collecting data. Consequently, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the judicial exceptions.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example, as explained above, the additional limitations of claim 1 directed towards displaying the selected exercise are merely extra-solution activity of outputting data. The additional limitations of claim 1 directed towards sensors and collecting data are merely extra-solution activity of collecting data. Mere extra-solution activity does not add significantly more to the judicial exceptions.
Turning to the dependent claims:
Claims 4 and 8-11 recite additional elements directed towards further details of the abstract idea, specifying determining threshold where no exercise is recommended and when it is safe to resume exercise. These elements are insufficient to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they too are directed towards the abstract idea.
Claims 2-3 and 5-7, recite additional elements directed towards further details of the extra-solution activity, specifying particular methods of outputting data such as storing the data or notifying different operators. These elements are insufficient to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they amount to no more than mere extra-solution activity.
Claim 12-20 recite additional elements directed towards further details of the extra-solution activity, specifying particular methods and details of collecting data. These elements are insufficient to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they amount to no more than mere extra-solution activity.
The limitations of the dependent claims do not improve a computer or another technology or technical field. The limitations do not apply or use the judicial exceptions to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. The limitations do not apply or use the judicial exceptions with, or by use of, a particular machine. The limitations do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. In addition, the claims do not include other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations of the dependent claims do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the judicial exceptions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Abdo et al. (US20220346703A1, hereafter Abdo).
Regarding claim 1, a Abdo discloses a system for providing guided and monitored exercise routines (Abdo, Para 17; “Based upon the user's level of musculoskeletal health and risk of injury, the system may select one or more treatment plans for the user. A treatment plan may include, but is not limited to, physical exercise instructions, instructions on how to perform physical treatment on one or more parts of the user's body, prescribed medications, education on physical exercises and movements, user diagnosis reports, as well as physical fitness goals and methods to track a user's treatment. For example, the system may determine that the user should perform a series of stretching exercises to treat the user's injured back. Upon determining the one or more treatment plans, the system may present the one or more treatment plans to the user. For instance, the system may present stretching exercises in the form of an instructional video. In another example, the system may present the stretching exercises using an interactive video that records and displays, in real-time, the user's movement as the user performs the stretching exercise.”)) comprising:
a) at least one sensor element operably affixed to a participant which can collect base physiological data measurements and new physiological data measurements (Abdo, Figures 2-3) (Abdo, Para 30; “In an embodiment, the postural health calculation service 124 may calculate postural health values and risk of injury by determining position and movement of the anatomical landmarks and comparing the positions and movements to other anatomical landmarks of the user and other users.”) (Abdo, Para 74-79; “In operation 304, process 300 identifies points on the user's body and assigns spatial coordinates to each point on the user's body. In an embodiment, the data processing service 123 may assign spatial coordinates to each of the identified anatomical landmarks of the user. These coordinates may be compared to the initial coordinates measured during the initial user assessment and may be used as a baseline measurement for interactive video exercises. […] In operation 314, process 300 generates an updated digital representation of the user's body using the assigned second spatial coordinates. In an embodiment, the interactive exercise generation service 128 generates the updated digital representation of the user while performing the squat exercise. The updated digital representation may be displayed in the interactive exercise video so that the user can see himself performing the exercise in real-time or near real-time.”) (Abdo, Para 44; “client devices 102-106 may represent computing devices enabled with touch feedback, such as wearable devices. Wearable devices may be used to gather information from contact with the user's body. Examples of information gathered from a wearable include, but are not limited to, temperature, electrical currents, body tension, heart rate, blood pressure, and any other user vital signs”) (Abdo, Para 69; “In operation 206, process 200 determines initial levels of user musculoskeletal health based upon the one or more sets of user measurements.”);
b) a system device (network 110) which uses the sensor element to collect at least one base physiological data measurement from the participant (Abdo, Figure 1) (Abdo, Para 22; “In an embodiment, the application management system 120 may be communicatively coupled to client devices 102-106 and data repository 130 via network 110.”);
