DETAILED ACTION
The Office acknowledges the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) dated 12 May 2026, in which:
Claims 1-14, 16-27 and 29-31 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 12-14, 20 and 25-27 are amended.
Claims 15 and 28 are canceled
Claim 31 is newly added.
Response to Arguments/Amendments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14, 16-27 and 29-30 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendments to independent claims 1 and 20 and the introduction of claim 31 overcome the prior art rejections over Harley in view of Munakata. Specifically, Applicant asserts that:
1. Munakata fails to teach assigning specific time slots exclusively to different detections functions (tilt vs. spin).
2. Munakata fails to teach forming a “composite signal distribution” specifically for tilt detection based on signals from multiple electrodes.
3. Harley fails to teach a signal embodiment where both the pen tip and the pen body possess multiple electrodes simultaneously.
The Office respectfully disagrees.
Regarding slot exclusivity, Munakata expressly teaches a signal supply control circuit that selectively supplies signals to distinct electrode pieces sequentially (e.g., periods TB, TC, TD) for the purpose of “detecting a condition of the position pointer… such as rotation and tilt” (Munakata: [0004], [0109]). Munakata provides a clear motivation for this sequencing: to “prevent interference…. Thus allowing for proper detection of the signal level from each electrode piece” (Munakata: Para. [0024]). Thus, allocating a first slot for tilt and a second for spin is a predictable application of Munakata’s touch display multiplexing framework to ensure signal integrity for each orientation calculation.
Regarding composite distribution, Munakata teaches a mode where signals “simultaneously supply a signal to each of the first electrode and the three electrode pieces” (Munakata: Para. [0025]. This is done specifically to achieve signal reception strength (Para. [0022]). As these signals overlap on the sensor grid, they inherently form a “composite signal distribution.” Applying this simultaneous/composite transmission to the tilt detection method of Harley, which utilizes “asymmetric capacitance images”, is an obvious implementation to improve sensitivity.
Regarding Claim 31, Harley discloses tip electrodes in a multi-segmented arrangement (1 tip + 3 segments) in Figure 6b and segmented body electrodes for rotational sensing in Figure 7. Furthermore, Figure 13 of Harley discloses a stylus tip formed by two side-by-side electrodes on opposing sides. Combining these segmented features into a single stylus is a routine combination of known features to enhance orientation precision, a goal shared by both prior art references (Munakata: Para. [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14,18-27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harley et al. (US 2012/0327042, hereinafter “Harley” or “Harley ‘042”) in view of Munakata et al. (US 2016/0188016, hereinafter “Munakata”).
With respect to Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Harley teaches a stylus comprising:
a plurality of transmission electrodes (Harley, Fig. 7 shows multiple electrodes 714, 716A-C arranged circumferentially), comprising:
a first transmission electrode, deployed at a first side of a pen axis of the stylus (Harley, Fig. 7, electrodes 714, 716A-C arranged around the circumference of the stylus body which inherently places them on different sides of the central pen axis); and
a second transmission electrode, deployed at a second side of the pen axis of the stylus (Harley, Fig. 7, multiple electrodes 714, 716A-C on different sides of the central axis);
wherein the first side is different from the second side (Harley, Fig. 7, a geometric arrangement of circumferential electrodes, which inherently requires that the side for one electrode is different from the side for another non-colocated electrode).
While Harley teaches using the same set of electrodes for both tilt and spin detection, Harley fails to expressly disclose:
wherein at least one of the first transmission electrode and the second transmission electrode is used for tilt detection in a first time slot and used for spin detection in a second time slot.
However, Munakata discloses:
wherein at least one of the first transmission electrode and the second transmission electrode is used for tilt detection in a first time slot and used for spin detection in a second time slot (Munakata, Para. [0111], [0171], [0173], signal supply control circuit 10 selectively supplies signals to the electrodes during sequential time periods (TB, TC, TD) specifically to calculate tilt and rotation angles. Utilizing a first slot for one orientation parameter and a second for another is a routine optimization of the multiplexing framework taught by Munakata to prevent signal interference).
