DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 4, after motor, the claim ends with a ".." (2 periods). The second period at the end of claim 11 should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first vertical driving unit” in claim 1. Paragraph 0009 discloses that the corresponding structure for “[0009] The first vertical driving unit may include a first lifting shaft, and a first lifting element coupled to the first driving block and configured to move upward or downward under constraint by the first lifting shaft.”
“second vertical driving unit” in claim 1. Paragraph 0009 discloses that the corresponding structure for “[0010] The second vertical driving unit may include a second lifting shaft, and a second lifting element coupled to the second driving block and configured to move upward or downward under constraint by the second lifting shaft.”
Additional structure for the first vertical driving unit and the second vertical driving unit is disclosed as “[0016] Furthermore, at least one of the first and second vertical driving unit may further include a rotating unit configured to rotate the first or second lifting shaft. The rotating unit may include an internal threaded portion or an external threaded portion formed in the first or second lifting shaft, and an external threaded portion or an internal threaded portion which is formed on the lifting element corresponding to the first or second lifting shaft. [0017] The rotating unit may include a first pulley coupled to the first or second lifting shaft, a second pulley coupled to a driving motor, and a belt coupled to the first pulley and the second pulley.”
“first lifting element” in claim 2. Paragraph 0045 discloses that the corresponding structure for the first lifting element may be that “Furthermore, the first lifting element 62 may be configured as a nut-shaped element (hereinafter referred to as a nut), and may preferably include, in a certain section, a thread that correspond to the thread of the first lifting shaft 61. ” Paragraph 0046 alternatively discloses that “As another example, the first lifting shaft 61 may be a stator of a linear motor, in which case the second lifting element 62 may be a mover of the linear motor (e.g., a moving slider) .”
“second lifting element” in claim 3. Paragraph 0048 discloses that the corresponding structure for the first lifting element may be that “a second lifting element 62" (a nut-shaped element or a mover of the linear motor)”
“a rotating unit” in claim 9. Paragraph 0016-17 discloses that the corresponding structure for the first lifting element may be that “[0016] Furthermore, at least one of the first and second vertical driving unit may further include a rotating unit configured to rotate the first or second lifting shaft. The rotating unit may include an internal threaded portion or an external threaded portion formed in the first or second lifting shaft, and an external threaded portion or an internal threaded portion which is formed on the lifting element corresponding to the first or second lifting shaft. [0017] The rotating unit may include a first pulley coupled to the first or second lifting shaft, a second pulley coupled to a driving motor, and a belt coupled to the first pulley and the second pulley.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee (KR 102244580 B1).
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a die ejector (ide ejector 100) comprising:
an ejector module (“ejector unit 110) including an ejecting block (a plurality of ejector members 112”) that comes into contact with dicing tape (“dicing tape 24”);
a first driving block (one of either the “flange 114a” or “flanges 114b, c, d”) configured to perform, through upward or downward movement thereof, first upward or downward movement of the ejecting block;
a second driving block (the other of the “flange 114a” or “flanges 114b, c, d”) configured to perform, through upward or downward movement thereof, second upward or downward movement of the ejecting block;
a first vertical driving unit configured to move the first and second driving blocks upward or downward simultaneously (one of either “a second drive unit 176 for elevating and lowering the second drive shaft 174 may be included.” or “a driving unit 160 for elevating the driving shaft 158”); and
a second vertical driving unit configured to move only the second driving block upward or downward (other of either “a driving unit 160 for elevating the driving shaft 158” or “a second drive unit 176 for elevating and lowering the second drive shaft 174 may be included.”).
See the translation, disclosing:
The ejector driving unit 150 includes a driving head 156 coupled to a lower surface of the lifting head 152 and a driving shaft 158 coupled to the driving head 156 and extending downward from the driving head 156. ), and a driving unit 160 for elevating the driving shaft 158. In this case, the drive shaft 158 may include an upper drive shaft 158a connected to the drive head 156 and a lower drive shaft 158b connected to the upper drive shaft 158a through the lower cover 134. have.
As an example, the driving unit 160 may include a cam 162 and a motor 164 for rotating the cam 162, and on the cam 162 at a lower portion of the driving shaft 158 The cam follower 166 in the form of a roller to be disposed may be mounted. A second elastic member 168 may be disposed in the lower cover 134 to provide an elastic force downward so that the cam follower 166 is in close contact with the cam 162.
See later in the translation, disclosing:
According to an embodiment of the present invention, the die ejector 100 is disposed under the lowermost flange 114d, and has a stopper head 170 for limiting downward movement of the lowermost flange 114d, and the lowermost end In order to adjust the height of the flange 114d, it may include a stopper driving unit 172 that lifts and lowers the stopper head 170. As an example, the stopper head 170 may be configured to surround the lifting head 152 and the driving head 156, and the stopper driving part 172 is coupled to the lower portion of the stopper head 170 and the A second drive shaft 174 extending downward from the stopper head 170 to penetrate the lower cover 134 and a second drive unit 176 for elevating and lowering the second drive shaft 174 may be included. .