c) a smart device (Application management system 120) which receives the base physiological data measurement from the system device (Abdo, Figure 1) (Abdo, Para 22; “In an embodiment, the application management system 120 may be communicatively coupled to client devices 102-106 and data repository 130 via network 110.”);
d) a program code stored on the smart device which uses the base physiological data measurement to select at least one targeted exercise for the participant (Abdo, Para 17; “For example, the system may use one or more client computing devices to determine the musculoskeletal health and risk of injury to the user. Based upon the user's level of musculoskeletal health and risk of injury, the system may select one or more treatment plans for the user. A treatment plan may include, but is not limited to, physical exercise instructions, instructions on how to perform physical treatment on one or more parts of the user's body, prescribed medications, education on physical exercises and movements, user diagnosis reports, as well as physical fitness goals and methods to track a user's treatment.”) (Abdo, Para 70; “In operation 208, process 200 selects a subset of exercises for the user based on the initial levels of user musculoskeletal health of the user. In an embodiment, the postural health analysis model 125 may implement a machine-learned model configured to select a subset of exercises for the user based upon the initial levels of user musculoskeletal health calculated by the postural health calculation service 124.”) (Abdo, Para 30-55; “In an embodiment, the postural health calculation service 124 may calculate postural health values and risk of injury by determining position and movement of the anatomical landmarks and comparing the positions and movements to other anatomical landmarks of the user and other users. […] the postural health calculation service 124 may calculate postural health values using other types of formatted data. For example, the data processing service 123 may analyze medical records for a user to generate data values representing physical characteristics of the user, such as their height, weight, and measurements of specific portions of the body. […] he health calculation service 142 may input the standardized input data and calculate one or more health data values associated with evaluating the user's cardiovascular health. The calculated health data values may represent data points used to determine whether the user is suffering from any possible cardiovascular disorders. The health data values may then be provided as input into the health analysis model 152. The health analysis model 152 may be configured to compare the health data values to historical health data values of other users identified as having cardiovascular disorders. The health analysis model 152 may generate one or more user diagnosis reports that may be sent to one or more external health care professionals for follow up treatment, such as sending referral and a report to a cardiologist. Additionally, the health analysis model 152 may generate one or more treatment plans that include recommendations of exercises to help alleviate any cardiovascular issues the user may be suffering from. The instruction generation service 127 may be used to present the one or more treatment plans to the user”);
e) a display operably connected to the smart device which displays the targeted exercise to the participant such that the participant can follow along and perform the targeted exercise (Abdo, Para 71; “The instruction generation service 127 may send to client device 102 instructions for the selected subset of exercises. For example, the instruction generation service 127 may render a graphical user interface for display and/or playing instructional exercise videos to the user. Alternatively, the interactive exercise generation service 128 may present a graphical user interface configured to play an interactive exercise video, which superimposes a video representation of the user, in real-time, onto the interactive video. Video representations of the user may include live video, an avatar, and any other graphical representation of a human.”).
Regarding claim 2, Abdo discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdo further discloses wherein the smart device records at least one of the base physiological data measurements to create a recorded physiological data measurement (Abdo, Para 25-48; “In an embodiment, the data management layer 122 may implement data privacy standards according to the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) to store data values within the data repository 130. […] Location coordinates for each of the anatomical landmarks of the user may be stored in the data repository 130. […] detected user movements during performance of an exercise may be received by the data communication layer 121. The data processing service 123 may format the received data and the data management layer 122 may store the formatted data in the data repository 130. In an embodiment, the postural health analysis model 125 may periodically review stored data of the user performing the prescribed exercises to determine whether the user is progressing as expected or if there is a deviation in the user's rehabilitation […] System 500 generally determines one or more treatment plans for a user and presents the treatment plans to the user in a manner that allows the user to track their progress during the user's recovery. The example system 500 is conceptually described herein as comprising client devices 102-106, the application management system 120, and the data repository 130. System 500 may represent one example arrangement and other system arrangements may include more or less components than what is depicted in system 500.”).