Regarding the amended feature:
form a composite signal distribution used for tilt detection. Munakata teaches simultaneously supplying signals to multiple electrodes to increase reception strength (Munakata: Para. [0025]). The overlapping output inherently forms a composite distribution. Harley teaches detecting tilt via asymmetric capacitance images (distributions). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Munakata’s composite/simultaneous signal with Harley’s tilt detection method to increase detection sensitivity.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the orientation detection capabilities of the stylus, as taught by Harley, using the internal temporal sequencing, as taught by Munakata, in order to achieve reduced interference and optimized processing (Munakata, Para. [0024]).
With respect to Claim 31 (New), four transmission electrodes (two at body sides, two at tip sides): Harley’s Figure 13 discloses a stylus tip with two side-by-side electrodes on opposing sides of the axis. Harley Figure 7 discloses a plurality of electrodes on opposing sides of the stylus body. Harley teaches that orientation is detected using “one or more locations on the stylus” (Harley: Para. [0004]). It would be an obvious design choice to combine the segmented tip of Figure 13 with the segmented body of Figure 7 to achieve higher-resolution orientation data. No unexpected technical result is demonstrated by this structural combination.
With respect to Claim 2, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 1, wherein the first transmission electrode is symmetric to the second transmission electrode with respect to the pen axis of the stylus (Harley, Para. [0047], Fig. 7, teaches a circumferential arrangement of electrodes that discloses a symmetric placement).
With respect to Claim 3, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 1, wherein a relative position of the first transmission electrode and the second transmission electrode changes in response to a spin of the stylus (Harley, Para. [0061], a clockwise rotation of the stylus causes a capacitance image clockwise shift, which is a direct result of the electrodes’ physical positions changing relative to the fixed touch sensor).
With respect to Claim 4, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 1, wherein a first signal distribution is generated from a first signal output by the first transmission electrode and a second signal distribution is generated from a second signal output by the second transmission electrode, and a relative strength of the first signal distribution and the second signal distribution changes in response to a spin of the stylus (Harley, Para. [0060], determining rotation by observing a small capacitance decrease at one electrode and a small capacitance increase at an adjacent electrode, which is a direct teaching of analyzing changes in the relative strength of their respective capacitance images, i.e., signal distributions).
With respect to Claim 5, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 1, wherein the pen axis of the stylus is an axis connecting a tip of the stylus and a back end of the stylus (Fig. 3, a stylus with a tip and a back end, and the described axis of rotation is this longitudinal axis, which is the standard definition of a pen axis).
With respect to Claim 6, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of transmission electrodes further comprise:
a third transmission electrode, deployed at a tip of the stylus (Harley, Para. [0065], Fig. 6A, a stylus configuration with a tip electrode 614 and body electrodes 616A-C).
With respect to Claim 7, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 6, wherein the third transmission electrode and at least one of the first transmission electrode and the second transmission electrode are used for tilt detection of the stylus (Harley, Para. [0068], teaches that tilting produces an asymmetric capacitance image, and the amount and direction of this asymmetry are used to determine tilt, a process which inherently involves comparing signals from multiple electrodes, such as tip and a side electrode).
With respect to Claim 8, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 6, wherein a first signal distribution is generated from a combination of a first signal output by the first transmission electrode and a second signal output by the second transmission electrode and a second signal distribution is generated from a third signal output by the third transmission electrode, and a relative strength of the first signal distribution and the second signal distribution changes in response to a tilt of the stylus (Harley, Para. [0068], teaches the principle of using the “asymmetric capacitance image” from multiple electrodes for tilt detection. The claim recites a specific method of quantifying this asymmetry, which is inherently disclosed by the general principle of comparing the capacitance images from the multiple disclosed electrodes.).
