DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/9/2025 was filed prior to the mailing date of the mailing of this action. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. In claims 1 and 8, “a valve assembly coupling means”, where the coupling means is “may be any one of a snap connection, a push on connection, a fastener connection including at least one of screws, bolts, and molded studs with nuts, and a threaded connection), the cam connection including a plurality of lugs that extend radially outward from the valve housing relative to an axis of the fuel tank isolation valve assembly adjacent to the inner end of the valve housing, a plurality of tabs that extend radially inward from the storage body closure in the mount hole and are configured to engage the plurality of lugs formed on the valve housing when the valve housing is inserted into the mount hole and rotated about the axis”;
in claims 4 and 12, “anti-rotation means for blocking rotation” includes a locking or anti-rotation tab 40 and a notch 42.
Claim Objections
Claims 5,8,17 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 5, “wherein a vapor pipe defines the vapor port.”, should be, - - wherein the vapor pipe defines the vapor port. - -,
in claim 8, “the storage body closure”, should be - - a storage body closure - -,
in claim 17, “wherein mount assembly”, should be, - -wherein the mount assembly - -,
in claim 18, “wherein a vapor pipe defines the vapor port.”, should be, - - wherein the vapor pipe defines the vapor port. - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Perry (US 6502560).
Regarding claim 1, Perry discloses a fuel tank venting system (10,20,18,14,16) comprising: a fuel tank (12), a canister housing (18) formed to define a storage cavity (within 18) containing a carbon bed (col.2,ln.24) configured to absorb hydrocarbons in fuel vapor from the fuel tank that flows into and out of the storage cavity,
a fuel tank isolation valve assembly (20) fluidly coupled between the fuel tank and the canister housing (see Fig. 2, the assembly is attached to the top of 18 housing and the assembly is connected to the tank 12, col.4,lns 25-30), the fuel tank isolation valve including a valve housing (30,32,50) formed to define a fuel- tank vapor port (46, the port of the housing connected to tank 12, col. 4,lns 25-29) adapted to be coupled in fluid communication with the fuel tank and a vapor- transfer passageway (the pathway fluidly communicating in the vapor port into the assembly 20) in fluid communication with the fuel-tank vapor port and a fuel tank isolation valve (40) located in the vapor-transfer passageway and configured to regulate the flow of fuel vapor between the fuel tank and the storage cavity, and a valve assembly coupling means (32, bayonet style attachment, col.2, lns. 61,67) for mechanically coupling the fuel tank isolation valve assembly directly to the canister housing to cause the vapor-transfer passageway of the valve housing to be in fluid communication with the storage cavity of the canister housing so that fuel vapor flows directly between the fuel tank and the storage cavity of the media storage body.
Regarding claim 2, Perry discloses the valve assembly coupling means includes a plurality of lugs (at 32, see Fig.3) that each extend radially outward from the valve housing relative to a central vertical axis (the vertical axis as shown) of the fuel tank isolation valve assembly and a plurality of tabs (inherently matching tabs are located on the canister housing to mate with the connection tabs at 32, see Fig. 2,3) that each extend radially inward from the canister housing relative to the central vertical axis and configured to engage the plurality of lugs when the fuel tank isolation valve assembly is rotated relative to the canister housing about the central vertical axis to a fastened orientation so as to couple the valve housing of the fuel tank isolation valve assembly to the canister housing and block tilting of the valve housing about the central vertical axis relative to the canister housing (col. 2,lns. 58-61, as shown in Figure 2, the tabs at 32 are mated with a bottom surface of the top of the canister 18).
Regarding claim 3, Perry discloses the canister housing includes a media storage body (the lower portion of 18 having the vertical wall below attachment portion 32) formed to define the storage cavity and a storage body closure (the uppermost wall section connected to 18, having the opening for the coupling means) coupled to the media storage body to close a top opening (the upper opening of the side walls of 18) to the storage cavity, and wherein the plurality of tabs are formed on the storage body closure.
Regarding claim 4, Perry discloses the valve assembly coupling means further includes anti-rotation means (33 connected to the housing 30,50, which is attached to the top most part of 18, see Fig. 2) for blocking rotation of the valve housing about the central valve axis to maintain the fuel tank isolation valve assembly in the fastened orientation after the fuel tank isolation valve assembly is rotated relative to the canister housing about the central vertical axis.
Regarding claim 5, Perry discloses the valve housing includes a valve housing body (the body at the connection 32 is a bayonet or threaded connection up to the housing section surrounding the valve at 40) extends axially relative to a valve axis of the fuel tank isolation valve and a vapor pipe (46, Fig. 2) that extends radially from the valve housing body relative to the valve axis of the fuel tank isolation valve, wherein the valve housing body defines the vapor-transfer passageway, and wherein a vapor pipe defines the vapor port.
Regarding claim 6, Perry discloses the valve housing further includes a bottom mount member (70) independent of the valve housing body and coupled to the valve housing body in a bottom opening (the opening of the housing surrounding 70) of the valve housing body that opens directly into the storage cavity of the media storage body, wherein the bottom mount member is shaped to define a shoulder surface (the inner edge of 70) engaged by part (the external part of 40 that contacts 70) of the fuel tank isolation valve.