Regarding claim 3, Abdo discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Abdo further discloses wherein the recorded physiological data measurement is transmitted to a health care professional for evaluation (Abdo, Para 55; “The health analysis model 152 may generate one or more user diagnosis reports that may be sent to one or more external health care professionals for follow up treatment.”) (Abdo, Para 56; “The health data values may then be provided as input into the health analysis model 152. The health analysis model 152 may be configured to compare the health data values to historical health data values of other users who may have been suffering from various skin issues. The health analysis model 152 may generate one or more user diagnosis reports that may be sent to one or more external health care professionals for follow up treatment, such as sending a referral to a dermatologist”) (Abdo, Para 53; “more medical reports, such as user diagnosis reports, that detail one or more identified ailments associated with the user. The one or more medical reports may then be packaged and sent to one or more external services for further analysis and treatment. For example, the one or more medical reports may represent referrals to external health care professionals. The one or more medical reports may contain, the identified ailments of the user along with observational data that shows why the referral was made so that an external health care professional may treat the user for the identified ailments.”).
Regarding claim 12, Abdo discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdo further discloses wherein at least one of the base physiological data measurements and/or the new physiological data measurements is a measurement of lung performance (Abdo, Para 61; “Other types of client devices may include devices configured to measure your airflow when breathing as well as the level of carbon dioxide expelled when breathing out.”) (Abdo, Para 51; “For example, the calculation services 140 may include the postural health calculation service 124, which is implemented to calculate postural health values for one or more areas on the user's body based upon the location coordinates of the anatomical landmarks of the user. In an embodiment, the health calculation services 142 represent one of more services implemented to calculate health data values related to various body systems including, but not limited to, [..] the respiratory system ”) (Abdo, Para 61; “In another example the health calculation services 142 and the health analysis models 152 are implemented to identify ailments related to a user's respiratory system. In this example, the system 500 may receive input data from client devices 102-106, where client devices 102-106 may represent webcams and other devices that may capture observations related to the user's respiratory system. Other types of client devices may include devices configured to measure your airflow when breathing as well as the level of carbon dioxide expelled when breathing out. The data input may be sent to the application management system 120. The data communication layer 121 may receive the input data and the data processing service 123 may format the input data into a standardized format. The health calculation service 142 may input the standardized input data and calculate one or more health data values associated with evaluating the user's respiratory health. The calculated health data values may represent data points used to determine whether the user is suffering from any possible respiratory disorders. Additionally, the data input may include inputted text or voice from the user. The inputted text or voice may include any subjective information about any breathing issues the user may be feeling. The health data values may then be provided as input into the health analysis model 152. The health analysis model 152 may be configured to compare the health data values to historical health data values of other users identified as having respiratory disorders. The health analysis model 152 may generate one or more user diagnosis reports that may be sent to one or more external health care professionals for follow up treatment.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdo and Kaleal (US20160086500).
Regarding claim 4, Abdo discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the program code has access to at least one correlated safety limit for at least one monitored physiological data measurement collected by the sensor and the program code further terminates operation of the system if one of the monitored physiological data measurements exceeds the correlated safety limit correlating to that monitored physiological data measurement.
In an analogous exercise monitoring device field of endeavor Kaleal discloses wherein program code has access to at least one correlated safety limit for at least one monitored physiological data measurement and the program code further terminates exercise if one of the monitored physiological data measurements exceeds the correlated safety limit correlating to that monitored physiological data measurement (Kaleal, Para 179; “In addition to improving or optimizing a user's physical performance of a physical fitness routine/activity, by customizing and automatically responding to changes in the user's physical/physiological data, […] For instance, if the system recognizes certain metrics as leading to bodily harm, the system can instruct the avatar to stop the workout session and contact a health professional or automatically send a notification (e.g., a call, electronic message, etc.) to the health professional. If necessary, the system can additionally or alternatively be configured to contact emergency services, thus saving precious time in the event of a severe or potentiality life threatening injury.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo wherein the program code has access to at least one correlated safety limit for at least one monitored physiological data measurement collected by the sensor and the program code further terminates operation of the system if one of the monitored physiological data measurements exceeds the correlated safety limit correlating to that monitored physiological data measurement in order to reduce bodily harm to the patient and increase the likelihood of rescue if emergency services are needed as taught by Kaleal (Kaleal, Para 179).
