DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. (US 2017/0130553, hereafter Harris) in view of Yuan et al. (US 5984007, hereafter Yuan) and Graham et al. (US 2020/0157914, hereafter Graham).
With regards to claim 14, Harris a method for using a downhole tool comprising a single frustoconical member (38), a mandrel collar (22) affixed (48) to a first end of the single frustoconical member, a single set of slips (112) in contact with the mandrel collar. The method comprises running the downhole tool into a wellbore to a desired location; and applying a setting force to shear screws (106) disposed in the single set of slips (112) such that the slips engage a casing of the wellbore (inherently as slips move along surface 78 of the wedge element 62). Harris shows all the limitation of the present invention except, it fails to explicitly disclose an elastomeric element disposed around the single set of slips and a plurality of interlocking members disposed around the single set of slips.
Yuan discloses a slot (36) on the slip members (18) for an elastomeric element (col. 6:63-7:11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the elastomeric element disclosed in Yuan with the apparatus and method taught in Harris with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done to retain the slips in position as taught by Yuan (col. 6:63-7:11).
Graham discloses a fracture plug for downhole use that has set of slips (40) and a plurality of interlocking (56) members (52,54) disposed around the single set of slips (40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interlocking members disclosed in Graham with the slip taught in Harris with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done to allow for backup retention to prevent premature activation.
With regards to claim 15, Harris discloses introducing into the wellbore a sealing element (76) configured to engage a central opening in the downhole tool.
With regards to claim 16, Harris discloses causing the sealing element to dissolve in the wellbore (para 112); and producing hydrocarbons from the wellbore through the central opening after the sealing element has dissolved (para 112).
With regards to claim 17, Harris discloses the step of applying a setting force is performed using a wireline adapter kit (14).
With regards to claim 18, Harris discloses the single set of slips is formed using a composite material (para 23, 60, 204).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/9/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is the assertion of the applicant that Graham does not disclose “a plurality of interlocking members disposed around the single set of slips” and merely discloses rings 52 and 54 “adjacent an upper end of slip ring 40” (Graham para 36). The examiner respectfully traverses this assertion. I Graham both statements are true. As seen below:
The interlocking rings 52 and 54 are both adjacent the slip 40 and disposed around the slip 40, as the end of the slip is between the cone 34 and the ring 54. Thus is meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitation of “a plurality of interlocking members disposed around the single set of slips”. Therefore, the previously presented rejection is maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P STEPHENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676