Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. 2,785,895 by Neveling.
Regarding claim 1, Neveling discloses a water spray device (abstract) comprising: a device body comprising at least one first water flow channel (fig. 1-3 – see the flow channel for the water); at least one water spray valve comprising a water spray nozzle, the water spray nozzle defining a second water flow channel (fig. 1-3 – see the flow channel for the nozzle); and at least one floating ball arranged adjacent to the water spray nozzle and adapted to be supported by water spouted from the second water flow channel of the water spray nozzle (fig. 1-3 – see the supported ball); wherein the water spray nozzle is adapted to be adjusted to orient the second water flow channel in a vertical direction, the water spray valve is mounted to the device body, and the second water flow channel is in fluid communication with the first water flow channel (fig. 1-3 – see the vertical orientation of the nozzle and the flow channels that support that flow).
Regarding claim 2, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 1, wherein the water spray valve further comprises: a valve seat that is provided with a valve chamber and a water intake port in communication with the valve chamber; a first end of the valve chamber is provided with an opening, and the water intake port is located at a second end of the valve chamber that is offset from the first end (fig. 1-3 – see element 21, 21a and 21b that act as a valve for the water flow).
Regarding claim 3, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 2, wherein the water spray nozzle further comprises: an assembly portion and a water spray rod extending from the assembly portion; wherein the second water flow channel extends through the assembly portion and the water spray rod, the assembly portion is movably arranged inside the valve chamber, the water spray rod extends through the opening to the outside of the valve chamber, the second water flow channel is in communication with the water intake port, and the first water flow channel is in communication with the water intake port (fig. 1-3 – see the assembly of 18, 21 and 22).
Regarding claim 4, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 3, wherein the assembly portion has a spherical shape and is rotatably assembled in the valve chamber (fig. 1-3 – see element 21, 21a and 21b).
Regarding claim 5, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 4, wherein a sealing ring is provided around the water intake port in the valve chamber, and the assembly portion forms a seal with the sealing ring (fig. 1-3 – see sealing ring at 21c that seats the nozzle, see also the seal of the ball valve itself).
Regarding claim 6, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 4, wherein the water spray valve further comprises: a bonnet having a cambered surface matching the spherical shape of the assembly portion and an assembly port corresponding to the opening; wherein the bonnet is mounted to the valve seat, the cambered surface fits with the assembly portion to constrain the assembly portion within the valve chamber, and the water spray rod extends through the assembly port (fig. 1-3 – see the nozzle head and it’s mounted position with respect to the valve 21).
Regarding claim 10, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 2, wherein the valve seat further comprises: a valve seat body; and a valve seat sleeve connected to an outer surface of the valve seat body; wherein the valve chamber is formed in the valve seat body, and the valve seat sleeve and the device body are connected together to form a valve seat sleeve seal (fig. 1-3 – see the nozzle head and it’s mounted position with respect to the valve 21 and the seal between the elements).
Regarding claim 11, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 10, wherein the valve seat sleeve is provided with an extension extending away from the valve seat body, and the extension and the device body are connected together to form an extension seal (fig. 1-3 – see the nozzle head and it’s mounted position with respect to the valve 21 and the seal between the elements)
Regarding claim 12, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 1, wherein the first water flow channel is provided with at least one water holding chamber, the water spray valve is mounted to a top wall of the water holding chamber in a sealing manner, and the second water flow channel is in communication with the inside of the water holding chamber (fig. 1-3 – see the feeding reservoir at 13).
Regarding claim 13, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 12, wherein the water holding chamber protrudes upwardly from the device body (fig. 1-3 – see the position of the water chamber position protruding outwardly from the base).
Regarding claim 14, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 1, wherein the device body comprises: a base; and an air chamber protruding upwardly from the base; wherein the water spray valve is mounted to a top wall of the air chamber to form an air chamber seal; and the first water flow channel extends into the air chamber and is in communication with the second water flow channel of the water spray valve (fig. 1-3 – see the water 13 and air chambers 19 that are arranged to allow for the flow of water).
Regarding claim 15, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 14, wherein the base is configured as a water chamber adapted to be filled with water, and the water chamber is separated from the air chamber (fig. 1-3 – see the separation of the chambers).
Regarding claim 16, Neveling discloses the water spray device according to claim 1, wherein the water spray device is one of a water spray mat, a water spray column and a pool (fig. 1-3 – see the pool and mat support 11).
Regarding claims 17-20, Neveling discloses these claims as noted above regarding claims 1-6 and 10-16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711