Regarding claim 5, Abdo as modified by Kaleal above discloses all of the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the smart device transmits an alert to at least one third party recipient if at least one of the monitored physiological data measurements has exceeded the correlating safety limit by a predetermined danger level.
In an analogous exercise monitoring device field of endeavor Kaleal discloses transmitting an alert to at least one third party recipient if at least one of a monitored physiological data measurements has exceeded a correlating safety limit by a predetermined danger level (Kaleal, Para 179; “In addition to improving or optimizing a user's physical performance of a physical fitness routine/activity, by customizing and automatically responding to changes in the user's physical/physiological data, […] For instance, if the system recognizes certain metrics as leading to bodily harm, the system can instruct the avatar to stop the workout session and contact a health professional or automatically send a notification (e.g., a call, electronic message, etc.) to the health professional. If necessary, the system can additionally or alternatively be configured to contact emergency services, thus saving precious time in the event of a severe or potentiality life threatening injury.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo wherein the smart device transmits an alert to at least one third party recipient if at least one of the monitored physiological data measurements has exceeded the correlating safety limit by a predetermined in order to reduce bodily harm to the patient and increase the likelihood of rescue if emergency services are needed as taught by Kaleal (Kaleal, Para 179).
Regarding claim 6, Abdo as modified by Kaleal discloses all of the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above.
Abdo further discloses wherein the smart device records at least one of the physiological data measurements to create a recorded physiological data measurement (Abdo, Para 25-48; “In an embodiment, the data management layer 122 may implement data privacy standards according to the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) to store data values within the data repository 130. […] Location coordinates for each of the anatomical landmarks of the user may be stored in the data repository 130. […] detected user movements during performance of an exercise may be received by the data communication layer 121. The data processing service 123 may format the received data and the data management layer 122 may store the formatted data in the data repository 130. In an embodiment, the postural health analysis model 125 may periodically review stored data of the user performing the prescribed exercises to determine whether the user is progressing as expected or if there is a deviation in the user's rehabilitation […] System 500 generally determines one or more treatment plans for a user and presents the treatment plans to the user in a manner that allows the user to track their progress during the user's recovery. The example system 500 is conceptually described herein as comprising client devices 102-106, the application management system 120, and the data repository 130. System 500 may represent one example arrangement and other system arrangements may include more or less components than what is depicted in system 500.”).
Regarding claim 7, Abdo as modified by Kaleal discloses all of the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above.
Abdo further discloses wherein the recorded physiological data measurement is transmitted to a health care professional for evaluation (Abdo, Para 55; “The health analysis model 152 may generate one or more user diagnosis reports that may be sent to one or more external health care professionals for follow up treatment.”) (Abdo, Para 56; “The health data values may then be provided as input into the health analysis model 152. The health analysis model 152 may be configured to compare the health data values to historical health data values of other users who may have been suffering from various skin issues. The health analysis model 152 may generate one or more user diagnosis reports that may be sent to one or more external health care professionals for follow up treatment, such as sending a referral to a dermatologist”) (Abdo, Para 53; “more medical reports, such as user diagnosis reports, that detail one or more identified ailments associated with the user. The one or more medical reports may then be packaged and sent to one or more external services for further analysis and treatment. For example, the one or more medical reports may represent referrals to external health care professionals. The one or more medical reports may contain, the identified ailments of the user along with observational data that shows why the referral was made so that an external health care professional may treat the user for the identified ailments.”).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdo and Kaleal as applied to claims 4-7 above, and further in view of Salamatian et al. (US20170000386, hereafter Salamatian).
Regarding claim 8, Abdo as modified by Kaleal above discloses all of the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the system resumes recommending exercise after all of the monitored physiological data measurements are once again within the correlated safety limits.