With respect to Claim 9, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 6, wherein the plurality of transmission electrodes further comprise:
a fourth transmission electrode, deployed at a body of the stylus;
wherein the third transmission electrode and the fourth transmission electrode are used for tilt detection of the stylus (Harley, Para. [0049] – [0052], Fig. 7A-C, teach a stylus with both tip and body electrodes that are used for orientation sensing).
With respect to Claim 10, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 1, wherein the first transmission electrode outputs a first signal and the second transmission electrode outputs a second signal different from the first signal (Harley, Para. [0060] – [0061], teaches tracking the capacitance image of “a particular second electrode,” which inherently requires that the signals from each electrode be distinguishable for the system to function as described).
With respect to Claim 18, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 1, wherein the first transmission electrode and the second transmission electrode are deployed at a tip of the stylus (Fig. 6B, teaches a bottom view of a stylus tip with multiple, distinct electrode areas 616A-C; Fig. 13, teaches two electrodes 1314, 1316 can be placed side by side to form stylus tip 1312).
With respect to Claim 19, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 18,wherein the plurality of transmission electrodes further comprise a third transmission electrode and a fourth transmission electrode deployed at a body of the stylus, wherein the third transmission electrode is deployed at the first side of the pen axis of the stylus, and the fourth transmission electrode is deployed at the second side of the pen axis of the stylus (Fig. 6B and 13, teaches electrode placement at the tip and on the body).
With respect to Claim 20 (Currently Amended), Harley teaches a stylus control circuit for detecting a stylus (Harley, Para. [0080]; Fig. 17), the stylus comprising a first transmission electrode and a second transmission electrode (Harley, Fig. 7, multiple electrodes 714, 716A-C on different sides of the central axis), the stylus control circuit (Harley, at Paras. [0060] – [0061], teaches the method of detecting spin by analyzing the capacitance images (signal distributions) from multiple electrodes, as such, this disclosure fundamentally teaches a control circuit configured to perform these functions, for example, by using the computing system 1900 as illustrated in Fig. 19) being to:
receive a first signal distribution corresponding to a first signal output by the first transmission electrode;
receive a second signal distribution corresponding to a second signal output by the second transmission electrode; and
detect a spin of the stylus according to the first signal distribution and the second signal distribution (Harley, Para. [0060], determining rotation by observing a small capacitance decrease at one electrode and a small capacitance increase at an adjacent electrode, which is a direct teaching of analyzing changes in the relative strength of their respective capacitance images, i.e., signal distributions).
While Harley teaches using the same set of electrodes for both tilt and spin detection, Harley fails to expressly disclose:
wherein at least one of the first transmission electrode and the second transmission electrode is used for tilt detection in a first time slot and used for spin detection in a second time slot.
However, Munakata discloses:
wherein at least one of the first transmission electrode and the second transmission electrode is used for tilt detection in a first time slot and used for spin detection in a second time slot (Munakata, Para. [0111], [0171], [0173], signal supply control circuit selectively supplies signals to the electrodes during sequential time periods (TB, TC, TD) specifically to calculate tilt and rotation angles. Utilizing a first slot for one orientation parameter and a second for another is a routine optimization of the multiplexing framework taught by Munakata to prevent signal interference).
Regarding the amended feature:
form a composite signal distribution used for tilt detection. Munakata teaches simultaneously supplying signals to multiple electrodes to increase reception strength (Munakata: Para. [0025]). The overlapping output inherently forms a composite distribution. Harley teaches detecting tilt via asymmetric capacitance images (distributions). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Munakata’s composite/simultaneous signal with Harley’s tilt detection method to increase detection sensitivity.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the orientation detection capabilities of the stylus, as taught by Harley, using the internal temporal sequencing, as taught by Munakata, in order to achieve reduced interference and optimized processing (Munakata, Para. [0024]).
With respect to Claim 21, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus control circuit of claim 20, wherein a relative position of the first transmission electrode and the second transmission electrode changes in response to the spin of the stylus (Harley, Para. [0060], teaches this physical principle as the basis for detection).