As an example, the second drive unit 176 may include a second cam 178 and a second motor 180 for rotating the second cam 178, and the second drive shaft 174 A second cam follower 182 in the form of a roller disposed on the second cam 178 may be mounted on the lower portion of the. A third elastic member 184 may be disposed in the lower cover 134 to provide an elastic force downward so that the second cam follower 182 is in close contact with the second cam 178.
See also later in the translation, disclosing:
According to an embodiment of the present invention, the ejector driving unit 150 may raise the lifting head 152 so that the ejector members 112 as a whole protrude from the upper surface of the hood 120, through which The edge portion of the die 22 to be picked up may be separated from the dicing tape 24. After the ejector members 112 are raised, the stopper driving part 172 may adjust the height of the stopper head 170 to limit the height of the lowermost flange 114d. For example, the stopper driving part 172 may raise the stopper head 170 so that the stopper head 170 is in close contact with the lower surface of the lowermost flange 114d, and subsequently, the innermost ejector member ( While the ejector members 112a, 112b, and 112c except for 112d) descend, the lowermost flange 114d may be supported.
The ejector driving unit 150 may lower the lifting head 152 after the stopper head 170 is raised. At this time, the uppermost flange 114a and the outermost ejector member 112a connected to the elevating head 152 through the connection pins 154 may descend first, and then the lowermost flange 114d and the Excluding the inner ejector member 112d, the remaining flanges 114b and 114c and the remaining ejector members 112b and 112c may descend. In particular, it is preferable that the ejector members 112a, 112b, and 112c except for the innermost ejector member 112d are sequentially lowered from the outside toward the inside. To this end, the elastic members 140 may have an elastic force gradually increasing downward. For example, the elastic force of the elastic member 140a between the second flange 114b and the third flange 114c positioned under the uppermost flange 114a is the third flange 114c and the lowermost flange 114d. ) May be configured to be smaller than the elastic force of the elastic member (140b) between.
See Also Figures 1-3, below:
As to claim 2, Lee discloses wherein the first vertical driving unit comprises a first lifting shaft (one of “driving shaft 158” or “second driving shaft 174”), and a first lifting element (one of “guide member 169” or “second guide member 186”) coupled to the first driving block and configured to move upward or downward under constraint by the first lifting shaft.
As to claim 3, Lee discloses wherein the second vertical driving unit comprises a second lifting shaft (other of “driving shaft 158” or “second driving shaft 174”), and a second lifting element (other of “guide member 169” or “second guide member 186”) coupled to the second driving block and configured to move upward or downward under constraint by the second lifting shaft.
As to claim 4, Lee discloses wherein the first driving block includes a hollow space therein, and wherein the second driving block is installed in the hollow space.
See the close up of Figure 3 below, showing a hollow space with the portions of flanges 114a-d inside of each other, which reads on the limitation of wherein the first driving block includes a hollow space therein, and wherein the second driving block is installed in the hollow space.
As to claim 7, Lee discloses further comprising a stopper (stopper head 170; alternatively, locking protrusion 126) configured to limit upward movement of the first driving block so that when the second vertical driving unit operates, only the second driving block moves upward.
See the translation, disclosing:
According to an embodiment of the present invention, the die ejector 100 is disposed under the lowermost flange 114d, and has a stopper head 170 for limiting downward movement of the lowermost flange 114d, and the lowermost end In order to adjust the height of the flange 114d, it may include a stopper driving unit 172 that lifts and lowers the stopper head 170. As an example, the stopper head 170 may be configured to surround the lifting head 152 and the driving head 156, and the stopper driving part 172 is coupled to the lower portion of the stopper head 170 and the A second drive shaft 174 extending downward from the stopper head 170 to penetrate the lower cover 134 and a second drive unit 176 for elevating and lowering the second drive shaft 174 may be included.
…
Meanwhile, a second permanent magnet 136 for coupling between the hood 120 and the ejector body 130 may be provided on the intermediate tube 132 of the ejector body 130. Meanwhile, a locking protrusion 126 for limiting downward movement of the flanges 114 may be provided on an inner surface of the hood 120. As an example, a snap ring functioning as the locking projection 126 may be mounted on an inner surface of the hood 120.
See also the closeup of Figure 2, elements 126 and 170, below:
As to claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the stopper comprises a locking protrusion formed on an outer surface of the first driving block and protruding outward to engage with an ejector housing.