Regarding claim 7, Perry discloses the fuel tank isolation valve further includes a stationary perforated partition plate (the housing structure surrounding the leftmost end of 78, immediately to the right of numeral 68, as shown in Fig. 2) located in the vapor-transfer passageway defined by the valve housing to partition the vapor-transfer passageway to establish a tank-side chamber (the chamber where parts 68 and 40 are located) communicating with the vapor port on a first side (the upper side) of the stationary perforated partition plate and a storage-side chamber (the chamber where numerals 74 and 84 are located) communicating with the storage cavity of the media storage body on an opposite second side (the lower side) of the stationary perforated partition plate.
Regarding claim 8, Perry discloses a fuel tank venting system (10,20,18) comprising: a fuel tank (12), a canister housing (18) formed to define a storage cavity (within 18),
a fuel tank isolation valve assembly (20) including a valve housing (30,50,32) formed to define a fuel-tank vapor port (46) adapted to be coupled in fluid communication with the fuel tank and a vapor- transfer passageway (within 44 to 42) in fluid communication with the fuel-tank vapor port and a fuel tank isolation valve (40) located in the vapor-transfer passageway and configured to regulate the flow of fuel vapor between the fuel tank and the storage cavity, and
valve assembly coupling means (connection at 32, “bayonet” style) for coupling the fuel tank isolation valve assembly directly to the storage body closure (inherently, the closure being, the mating half for the bayonet style connection is located on the canister housing to mate with the other mating half at 32, see Fig. 2,3) of the canister housing to cause the vapor-transfer passageway of the valve housing to be in fluid communication with the storage cavity of the canister housing when an inner end (the groove at the lower end at 32) of the fuel tank isolation valve assembly is inserted into a mount hole (the hole within the housing that accepts the connection 32) formed in the canister housing and the fuel tank isolation valve assembly is rotated (the connection of 32 is inherently rotated to mate the connection) about a central vertical axis (the vertical centerline axis as shown in Fig. 2) of the fuel tank isolation valve assembly so that fuel vapor flows directly between the fuel tank and the storage cavity of the media storage body.
Regarding claim 9, Perry discloses the valve assembly coupling means includes a plurality of lugs (at 32, see Fig.2,3, figure 3 showing the best image) and a plurality of tabs (inherently matching tabs are located on the canister housing to mate with the connection tabs at 32, see Fig. 2,3) configured to engage the plurality of lugs when the fuel tank isolation valve assembly is rotated relative to the canister housing about the central vertical axis to a fastened orientation so as to couple the valve housing of the fuel tank isolation valve assembly to the canister housing and block tilting of the valve housing about the central vertical axis relative to the canister housing (as shown in Figure 2, the connection at 32 is capable of meeting the claimed functional limitations).
Regarding claim 10, Perry discloses the canister housing includes a media storage body (the lower portion of 18 having the vertical wall below attachment portion 32) formed to define the storage cavity and a storage body closure (the upper section of 18 having the horizontal top sections connected with 33 and 32) coupled to the media storage body to close a top opening (the opening at the rim of 18 that abuts the housing 50, where seal 34 is captured) to the storage cavity, and wherein the plurality of tabs (the inherent mating sections for the bayonet connection at 32) are formed on the storage body closure.
Regarding claim 11, Perry discloses the plurality of lugs (at 32, best seen in Fig. 3) each extend radially outward from the valve housing relative to the central vertical axis of the fuel tank isolation valve assembly and the plurality of locking tabs (the inherent sections of material that mate with the lugs when in the closed position) each extend radially inward from the canister housing relative to the central vertical axis.
Regarding claim 12, Perry discloses the valve assembly coupling means further includes anti-rotation means (33 connected to the housing 30,50, which is attached to the top most part of 18, see Fig. 2) for blocking rotation of the valve housing about the central valve axis to maintain the fuel tank isolation valve assembly in a fastened orientation after the fuel tank isolation valve assembly is rotated relative to the canister housing about the central vertical axis.
Regarding claim 13, Perry discloses the valve housing includes a valve housing body (the section of 50 that surrounds 70 and 40) and a bottom mount member (70) coupled to the valve housing body in a bottom opening (the opening surrounding the external diameter of 70) of the valve housing body to provide a shoulder surface (the shoulder of 40 that abuts 70) engaged by part of the fuel tank isolation valve to retain the fuel tank isolation valve in the vapor-transfer passageway of the valve housing.
Regarding claim 14, Perry discloses the fuel tank isolation valve further includes a stationary perforated partition plate (the housing structure surrounding the leftmost end of 78, immediately to the right of numeral 68, as shown in Fig. 2) located in the vapor-transfer passageway defined by the valve housing to partition the vapor-transfer passageway to establish a tank-side chamber (the chamber where parts 68 and 40 are located) communicating with the vapor port on a first side (the upper side) of the stationary perforated partition plate and a storage-side chamber (the chamber where numerals 74 and 84 are located) communicating with the storage cavity of the media storage body on an opposite second side (the lower side) of the stationary perforated partition plate.
