DETAILED ACTION
This action is made in response to the amendments/remarks filed on June 1, 2026. This action is made final.
Claims 1, 3-12, 14-22 are pending. Claims 2 and 13 are presently cancelled. Claims 21 and 22 are newly added. Claims 1, 3-12, 14-20 have been amended. Claims 1, 11, and 17 are independent claims.
Examiner Note
Examiner notes the present application claims priority to provisional application 63/317455. However, a review to the provisional application and subsequent non-provisional CIP fail to provide sufficient written description for at least the generative AI model, the classification model, and the generated instructions being more than an alarm. Accordingly, any amendment and/or interpretation beyond what is fully supported in the provisional application and/or CIP applications will not be granted priority as of the provisional filing date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to independent claims 1, 11, and 17, the claims recite a “patient support apparatus”. However, a review of the specification fails to disclose any such “patient support apparatus”.
Claims 3-10, 12, 14-16 and 19-22 fail to resolve the 112 deficiency of their parent claims and are similarly rejected.
Claims1, 3-12, and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to independent claims 1, 11, and 17, the claims recite a “patient support apparatus”. However, the specification fails to describe any “patient support apparatus” and is unclear as to the metes and bounds of what a “patient support apparatus” entails. For the purposes of compact prosecution and in a manner as best understood by the examiner, the “patient support apparatus” can be any device/apparatus that is utilized by a patient for their care needs.
Claims 3-10, 12, 14-16 and 19-22 fail to resolve the 112 deficiency of their parent claims and are similarly rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to the double patenting rejection, contrary to Applicant’s remarks, no terminal disclaimer has been filed and the previous double patenting rejection is maintained for the reasons outlined below.
As to the 101 rejection, Applicant states the claims are integrated into a practical application as the claims use the judicial exception in some meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort to monopolize the exception. It is noted that Applicant provides no remarks or arguments but merely recites the claim, in its entirety, and asserts the “specific combination of steps does not preempt or monopolize data processing or room management generally”. Nonetheless, the examiner, respectfully disagrees.
MPEP 2106.05(e) states the phrase “meaningful limitations” that describe additional elements that provide an inventive concept to the claim as a whole. The Applicant has not stated, nor has the examiner identified any additional elements that provide an inventive concept to the claim as a whole. Rather, the claims describe steps a person or persons would use, with or without the aid of a computer, to provide an alert of a patient’s condition. The use of the AI model, apparatus, and devices, provide nothing more than merely using the computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea and/or generally liking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field. Applicant has not pointed to anything in the claims that fall outside of this characterization. Because the claim elements fall under a series of rules or instructions that a person or persons would follow to provide an alert of a patient’s condition, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea.
Applicant further states Chronis fails to teach “receiving, from a plurality of devices located in a room where the bed is located, a plurality of inputs” and “inputting the first input and the plurality of inputs into the AI model as a combined input”. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Chronis is directed to a system/method for attempting bed exits, wherein data, from a plurality of sources, is collected and aggregated in real time via a machine learning model to detect a patient’s risk. Chronis teaches the data can be received from a plurality of sources such as various sensors, including depth sensors, bed sensors, pressure sensors, camera data, data from an IV, walker data, etc. (e.g., see Fig. 1, Abstract, [0073]). As such, Chronis teaches the claimed limitation as amended.
For at least the above reasons, and those below, the previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 and 17-19 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting being unpatentable over claims 1-14 and 17-19 of copending Application No. 19/231,409 (hereinafter ‘409). Although the claims at issues are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other
Present Application
Co-pending ‘409
1. A method implemented by a computer system hosting an artificial intelligence (Al) model, the method comprising:
receiving, from a patient support apparatus located in a healthcare facility, a first input;
receiving, from a plurality of devices located in a room where the patient support apparatus is located, a plurality of inputs;
inputting the first input and the plurality of inputs into the AI model as a combined input;
generating, by the Al model and based on the combined input, a patient status alert; and
sending the patient status alert to a third device to present a notification.
