DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 1/9/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Barbello, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2024/0040039 (“Barbello”).
With regard to Claim 1, Barbello teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, over a communication channel, an audio stream comprising voice content ([0092], a user places a voice call and receives audio dialogue from an automated voice system);
transcribing the voice content of the audio stream into text ([0093] describes that a caption module transcribes content of the audio data);
processing the text to identify one or more options included in the voice content of the audio stream ([0093] describes that the caption determines that the audio data includes multiple selectable options);
displaying the one or more options ([0094] describes that the caption module then causes display of selectable controls that include the text descriptions generated for each option by transcribing the audio data);
receiving a selection corresponding to the one or more options ([0096] describe that the user can provide a response by selecting one of the displayed selectable controls, as well as through other methods); and
transmitting, over the communication channel, an indication of the selection ([0096] describes that the system transmits the response indicated by the user selection to the automated voice system).
Claim 11 recites a device comprising a memory and a processor configured to carry out the method of Claim 1, and is similarly rejected. Claim 19 recites a product comprising code which carries out the method of Claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 2, Barbello teaches the method further comprising:
storing the one or more options ([0107] describes that the selectable controls are retrievable via a history menu that allows a user to recall a previous conversation with an automated system);
receiving, over the communication channel, a second audio stream comprising a second voice content in response to transmitting the indication of the selection ([0097] describes that a series of controls are provided as current selectable controls as a user makes selections in the system; [0092] describes received streams of audio voice content);
transcribing the second voice content of the second audio stream into a second text; processing the second text to identify one or more second options included in the second voice content of the second audio stream; and displaying the one or more second options ([0097] describes that a series of controls are provided as current selectable controls as a user makes selections in the system; [0093]-[0094] describe that the menu options are displayed by transcribing the options spoken by the system and generating controls using the transcribed text).
Claim 12 recites a device comprising a memory and a processor (Fig. 2) configured to carry out the method of Claim 2, and is similarly rejected. Claim 20 recites a product comprising code stored in a tangible computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 2) which carries out the method of Claim 2, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 3, Barbello teaches displaying the one or more options if the second audio stream comprising the second voice content is substantially the same as the audio stream comprising the voice content. [0092]-[0094] describes that the options which are displayed are generated from the received audio stream. Therefore, in a case where a second audio stream comprises the same options, the displayed options will be the options displayed for the first audio stream.
Claim 13 recites a device comprising a memory and a processor ( Fig. 2) configured to carry out the method of Claim 3, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 4, Barbello teaches establishing the communication channel by accepting an inbound communication request or transmitting an outbound communication request. [0092] describes that the user places a telephone call to establish the communication connection with the automated voice system.
Claim 14 recites a device comprising a memory and a processor (Fig. 2) configured to carry out the method of Claim 4, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 5, Barbello teaches that transcribing the voice content of the audio stream comprises processing the voice content of the audio stream using a first machine learning model to generate the text. [0093] describes that the caption module uses a machine learning model to transcribe the selectable options.
Claim 15 recites a device comprising a memory and a processor (Fig. 2) configured to carry out the method of Claim 5, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 6, Barbello teaches determining, based at least in part on at least a portion of the audio stream, whether the voice content corresponds to an interactive voice response system. [0052] describes that the caption module can determine whether the audio data includes selectable options of an interactive voice response system.
Claim 16 recites a device comprising a memory and a processor (Fig. 2) configured to carry out the method of Claim 6, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 9, Barbello teaches that displaying the one or more options further comprises: identifying one or more input selectors for receiving the selection; and displaying the one or more input selectors in association with the one or more options. [0094] describes that numbers can be displayed with the text for the selectable controls, indicating that they are a particular number selectable option.
Claim 18 recites a device comprising a memory and a processor (Fig. 2) configured to carry out the method of Claim 9, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 10, Barbello teaches that the selection corresponding to the one or more options is received via at least one of an audio interface or a keyboard interface. [0094] describes that a user can select an option displayed on the s3electable controls by audibly saying the selection number, as well as entering the number on a numeric keypad.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbello, in view of Kaniganti, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2024/0089372 (“Kaniganti”).
With regard to Claim 7, Barbello teaches that processing the text comprises:
processing the text using a second machine learning model to generate one or more segments ([0073] describes that the caption module determines portions of audio which contain relevant information using a machine learning model);
extracting a first set of features and a second set of features from the one or more segments using a third machine learning model ([0075] describes that speech recognition is performed on audio data to determine multiple text descriptions, pertaining to selectable options as well as requests for user information. [0056] describes that a machine-learning model can incorporate multiple models that carry out the model’s functions); and
identifying the one or more options using the first set of features ([0093]-[0094] describe that a text description of a selectable option is used in identifying the selectable options).
Barbello, in view of Kaniganti teaches identifying an entity based on the second set of features, wherein the entity corresponds to an operator of the interactive voice response system. Barbello teaches at [0075] that audio data is processed to identify relevant portion thereof. Kaniganti teaches at [0021] that a system uses a machine learning model to process IVR data, in order to identify a customer intent related to a product and an entity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to modify Barbello, to carry out the additional data extraction from received phone call audio as described in Kaniganti. One of skill in the art would have sought the modification, to improve system functioning by enabling for additional data extraction and related functionality within a system that processes IVR audio.
Claim 17 recites a device comprising a memory and a processor (Fig. 2) configured to carry out the method of Claim 7, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 8, Kaniganti teaches in response to identifying that the entity corresponds to the operator of the interactive voice response system, generating and storing an association between the one or more options and the entity. [0013] describes that historical interactions are stored which identify all of a customers interactions, including transcripts of calls. Therefore, the entity corresponding to the operator is stored in association with transcripts, which include IVR interactions as described at [0021].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to modify Barbello, to carry out the additional data extraction from received phone call audio as described in Kaniganti. One of skill in the art would have sought the modification, to improve system functioning by enabling for additional data extraction and related functionality within a system that processes IVR audio.
Conclusion
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
10/6/2026