In an analogous exercise monitoring field of endeavor Salamatian discloses wherein a system recommends continuing exercise after monitored physiological data measurements are once again within correlated safety limits (Salamatian, Para 109; “BaziScore is a number, which the system of the present disclosure calculates based on an algorithm to index an individual's risk of injury to a joint at any given time […] the highest BaziScore will represent the threshold that a user must reach or pass in order to complete rehabilitation and resume activities with the least risk of injury. In order to calculate the BaziScore, this system uses different sets of data. An objective set of data and a subjective set of data. The objective data is collected using the sensor devices”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo disclose wherein the system resumes recommending exercise after all of the monitored physiological data measurements are once again within the correlated safety limits in order to reduce the risk of injury as taught by Salamatian (Salamatian, Para 109).
Regarding claim 9, Abdo as modified by Kaleal above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the system resumes recommending exercise after all of the monitored physiological data measurements are once again within the correlated safety limits.
In an analogous exercise monitoring field of endeavor Salamatian discloses wherein a system recommends continuing exercise after monitored physiological data measurements are once again within correlated safety limits (Salamatian, Para 109; “BaziScore is a number, which the system of the present disclosure calculates based on an algorithm to index an individual's risk of injury to a joint at any given time […] the highest BaziScore will represent the threshold that a user must reach or pass in order to complete rehabilitation and resume activities with the least risk of injury. In order to calculate the BaziScore, this system uses different sets of data. An objective set of data and a subjective set of data. The objective data is collected using the sensor devices”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo disclose wherein the system resumes recommending exercise after all of the monitored physiological data measurements are once again within the correlated safety limits in order to reduce the risk of injury as taught by Salamatian (Salamatian, Para 109).
Regarding claim 10, Abdo as modified by Kaleal above discloses all of the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the system resumes recommending exercise after all of the monitored physiological data measurements are once again within the correlated safety limits.
In an analogous exercise monitoring field of endeavor Salamatian discloses wherein a system recommends continuing exercise after monitored physiological data measurements are once again within correlated safety limits (Salamatian, Para 109; “BaziScore is a number, which the system of the present disclosure calculates based on an algorithm to index an individual's risk of injury to a joint at any given time […] the highest BaziScore will represent the threshold that a user must reach or pass in order to complete rehabilitation and resume activities with the least risk of injury. In order to calculate the BaziScore, this system uses different sets of data. An objective set of data and a subjective set of data. The objective data is collected using the sensor devices”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo disclose wherein the system resumes recommending exercise after all of the monitored physiological data measurements are once again within the correlated safety limits in order to reduce the risk of injury as taught by Salamatian (Salamatian, Para 109).
Regarding claim 11, Abdo as modified by Kaleal above discloses all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the system resumes recommending exercise after all of the monitored physiological data measurements are once again within the correlated safety limits.
In an analogous exercise monitoring field of endeavor Salamatian discloses wherein a system recommends continuing exercise after monitored physiological data measurements are once again within correlated safety limits (Salamatian, Para 109; “BaziScore is a number, which the system of the present disclosure calculates based on an algorithm to index an individual's risk of injury to a joint at any given time […] the highest BaziScore will represent the threshold that a user must reach or pass in order to complete rehabilitation and resume activities with the least risk of injury. In order to calculate the BaziScore, this system uses different sets of data. An objective set of data and a subjective set of data. The objective data is collected using the sensor devices”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo disclose wherein the system resumes recommending exercise after all of the monitored physiological data measurements are once again within the correlated safety limits in order to reduce the risk of injury as taught by Salamatian (Salamatian, Para 109).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdo and Lee et al. (Lee, Y.J., Lee, M., Kim, N. et al. Automatic Left and Right Lung Separation Using Free-Formed Surface Fitting on Volumetric CT. J Digit Imaging 27, 538–547 (2014). https://doi.org/10.1007/s10278-014-9680-5, hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 13, Abdo discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the measurement of lung performance measures the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements.
In an analogous patient lung monitoring field of endeavor Lee discloses measuring the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements (Lee, Abstract; “This study presents a completely automated method for separating the left and right lungs using free-formed surface fitting on”) (Lee, Pg 538; “Lung segmentation is essential in computer-guided analyses of parenchymal density, airways and emphysema evaluation, the detection of lung nodules, and lobe-based studies.”) (Lee, Pg 539; “Based on these results, 3D central points between the facing left and right lung boundaries are obtained and subsequently used to generate a free-formed surface by using a surface fitting algorithm. Finally, the left and right lung volumes are smoothly divided by this surface. In the experiments, it was proven that the left and right lungs are effectively separated using the proposed method without the need for repetition of the process and regardless of the number and position of the junctions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo wherein the measurement of lung performance measures the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements in order to more accurately analysis the patient for lung disease as taught by Lee (Lee, Pg 538).
Regarding claim 15, Abdo discloses all of the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the measurement of lung performance measures the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements.
In an analogous patient lung monitoring field of endeavor Lee discloses measuring the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements (Lee, Abstract; “This study presents a completely automated method for separating the left and right lungs using free-formed surface fitting on”) (Lee, Pg 538; “Lung segmentation is essential in computer-guided analyses of parenchymal density, airways and emphysema evaluation, the detection of lung nodules, and lobe-based studies.”) (Lee, Pg 539; “Based on these results, 3D central points between the facing left and right lung boundaries are obtained and subsequently used to generate a free-formed surface by using a surface fitting algorithm. Finally, the left and right lung volumes are smoothly divided by this surface. In the experiments, it was proven that the left and right lungs are effectively separated using the proposed method without the need for repetition of the process and regardless of the number and position of the junctions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo wherein the measurement of lung performance measures the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements in order to more accurately analysis the patient for lung disease as taught by Lee (Lee, Pg 538).
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdo and Khine et al. (US20180129786, hereafter Khine).
Regarding claim 14, Abdo discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the measurement of lung performance is performed by measuring an elastic strain against a strain sensor the participant must strain against while breathing.
In an analogous patient lung monitoring field of endeavor Khine discloses wherein measurement of lung performance is performed by measuring an elastic strain against a strain sensor a participant must strain against while breathing (Khine, Para 85; “this is advantageous in that the sensor apparatus 100 in certain embodiments includes a strain gauge which senses motion when under a strain”) (Khine, Para 89; “the measuring circuit 32 includes a bridge circuit or any other circuit used for measuring a change in resistance in a strain gauge”) (Khine, Para 8-12; “As discussed below, a stretch sensor can be provided for respiratory monitoring. […] The foregoing embodiments can employ a sensor that is configured to stretch and when stretched to yield a modulated or changed measurable value, such as resistance.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo wherein the measurement of lung performance is performed by measuring an elastic strain against a strain sensor the participant must strain against while breathing in order to more accurately and continuously monitor breathing in a more unobtrusive manner (Khine, Para 201-203).
Regarding claim 16, Abdo discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the measurement of lung performance is performed using at least one sensor which can detect a relative movement in space, the relative movement in space corresponding to a chest expansion movement of the participant while breathing.
In an analogous patient lung monitoring field of endeavor Khine discloses wherein a measurement of lung performance is performed using at least one sensor which can detect a relative movement in space, the relative movement in space corresponding to a chest expansion movement of a participant while breathing (Khine, Para 85; “this is advantageous in that the sensor apparatus 100 in certain embodiments includes a strain gauge which senses motion when under a strain”) (Khine, Para 89; “the measuring circuit 32 includes a bridge circuit or any other circuit used for measuring a change in resistance in a strain gauge”) (Khine, Para 8-12; “As discussed below, a stretch sensor can be provided for respiratory monitoring. […] The foregoing embodiments can employ a sensor that is configured to stretch and when stretched to yield a modulated or changed measurable value, such as resistance.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo wherein the measurement of lung performance is performed using at least one sensor which can detect a relative movement in space, the relative movement in space corresponding to a chest expansion movement of the participant while breathing in order to more accurately and continuously monitor breathing in a more unobtrusive manner (Khine, Para 201-203).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdo and Khine as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (Lee, Y.J., Lee, M., Kim, N. et al. Automatic Left and Right Lung Separation Using Free-Formed Surface Fitting on Volumetric CT. J Digit Imaging 27, 538–547 (2014). https://doi.org/10.1007/s10278-014-9680-5, hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 17, Abdo as modified by Khine above discloses all of the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the measurement of lung performance measures the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements.
In an analogous patient lung monitoring field of endeavor Lee discloses measuring the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements (Lee, Abstract; “This study presents a completely automated method for separating the left and right lungs using free-formed surface fitting on”) (Lee, Pg 538; “Lung segmentation is essential in computer-guided analyses of parenchymal density, airways and emphysema evaluation, the detection of lung nodules, and lobe-based studies.”) (Lee, Pg 539; “Based on these results, 3D central points between the facing left and right lung boundaries are obtained and subsequently used to generate a free-formed surface by using a surface fitting algorithm. Finally, the left and right lung volumes are smoothly divided by this surface. In the experiments, it was proven that the left and right lungs are effectively separated using the proposed method without the need for repetition of the process and regardless of the number and position of the junctions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo wherein the measurement of lung performance measures the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements in order to more accurately analysis the patient for lung disease as taught by Lee (Lee, Pg 538).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdo and Nakazawa (US20170367624).
Regarding claim 17, Abdo discloses all of the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the measurement of lung performance is performed by comparing a first chest position and a second chest position using a camera.
In an analogous patient monitoring field of endeavor Nakazawa discloses wherein measurement of lung performance is performed by comparing a first chest position and a second chest position using a camera (Nakazawa, Para 80; “The cycle detection unit 14 detects a vital reaction cycle at a photographing site of the object M. For example, in a case where the photographing site is a chest including lungs as in the present embodiment, a respiratory cycle is detected with […] a CCD camera, an optical camera”).
Such a modification amounts to the mere combination of known prior art parts to yield predictable results, which has previously been held to involve no more than routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein the measurement of lung performance is performed by comparing a first chest position and a second chest position using a camera as taught by Nakazawa in order to perform measurements with less obtrusiveness.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdo and Nakazawa as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (Lee, Y.J., Lee, M., Kim, N. et al. Automatic Left and Right Lung Separation Using Free-Formed Surface Fitting on Volumetric CT. J Digit Imaging 27, 538–547 (2014). https://doi.org/10.1007/s10278-014-9680-5, hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 19, Abdo as modified by Nakazawa above discloses all of the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the measurement of lung performance measures the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements.
In an analogous patient lung monitoring field of endeavor Lee discloses measuring the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements (Lee, Abstract; “This study presents a completely automated method for separating the left and right lungs using free-formed surface fitting on”) (Lee, Pg 538; “Lung segmentation is essential in computer-guided analyses of parenchymal density, airways and emphysema evaluation, the detection of lung nodules, and lobe-based studies.”) (Lee, Pg 539; “Based on these results, 3D central points between the facing left and right lung boundaries are obtained and subsequently used to generate a free-formed surface by using a surface fitting algorithm. Finally, the left and right lung volumes are smoothly divided by this surface. In the experiments, it was proven that the left and right lungs are effectively separated using the proposed method without the need for repetition of the process and regardless of the number and position of the junctions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo wherein the measurement of lung performance measures the performance of a right lung and a left lung as separate pulmonary data measurements in order to more accurately analysis the patient for lung disease as taught by Lee (Lee, Pg 538).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdo and Barral et al. (US20180276823, hereafter Barral).
Regarding claim 19, Abdo discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdo does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the base physiological data measurements and/or the new physiological data measurements is a measurement of heart performance using a camera.
In an analogous patient monitoring field of endeavor Barral discloses measurement of heart performance using a camera (Barral, Para 30; “After the video data and the heart rate data from the video camera and the heart rate monitor, respectively, are received with a processor, the localized motion of the blood vessels in the video data may be isolated by the processor using the heart rate of the patient. For example, the heart rate may be used to identify portions of the image that are pulsing/moving at substantially the same rate as the heartbeat of the patient.”).
Such a modification amounts to the mere combination of known prior art parts to yield predictable results, which has previously been held to involve no more than routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abdo wherein at least one of the base physiological data measurements and/or the new physiological data measurements is a measurement of heart performance using a camera as taught by Barral in order to perform measurements with less obtrusiveness.
Conclusion
/JOHN D LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798