1. A method implemented by a computer system hosting an artificial intelligence (Al) model, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first device located in a healthcare facility and providing a first type of healthcare related service, a first input related to the first type of healthcare related service;
receiving, from a second device located in the healthcare facility and providing a second type of healthcare related service, a second input related to the second type of healthcare related service;
generating, by at least using the first input and the second input as at least part of an input to the Al model, a first instruction for a third device providing a third type of healthcare related service, the first instruction indicated by an output of the Al model, the third type of healthcare related service being based at least in part on the first type of healthcare related service and the second type of healthcare related service;
generating, by at least using the first input and the second input as at least part of the input to the Al model, a second instruction for a fourth device providing a fourth type of healthcare related service, the second instruction indicated by the output of the Al model, the fourth type of healthcare related service being based at least in part on the first type of healthcare related service and the second type of healthcare related service;
causing, by at least sending the first instruction to the third device, the third device to perform the third type of healthcare related service; and
causing, by at least sending the second instruction to the fourth device, the fourth device to perform the fourth type of healthcare related service.
11. A computer system of a healthcare facility hosting an artificial intelligence (Al) model comprising:
a patient support apparatus in the healthcare facility;
a plurality of devices located in the healthcare facility;
an instruction generation system comprising:
one or more storage media storing first instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the instruction generation system to:
receive, from the patient support apparatus, a first input;
receive, from the plurality of devices a plurality of inputs;
input the first input and the plurality of inputs into the AI model as a combined input;
generate, by the Al model and based on the combined input, a patient status alert; and
send the patient status alert to a third device to present a notification.
11. A computer system of a healthcare facility hosting an artificial intelligence (Al) model comprising:
a first device located in the healthcare facility, that provides a first type of healthcare related service;
a second device located in the healthcare facility, that provides a second type of healthcare related service;
a third device that performs a third type of healthcare related service based at least in part on a first instruction generated by an instruction generation system;
a fourth device that performs a fourth type of healthcare related service based at least in part on a second instruction generated by the instruction generation system; and
the instruction generation system comprising:
one or more storage media storing [[first]] third instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the third instructions to cause the instruction generation system to:
receive, from the first device, a first input related to the first type of healthcare related service;
receive, from the second device, a second input related to the second type of healthcare related service;
generate, by at least using the first input and the second input as at least part of an input to the Al model, the first instruction for the third device, the first instruction indicated by an output of the Al model, the third type of healthcare related service being based at least in part on the first type of healthcare related service and the second type of healthcare related service;
generate, by at least using the first input and the second input as at least part of an input to the Al model, the second instruction for the fourth device, the second instruction indicated by the output of the Al model, the fourth type of healthcare related service being based at least in part on the first type of healthcare related service and the second type of healthcare related service;[[and]]
send the first instruction to the third device; and
send the second instruction to the fourth device.
17. One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions that, upon execution by one or more processors of a system hosting an artificial intelligence (Al) model, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a patient support apparatus located in a healthcare facility, a first input;
receiving, from a plurality of devices located in a room where the patient support apparatus is located, a plurality of inputs;
inputting the first input and the plurality of inputs into the AI model as a combined input;
generating, by the Al model and based on the combined input, a patient status alert; and
sending the patient status alert to a third device to present a notification.
17. One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions that, upon execution by one or more processors of a system hosting an artificial intelligence (Al) model, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a first device located in a healthcare facility and providing a first type of healthcare related service, a first input related to the first type of healthcare related service;
receiving, from a second device located in the healthcare facility and providing a second type of healthcare related service, a second input related to the second type of healthcare related service;
generating, by at least using the first input and the second input as at least part of an input to the Al model, a first instruction for a third device providing a third type of healthcare related service, the first instruction indicated by an output of the Al model, the third type of healthcare related service being based at least in part on the first type of healthcare related service and the second type of healthcare related service;
generating, by at least using the first input and the second input as at least part of the input to the Al model, a second instruction for a fourth device providing a fourth type of healthcare related service, the second instruction indicated by the output of the Al model, the fourth type of healthcare related service being based at least in part on the first type of healthcare related service and the second type of healthcare related service;
causing, by at least sending the first instruction to the third device the third device to perform the third type of healthcare related service; and causing, by at least sending the second instruction to the fourth device, the fourth device to perform the fourth type of healthcare related service.
As can be seen from the table above, independent claims 1, 11, and 17 are broader recitations of the independent claims 1, 11, and 17 of the ‘409 application. Claims 1, 11, and 17 of the ‘409 application contain every limitation of claims 1, 11, and 17 of the present application. Similarly, dependent claims 2-10, 12-14, 18, and 19 of the present application are recited in dependent claims 2-10, 12-14, 18, and 19 of the ‘409 application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 3-10, and 21-22 recite a method of providing patient status alerts, which is within the statutory category of a process. Claims 11, 12, and 14-16 recite a system of providing patient status alerts, which is within the statutory class of a machine. Claims 17-20 recites a non-transitory computer readable media for providing patient status alerts, which is within the statutory class of a manufacture.
Claims are eligible for patent protection under § 101 if they are in one of the four statutory categories and not directed to a judicial exception to patentability. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. ___ (2014). Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-22, each considered as a whole and as an ordered combination, are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A – Prong 1:
The bolded limitations of:
Claims 1, 11, and 17 (claim 1 being representative)
receiving, from a patient support apparatus located in a healthcare facility, a first input; receiving, from a plurality of devices located in a room where the patient support apparatus is located, a plurality of inputs; inputting the first input and the plurality of inputs into the AI model as a combined input; generating, by the Al model and based on the combined input, a patient status alert; and sending the patient status alert to a third device to cause the third device to present a notification.
as presently drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a method of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the noted computer elements, the claim encompasses a person following rules or instructions to receive and process data in the manner described in the abstract idea, such as assessing a patient, determining their status, and providing a notifcation. The examiner further notes that “methods of organizing human activity” includes a person’s interaction with a computer (see October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility at Pg. 5). If the claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing persona behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “method of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A – Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no meaningful limitations that transform the exception into a patent eligible application. The additional elements merely amount to instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (“devices”, “third device”, “storage media”, “processor”—all recited at a high level of generality). Although they have and execute instructions to perform the abstract idea itself, this also does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it merely amounts to instructions to "apply it." (See MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) indicating mere instructions to apply an abstract idea does not amount to integrating the abstract idea into a practical application). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea. Furthermore, insomuch as the “devices” are not generic computer components, but are various medical devices, they are recited at high levels of generality and were determined to generally link the abstract idea into a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h) indicating generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate into a practical application).
Similarly, insomuch as the “support apparatus” is not a generic computer component (notably, Applicant’s specification fails to describe what a “support apparatus” entails), it is are recited at a high level of generality and were determined to generally link the abstract idea into a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h) indicating generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate into a practical application).
The claim further recites the additional elements of (1) an Artificial Intelligence (AI) model and (2) inputting data into the AI model to generate output. When given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the nonexistent description of AI training in the disclosure, training of an AI model with the noted data amounts to a mathematical concept that creates data associations. As such, training of the AI model is interpreted to be subsumed within the identified abstract idea and the use of the trained model provides nothing more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea, supra. July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples, Example 47, Claim 2, discussion of item (c) at Pgs. 7-9. Regarding (2), the use of the AI model provides nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer (“apply it”). See MPEP 2106.05(f). MPEP 2106.05(f); July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples, Example 47, Claim 2, discussion of items (d) and (e) at Pgs. 8-9.
The claims only manipulate abstract data elements into another form. They do not set forth improvements to another technological field or the functioning of the computer itself and instead use computer elements as tools in a conventional way to improve the functioning of the abstract idea identified above. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. None of the additional elements recited "offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking 'the use of the [method] to a particular technological environment,' that is, implementation via computers." Alice Corp., slip op. at 16 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 610, 611 (U.S. 2010)).
At the levels of abstraction described above, the claims do not readily lend themselves to a finding that they are directed to a nonabstract idea. Therefore, the analysis proceeds to step 2B. See BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The Enfish claims, understood in light of their specific limitations, were unambiguously directed to an improvement in computer capabilities. Here, in contrast, the claims and their specific limitations do not readily lend themselves to a step-one finding that they are directed to a nonabstract idea. We therefore defer our consideration of the specific claim limitations’ narrowing effect for step two.") (citations omitted).
MPEP 2106 Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as presented in Step 2A Prong 2. Moreover, the additional elements recited are known and conventional generic computing elements a “devices”, “storage media”, “processor”—see Specification [0056], [0128] describing the various components as general purpose, common, standard, known to one of ordinary skill, and at a high level of generality, and in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy the statutory disclosure requirements). Therefore, these additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept that amounts to significantly more. Furthermore, insomuch as the “devices” and “support apparatus” are not generic computer components, but are various medical devices, they are recited at high levels of generality and were determined to generally link the abstract idea into a particular technological environment or field of use. This additional element have been re-evaluated under step 2B and have also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. (See MPEP 2106.05(A) indicating generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not amount to significantly more).
See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The Federal Circuit has recognized that "an invocation of already-available computers that are not themselves plausibly asserted to be an advance, for use in carrying out improved mathematical calculations, amounts to a recitation of what is 'well-understood, routine, [and] conventional.'" SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016, 1023 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (alteration in original) (citing Mayo v. Prometheus, 566 U.S. 66, 73 (2012)). Apart from the instructions to implement the abstract idea, they only serve to perform well-understood functions (e.g., receiving, translating, and displaying data—see Specification above as well as Alice Corp.; Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334 (Fed. Cir. 2015) covering the well-known nature of these computer functions).
Also, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements (1) an Artificial Intelligence (AI) model and (2) use of the AI model to generate outputs were considered to be part of the abstract idea and “apply it,” respectively. This has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and has also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. Training of the AI model is considered part of the abstract idea and thus cannot provide a practical application. Regarding the use of the AI model represented saying “apply it.” Item (2) has been revaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and does not provide “significantly more” to the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05(A) indicates also indicates that merely adding the words “apply it” or equivalent use cannot provide significantly more. Accordingly, even in combination, this additional element does not provide significantly more. As such the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims
The limitations of dependent but for those addressed below merely set forth further refinements of the abstract idea without changing the analysis already presented. Claims 3, 5, 7, 8 (19, 20) merely recite the type of data used to generate an output, which covers a method of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions).
Claims 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 21, and 22 (12, 14-16, 18) further refine the abstract idea described in the independent claim and merely recite different types of devices for sending/receiving data and/or the type of AI model. These additional elements are considered to “apply it” of “generally link” under both the practical application and significantly more analysis, as detailed in the analysis above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-12, 14-17, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chronis (USPPN: 2021/0007676; hereinafter Chronis).
As to claim 1, Chronis teaches A method implemented by a computer system hosting an artificial intelligence (Al) model (e.g., see Abstract, Fig. 1), the method comprising:
receiving, from a patient support apparatus located in a healthcare facility, a first input (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0039]-[0041] wherein patient data is received from multiple sources, including devices within a healthcare facility for providing patient healthcare services);
receiving, from a plurality of devices located in a room where the patient support apparatus is located, a plurality of inputs (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0039]-[0041], [0062], [0074], [0075] wherein patient data is received from multiple sources, including devices within a healthcare facility for providing patient healthcare services);
inputting the first input and the plurality of input into the AI model as a combined input (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0073] wherein the data from a plurality of sources are provided to a machine learning algorithm);
generating, by the Al model and based on the combined input, a patient status alert (See Examiner Note above. e.g., see Figs. 1, 2, [0060], [0061], [0073], [0076] wherein the received patient data can be provided to a machine learning model to determine whether an alert should be issued to another); and
sending patient status alert to a third device to cause the third device to present a notification (See Examiner Note above. e.g., see Fig. 2, [0076], [0084]-[0086] wherein an alert is provided to another device, which is consistent with at least [0186] of Applicant’s originally filed specification).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein an input of the plurality of inputs includes at least one of (i) a medical record or (ii) a message received by one of the plurality of devices from another device located in the healthcare facility (e.g., see [0039]-[0041] wherein the patient data can be patient medical records or patient data received from another device).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the Al model includes a classification Al model, wherein the patient status alert is generated when a first classification is generated (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0073], [0084]-[0085] wherein the system learns, using a machine learning model, various types of risk and alerts to provide based on those risks (i.e., classifications)), and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, from a device of the plurality of devices, a third input (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0039]-[0041] wherein patient data is received from multiple sources, including devices within a healthcare facility for providing patient healthcare services, wherein the BRI of “type of healthcare related services” includes a service relating to assessment, prevention, and/or treatment, which is consistent with at least [0178] of Applicant’s originally filed specification);
generating, by at least using the first input and the third input as part of the input to the Al model, a second classification and an instruction for the third device (See Examiner Note above. e.g., see Figs. 1, 2, [0060], [0061], [0073], [0076], [0084]-[0085] wherein the received patient data can be provided to a machine learning model to determine whether an alert should be issued to another, wherein the system learns, using a machine learning model, various types of risk and alerts to provide based on those risks (i.e., classifications)); and
causing, by at least sending the second instruction to the third device the third device to perform the third type of healthcare related service (See Examiner Note above. e.g., see Fig. 2, [0076], [0084]-[0086] wherein an alert is provided to another device, which is consistent with at least [0186] of Applicant’s originally filed specification).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the first device includes a sensor pad or a camera, the third device is an alarm device, and wherein the instruction causes the alarm device to present an alarm indicating patient movement (See Examiner note above. e.g., see [0039]-[0041], [0058], [0076], [0084] wherein the devices can include sensors, cameras, and devices for providing alerts/alarms).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the second device is a medical record storage device that includes a fall risk indication for the patient (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0039], [0079], [0080] wherein the data includes the patient’s fall risk assessment).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the third device includes a medical record storage device, and wherein the third type of healthcare related service includes updating a medical record (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0080] teaching medical records can be constantly updated).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the first device includes at least one of a nurse call device, a user device, a camera, or a sensor pad physically coupled with a bed, and wherein the second device is a different type of device than the first device and includes at least one of a second nurse call device, a second user device, a second camera, or a second sensor pad physically coupled with a second bed (e.g., see [0039]-[0041], [0058], [0076], [0084] wherein the devices can include sensors, cameras, beds and devices for providing alerts/alarms).
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the third device includes an environment control device, and wherein the first device includes a medical record storage device (See examiner note above. e.g., see [0038]-[0041], [0058], [0076], [0084] wherein the device that receive instructions can be beds, lights, restraints, walkers and devices for providing data include medical record database).
As to claim 11, the claim is directed to the computer system implementing the method of claim 1 and is similarly rejected.
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the first device or the second device is a sensor pad, a camera, or a bed (e.g., see [0038]-[0041], [0058] wherein the devices can include sensors, cameras, or beds).
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the third device is a third type of device, is located in the healthcare facility and includes an interface used to perform the third type of healthcare related service (e.g., see [0076] wherein the third device can include a device and interface within a healthcare facility for performing healthcare related services).
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein at least one of the first device, the second device, or the third device include at least one of (i) a hub located in a patient room and configured to be communicatively coupled with a nurse call system of the healthcare facility and another device, (ii) a bed controller, (iii) a television control system, (iv) a medical device, or (v) a sensor pad (See examiner note above. e.g., see [0038]-[0041], [0058], [0076], [0084] wherein the device that receive instructions can be beds, lights, restraints, walkers, nursing monitoring station devices, patient interfaces, etc.).
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein at least one of the first device, the second device, or the third device include a mobile phone, a camera, or a nurse call system controller (See examiner note above. e.g., see [0038]-[0042], [0058], [0076], [0084] wherein the devices can be sensors, cameras, beds, lights, restraints, walkers, nursing station devices, patient interfaces, phones).
As to claim 16, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the third device includes at least one of an alarm, a room control device, a messaging device, or a camera (See examiner note above. e.g., see [0038]-[0041], [0058], [0076], [0084] wherein the device that receive instructions can be beds, lights, restraints, walkers, nursing station devices).
As to claims 17, 19, and 20, the claim is directed to the non-transitory computer-readable storage media implementing the method of claims 1, 5, and 3 and are similarly rejected.
As to claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the third device includes a nurse call system, a notification system, or a communication system (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0076] wherein the device for receiving the alert includes nurse call stations).
As to claim 22, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein the first input from the patient support apparatus includes patient support apparatus sensor data comprising values representing pressure or weight at positions generated by a sensor physically coupled with the patient support apparatus (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0057], [0058], [0074] wherein sensor data includes pressure sensor information to determine patient’s position/pressure/weight on the bed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chronis, as applied above, and in further view of Quatro (USPPN: 2025/0045304; hereinafter Quatro) (See Examiner Note above).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Chronis further teaches wherein generating the patient status alert comprises inputting the first input, and the plurality of inputs to the AI model (e.g., see Fig. 2, [0073] wherein the data is provided to a machine learning algorithm).
While Chronis teaches the use of a machine learning algorithms, Chronis fails to teach wherein the Al model includes a generative Al model, and inputting a prompt to the generative Al model.
However, in the same field of endeavor of interpreting information, Quatro teaches wherein the Al model includes a generative Al model (e.g., see Fig. 22, [0614]-[0616], [0623] teaching the use of generative AI models), and inputting a prompt to the generative Al model (e.g., see [0625], [0684], [0687] wherein prompts and other received data are provided to the generative AI model).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Chronis in view of Quatro with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make the modification in order to provide for robust generative capabilities for creating and performing analytics and enabling more precise and goal-oriented interactions with the AI systems (e.g., see [0616], [0684] of Quatro).
As to claim 18, the claim is directed to the non-transitory computer-readable storage media implementing the method of claim 4 and is similarly rejected.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Further, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STELLA HIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681