DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamphuis et al. (hereinafter Kamphuis) (US20150309539).
Regarding claim 1, Kamphuis discloses a connection device (12) comprising:
a shaft (34);
a first motion assembly (32) (Figure 4) connected to the shaft; and
a second motion assembly (32) (Figure 4) connected to the shaft; wherein: when the connection device is in a first angle range, the second motion assembly is in a first state in which a position of the second motion assembly relative to the shaft remains unchanged (Figure 5), and the first motion assembly is in a second state; and when the connection device is in a second angle range, the first motion assembly is in the first state in which a position of the first motion assembly relative to the shaft remains unchanged, and the second motion assembly is in the second state (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Kamphuis discloses the connection device (12) according to claim 1, wherein the first angle range (B hinge) is larger than the second angle range (A hinge).
Regarding claim 3, Kamphuis discloses the connection device (12) according to claim 1, wherein: the shaft includes a first shaft member (Figure 4) and a second shaft member (Figure 4), an axis of the first shaft member and an axis of the second shaft member meeting a parallel condition (Paragraph 0028 – First and second parallel axles 34 extend between first and second hinges 32 and rotate relative to each other in a dual axis relationship); the first motion assembly is connected to the first shaft member (Figure 4), and the second motion assembly is connected to the second shaft member (Figure 4); when the connection device is in the first angle range, the first motion assembly is able to rotate relative to the first shaft member; and when the connection device is in the second angle range, the second motion assembly is able to rotate relative to the second shaft member (aforementioned paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 8, Kamphuis discloses an electronic device (10) comprising:
a first body (26);
a second body (14); and a connection device including:
a shaft (34);
a first motion assembly (32) connected to the shaft and the first body (Figure 1); and
a second motion assembly (32) connected to the shaft and the second body (Figure 1); wherein:
when the electronic device is in a first usage mode (Figure 5), the connection device is in a first angle range, the second motion assembly is in a first state in which a position of the second motion assembly relative to the shaft remains unchanged (Figure 5), and the first motion assembly is in a second state (Figure 5); and when the electronic device is in a second usage mode, the connection device is in a second angle range, the first motion assembly is in the first state in which a position of the first motion assembly relative to the shaft remains unchanged, and the second motion assembly is in the second state (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, Kamphuis discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the first angle range (B hinge) is larger than the second angle range (A hinge)
Regarding claim 12, Kamphuis discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein: the shaft includes a first shaft member (Figure 4) and a second shaft member (Figure 4), an axis of the first shaft member and an axis of the second shaft member meeting a parallel condition (Paragraph 0028 – First and second parallel axles 34 extend between first and second hinges 32 and rotate relative to each other in a dual axis relationship); the first motion assembly is connected to the first shaft member (Figure 4), and the second motion assembly is connected to the second shaft member (Figure 4); when the connection device is in the first angle range, the first motion assembly is able to rotate relative to the first shaft member; and when the connection device is in the second angle range, the second motion assembly is able to rotate relative to the second shaft member (aforementioned paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 13, Kamphuis discloses the electronic device according to claim 12.
Kamphuis does not expressly disclose wherein: the shaft includes a switch assembly located between the first shaft member and the second shaft member; and the switch assembly is configured to: switch the first motion assembly from the second state to the first state and switch the second motion assembly from the first state to the second state, when the connection device switches from the first angle range to the second angle range; and switching the first motion assembly from the first state to the second state and switch the second motion assembly from the second state to the first state, when the connection device switches from the second angle range to the first angle range.
Hsu discloses wherein: the shaft includes a switch assembly (3) located between the first shaft member (1) and the second shaft member (2); and the switch assembly is configured to: switch the first motion assembly from the second state to the first state and switch the second motion assembly from the first state to the second state, when the connection device switches from the first angle range to the second angle range; and switching the first motion assembly from the first state to the second state and switch the second motion assembly from the second state to the first state, when the connection device switches from the second angle range to the first angle range. (Abstract – The switch member… to guide the first shaft and the second shaft to carry out an asynchronous convertible turning)
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the switch of Hsu into the connection device of Kamphuis.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to actuate the hinge to the desired position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamphuis et al. (hereinafter Kamphuis) (US20150309539) in view of Hsu (US20160083988).
Regarding claim 4, Kamphuis discloses the connection device according to claim 3.
Kamphuis does not expressly disclose wherein: the shaft includes a switch assembly located between the first shaft member and the second shaft member; and the switch assembly is configured to: switch the first motion assembly from the second state to the first state and switch the second motion assembly from the first state to the second state, when the connection device switches from the first angle range to the second angle range; and switching the first motion assembly from the first state to the second state and switch the second motion assembly from the second state to the first state, when the connection device switches from the second angle range to the first angle range.
Hsu discloses wherein: the shaft includes a switch assembly (3) located between the first shaft member (1) and the second shaft member (2); and the switch assembly is configured to: switch the first motion assembly from the second state to the first state and switch the second motion assembly from the first state to the second state, when the connection device switches from the first angle range to the second angle range; and switching the first motion assembly from the first state to the second state and switch the second motion assembly from the second state to the first state, when the connection device switches from the second angle range to the first angle range. (Abstract – The switch member… to guide the first shaft and the second shaft to carry out an asynchronous convertible turning)
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the switch of Hsu into the connection device of Kamphuis.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to actuate the hinge to the desired position.
Regarding claim 5, Kamphuis in view of Hsu discloses the connection device according to claim 4, wherein the switch assembly (Abstract – Hsu) includes a switch member (3 – Hsu) configured to move parallel to an axial direction of the shaft, to keep the first motion assembly or the second motion assembly in the first state (Paragraph 0050 in its entirety – Hsu).
Regarding claim 6, Kamphuis in view of Hsu discloses the connection device according to claim 4, wherein the switch assembly includes: a first switch part (31 – Hsu) configured to cooperate with the first motion assembly to switch the first motion assembly from the second state to the first state; and a second switch part (32 – Hsu) configured to cooperate with the second motion assembly to switch the second motion assembly from the second state to the first state.
Regarding claim 14, Kamphuis discloses the electronic device according to claim 13.
Kamphuis does not expressly disclose wherein the switch assembly includes a switch member configured to move parallel to an axial direction of the shaft, to keep the first motion assembly or the second motion assembly in the first state
Hsu discloses wherein the switch assembly (Abstract – Hsu) includes a switch member (3 – Hsu) configured to move parallel to an axial direction of the shaft, to keep the first motion assembly or the second motion assembly in the first state (Paragraph 0050 in its entirety – Hsu).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the movement of the switch assembly of Hsu into the switch assembly of Kamphuis.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to stay in line with the parallel shafts
Regarding claim 15, Kamphuis discloses the electronic device according to claim 13.
Kamphuis does not expressly disclose wherein the switch assembly includes: a first switch part configured to cooperate with the first motion assembly to switch the first motion assembly from the second state to the first state; and a second switch part configured to cooperate with the second motion assembly to switch the second motion assembly from the second state to the first state
Hsu discloses a first switch part (31 – Hsu) configured to cooperate with the first motion assembly to switch the first motion assembly from the second state to the first state; and a second switch part (32 – Hsu) configured to cooperate with the second motion assembly to switch the second motion assembly from the second state to the first state.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the switch parts of Hsu into the switch assembly of Kamphuis
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to better control the desired position of the electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 10 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship wherein: the first motion assembly includes a first shaft sleeve assembly connected to the shaft and configured to, when the connection device is in the first angle range: have a first friction force when moving from a first relative position to a second relative position relative to the shaft, and having a second friction force when moving from the second relative position to the first relative position relative to the shaft, the second friction force being larger than the first friction force; and the second motion assembly includes a second shaft sleeve assembly connected to the shaft and configured to, when the connection device is in the second angle range: have a third friction force when moving from a third relative position to a fourth relative position relative to the shaft, and have a third friction force when moving from the fourth relative position to the third relative position relative to the shaft, the fourth friction force being less than the third friction force, as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship wherein: the first body has a first force, and the second body has a second force; when the electronic device is in the first usage mode, the first motion assembly has a first friction force when moving from a first relative position to a second relative position relative to the shaft and has a second friction force when moving from the second relative position to the first relative position relative to the shaft, the second friction force being larger than the first friction force, the first friction force being less than the second force, and the second friction force being larger than the first force; and when the electronic device is in the second usage mode, the second motion assembly has a third friction force when moving from a third relative position to a fourth relative position relative to the shaft and has a fourth friction force when moving from the fourth relative position to the third relative position relative to the shaft, the fourth friction force being less than the third friction force, the third friction force being larger than the second force, and the fourth friction force being less than the first force, as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship wherein: the first motion assembly includes a first shaft sleeve assembly connected to the shaft and configured to, when the connection device is in the first angle range: have a first friction force when moving from a first relative position to a second relative position relative to the shaft, and having a second friction force when moving from the second relative position to the first relative position relative to the shaft, the second friction force being larger than the first friction force; and the second motion assembly includes a second shaft sleeve assembly connected to the shaft and configured to, when the connection device is in the second angle range: have a third friction force when moving from a third relative position to a fourth relative position relative to the shaft, and have a third friction force when moving from the fourth relative position to the third relative position relative to the shaft, the fourth friction force being less than the third friction force, as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20170356225.
/XANTHIA C RELFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
20 August 2026