See the translation, disclosing:
According to an embodiment of the present invention, the die ejector 100 is disposed under the lowermost flange 114d, and has a stopper head 170 for limiting downward movement of the lowermost flange 114d, and the lowermost end In order to adjust the height of the flange 114d, it may include a stopper driving unit 172 that lifts and lowers the stopper head 170. As an example, the stopper head 170 may be configured to surround the lifting head 152 and the driving head 156, and the stopper driving part 172 is coupled to the lower portion of the stopper head 170 and the A second drive shaft 174 extending downward from the stopper head 170 to penetrate the lower cover 134 and a second drive unit 176 for elevating and lowering the second drive shaft 174 may be included.
…
Meanwhile, a second permanent magnet 136 for coupling between the hood 120 and the ejector body 130 may be provided on the intermediate tube 132 of the ejector body 130. Meanwhile, a locking protrusion 126 for limiting downward movement of the flanges 114 may be provided on an inner surface of the hood 120. As an example, a snap ring functioning as the locking projection 126 may be mounted on an inner surface of the hood 120.
See also the closeup of Figure 2, elements 126 and 170, below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 102244580 B1) as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-8 above.
As to claim 5, Lee does not disclose wherein the second lifting shaft and the second lifting element of the second vertical driving unit are installed in the hollow space of the first driving block.
However, as noted above in the rejection, Lee discloses wherein the first driving block includes a hollow space therein, and wherein the second driving block is installed in the hollow space.
See the close up of Figure 3 above in the rejection of claim 4, showing a hollow space with the portions of flanges 114a-d inside of each other, which reads on the limitation of wherein the first driving block includes a hollow space therein, and wherein the second driving block is installed in the hollow space.
Furthermore, hollow spaces are present throughout Lee, as the second lifting shaft and the second lifting element of the second vertical driving unit are installed in a hollow space in order to enable translational or linear movement.. Additionally, rearrangement of parts and changes in size and shape and integration of parts is very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the second lifting shaft and the second lifting element of the second vertical driving unit are installed in the hollow space of the first driving block by utilizing an obvious rearrangement of parts and changes in size and shape and integration of parts such as the hollow spaces under MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 6, Lee does not disclose wherein the first driving block comprises a guide portion provided on an inner surface thereof, and wherein the second driving block comprises a sliding portion constrained by the guide portion so that the second driving block moves upward or downward along the guide portion.
However, Lee discloses that the driving blocks are nested within each other and can slide or change position relative to each other. See the close up of Figure 3 below, showing a hollow space with the portions of flanges 114a-d inside of each other, which reads on the limitation of wherein the first driving block includes a hollow space therein, and wherein the second driving block is installed in the hollow space.
Additionally, rearrangement of parts and changes in size and shape and integration of parts is very often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the first driving block comprises a guide portion provided on an inner surface thereof, and wherein the second driving block comprises a sliding portion constrained by the guide portion so that the second driving block moves upward or downward along the guide portion by utilizing an obvious rearrangement of parts and changes in size and shape and integration of parts such as the hollow spaces under MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 102244580 B1) as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Gaunekar (US 20050198799 A1) and Nakamura (US 5755373 A).
As to claim 9, Lee does not disclose wherein at least one of the first and second vertical driving units further comprises a rotating unit configured to rotate the first or second lifting shaft, wherein the first or second lifting shaft includes an internal threaded portion or an external threaded portion, and the first or second lifting element includes an external threaded portion or an internal threaded portion.
However, Gaunekar and Nakamura makes obvious wherein at least one of the first and second vertical driving units further comprises a rotating unit configured to rotate the first or second lifting shaft, wherein the first or second lifting shaft includes an internal threaded portion or an external threaded portion, and the first or second lifting element includes an external threaded portion or an internal threaded portion. Gaunekar discloses using a rotary motor. Additionally, mechanical structures such as threaded portions or screws are conventional transmission/linkage mechanisms used to convert rotational motion of a rotary motor into translational motion. See especially paragraphs 0003-0004, discussing conventional die ejector systems, and discussing the Nakamura reference:
[0003] Traditionally, die bonding machines use die ejection systems based on some kind of transmission/linkage mechanism used to convert rotational motion of a rotary motor into translational motion used for facilitating ejection of a die. For example, U.S. Pat. No. 5,755,373 for a "Die Push-Up Device" discloses a mechanism including a push-up needle raised and lowered by a cam that is actuated by a rotary motor.