With respect to Claim 22, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus control circuit of claim 20, wherein a relative strength of the first signal distribution and the second signal distribution changes in response to the spin of the stylus (Harley, Para. [0060] – [0061], teaches the method of detecting a change in relative capacitance, which is a change in relative signal strength).
With respect to Claim 23, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus control circuit of claim 20, further being to:
receive a third signal distribution corresponding to a combination of the first signal and the second signal;
receive a fourth signal distribution corresponding to a third signal output by a third transmission electrode of the stylus;
and detect a tilt of the stylus according to the third signal distribution and the fourth signal distribution (Harley, Para. [0061], [0068], teaches the principle of using the “asymmetric capacitance image” from multiple electrodes (tip and body) for tilt detection. The claim recites a specific method of quantifying this asymmetry, which is inherently disclosed by the general principle of comparing the capacitance images from the multiple disclosed electrodes).
With respect to Claim 11, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 10,
wherein the first signal is in a first frequency, and the second signal is in a second frequency different from the first frequency (Munakata, Para. [0230], [0236], signals at different frequencies (f1, f2) to allow the processor to distinguish signals from the center electrode and surrounding electrodes
With respect to Claim 12 (Previously Presented), the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 10,
wherein the first signal is output in a first time slot, and the second signal is output in a second time slot different from the first time slot (Munakata, Para. [0111], switching signals one after another across multiple sequential time periods (TB, TC, TD). Extending a two-slot sequence to a third, fourth or fifth slot to accommodate additional data is a routine expansion of the TDM sequence to avoid signal cross-talk as suggested by Munakata at Para. [0024]).
With respect to Claims 13-14 (Previously Presented):
These claims are rejected for the reasons provided for claims 11 and 12. They recite more complex but obvious variations of applying standard TDM and FDM techniques, as taught by Munakata, to the multi-electrode system of Harley. Munakata, Para. [0230] – [0236], teaches using both time-division and frequency multiplexing, where a first signal (f1) and second signal (f2) are transmitted in sequential slots. It would be obvious to a PHOSITA to organize these as "third" and "fourth" slots to manage the overall data packet. Munakata, Para. [0109], discloses cycling through multiple periods (TA-TD). Utilizing a fifth time slot for a distinct electrode signal is a predictable expansion of Munakata’s TDM sequence to prevent crosstalk.
Claim 15 (Canceled).
Claims 24-27 are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as applied to claims 11-14.
Claims 16, 17, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harley in view of Munakata, as applied to claims 1-14 and 18-27 above, and further in view of Falkenburg et al. (US 2012/0331546, hereinafter “Falkenburg”).
With respect to Claim 16, the combination of Harley as modified by Munakata teaches the stylus of claim 1.
Harley fails to expressly disclose wherein a parameter is tuned by spinning the stylus.
However, Falkenburg discloses wherein a parameter is tuned by spinning the stylus (Falkenburg, Para. [0048], teaches that a rotation sensor can be used to determine a “stylus mode or setting” which is then transmitted to a device to cause an action).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the stylus, as taught by Harley, to incorporate a controllable parameter, as taught by Falkenburg, in order to manage various modes or settings (Falkenburg, [0042]). Additionally, Harley teaches that rotational orientation is used as a user interface input. Applying this input to a variable software parameter (color, volume) is a well-known application of rotation/spin sensing devices.
With respect to Claim 17, the combination of Harley as modified by Falkenburg teaches the stylus of claim 16, wherein the parameter comprises at least one of a color parameter of an image, a volume, and a radio channel (Falkenburg, Para. [0048], teaches that the detected rotation can cause a device to enter a “color mode” or “erase mode.” The claimed parameters are merely well-known examples of software parameters that are conventionally controlled by a rotational input, making their application to the system of Falkenburg obvious).
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as applied to claims 16 and 17.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN EARLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625