Regarding claim 15, Perry discloses a fuel tank venting system (10,20,18) comprising a fuel tank (12),
a canister housing (18, the top cover and lower vertical walls) including a media storage body (with the lower portion of 18) formed to define a storage cavity (the space within the media storage body) and a storage body closure (the top cover of 18 having the mating connection at 32 for valve 20) selectively coupled to the media storage body to close a top opening (the opening within 18 that holds the carbon/charcoal) to the storage cavity,
a fuel tank isolation valve assembly (20) fluidly coupled between the fuel tank and the canister housing, the fuel tank isolation valve assembly including a valve housing (30,50,32) formed to define a fuel-tank vapor port (46) adapted to be coupled in fluid communication with the fuel tank and a vapor- transfer passageway (within 44 to 42) in fluid communication with the fuel-tank vapor port and a fuel tank isolation valve (40) located in the vapor-transfer passageway and configured to regulate the flow of fuel vapor between the fuel tank and the storage cavity, and
a mount assembly (32,44,33) configured to mechanically couple the fuel tank isolation valve assembly directly to the storage body closure of the canister housing to cause the vapor-transfer passageway of the valve housing to be in fluid communication with the storage cavity of the canister housing when an inner end (the inner grooved end of 32 surrounded by the horizontal section of 18) of the fuel tank isolation valve assembly is inserted into a mount hole (the hole of 18 that the end fitting at 32 is installed within) of formed in the canister housing and the fuel tank isolation valve assembly is rotated about a central vertical axis (the vertical axis shown in figures 2 and 3) of the fuel tank isolation valve assembly so that fuel vapor flows directly between the fuel tank and the storage cavity of the media storage body.
Regarding claim 16, Perry discloses the mount assembly includes a plurality of lugs (at 32, see Fig.2, 3) and a plurality of tabs (inherently matching tabs are located on the canister housing to mate with the connection tabs at 32, see Fig. 2,3) configured to engage the plurality of lugs when the fuel tank isolation valve assembly is rotated relative to the canister housing about the central vertical axis to a fastened orientation so as to couple the valve housing of the fuel tank isolation valve assembly to the canister housing and block tilting of valve housing relative to the canister housing (as shown in Figure 2, the connection at 32 is capable of meeting the claimed functional limitations).
Regarding claim 17, Perry discloses wherein “mount assembly” includes an anti-rotation tab (33) that extends radially outward from the valve housing relative to a central vertical axis (the vertical axis shown in Fig. 2) into a notch (the recess within 18 that the bottom most end of 33 is located within) formed on the canister housing when the valve housing is in a fastened orientation so as to block rotation of the valve housing about the central valve axis.
Regarding claim 18, Perry discloses the valve housing includes a valve housing body (the section of 50 surrounding 40,70) extends axially relative to a valve axis (the vertical axis shown in Fig. 2) of the fuel tank isolation valve and a vapor pipe (the pipe section of 44) that extends radially from the valve housing body relative to the valve axis of the fuel tank isolation valve, wherein the valve housing body defines the vapor-transfer passageway, and wherein a vapor pipe (the pipe section of 44) defines the vapor port (as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Perry discloses the valve housing further includes a bottom mount member (70) independent of the valve housing body and coupled to the valve housing body in a bottom opening (the opening surrounding the external diameter of 70) of the valve housing body that opens directly into the storage cavity of the media storage body, wherein the bottom mount member is shaped to define a shoulder surface (the shoulder surface of 40 that abuts 70) engaged by part (the external part of 40 that contacts 70) of the fuel tank isolation valve.
Regarding claim 20, Perry discloses the fuel tank isolation valve further includes a stationary perforated partition plate (the housing structure surrounding the leftmost end of 78, immediately to the right of numeral 68, as shown in Fig. 2) located in the vapor-transfer passageway defined by the valve housing to partition the vapor-transfer passageway to establish a tank-side chamber (the chamber where parts 68 and 40 are located) communicating with the vapor port on a first side (the upper side) of the stationary perforated partition plate and a storage-side chamber (the chamber where numerals 74 and 84 are located) communicating with the storage cavity of the media storage body on an opposite second side (the lower side) of the stationary perforated partition plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Should the above rejections not be found persuasive relative to the coupling means or mount assembly, the following rejection is given in an alternative manner.
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry (US 6502560) in view of Xiao et al. (CN213838792U, as supplied by applicant).
Regarding claims 1-20, Perry discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent to having that the coupling means/mount assembly disclose the tabs and lugs configured to engage each other to couple the valve housing to the canister housing.
Xiao teaches the use of a valve and housing with a bayonet connection having tabs (113) and lugs (214e), as shown in Figure 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a couplings means with lugs and tabs, as taught by Xiao et al., for the bayonet connection in the device of Perry, to the coupling means discloses the tabs and lugs configured to engage each other to couple the valve housing to the canister housing, since it has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (one bayonet connection configuration for another connection type) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). The tabs and lugs connection yield the predictable results of making a connection between the two housings as is old and well known in the art of fluid handling devices and fittings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753