[0004] FIG. 1 is a simplified diagram showing various parts of a conventional ejection system in greater detail. The ejection pins 1 are held by a collet 1a, which is mounted at the end of a shaft 2. A roller 15 is affixed to the lower end of the shaft. A rotary motor 20 is used to drive a high precision cam 16, which actuates the shaft 2 through the roller 15 in order to reduce friction. Typically a step-down transmission consisting of a timing belt 18 and pulleys 17, 19 is used to drive the cam 16. Any other suitable transmission mechanism may be used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein at least one of the first and second vertical driving units further comprises a rotating unit configured to rotate the first or second lifting shaft, wherein the first or second lifting shaft includes an internal threaded portion or an external threaded portion, and the first or second lifting element includes an external threaded portion or an internal threaded portion as suggested by Gaunekar’s rotary motor and transmission/linkage mechanism used to convert rotational motion of a rotary motor into translational motion in order to facilitate the linear motion needed to eject a die.
As to claim 10, Lee does not disclose wherein the rotating unit comprises a first pulley coupled to the first or second lifting shaft, a second pulley coupled to a driving motor, and a belt coupled to the first pulley and the second pulley.
However, Gaunekar makes obvious wherein the rotating unit comprises a first pulley coupled to the first or second lifting shaft, a second pulley coupled to a driving motor, and a belt coupled to the first pulley and the second pulley.
See especially paragraphs 0003-0004, discussing conventional die ejector systems, and discussing the Nakamura reference:
[0003] Traditionally, die bonding machines use die ejection systems based on some kind of transmission/linkage mechanism used to convert rotational motion of a rotary motor into translational motion used for facilitating ejection of a die. For example, U.S. Pat. No. 5,755,373 for a "Die Push-Up Device" discloses a mechanism including a push-up needle raised and lowered by a cam that is actuated by a rotary motor.
[0004] FIG. 1 is a simplified diagram showing various parts of a conventional ejection system in greater detail. The ejection pins 1 are held by a collet 1a, which is mounted at the end of a shaft 2. A roller 15 is affixed to the lower end of the shaft. A rotary motor 20 is used to drive a high precision cam 16, which actuates the shaft 2 through the roller 15 in order to reduce friction. Typically a step-down transmission consisting of a timing belt 18 and pulleys 17, 19 is used to drive the cam 16. Any other suitable transmission mechanism may be used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the rotating unit comprises a first pulley coupled to the first or second lifting shaft, a second pulley coupled to a driving motor, and a belt coupled to the first pulley and the second pulley as suggested by Gaunekar timing belt and pulleys with in order to convert rotational motion of a rotary motor into translational motion in order to facilitate the linear motion needed to eject a die.
As to claim 11, Lee does not disclose wherein the first or second lifting shaft comprises a ball screw or a stator of a linear motor, and the first or second lifting element comprises a nut or a mover of the linear motor.
However, Gaunekar discloses and makes obvious wherein the first or second lifting shaft comprises a ball screw or a stator of a linear motor, and the first or second lifting element comprises a nut or a mover of the linear motor. As to the ball screw and nut, Gaunekar teaches “some kind of transmission/linkage mechanism used to convert rotational motion of a rotary motor into translational motion used for facilitating ejection of a die” and mechanical structures such as threaded portions or screws are conventional transmission/linkage mechanisms used to convert rotational motion of a rotary motor into translational motion. See especially paragraphs 0003-0004, discussing conventional die ejector systems, and discussing the Nakamura reference:
[0003] Traditionally, die bonding machines use die ejection systems based on some kind of transmission/linkage mechanism used to convert rotational motion of a rotary motor into translational motion used for facilitating ejection of a die. For example, U.S. Pat. No. 5,755,373 for a "Die Push-Up Device" discloses a mechanism including a push-up needle raised and lowered by a cam that is actuated by a rotary motor.
[0004] FIG. 1 is a simplified diagram showing various parts of a conventional ejection system in greater detail. The ejection pins 1 are held by a collet 1a, which is mounted at the end of a shaft 2. A roller 15 is affixed to the lower end of the shaft. A rotary motor 20 is used to drive a high precision cam 16, which actuates the shaft 2 through the roller 15 in order to reduce friction. Typically a step-down transmission consisting of a timing belt 18 and pulleys 17, 19 is used to drive the cam 16. Any other suitable transmission mechanism may be used.
As to the stator of a linear motor, Gaunekar teaches a stator and linear motor. See the abstract, disclosing stator and linear motor alternatives.
The invention provides a die ejector system and method for removing a die from an adhesive surface. The system comprises an ejector tool that is operative to move relative to the die whereby to push the die. The ejector tool may consist of a collet holder and an ejector pin array. A shaft holds the ejector tool and is in turn coupled to a forcer of a linear motor. The forcer is movable relative to a stator of the linear motor. After the die is pushed by the ejector tool, a die pick-up device removes the die from the adhesive surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the first or second lifting shaft comprises a ball screw or a stator of a linear motor, and the first or second lifting element comprises a nut or a mover of the linear motor as suggested by Gaunekar’s rotary motor and transmission/linkage mechanism or stator and forcer mechanism as both are used in order to facilitate the linear motion needed to eject a die.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK